128 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V25.5, Noobs... go read page 1

xandman
post Feb 21 2012, 09:57 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Feb 21 2012, 09:25 PM)
Most sensible would be Giant. Not Merida. tongue.gif
yeah
Giant is the better choice.
i wouldnt take a Merida even if it was given to me for free! shakehead.gif

Added on February 21, 2012, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(snapshots @ Feb 21 2012, 08:18 PM)
sb-66 sucks....it sucked the moment i heard the bearings squeked when a sb-66 passed me in 2K. could be an isolated case but that put me off big time.
majority of frames are from Taiwan. why not a giant or merida? best bang for buck if you are not into looks or branding. they make frames for most of the major brands as well.
squeaking is a big no-no!
i hate bikes that squeak!
RK is the one usually can solve all the squeaking!

This post has been edited by xandman: Feb 21 2012, 09:59 PM
ESLord
post Feb 21 2012, 10:00 PM

54 posts

Eh, really?
May be me still stuck w de wrong concept w Giant since secondary school in the 90s tat Giant is lousy brand.

Btw, what would be a decently good gear set from shimano? Recommend to get a full set rather than mix n match?
Cyphereza
post Feb 21 2012, 10:40 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

This Giant is not the same as Giant supermarket okay... dry.gif
www.giant-bicycles.com
RayKazansky
post Feb 21 2012, 10:57 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(ESLord @ Feb 21 2012, 09:19 PM)
Yeah, the design n branding sort of the main factor for now.
I Like Specialized the most, but I is way above my budget.

Guess Merida is sort of the most sensible choice.
Merida??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Added on February 21, 2012, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(snapshots @ Feb 21 2012, 08:18 PM)
sb-66 sucks....it sucked the moment i heard the bearings squeked when a sb-66 passed me in 2K. could be an isolated case but that put me off big time.
majority of frames are from Taiwan. why not a giant or merida? best bang for buck if you are not into looks or branding. they make frames for most of the major brands as well.
Still, your TX0 is bestest friend... thumbup.gif

Added on February 21, 2012, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(ESLord @ Feb 21 2012, 10:00 PM)
Eh, really?
May be me still stuck w de wrong concept w Giant since secondary school in the 90s tat Giant is lousy brand.

Btw, what would be a decently good gear set from shimano? Recommend to get a full set rather than mix n match?
You mix & match, you'll get mix & match results unsure.gif

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Feb 21 2012, 11:00 PM
sLapshock
post Feb 21 2012, 11:30 PM

124 posts

hi guys
i just bought cannondale trail 5
im into trail like plentong epic but what are the parts that i need to change first?

Added on February 21, 2012, 11:32 pm1. what are mid end hydrolics brakes i should get? cost price?
2. what are mid end fork i should get? rock shox dart 2? price?

anything else.

This post has been edited by sLapshock: Feb 21 2012, 11:32 PM
Broadica
post Feb 22 2012, 12:25 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(ESLord @ Feb 21 2012, 10:00 PM)
Eh, really?

If giant bike are no good... Then all other are no good too. Lol
Well, you should check out the bike first... Most rider here ride giant bikes for it balance in performance and budget.

Decent gear set you say? Shimano XT complete set. But than is more tan half of your 4k budget already. 2k plus include brake set.

Added on February 22, 2012, 12:34 am
QUOTE(sLapshock @ Feb 21 2012, 11:30 PM)
hi guys
i just bought cannondale trail 5
im into trail like plentong epic but what are the parts that i need to change first?

Added on February 21, 2012, 11:32 pm1. what are mid end hydrolics brakes i should get? cost price?
anything else.
Wow, you post a open end question. How you expect people give proper reply.
Dude, list your spec. We won't know every bike spec to start with.

I'll say fox float rl or rs Sid. Price dunno. Check with bike shop or bbs.

Bro, why not u survey the price and then only ask us which fork better within your budget.
Your mid end fork may not be mid end fork for others here.

This post has been edited by Broadica: Feb 22 2012, 12:34 AM
chyu89
post Feb 22 2012, 01:52 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Let's do this serbis one day
http://www.pinkbike.com/news/Tech-Tuesday-...iper-Seals.html
cheewooi
post Feb 22 2012, 07:00 AM

Old Bird
540 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Feb 21 2012, 09:57 PM)
yeah
Giant is the better choice.
i wouldnt take a Merida even if it was given to me for free!  shakehead.gif
Why Giant instead of Merida? Kindly share your opinion as I am planning to get my second hardtail to setup mainly for trail. Currently using Merida. Might consider change brand...LOL

Anyway I plan to change my handlebar and stem.
Someone recommended me a Thomson Elite X4 stem 0 degree 80mm (Around RM270) with TITEC Pluto carbon fibre flat bar with little 5 degree backsweep (580mm) (Around RM245)
user posted imageuser posted image

I am not sure what's the market price like for those two product. Any recommended bar and stem?

BTW which shop have a better pricing in Klang valley?
Those I frequented are:
1. Pedalspot SS2 and Sri Pretaling
2. TBFooksang
3. GH Speedbikes
4. Bike Corner in Cheras Mahkota
5. Pro Ride in Bandar Puteri Puchong.

I do frequent bike shop in Singapore like
1. Tay Junction
2. Hup Leong
3. Cannasia
4. Treknology3 (I found that the shop abit LCLY and doesn't layan you)

Can share your experience in shopping for bike component.

