TIME TIME Fibre Broadband™, 100 Mbps of wholesome goodness

SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 02:35 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

just to share. I always get top speed download with my 8mbps connection
when downloading from direct download services using All debrid service(which downloads direct from various premium services). When I boost to 50Mbps, I can almost always achieve 8MB/s download... I always scrambled to quickly fill up my queue to download something coza 10gb file will kaw Tim in 15 minutes or so... And I kiasu busy to find something
to queue up to download before the hourly boost expires. Even torrents can reach the limit of the 8Mbps most of the time. I yam totally satisfied.

Nowadays mostly do streaming Netflix and XBMC. Can easily reach max 8Mbps... (streaming goes in burst every few seconds).

I was using a 4Mbps @5Mbps streams previously. For me this is more than a 100pct
upgrade. Totally satisfied!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2013, 04:43 PM
annoymous1234
post Sep 21 2013, 04:21 PM

7,617 posts

Kepong got coverage?
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 05:13 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Note: Kid is watching NETFLIX on TV same time as this download is captured...about 1-2Mbps (sometimes more) will be sucked up NETFLIX at the same time.

The speed should go higher if NETFLIX is not running at same time.

8Mbps normal speed

50Mbps boost speed

There's no way i can do this with my old Streamyx 4Mbps(running at 5Mbps connection)!!!!

4th alphabet
post Sep 21 2013, 05:26 PM

25 posts

hi Matrix. thanks for sharing your feedback. smile.gif

i definitely agree that we can get 8Mbps total speed if downloading with multiple connections (as in your screenshot) and the same if we're downloading from multiple seeders on bittorrent. definitely no argument about that. my issue is, Time Fibre cannot download at full speed from a SINGLE connection (hosted from an international server). please try downloading the test files i posted above with your internet browser. i am interested to see the result.

i have streamyx 4Mbps @ 5Mbps as well, and my neighbour is using Unifi 5Mbps and both services can download the files at maximum speed on a single connection alone.

also, i don't think it is fair to compare total bandwidth between streamyx 4Mbps and time fibre 8Mbps. obviously Time 8Mbps has more bandwidth to accomodate your downloads and streaming through Netflix. it has 8Mbps total after all.

i hope nobody misunderstands me. i am just pointing out that Time Fibre performs poorly when downloading on a single connection, not that it can't achieve maximum 8Mbps total bandwidth overall.

This post has been edited by 4th alphabet: Sep 21 2013, 05:29 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 05:31 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Sep 21 2013, 05:26 PM)
hi Matrix. thanks for sharing your feedback. smile.gif

i definitely agree that we can get 8Mbps total speed if downloading with multiple connections (as in your screenshot) and the same if we're downloading from multiple seeders on bittorrent. definitely no argument about that. my issue is, Time Fibre cannot download at full speed from a SINGLE connection (hosted from an international server). please try downloading the test files i posted above with your internet browser. i am interested to see the result.

i have streamyx 4Mbps @ 5Mbps as well, and my neighbour is using Unifi 5Mbps and both services can download the files at maximum speed on a single connection alone.

also, i don't think it is fair to compare total bandwidth between streamyx 4Mbps and time fibre 8Mbps. obviously Time 8Mbps has more bandwidth to accomodate your downloads and streaming through Netflix. it has 8Mbps total after all.

i hope nobody misunderstands me. i am just pointing out that Time Fibre performs poorly when downloading on a single connection, not that it can't achieve maximum 8Mbps total bandwidth overall.
I did a test just now.

Test 1: Beat both your TIME and UNIFI results - 500Kb to 800Kb/s. Average probably 600 -700Kb

Test 2: About the same. 2xx kb/s

Test 3: Didn't do.

Just because you have a few sources which can't download at full speed, doesn't mean it's problem with TIME. Not a fair comparison. I can download at full speed from MSDN site for single link file....i prefer to download at home then office coz my home line way faster than the office...LOL.

You have to look at the overall package. TIME 8Mbps is only RM129. And the 50Mbps boost is nothing to sneeze at...no other provider give you this option!

IMO, it still beats UNIFI and MAXIS in terms of speed and value for money. But if you take the ASTRO IPTV package, then i believe the MAXIS package is more value. TIMES ASTRO IPTV sucks...downgrade to miserable 3Mbps-6Mbps while MAXIS gives you 10Mbps for the same price.

