°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V5 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

Ryan Soo
post Mar 13 2012, 11:38 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(babysmile @ Mar 13 2012, 07:06 PM)
@Ryan Soo

how is your car ? what is the solution ?

Which manual you have see ? from your Honda Malaysia paper manual or online US version ? R u driving 2011 or 2012 Insight ? In 2011 there is no way have autolock feature.
hey babysmile...my car now working...root cause -> 12V battery dead
so confirm the alarm sound that trigger was an alert that the battery going to dead soon(in 5 minutes)..consider our Insight quite "intelligent"..

call my insurance and they come over to JUMPSTART for me..
then drive to Honda service center and replace it...claim warranty..lucky 2 year warranty for 12V battery

p/s - battery dead on my car 1 year + 1 day old sweat.gif
ongdennis
post Mar 14 2012, 08:31 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(Ryan Soo @ Mar 13 2012, 11:38 PM)
hey babysmile...my car now working...root cause -> 12V battery dead
so confirm the alarm sound that trigger was an alert that the battery going to dead soon(in 5 minutes)..consider our Insight quite "intelligent"..

call my insurance and they come over to JUMPSTART for me..
then drive to Honda service center and replace it...claim warranty..lucky 2 year warranty for 12V battery

p/s - battery dead on my car 1 year + 1 day old  sweat.gif
after they jump start your car, do you check the IMA battery level?

from previous post, what i recall is the car 12v battery is constanly charge by the IMA battery. what happen is when the 12v battery spoiled and no longer able to keep the current, the IMA battery try it hard to continue charge it.
At then end, both are empty and the car no longer able to start.

correct me if i am wrong...
calvin_ng
post Mar 14 2012, 08:57 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

normal the 12v battery will die short of 2 years so the 2 years is there and just replace a brand new one lor
joshuawong
post Mar 14 2012, 09:46 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Mar 14 2012, 08:57 AM)
normal the 12v battery will die short of 2 years so the 2 years is there and just replace a brand new one lor
Ain't the 12V battery come with 3 years warranty following our car warranty?
cbinn
post Mar 14 2012, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 13 2012, 08:53 PM)
thanks for the great explanation.

besides, touch wood in the case of any claim, can't we just send back the car to honda service centre for repair and claim for the damage instead of going to panel workshop?
You can send it back to Honda Service Center and they will help you on the claim procedure, however, eventually they will still help you to send your car to their panel workshop because the equipment inside service center is for routine servicing and not accident repair. They would not have facility or manpower to perform accident damage repair job such as panel beating or spray painting in the most of the service center.
calvin_ng
post Mar 14 2012, 10:05 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(joshuawong @ Mar 14 2012, 09:46 AM)
Ain't the 12V battery come with 3 years warranty following our car warranty?
no 12v battery come with 2 years... that is the standard lifespan of the 12v battery... it has been practice by honda since stone age...
cbinn
post Mar 14 2012, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(john insight @ Mar 13 2012, 11:14 PM)

Added on March 13, 2012, 11:20 pm

Thanks for the valuable information. When the IMA down would the engine start as usual ?.
How the 12V battery charge up since I can't find any alternator, or share with the IMA motor
for charging. Is there any DC12V starter install in the event of IMA totally failed. I was told
the 12V battery for accessory and inportantly used also for the computer for the whole control.
Older Insight 2 door version do have a 12V starter.

eager to find out and get prepare in the event happen !.
If the IMA system failed (either faulty IMA battery, controller or IMA motor), the car may still start as usual because it still have a normal engine starter that runs on the 12v battery. However, bear in mind that all IMA assist and regen function will no longer be available, and you will be like driving a regular petrol engine car. Also, if the damage to IMA is at the IMA motor or the DC-DC converter module, your 12v battery may not last very long as there is no way the engine can recharge the 12v battery, so there could be just enough power to move your car to a safer location e.g. rest area or road side for you to wait for help. If only the IMA battery failed but the rest of IMA system still ok, you can drive the car as normal for very long time, just minus the availability of IMA assist and regen braking.

This car does not have a regular alternator. The IMA motor sandwiched between the engine and CVT gearbox serve 2 function i.e. when power is fed to the motor, it assist, when the motor control module (MCM) sense that you are slowing down, it trigger regen mode which turns this motor into a generator. The power generated from the IMA motor will be fed to the back of the car to recharge the IMA battery, which is over 100volts. The battery control module (BCM) have a sub-system that monitors the voltage of the front 12v battery, and when necessary (voltage drop due to consumption by 12V accessories like lights, air cond, wiper or ECU), the BCM will trigger the DC-DC converter module to utilize the power from the IMA motor (when engine running) or IMA battery (during auto-stop), converting it down to 12V to recharge the front 12V lead acid battery.

