--+-- PROTON SAVVY LYN club V4 --+--, New thread after 2 years,2 months,27 day

richard831
post May 19 2013, 08:30 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Piranha @ May 18 2013, 08:10 PM)
richard831,

Please share your experience with Kirol San. It would be interesting to know how an expert would fix the same type of problem! (probably just need to replace some sensors). I sent my car to a nearby workshop and had 2 major parts replaced (gear lever & autobox boom). The gear lever come with a bunch of sensors. Note that these are not the replacement parts (Clutch Set, Clutch Cylinder Kit, Brake Pedal, Accumulator, Electro Pump, Modulator...) proposed by Plotong Service Centre! This workshop is not a sawi specialist but at least managed to change the correct parts, can be used as a last resort. PM me if you need more detail.

p/s Page 39 – open bonnet and pour 3 litre of water on the windscreen…[this solution is preventive, use it before you get the yellow auto warning light!]
oo.. Just done it today... Kirol San plug into my car and read the Fault code. Came out ''Oil Pressure Sensor''

From that code he already diagnose that the Accumulator Kong liao...The accumulator is a non-repairable item till now.. so no recon unit.. Got a new set from Renault group.

Total damage.. rclxub.gif Rm1300 (including parts, labour and re-programming of Gear box system) he mentioned parts in alor setar is expensive.. if you guys can find cheaper parts.. you can bring it to him.. he will charge labour cost only..

Next damage: Timing Belt and spark plugs.. sweat.gif 94k mileage.. so expected.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by richard831: May 19 2013, 08:35 PM
richard831
post May 19 2013, 08:34 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Piranha @ May 18 2013, 08:10 PM)
richard831,

Please share your experience with Kirol San. It would be interesting to know how an expert would fix the same type of problem! (probably just need to replace some sensors). I sent my car to a nearby workshop and had 2 major parts replaced (gear lever & autobox boom). The gear lever come with a bunch of sensors. Note that these are not the replacement parts (Clutch Set, Clutch Cylinder Kit, Brake Pedal, Accumulator, Electro Pump, Modulator...) proposed by Plotong Service Centre! This workshop is not a sawi specialist but at least managed to change the correct parts, can be used as a last resort. PM me if you need more detail.

p/s Page 39 – open bonnet and pour 3 litre of water on the windscreen…[this solution is preventive, use it before you get the yellow auto warning light!]
So what how much is your repair? Gear lever aka gear stick?

Kirol san mentioned gear stick usually spoiled by non-shawie user.. especially at car wash and tyre shop.. they dont know how to operate the AMT system.. so they use strength and damage it..

he can fixed it for RM150... no need Rm900 replacement unit.. Any body who broke his stick can ask Kirol San repair brows.gif

What is autobox Boom?
Piranha
post May 19 2013, 09:22 PM

18 posts

I have no idea what is an autobox boom. Anyway my last repair cost me RM3800 in total. Another RM1000 for timing belt at PE Service Centre.

Good to know that there is a real expert in the Northern Region!
richard831
post May 19 2013, 11:05 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Piranha @ May 19 2013, 09:22 PM)
I have no idea what is an autobox boom. Anyway my last repair cost me RM3800 in total. Another RM1000 for timing belt at PE Service Centre.

Good to know that there is a real expert in the Northern Region!
1000 for timing belt only? Kirol quoted 500 for renault belt n 450 for proton..

Yep.. U should find him even it cost u a few hundred to tow up to alor setar. Or he will charge u few hundred to travel. He quoted 150 for butterworth cases
Piranha
post May 20 2013, 10:35 AM

18 posts

The breakdown was:

Timing belt (TRM)
Kit Timing Belt (TRM) RM502
Timing Gasket RM142
Sealing Ring RM116 (for Sterling Oil Leak)
SO Replace Timing Belt RM105 (Labour Charge)
Poly V belt RM90
Poly V belt (small) RM49

richard831
post May 20 2013, 10:56 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(Piranha @ May 20 2013, 10:35 AM)
The breakdown was:

Timing belt (TRM)
Kit Timing Belt (TRM) RM502
Timing Gasket RM142
Sealing Ring RM116 (for Sterling Oil Leak)
SO Replace Timing Belt RM105 (Labour Charge)
Poly V belt RM90
Poly V belt (small) RM49
so is 502 +105 = 607 vs RM450(proton genuine) + petrol cost + toll to Alor star and back hmm.gif

whistling.gif depend if you wiling to travel up to AS for the change.. he is off for Saturday.. Sunday - Friday open.. but better to call 1st to inform him.. wink.gif

fireballs
post May 20 2013, 07:10 PM

5,650 posts

check out proton's service as well
http://www.proton-edar.com.my/pdf/icare/SAVVY_1.2_AMT.pdf