PS: Btw, maybe this makes a difference. I am not using the TIMES provided router. I used my own TPLINK router since day 1 ...this model:

http://www.tp-link.us/products/details/?ca...del=TL-WR1043ND

Bought it during my Streamyx days....worth to pay a bit extra for top of the line model then....an update to the firmware and i am all ready to go with fiber support!!! thumbup.gif Save me $$$ from buying another gigabit router!!!!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2013, 05:45 PM
4th alphabet
post Sep 21 2013, 05:55 PM

25 posts

hey thanks for doing the tests man. yeah, Time is definitely better value and much better customer service which is the main reason why i decided to change service providers. believe me, i would love to stay with Time if i can sort out my download speed issue. smile.gif

may i know which program you used to perform the download test? just to clarify, i am not talking about a single file link download, i mean a single connection download. when you use download managers like jdownloader, it will download the file using multiple connections to get the total 8Mbps speed. in your screenshot, on the bottom right corner you can see Max Connections has been set to 6. please try the download test with Max Connections set to 1, or download using your web browser (without the use of a download manager).

This post has been edited by 4th alphabet: Sep 21 2013, 06:01 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 06:10 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Sep 21 2013, 05:55 PM)
hey thanks for doing the tests man. yeah, Time is definitely better value and much better customer service which is the main reason why i decided to change service providers. believe me, i would love to stay with Time if i can sort out my download speed issue. smile.gif

may i know which program you used to perform the download test? just to clarify, i am not talking about a single file link download, i mean a single connection download. when you use download managers like jdownloader, it will download the file using multiple connections to get the total 8Mbps speed. in your screenshot, on the bottom right corner you can see Max Connections has been set to 6. please try the download test with Max Connections set to 1, or download using your web browser (without the use of a download manager).

Too late...my World War Z already finished download.(i download another lesser version about 6GB..just now i download the wrong version...crazy..40GB+++ doh.gif)....any way, i do this test 3:

Using IE. (Previously test 1 and test 2 using Chrome).

it goes up to 1.7x MB/s ....already exceed your test result above by a whole lot...now probably limited at the server end. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2013, 06:12 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 06:17 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Sep 21 2013, 01:47 AM)
just because a different isp gets better download speeds from some random server doesn't mean it is better. there are many factors you need to take into account. for one, the routing and uplink providers.

if you want to test download speeds, download something common like drivers and programs from microsoft. not some obscure file from a small scale web server.

better yet, stream a 1080p youtube video.

I 2nd this. Sorry to say alphabet4, your tests are not reflective of the real world usage of majority of people. Unfortunately for you, you have to download from these small uncommon servers for whatever reasons.

Most people download simultaneously from multiple server, with multiple usage from a few person in the house. And for this, TIME will beat all competitor at price/performance.

But still...i managed to beat your test wor. I think you need to change router. biggrin.gif
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 06:33 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

This is my last test for you(Alphabet4):

Downloding that FLAC files of yours which you got 320KB/s.....i got 650KB/s...

Ok bro, that's it...i beat all your tests, won't do no more. have to get back to watch World War Z now.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2013, 06:34 PM
4th alphabet
post Sep 21 2013, 07:21 PM

25 posts

hey thanks Matrix. appreciate your feedback. that is actually good news for me, which means that this issue can actually be fixed for my connection. i did try a different router but the results were the same. anyway, i'll wait for JJ to get back to me and see what he advises. i still have 1 month free trial for Time to fix this issue.

by the way, the download servers i perform my tests on are not small scale servers. they are all stable and from reputable organisations. microsoft downloads are routed to local servers based on your IP address that's why it is fast. i get good results from that as well.

anyway, i hope my problem can be fixed.
jjj2
post Sep 21 2013, 08:26 PM

3,607 posts

QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Sep 21 2013, 07:21 PM)
hey thanks Matrix. appreciate your feedback. that is actually good news for me, which means that this issue can actually be fixed for my connection. i did try a different router but the results were the same. anyway, i'll wait for JJ to get back to me and see what he advises. i still have 1 month free trial for Time to fix this issue.

by the way, the download servers i perform my tests on are not small scale servers. they are all stable and from reputable organisations. microsoft downloads are routed to local servers based on your IP address that's why it is fast. i get good results from that as well.

anyway, i hope my problem can be fixed.
Hi Bro,

Done some tests today afternoon....on a newly setup line. let me compile the results & email to you later ya.