The car will be completely disabled if your front 12V battery failed. This is because before you can start using any power from the IMA system, you need to power up all the control modules (BCM, MCM, DC converter and ECU), and all these runs on the 12v sub-system.
alxdc
post Mar 14 2012, 10:15 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Mar 14 2012, 10:05 AM)
no 12v battery come with 2 years... that is the standard lifespan of the 12v battery... it has been practice by honda since stone age...
the weird thing is. i dunno why honda 12v battery life spend is only 2 years. my city 12v battery have to change every 1.5 or 2 years (could it be the alternator problem?)....where by my other car kelisa battery lasted me 3 years before changing....

does insight comes with alternator? cant remember whether i saw it or not....

This post has been edited by alxdc: Mar 14 2012, 10:24 AM
cbinn
post Mar 14 2012, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(alxdc @ Mar 14 2012, 10:15 AM)
the weird thing is. i dunno why honda 12v battery life spend is only 2 years. my city 12v battery have to change every 1.5 or 2 years (could it be the alternator problem?)....where by my other car kelisa battery lasted me 4 years before changing....

does insight comes with alternator? cant remember whether i saw it or not....
Lead acid battery is used in car because it can stands many cycle of charge (when engine runs) and discharge (when you start vehicle or use 12V power without running engine e.g. alarm and door locks or even when you left the car not being driven for too long i.e. self-discharge).

However, there is a shortcoming of lead acid battery i.e. it cannot be left over-discharged or being in discharged state for too long period of time. This will lead to a phenomenon call sulfation or formation of lead sulfate in the battery which is irreversable and reducing the ability to accept and store charge thus reducing the battery capacity.

Based on this, there are some steps that one could try to practice to prolong the lifespan of your car 12V battery:

1) Try your best not to use the battery when the engine is not running e.g. leaving the car door open for very long which turns on the room lights, turing on radio or headlights without engine running, letting your kids play with the power windows etc.

2) While waiting to pick up people, whenever it is possible and safe, do not leave the headlights on even if the engine is running. Apart from putting stress to alternator, the headlight assembly will heat up, causing lens to turn yellowish or fade faster.

3) Do not always full blast your air cond blower. If you get into a car that was parked for too long under hot sun, open all windows when start driving to allow hot air to escape will be a better solution.

4) If you install any aftermarket audio system, rever camera, alarm or lighting, make sure the wiring are donw properly, does not create any shorts and unnecessary circuits are turned off together with ignition to prevent power drain when the car is parked.

5) Avoid short trips (e.g. less than 3 minutes) engine start and stop. Starter motor draws a lot of power and a 3 minutes trip may not be long enough for the alternator to recharge back the power consumed (especially if it is a night driving with headlights, aircond and audio system full blast).

People may ask, when my car is running, my alternator is on and my battery would be recharged so why I have to worry of keeping 12v accessories turned off to save power? The alternator for smaller cc car (usually those 1500 and below) are designed not to load the combustion engine too much in order for the engine to have more power to move the car and maintain the car's high fuel efficiency. In order to maintain the load to be small, the alternator produces lesser power. Usually designer calculated the power output to be slight over the regular consumption of all the 12V accessories under normal use (daytime could be hotter so aircond use more but headlight off, night time headlight on but cooler weather so air cond blower not at high speed). The extra from the slightly over output of the alternator is used to top up the 12v battery depleted by engine starter, accessories usage during stop e.g. alarm and also due to self discharge (normally between 3 to 20% a month depending on quality and size of battery).

Based on the above, if your trip is too short, or you have big amplifiers blasting away with air cond at full speed and headlights on most of the time, chances are your alternator output are just sufficient for accessories or even worst, at deficit, thus either not charging or instead actually draining your 12v battery.

To maintain good lifespan of a lead acid battery, it is normally not recommended to allow the battery to be discharged more than 75% of its capacity. The more it get discharged, the more sulfation would happen and the lower the battery capacity. When batery capacity becomes low, there is more chance you going to discharge it more, thus the effect is exponential when near the end of the battery life. In order to save weight, modern small CC car uses smaller battery, thus smaller capacity and higher chance to get badly discharged more than bigger batteries.

Sideline a bit, Insight does not have a regular alternator and power steering that are driven by belt by the combustion engine, that's why even when the engine is just 1300 cc, it felt so light. Insight does have power steering, but it is driven by electric motor. The only belt driven subsystem in Insight is the air cond compressor.

This post has been edited by cbinn: Mar 14 2012, 11:09 AM
iTrump
post Mar 14 2012, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(cbinn @ Mar 14 2012, 11:08 AM)
Lead acid battery is used in car because it can stands many cycle of charge (when engine runs) and discharge (when you start vehicle or use 12V power without running engine e.g. alarm and door locks or even when you left the car not being driven for too long i.e. self-discharge).

