288 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ Jan 27 2012, 09:09 PM)
whats the total ram for this phone?
mine showing 600++Mb not 1Gb
or izzt only showing ram avail to me?
im confused
Normal. S2, Note also show a similar behavior. Remaining "missing" RAM is reserved for Android OS/GPU/other stuff.
benny888
post Jan 27 2012, 09:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jan 27 2012, 08:44 PM)
is it worth it for me to buy gnex n sold my gnote..been thinking bout it..
Well, I am doing a comparison test between these 2 and I will post in my blog soon, probably in 2 days time.
droid13579
post Jan 27 2012, 09:57 PM

Google Nexus and Vanilla Android Lover, ClariS Fan!?
2,759 posts

QUOTE(akash3656 @ Jan 27 2012, 09:16 PM)
Normal. S2, Note also show a similar behavior. Remaining "missing" RAM is reserved for Android OS/GPU/other stuff.
Not to mention, hardware acceleration requires ram.
ho-ll
post Jan 27 2012, 10:00 PM

602 posts

[quote=supReme_87,Jan 27 2012, 07:43 PM]
lol. biggrin.gif use it la then. i also take it from a forumer, but i forgot where hmm.gif

doh.gif Aiyoo! Like that how to use la... shakehead.gif
mitmivec
post Jan 27 2012, 10:05 PM

Creative Photo
641 posts

QUOTE(Lucifer @ Jan 27 2012, 02:05 AM)
Hello, guys. Bad news, my Gnex broke down.
Happens at Jan 22 midnight around 2am. On ARHD 2.13, using bluetooth talking with gf, at the same time playing 3d games, Myth defense LF, charging.
Notice phone is getting hotter and hotter, ignore, coz having a serious conversation with gf, after finished talking, check batt monitor, temp at 70 celsius, sleep.
Next day morning, batt at 77%, hot to touch, check with batt monitor, 55 celsius, ignore, goto work. On the way, worries, take out batt, leave aside.
arrived at work, continue charging, notice batt stat says "not charging", as oppose to the normal "discharging" or "charging".
Screwed, I think. Then decide to drain all batt, off system and charge.
Phone is off and charged using portable battery, after reunion dinner, received my 1st bad news of the year. "My phone just died on me"
On Jan 24, contact directd, goto his shop, sales person take another batt, boot my phone, test with charger, confirmed dead. Prolly problems with board circuit or charging chip.
Pissed off already having paid 2899 for a phone which they sell at 2499 at the time of my purchase back in Dec 2011, and more pissed with my bad luck in start of 2012, the salesperson still managed to pissed me off more~
Same old story with root issue, rooted phone gets no warranty.
A check with colleague, technician only back at Feb, repair cost might go up to 1000+ for changing the board. All in all, bad year for me.
check your PM gave u some tips to deal with service center lol

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 27 2012, 09:42 AM)
To assist new users on how to root , install CWM recovery and flash new roms I have posted the procedures in my blog at :

http://leemn.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/gala...rkmod-recovery/

TS - please post this at page 1 if necessary to assist new users

I have also posted some of the minor  tweaks I have done on my G Nexus: might be useful to new users too
http://leemn.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/gala...us-tweaking-it/
great work smile.gif love it since the day from tab 7.0 haha

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Jan 27 2012, 06:13 PM)
hello fellow gnex owners.

I know some forumers have posted before, but it has really come to my attention that the part near the camera is very hot during usage especially when browsing with wifi and even some normal non 3d intensive game. experienced once surf until phone hang and reboot itself.

My phone is stock 4.0.1. Those with custom rom is better?
my are hot if heavy use on wifi and web for more than 10 minit also when on bootloading mode lol

Added on January 27, 2012, 10:06 pm
QUOTE(akash3656 @ Jan 27 2012, 09:16 PM)
how to upgrade to 4.0.3?

This post has been edited by mitmivec: Jan 27 2012, 10:06 PM
ogiveyakuza
post Jan 27 2012, 10:09 PM

huh..????
2,946 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 27 2012, 09:40 PM)
Well, I am doing a comparison test between these 2 and I will post in my blog soon, probably in 2 days time.
then..i waiting for ur comparison...
XeactorZ
post Jan 27 2012, 10:09 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,612 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 27 2012, 09:40 PM)
*i recommend uncle benny do a recommend for s2 and GNex, keep see this 2 question / thread =_=
and i know you sold your s2, but base on your mind compare it as you can smile.gif
Ch3n_low
post Jan 27 2012, 10:29 PM

vires in numeris
2,230 posts

Hey guys~ does galaxy nexus prime supports chinese input method??
XeactorZ
post Jan 27 2012, 10:30 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,612 posts