from calculation should be rm732
(with 3 months warranty, and i think the 'daring' card got discount sommore)
JackNg1985
post May 20 2013, 11:55 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ May 19 2013, 01:10 PM)
Essential, need to be done BEFORE start up the car.
1) Fresh 3 gallons of petrol(about 12 litres). Please drain the old petrol into a safety container, you can recycle it as cleaning detergent later when need to wash spare parts, but do not put it back in your petrol tank. Total pretrol cost RM23
2) Fuel filter. 50 bucks may be, can't remember.
3) Chiplak engine oil and oil filter 1 set. May be get those RM49 full set service promotion will do. Just to make sure rubbish within this 2 years doesn't stuck IN the engine. I know you'll ask why not straight away change to a better engine oil/semi synthetic? Not for this round, we just wanted to use some rubbish oil to flush the engine for now.
4) Check power steering fluid whether sufficient. If not, get a bottle of chiplak gear oil and refill it. Probably RM18.
5) Check brake fluid on master brake pump whether sufficient. If not, get a bottle of chiplak brake fluid and refill it. If the fluid is red color, get a bottle of DOT3 to refill at RM12. If the fluid is yellowish/transparent/light brownish, get a bottle of DOT4 to refill it at RM15.
6) Radiator water need to be change before you start the car. Just to ensure if there's rusted residue does not cycle in the cooling fin and further jammed up your radiator tank. Fill up any tap water for the time being is fine after drain off the old fluids. Water FREE in Selangor, others may be 1cent for 4 litres.
7) Do not switch on air cond at all, until you send for air cond service. Chance of busting your aircond hose/compressor/cooling coil/condensor is great if you switched on aircon for a 2 years stalled car without feeding it gas. Get a piece of paper, write a sign "DONT USE AKON!" and stick on the aircon control console until you send for service.
Total estimated price to start then car will be around RM150.

None essential, but important to change AFTER the car started.
1) Battery, depending whether you wanna spend that much. I usually budget below 200 for batteries. If I have a choice, I will go for traditional none-maintenance free type. RM150
2) Tyres, currently using China tyres, HiFly HF201 165/60R14. Low rolling resistance, reasonable wet traction, slightly weak on braking point, low road noise, reasonable thread wear. Rm125/donut. RM500 for all 4.
3) Timing belt, Renault Ori RM450 if not mistaken. Plotong Ori RM350. Renault ori good for 65k mileage, Plotong good for 80k. Don't ask me why, but I didn't think much straight away took Plotong after suggested by magician.
4) Professional radiator flush = RM60, replacement coolant concentrate = RM30. Total RM90.
5) Change DOT4 brake fluid = RM60
6) Tesco Fully Synthetic 5W40 at RM89. Renault ori oil filter RM24. Total RM113.
7) Gear oil, I use rubbish oil RM20/litre. Usually I pay RM60 for gear oil change.
8) Engine mounting, if not broken, no need to fix. If shake until vomit, 1 full set Potong original RM450 include labor.
9) Soft wiper blade, Jalan Pasar RM15/pair. Tesco rubber blade RM4.90/pair. Silicone blade, RM25/piece. U decide what u want. I'm using Jalan Pasar RM15.
10) Aircon repair, really depending on what rosak. Worst case scenario everything busted, estimated repair cost for NEW replacement is RM1500. If all second hand/recon parts replacement should be around RM700~800. If nothing goes too wrong, refill R134 gas for RM45 full gas.
Rough estimation for worst case scenario without including aircon parts replacement should be slightly below 2000.

Other than the above, the rest are all ad hog service. Meaning that, unless your car fail to start already, then only you fix, including sparkplug. My uncles old Cefiro running his stock sparkplug for 20+ years in his RB20 engine. Every few years my other uncle will help him take out the old sparkplug, recalibrate the gap and put them back and it's good as new. I still don't get why people like to keep asking to change sparkplug every 20k km. That's like less than a year. If you must change sparkplug, my personal preference is BOSCH SUPER 4 nod.gif

http://www.mudah.my/Bosch+super+4+spark+pl...ju-18461422.htm

Btw, if your car has been ditched aside for more than 1 year without roadtax, you'll have to send for puspakom inspection before you can renew your roadtax.
thumbup.gif
Thanks for your info!
Time to activate it back to alive.
But most probably around July. Settle the balance loan. Then repair then become spare car.

Owe you one drink! And nasi lemak ayam.
davidke20
post May 21 2013, 12:33 AM

QUOTE(JackNg1985 @ May 20 2013, 11:55 PM)
thumbup.gif
Thanks for your info!
Time to activate it back to alive.
But most probably around July. Settle the balance loan. Then repair then become spare car.