However, there is a shortcoming of lead acid battery i.e. it cannot be left over-discharged or being in discharged state for too long period of time. This will lead to a phenomenon call sulfation or formation of lead sulfate in the battery which is irreversable and reducing the ability to accept and store charge thus reducing the battery capacity.

Based on this, there are some steps that one could try to practice to prolong the lifespan of your car 12V battery:

1) Try your best not to use the battery when the engine is not running e.g. leaving the car door open for very long which turns on the room lights, turing on radio or headlights without engine running, letting your kids play with the power windows etc.

2) While waiting to pick up people, whenever it is possible and safe, do not leave the headlights on even if the engine is running. Apart from putting stress to alternator, the headlight assembly will heat up, causing lens to turn yellowish or fade faster.

3) Do not always full blast your air cond blower. If you get into a car that was parked for too long under hot sun, open all windows when start driving to allow hot air to escape will be a better solution.

4) If you install any aftermarket audio system, rever camera, alarm or lighting, make sure the wiring are donw properly, does not create any shorts and unnecessary circuits are turned off together with ignition to prevent power drain when the car is parked.

5) Avoid short trips (e.g. less than 3 minutes) engine start and stop. Starter motor draws a lot of power and a 3 minutes trip may not be long enough for the alternator to recharge back the power consumed (especially if it is a night driving with headlights, aircond and audio system full blast).

People may ask, when my car is running, my alternator is on and my battery would be recharged so why I have to worry of keeping 12v accessories turned off to save power? The alternator for smaller cc car (usually those 1500 and below) are designed not to load the combustion engine too much in order for the engine to have more power to move the car and maintain the car's high fuel efficiency. In order to maintain the load to be small, the alternator produces lesser power. Usually designer calculated the power output to be slight over the regular consumption of all the 12V accessories under normal use (daytime could be hotter so aircond use more but headlight off, night time headlight on but cooler weather so air cond blower not at high speed). The extra from the slightly over output of the alternator is used to top up the 12v battery depleted by engine starter, accessories usage during stop e.g. alarm and also due to self discharge (normally between 3 to 20% a month depending on quality and size of battery).

Based on the above, if your trip is too short, or you have big amplifiers blasting away with air cond at full speed and headlights on most of the time, chances are your alternator output are just sufficient for accessories or even worst, at deficit, thus either not charging or instead actually draining your 12v battery.

To maintain good lifespan of a lead acid battery, it is normally not recommended to allow the battery to be discharged more than 75% of its capacity. The more it get discharged, the more sulfation would happen and the lower the battery capacity. When batery capacity becomes low, there is more chance you going to discharge it more, thus the effect is exponential when near the end of the battery life. In order to save weight, modern small CC car uses smaller battery, thus smaller capacity and higher chance to get badly discharged more than bigger batteries.

Sideline a bit, Insight does not have a regular alternator and power steering that are driven by belt by the combustion engine, that's why even when the engine is just 1300 cc, it felt so light. Insight does have power steering, but it is driven by electric motor. The only belt driven subsystem in Insight is the air cond compressor.
nice. thanks for sharing.

Lucky_Wishes
post Mar 14 2012, 01:59 PM

102 posts

guys... how to remove water mark on windscreen? I tried with car shampoo, but it doesn't work, anyone experience this?
chris_tco
post Mar 14 2012, 02:22 PM

47 posts

wax?
MsPotato
post Mar 14 2012, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(Lucky_Wishes @ Mar 14 2012, 01:59 PM)
guys... how to remove water mark on windscreen? I tried with car shampoo, but it doesn't work, anyone experience this?
newspapers?

iTrump
post Mar 14 2012, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(Lucky_Wishes @ Mar 14 2012, 01:59 PM)
with white vinegar ?
http://www.ehow.com/how_2271198_remove-wat...om-vehicle.html

Ryan Soo
post Mar 14 2012, 03:45 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Mar 14 2012, 08:57 AM)
averagely how long our Insight 12v battery can tahan?
mine less than 10000 km dead...what about u guys?
calvin_ng
post Mar 14 2012, 03:45 PM

1,583 posts

depend should last around 1 1/2 year minimum
bafukie
post Mar 14 2012, 05:03 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(Ryan Soo @ Mar 14 2012, 03:45 PM)
averagely how long our Insight 12v battery can tahan?
mine less than 10000 km dead...what about u guys?
Can't say for sure when, mine is going strong @23k km and a load of ice in my car
edwin_yong
post Mar 14 2012, 06:45 PM

91 posts

Hi, anyone know how to disable buzzer sound??

This post has been edited by edwin_yong: Mar 14 2012, 06:47 PM
simonlim231
post Mar 15 2012, 12:15 AM

hi any nice reverse camera intro for insight?

bafukie
post Mar 15 2012, 12:38 AM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(simonlim231 @ Mar 15 2012, 12:15 AM)
hi any nice reverse camera intro for insight?
Seriously? I find that the reverse sensor is more than adequate... biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:28 PM