°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V5 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

n00b123
post Mar 22 2012, 02:05 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(iTrump @ Mar 21 2012, 03:11 PM)
How much for the K&N air filter? At my recent 30km service, it changed the Element Assy, air cleaner which I suppose is the air filter. It cost RM105 and is scheduled for change every 30km.
Is it better to change K&N or keep to the stock air filter?

http://www.knfilters.com/news/news.aspx?id=2118
I think worth it in long run.
I bought it and got it installed by a friend of mine whom is a mechanic
of course, I have consulted Honda SC and being advised that such upgrade will not void car warranty
total cost was RM320 including installation...was being told that the K&N filter practically can be used until you sell your car biggrin.gif
Just need to clean it once it gets dirty
Mr.DC
post Mar 22 2012, 03:36 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Mar 22 2012, 02:05 PM)
I bought it and got it installed by a friend of mine whom is a mechanic
of course, I have consulted Honda SC and being advised that such upgrade will not void car warranty
total cost was RM320 including installation...was being told that the K&N filter practically can be used until you sell your car  biggrin.gif
Just need to clean it once it gets dirty
May i know which SC u get consulted? But i think some of the SC won't let us do that.
n00b123
post Mar 22 2012, 03:54 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Mr.DC @ Mar 22 2012, 03:36 PM)
May i know which SC u get consulted? But i think some of the SC won't let us do that.
Actmar in Klang...this is the most flexible SC I have ever been to...
they even allow me to bring my own engine oil + filter everytime i go there for car servicing
gadgets2us
post Mar 22 2012, 04:51 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Mar 22 2012, 03:54 PM)
Actmar in Klang...this is the most flexible SC I have ever been to...
they even allow me to bring my own engine oil + filter everytime i go there for car servicing
blink.gif shocking.gif

Wow, can bring own engine oil and filter?? That'll save ALOT... Wish more SCs practice this. Wouldn't mind the compulsory 5k interval service then.

onesky
post Mar 22 2012, 05:38 PM

28 posts

Added on March 22, 2012, 9:52 pmFor those who install the DRL, may I know how is your DRL setup?
Is it turned on whenever engine starts and turned off when car illumination is turned on?
Or there is a switch to turn it on/off as you like?

Planning to install it on the light below signal light (Fake bulb currently).

This post has been edited by onesky: Mar 28 2012, 11:58 AM
DaBestOne
post Mar 22 2012, 10:12 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Mr.DC @ Mar 22 2012, 03:36 PM)
K&N should not voic warranty hmm.gif
alxdc
post Mar 22 2012, 11:09 PM

71 posts

come on guys.....
realized that lowyat former are reluctant to shares.....

please share where u bought all the goodies and prices lah....
bafukie
post Mar 23 2012, 09:28 AM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Mar 22 2012, 11:09 PM)
come on guys.....

How about u start the ball rolling? biggrin.gif
chris_tco
post Mar 23 2012, 09:41 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Mar 22 2012, 11:09 PM)
come on guys.....

i think he's doing great job, he even made a video for alarm buzzer activation.
watonk
post Mar 23 2012, 09:58 AM

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Mar 22 2012, 11:04 AM)
fyi, current speedo meter for insight also not accurate. counter check with few GPS devices already. The reading at the speedo meter at least 5% faster than the GPS.
maybe honda want to make us feel the car can travel more and better FC...  laugh.gif
Infact all car speedometer is about 5 to 10km/h faster than GPS. That's why we can set the cruise control at 120km/h and not getting ticket. Few times pass through speed cam at 120km/h, so far no problem.

Talking about cruise control, i prefer to use them with eco off as the engine respond more direct and not dragging like when i set it with eco on.
onesky
post Mar 23 2012, 11:58 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Mar 23 2012, 09:58 AM)
Infact all car speedometer is about 5 to 10km/h faster than GPS. That's why we can set the cruise control at 120km/h and not getting ticket.
I heard this saying some time back, but is there a solid proof for that?
Speedcam I'm not sure, coincident there was no Speedcam that time when you are speeding?

This post has been edited by onesky: Mar 28 2012, 11:59 AM
cx2531
post Mar 23 2012, 01:34 PM

568 posts

QUOTE(onesky @ Mar 22 2012, 05:38 PM)
GPS device speed is not accurate because it is based on gps coordinate which has a tolerance of +/- 5m~10m depends on the device you used.
I believe insight speedometer calculate directly just like other car which is definitely accurate.