This post has been edited by cheewooi: Feb 22 2012, 07:02 AM
xandman
post Feb 22 2012, 07:04 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

Merida is ugly and the name not so geng!
and basically all they have is for XC riders...
yucks!

at least Giant designs are better!
chamelion
post Feb 22 2012, 07:36 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Read 1st page...
Cyphereza
post Feb 22 2012, 08:12 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Feb 22 2012, 07:04 AM)
yucks!

Yup. True. Even their 140mm bike is XC-racey looking yawn.gif
Which comes down to personal preferences lah... So, we can't comment much on this. If one likes the design, what to do... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Feb 22 2012, 08:13 AM
Broadica
post Feb 22 2012, 08:43 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(cheewooi @ Feb 22 2012, 07:00 AM)
Why Giant instead of Merida? Kindly share your opinion as I am planning to get my second hardtail to setup mainly for trail. Currently using Merida. Might consider change brand...LOL

Anyway I plan to change my handlebar and stem.
Someone recommended me a Thomson Elite X4 stem 0 degree 80mm (Around RM270) with TITEC Pluto carbon fibre flat bar with little 5 degree backsweep (580mm) (Around RM245)
user posted imageuser posted image

I am not sure what's the market price like for those two product. Any recommended bar and stem?

BTW which shop have a better pricing in Klang valley?
Those I frequented are:
1. Pedalspot SS2 and Sri Pretaling
2. TBFooksang
3. GH Speedbikes
4. Bike Corner in Cheras Mahkota
5. Pro Ride in Bandar Puteri Puchong.

I do frequent bike shop in Singapore like
1. Tay Junction
2. Hup Leong
3. Cannasia
4. Treknology3 (I found that the shop abit LCLY and doesn't layan you)

Can share your experience in shopping for bike component.
Not exactly sure all the shop. Went to tbfooksang, pedalsport and gh speedbikes. Tbfs be cheaper for most stuff but they dont have everything. So for the item, need to see which shop have them. Some shop have one brand while the other have another different one.

Why not get from sg since you frequent there. They are cheaper there
majorsinbad
post Feb 22 2012, 08:57 AM

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Feb 21 2012, 11:30 PM)

anything else.
Shimano Brakes are ok....Depends on your budget ...SLX ...if want better Deore XT

Dart berat ...
X Fusion ...or DT Swiss...but heard DT Swiss price went up ...

QUOTE(cheewooi @ Feb 22 2012, 07:00 AM)
Why Giant instead of Merida? Kindly share your opinion as I am planning to get my second hardtail to setup mainly for trail. Currently using Merida.

Id go for the Raceface Turbine...KSH ada...RM200+
ESLord
post Feb 22 2012, 09:45 AM

54 posts

Ok, now got the point. Giant >>> Merida.
Will take your advice and avoid then.

Budget wise, 4k is just a starting point. May stretch to 6k if really need to.
Just wanna get a good base frame+gear set to start with- cost this will likely to last for long. Other items can be change and upgraded in stages as gradually being poisoned for more. Hope i get the concept right.....
anthony_nch82
post Feb 22 2012, 09:47 AM

Get Commencal Meta AM
Wyldemdd
post Feb 22 2012, 10:11 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Feb 22 2012, 07:04 AM)
yucks!

Waduh,dont la hentam merida so kaw.I ride merida now feel like wanna sell it off and get spez or tek tek d.Later mau put in BBS sell d cry.gif

This post has been edited by Wyldemdd: Feb 22 2012, 10:11 AM
kaizer
post Feb 22 2012, 10:30 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(ESLord @ Feb 22 2012, 09:45 AM)
Ok, now got the point. Giant >>> Merida.
Will take your advice and avoid then.

Budget wise, 4k is just a starting point. May stretch to 6k if really need to.
Just wanna get a good base frame+gear set to start with- cost this will likely to last for long. Other items can be change and upgraded in stages as gradually being poisoned for more. Hope i get the concept right.....
IIRC, you're looking for a AM HT rite? Transistion TransAM, Chameleon, CHROMAG, Ragley.
majorsinbad
post Feb 22 2012, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(Wyldemdd @ Feb 22 2012, 10:11 AM)
Waduh,dont la hentam merida so kaw.I ride merida now feel like wanna sell it off and get spez or tek tek d.Later mau put in BBS sell d  cry.gif
Hehehe...told you its not the preferred bike in this forum...
Just preference I guess....lain orang lain citarasa ...
To say its not good it does have an world class winner ..in that Spanish rider ...

Wyldemdd
post Feb 22 2012, 11:01 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Feb 22 2012, 10:44 AM)
Hehehe...told you its not the preferred bike in this forum...
Just preference I guess....lain orang lain citarasa ...
To say its not good it does have an world class winner ..in that Spanish rider ...
Hahaha...that i know for sure.Not to say it's not a good bike,just different ppl different taste la.Atleast it performs well on me smile.gif

If i can sell the frame off then i will get a Ibis mojo SL frame,or the trek superfly 100.
cheewooi
post Feb 22 2012, 11:25 AM

Old Bird
540 posts

QUOTE(Wyldemdd @ Feb 22 2012, 11:01 AM)
Hahaha...that i know for sure.Not to say it's not a good bike,just different ppl different taste la.Atleast it performs well on me smile.gif

If i can sell the frame off then i will get a Ibis mojo SL frame,or the trek superfly 100.
Agree with you, I have no comment on my Merida hard tail. It served me well for the past few years. What ever brand of bike it is, the most important is still your pairs of leg and your stamina. A good bike will bring you till certain extend, the rest is all depends on your mind and body.

Ride more and discover what's the best suit you biggrin.gif

My 2 cent..

128 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0644sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:53 AM