Owe you one drink! And nasi lemak ayam.
No need treat me smile.gif Come join us TT when u free. We seriously need to Shawie brotherhood icon_idea.gif
pizzaboyj
post May 21 2013, 10:45 AM

321 posts

SHAWIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

Loving myyy Shawieeeee. cool2.gif
w33wawa
post May 21 2013, 02:05 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ May 21 2013, 12:33 AM)
No need treat me smile.gif Come join us TT when u free. We seriously need to Shawie brotherhood icon_idea.gif
bila next TT?
w33wawa
post May 21 2013, 02:05 PM

148 posts

By the way, my sawi right front headlamp sudah bakar...
is it easy to DIY to change the bulb kar

fireballs
post May 21 2013, 06:53 PM

5,650 posts

TT count me in!

yes. the lamp is easy to change. buy from proton ori lamp more lasting.
davidke20
post May 22 2013, 06:46 AM

CUSCO Oil Catch Tank TT
Date: 24th May, 2013
Time: 8:30pm onwards
Dress code: Casual
Topic: Anything goes. Politics, sex, religious, racism kind of comment is strictly prohibited. If wanna troll, make sure you use metaphor and or any other replacement terms to avoid law enforcement taking action against us.
davidke20
post May 22 2013, 06:47 AM

QUOTE(w33wawa @ May 21 2013, 02:05 PM)
By the way, my sawi right front headlamp sudah bakar...
is it easy to DIY to change the bulb kar
Go Mr.DIY get a cheap set of H7 can replace it by yourself. If driver side very easy to change. But passenger side, you'll have to take out the headlamp assy in order to open up, coz blocked by the battery & ECU.
pizzaboyj
post May 26 2013, 04:35 PM

321 posts

Aisehman. Missed the TT T_T
burn1892
post May 26 2013, 07:54 PM

22 posts

hi all bros...im from penang and im intending to get a manual savvy..
saw this in mudah.my yesterday:-

http://www.mudah.my/vi/21749601.htm?ca=3_s

is the price reasonable?
ive read through most of the important tips given here by bros on important things to be checked b4 buying a savvy.
one thing i need to know is, savvy specialists within penang island (i know theres a peugeot expert in gelugor, renting the lot inside mobil petrol station)., but can he service a savvy which is a renault family?
many thanks in advance.
regards
hypermount
post May 29 2013, 11:33 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

WTH! Kit Timing Belt (TRM) RM502
Timing Gasket RM142

The Timing belt kit sold by Proton is very expensive! If you are loaded it's ok for peace of mind...outside selling only from RM280 to RM320 including the gasket/labour Rm80.
fixgd
post May 29 2013, 08:15 PM

3,882 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ May 29 2013, 11:33 AM)
WTH! Kit Timing Belt (TRM) RM502
Timing Gasket RM142

The Timing belt kit sold by Proton is very expensive! If you are loaded it's ok for peace of mind...outside selling only from RM280 to RM320 including the gasket/labour Rm80.
but sad huh. other protons timing belt only around 100. savvy 300.
davidke20
post May 29 2013, 09:22 PM

QUOTE(burn1892 @ May 26 2013, 07:54 PM)
hi all bros...im from penang and im intending to get a manual savvy..
saw this in mudah.my yesterday:-

http://www.mudah.my/vi/21749601.htm?ca=3_s

is the price reasonable?
ive read through most of the important tips given here by bros on important things to be checked b4 buying a savvy.
one thing i need to know is, savvy specialists within penang island (i know theres a peugeot expert in gelugor, renting the lot inside mobil petrol station)., but can he service a savvy which is a renault family?
many thanks in advance.
regards
1) From the picture, on the left side got sticker, looks like an AMT
2) Urgent sell I can understand, but already inspected puspakom? What if no buyer after 1 month? Too desperate coz AMT is dying?
3) If have not do puspakom, how come got puspakom round sticker on the windshield? Meaning it's not 1 owner.
4) Grey color Shawie not common in Marehsia, if you manage to view the car, check on the door trim got color code. See whether its original color. If the Grey color is repainted not the 5) original color, you seriously need to run a ISM check on the car, see whether got major accident before. Grey is a good choice to cover up wavy body panel.
5) From the angle of the picture, it looks more like a used car dealer. 8.5k selling at dealer consider cheap, if owner direct selling please negotiate atleast down to 8k if possible 7k. Don't forget you need to prepare another 1.5k for insurance, roadtax, transfer of ownership, and puspakom inspection if needed. Could be worst if take loan, coz loan agreement will be RM300, used car dealer will charge you runner fee on the transfer of ownership/sumpah/admin kelik kelak can come to 2k extra on top of that 8.5k

Other than all the above, if indeed it original paint, 2006 with full bodykit, engine in good condition and it's a manual, 8k is a good deal and don't miss it. I got mine at 7k but spent some 2k++ to restore the car until today. Not a bad choice on the model, but it's just too troublesome save a flower loss a jungle.

125 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0326sec    1.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:52 AM