Added on March 22, 2012, 9:52 pmFor those who install the DRL, may I know how is your DRL setup?
Is it turned on whenever engine starts and turned off when car illumination is turned on?

Planning to install it on the light below signal light (Fake bulb currently).
bro i can suggest u go find shorty5 at lyn automative garage..

Added on March 23, 2012, 1:39 pmbtw any try close eco mode, can gear chg to d and stop 99, while the air cond turn off?

This post has been edited by cx2531: Mar 23 2012, 01:39 PM
onesky
post Mar 23 2012, 02:31 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(cx2531 @ Mar 23 2012, 01:34 PM)
bro i can suggest u go find shorty5 at lyn automative garage..
thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately he is too far away from me. Have to use one full tank n hours to reach him. I'll find some local shop, just wanted to know the lights settings for those who have installed.

This post has been edited by onesky: Mar 23 2012, 05:00 PM
cx2531
post Mar 23 2012, 03:00 PM

568 posts

QUOTE(onesky @ Mar 23 2012, 02:31 PM)
thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately he is too far away from me. Have to use one full tank n hours to reach him. I'll find some local shop, just wanted to know the lights settings for who have installed.
regarding ur question..

if u go accessory shop, u can try request them like u wan the daylight on with engine start and off when u switch on the light.. anything u like.. but prefer u get warranty from the daylight and waterproof.. daylight can actually get from price 2x to hundred..
watonk
post Mar 23 2012, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(onesky @ Mar 23 2012, 11:58 AM)
I heard this saying some time back, but is there a solid proof for that?
Gps is totally out as it is not precise. Speedcam I'm not sure, coincident there was no Speedcam that time when you are speeding?
Pretty sure not getting ticket as this is the camera they setup under flyover/ man operated.
Nievk8701
post Mar 24 2012, 07:03 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Mar 22 2012, 10:30 AM)
ic....
yes it can change to 195 is all depending on the rim width. If i'm not mistaken insight rim 16" is 6.5J (meaning 6 1/2" wide).

can get 195/50 R16 and not 195/55R16.....u cant simply change the tire size....it will make the speed meter inaccurate and more fuel consumption..

from 185/55r16 to 195/55r16  So when your speedo reads 70mph, you're actually travelling at 71.26
from 185/55r16 to 195/50r16  So when your speedo reads 70mph, you're actually travelling at 69.03
from 185/55r16 to 205/50r16  So when your speedo reads 70mph, you're actually travelling at70.18

u can either use 195 or 205, but my advice is use 195, because insight rim is 6.5J or 6J wide like i mentioned above. If use 205 the wheel will look fat and too wide for the rim and consume more fuel. For 205 the ideal rim size 16" width is 7j and above.

learn more about tire and rims here
http://www.carbibles.com/tyre_bible_pg4.html
thks for ur info bro! im happy to knw tat!
onesky
post Mar 24 2012, 08:06 PM

28 posts

Illuminated side step installed. Anyone side step illumination can be turned on/off? Mine is always on when open the door even in daylight. Forgot to ask the accs guy whether it can be done.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Looking at the illumination, thinking how cool it is if it can be done at the wording of the rear chrome bar. So when you stop, the 'HYBRID' and 'INSIGHT' will be illuminated.
Mm...perhaps a low cost glow-in-dark sticker will do smile.gif
xtrabite
post Mar 25 2012, 11:58 AM

181 posts

somehow love the back of FL insight... wub.gif
jealous a bit.... tongue.gif
ezu_din
post Mar 25 2012, 09:21 PM

111 posts

Guys just booked my aqua insight just now n receive a rm500 llumar tint voucar...u guys r using what tint? Can suggest what tint a good and affordable?
^^
demonxyz
post Mar 25 2012, 09:59 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ezu_din @ Mar 25 2012, 09:21 PM)
Guys just booked my aqua insight just now n receive a rm500 llumar tint voucar...u guys r using what tint? Can suggest what tint a good and affordable?
^^
im using llumar T4-50, front windscreen i upgraded to avs for better heat rejection, so far so good, no regret nod.gif

125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.8991sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:21 AM