This time I got much better results....lolx

Anyway yr archive.org server seems to be implementing QOS limitation.

This post has been edited by jjj2: Sep 21 2013, 08:28 PM
TSezinger
post Sep 22 2013, 12:11 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

this is on a single connection speed test to the US. archive.org is small scale based on it's function as a web site. it does not have the capital to afford high quality uplink providers. when service providers route different to a file server, download speeds varies based on the uplink provider. bandwidth isn't cheap and there are many different qualities when it comes to bandwidth.

let me make try to make it simple as i can for everyone to understand.

fileserver1 buys bandwidth from company1

unifi buys bandwidth from company2 which has good peering with company1

Time buys bandwidth from company3 which has limited peering with company1 and company2

company2 peers at 50gigabit with company1

company3 peers at 10gigabit with company2 = a portion of the bandwidth with company1 will be shared with company3

hence, my definition of small scale web servers are those that can't afford to cache their files based on the location of the request. this is where CDN comes into the picture (content delivery network).

p/s: archive.org is a non profit org that is funded by donations from other orgs.

4th alphabet
post Sep 22 2013, 02:55 AM

25 posts

thanks for all the feedback guys. JJ, that sounds like good news. look forward to hear your results. yeah, really hope i can sort out my download speed issue. believe me, i wanna stay on Time and ditch TM if i can. smile.gif
jjj2
post Sep 22 2013, 10:02 AM

3,607 posts

QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Sep 22 2013, 02:55 AM)
thanks for all the feedback guys. JJ, that sounds like good news. look forward to hear your results. yeah, really hope i can sort out my download speed issue. believe me, i wanna stay on Time and ditch TM if i can. smile.gif
Hi Bro,

Please check out your email for my lengthy reply tongue.gif

Summary :
Inconsistent of performance for Internet Archive (archive.org) servers.
These types of non-profit org must have well control of its bandwidth (simply due to bandwidth is expensive).
In fact they are actually encouraging the use of torrents /p2p for files distribution to offload the heavy traffic & over-dependencies to their centralized storage infrastructures.
Meaning that the file you are downloading does not always pointing to the same storage location (dedicated servers).
CDN which mentioned by Bro eZinger is similar to this technology.

Frankly it’s hard to justify an ISP’s performance based on these surface tests. Too many invisible nodes that we could hardly see. Though we can conclude that the archive.org (Internet Archive) servers maybe inconsistent, this does not mean Time (TDC) is flawless.
The problem of International traffic has been around for years, that’s why the direction to go for a new 10,000km submarine cable system to Japan & Korea capable of supporting up to 55 Terabits/s has been put into action. This will complete the connectivity from Malaysia to US by going through Unity Cable System from Japan to US.
Upon completion of APG in Q3 of 2014, TDC’s dependency on SG Interconnection is greatly reduced & hence lower latency & higher stability & speed could be achieved.

Afterall, I trust you would wanna stay with Time smile.gif

Cheers.

This post has been edited by jjj2: Sep 22 2013, 10:23 AM
carbonytte
post Sep 23 2013, 09:34 PM

659 posts

hi.

sorry for bugging this thread, my condo just received the Time Home Fibre offer with the Unifi -> TIME rebate.

I understand that the price is cheap for what it offers, compared to my current Unifi?

The only question I have is the upload consistency. As an avid seeder, fast upload speed while maintaining the download speed is a must for my house.

Is there anyone who has ever did these tests :
1)multiple 720p youtube video streaming at the same time (probably 2-3 computers) - My current Unifi plan is stuck at this, unless I change to 10Mbps, but if I go for 8Mbps Time I expect this to no longer be an issue
2)downloading and uploading at the same time, and no throttling so that you're able to see if you can hit both download and upload speed to its max. - My current Unifi is able to do this, unlike Streamyx even while I was using the 4Mbps service, just wanted to know if Time can offer the same concurrent upload/download service just like Unifi (speedtest doesn't solve this as it seperates the download and upload test, I usually check this via concurrent leeching and seeding).
TSezinger
post Sep 24 2013, 01:07 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

i don't really torrent a lot but i don't usually bother seeding and i'll close the app once my download finishes.

as you can see i am uploading way more than i download not by choice
jjj2
post Sep 24 2013, 03:18 AM

3,607 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Sep 23 2013, 09:34 PM)
hi.

sorry for bugging this thread, my condo just received the Time Home Fibre offer with the Unifi -> TIME rebate.