refer 1st page post by TS
t3n
post Jan 27 2012, 10:32 PM

1,460 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jan 27 2012, 10:29 PM)
Install google pinyin from android market
1000words
post Jan 27 2012, 10:38 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jan 27 2012, 10:29 PM)
u can always download alternative from market, like google pinyin and such.
supReme_87
post Jan 27 2012, 10:38 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(ho-ll @ Jan 27 2012, 10:00 PM)
doh.gif Aiyoo! Like that how to use la...  shakehead.gif
lol. haha laugh.gif laugh.gif you seriously dont know how to copy the sig link.? just take the link from my reply la.
benny888
post Jan 27 2012, 10:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 27 2012, 10:09 PM)
*i recommend uncle benny do a recommend for s2 and GNex, keep see this 2 question / thread =_=
and i know you sold your s2, but base on your mind compare it as you can smile.gif
Simple -SGS II is overall a better performer than GNex. I believe with ICS enabled it will surpass the GNex further
Only issue SGS II is "hotter" in operation versus the Gnex , so greater battery drain
Kaboosey
post Jan 27 2012, 10:57 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 27 2012, 10:46 PM)
Simple -SGS II is overall a better performer than GNex. I believe with ICS enabled it will surpass the GNex further
Only issue SGS II is "hotter" in operation  versus the Gnex , so greater battery drain
Sorry to bother you, just wanted to ask for your opinion since you used S2 before and currently using Nexus.

Currently, I'm currently using S2 and was thinking of getting the Nexus. As I like to root, install custom rom, kernel and tweak the phone, do you think it is worth it to move on to Nexus?

With the current rumors of S3 etc, do you think GNex will still be viable and will still perform well?

Thank you! smile.gif
benny888
post Jan 27 2012, 11:01 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Kaboosey @ Jan 27 2012, 10:57 PM)
Sorry to bother you, just wanted to ask for your opinion since you used S2 before and currently using Nexus.

Currently, I'm currently using S2 and was thinking of getting the Nexus. As I like to root, install custom rom, kernel and tweak the phone, do you think it is worth it to move on to Nexus?

With the current rumors of S3 etc, do you think GNex will still be viable and will still perform well?

Thank you! smile.gif
If this is your interest, why not ? the gnex will offer you earlier updates from google and also development efforts from rom developers
S3 is still rumours lah !!! However if it is realized I believe it will be better than the GNex as Samsung hardware specs will definitely be better than the GNex
xxdooyo
post Jan 27 2012, 11:17 PM

178 posts

Guys, do we still need to backup using nandroid or CWM backup is already good?
Both backup my system data right?
Kaboosey
post Jan 27 2012, 11:18 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:01 PM)
If this is your interest, why not ? the gnex will offer you earlier updates from google and also development efforts from rom developers
S3 is still rumours lah !!! However if it is realized I believe it will be better than the GNex as Samsung hardware specs will definitely be better than the GNex
Yeah, been dreaming of getting a Nexus since the previous models. But never had the chance to get one since that time it was the iPhone era.

The next samsung phone will definitely be of higher specs though.

I don't have any issue with no external sd and low camera megapixels though since I rarely take photo and don't really care about the quality. Gaming wise, I know it can handle games well and better display due to screen.

Furthermore, few of my friends owned the S2 already now. Hehe.

Thanks for your input!
benny888
post Jan 27 2012, 11:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xxdooyo @ Jan 27 2012, 11:17 PM)
Guys, do we still need to backup using nandroid or CWM backup is already good?
Both backup my system data right?
Both your terms is exactly same thing- this is full backup of your rom n all 3rd part apps, your data, settings etc

Azureknight94
post Jan 27 2012, 11:26 PM

1,667 posts

@unclebenny, do you set any profiles with setcpu? if yes what profiles do you set? I was thinking of setting it to 350min 350max when screen off to save battery but afraid I'll get sleep of death sweat.gif
xxdooyo
post Jan 27 2012, 11:29 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:20 PM)
Both your terms is exactly same thing- this is full backup of your rom n all 3rd part apps, your data, settings etc
Sorry for the noobness, I thought it just another app like titanium backup. Google it up, turn out it just a term for full system backup,haha.

"If you need to restore some system data , eg messages, contacts etc – choose ” restore all system data” : UNSELECT all and only tick those system apps you need , example you can restore back the Launcher data where you have setup all your homescreen."
Taken from your site, if I want to do the above, should I use titanium backup or CWM?

This post has been edited by xxdooyo: Jan 27 2012, 11:29 PM

125 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:01 AM