I understand that the price is cheap for what it offers, compared to my current Unifi?

The only question I have is the upload consistency. As an avid seeder, fast upload speed while maintaining the download speed is a must for my house.

Is there anyone who has ever did these tests :
1)multiple 720p youtube video streaming at the same time (probably 2-3 computers) - My current Unifi plan is stuck at this, unless I change to 10Mbps, but if I go for 8Mbps Time I expect this to no longer be an issue
2)downloading and uploading at the same time, and no throttling so that you're able to see if you can hit both download and upload speed to its max. - My current Unifi is able to do this, unlike Streamyx even while I was using the 4Mbps service, just wanted to know if Time can offer the same concurrent upload/download service just like Unifi (speedtest doesn't solve this as it seperates the download and upload test, I usually check this via concurrent leeching and seeding).
Hi Bro,

Feel free to refer the following for your questions :

We have tested on 8Mbps line for both 720p & 1080p Youtube Streaming. Assuming good & fast server source, cabled connections,
For 720p, 2-3 computers basically no problem.
For 1080p, single computer no problem, 2nd computer sometimes still able to stream smoothly, sometimes lagging a bit.

For seeder, ADSL definitely is not your choice, 4Mbps Streamyx only has 512K of UL (theoretical package speed, account level capped will further reduce the speed)
For Unifi / Time, yes definitely it's capable of doing that & no throttle (Time only) whatsoever. Both Unifi & Time FTTx have no issues maximizing its package bandwidth for both concurrent DL & UL.
Since Time is using GPON technology where DWDM is used, this is not an issue at all.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by jjj2: Sep 24 2013, 03:19 AM
dongster
post Sep 24 2013, 11:33 AM

332 posts

Hi all,

Not sure if anyone can help me sad.gif

I applied for Astro IPTV using TIME broadband in June. Was told TIME has building issue with the condo I'm staying in (extra installation cost, etc) so my application is still pending..

This has been going on since June till now where Astro calls me up every week to update me but always the same answer. No resolution from TIME yet, please bear with us, etc *sigh*

Just now, Astro called me and say that they have to cancel/suspend my IPTV application as TIME is still blocking installation for my condo. I've talked to my building management and they say there is no issues with TIME at all (!!!). So I'm puzzled as to the actual issue.. Further more my condo management informed me that 2 weeks ago, a resident installed Astro IPTV with TIME (faints)..

Can anyone hook me up with someone higher up that I can talk to? Feel free to PM me..

Many thanks
yeapch01
post Sep 24 2013, 11:49 AM

1,916 posts

QUOTE(dongster @ Sep 24 2013, 12:33 PM)
Hi all,

I applied for Astro IPTV using TIME broadband in June. Was told TIME has building issue with the condo I'm staying in (extra installation cost, etc) so my application is still pending..

This has been going on since June till now where Astro calls me up every week to update me but always the same answer. No resolution from TIME yet, please bear with us, etc *sigh*

Just now, Astro called me and say that they have to cancel/suspend my IPTV application as TIME is still blocking installation for my condo. I've talked to my building management and they say there is no issues with TIME at all (!!!). So I'm puzzled as to the actual issue.. Further more my condo management informed me that 2 weeks ago, a resident installed Astro IPTV with TIME (faints)..

Can anyone hook me up with someone higher up that I can talk to? Feel free to PM me..

Many thanks
Dear Bro

Kindly Pm me your building name , i hope i can help to check what is going on.

fell free to call me also if u need further help

Tks

Yeap ch
Time Distributor
YQC Technology Solution
(PG-0116813-K)

Yeap
T : 04-262 8601, 012-490 0601
F : 04-262 8601
E : yeapch@gmail.com

This post has been edited by yeapch01: Sep 24 2013, 11:49 AM
jjj2
post Sep 24 2013, 11:55 AM

3,607 posts

QUOTE(dongster @ Sep 24 2013, 11:33 AM)
Hi all,

Many thanks
Hi Bro,

Pls text me yr building name as well as yr registration name.

We'll check it out for you.

126 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:04 AM