TIME TIME Fibre Broadband™, 100 Mbps of wholesome goodness

SUSMatrix
post Sep 14 2012, 12:09 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Sep 6 2012, 01:51 AM)
Why Time not collaborate with TM to use their facilities.... i know it will be low on profit or the price will be expensive but it is the better plan for Time compare to expand your own facilities....maxis, p1, celcom already use TM facilities(summore they can give much lower price compare to TM, i believe Time also can do that...)

or Time already want to do that things??
Celcom and TM abang adik company lar...doh.gif....Time lays their own fibre...it's good to have competition....laTer all monopolized by TM.

The 100Mbps with 100GB is a joke lar. 3 hours finished. At least 500GB if you want to give people that kind of speed.

I already can download >100GB per month with my Streamyx 4MBps

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 14 2012, 12:12 PM
SUSMatrix
post Feb 27 2013, 06:45 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Any outets or shop to register TIME fibre internet? Got some seller here online but need to send them photostat my IC, i am not so comfortable send my IC to dunno who. Rather register it a the shop...but never see a TIME shop before....Telekom and UNIFI is everywhere...
SUSMatrix
post Apr 21 2013, 05:53 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

New user here with times....i have a question. If i want to change the passsword to connect to the TIMES (The PPOE password), how to do it??? Must call TIMES??
SUSMatrix
post Apr 21 2013, 10:16 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 21 2013, 07:39 PM)
Hi Bro,

No need call Time.
You can do it at selfcare.time.net.my

After you changed the password, you need to put it into the router, or else your connection to Internet cannot be established.
Thanks bro. I changed this afternoon, but the router still acccept old password...maybe system not updated yet...now it has accept my new password.

oh, i got one more question, now i think i want to take that RM10 voice plan since got 2000 minutes and IDD to Singapore...can i call TIME to add the service to my plan???

Thanks for the registration service, btw. smile.gif

Cheers.

SUSMatrix
post May 4 2013, 05:39 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 24 2013, 10:55 PM)
For all FTTX bills, mostly are paid to TT Dotcom, whereas some ID (Internet Direct) or Voice accounts are paid to TT DotNet.
To be more certain about your account, pls contact Time CS at 1800 18 1818.

Cheers smile.gif
So my internet Fibre package pay to who ah???

btw, realized one thing...the 50Mbps boost resets end of the month....so even if you subsribe middle of the month, it'll reset by 1st. So in your first month...please boost kaw-kaw before the month ends...haha.

Anyway, internet too fast liao...now nothing to download....so sad.... tongue.gif
SUSMatrix
post Sep 18 2013, 11:18 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(benblitz @ Sep 15 2013, 11:04 PM)
When will TIME broadband cover the Klang Valley? 100mbps sounds awesome
100Mbps not so hot...only 100GB quota! Better use 8Mpbs and boost to 50Mbps....currently using 8Mbps...more than fast enough.. NO QUOTA LIMIT...when wanna download HD Blurary rip, just turn on the Boost...10GB download in maybe 15-20 minutes.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 18 2013, 11:19 AM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 02:35 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

just to share. I always get top speed download with my 8mbps connection
when downloading from direct download services using All debrid service(which downloads direct from various premium services). When I boost to 50Mbps, I can almost always achieve 8MB/s download... I always scrambled to quickly fill up my queue to download something coza 10gb file will kaw Tim in 15 minutes or so... And I kiasu busy to find something
to queue up to download before the hourly boost expires. Even torrents can reach the limit of the 8Mbps most of the time. I yam totally satisfied.

Nowadays mostly do streaming Netflix and XBMC. Can easily reach max 8Mbps... (streaming goes in burst every few seconds).

I was using a 4Mbps @5Mbps streams previously. For me this is more than a 100pct
upgrade. Totally satisfied!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2013, 04:43 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 05:13 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Note: Kid is watching NETFLIX on TV same time as this download is captured...about 1-2Mbps (sometimes more) will be sucked up NETFLIX at the same time.

The speed should go higher if NETFLIX is not running at same time.

8Mbps normal speed

50Mbps boost speed

There's no way i can do this with my old Streamyx 4Mbps(running at 5Mbps connection)!!!!

SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 05:31 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Sep 21 2013, 05:26 PM)
hi Matrix. thanks for sharing your feedback. smile.gif

i definitely agree that we can get 8Mbps total speed if downloading with multiple connections (as in your screenshot) and the same if we're downloading from multiple seeders on bittorrent. definitely no argument about that. my issue is, Time Fibre cannot download at full speed from a SINGLE connection (hosted from an international server). please try downloading the test files i posted above with your internet browser. i am interested to see the result.

i have streamyx 4Mbps @ 5Mbps as well, and my neighbour is using Unifi 5Mbps and both services can download the files at maximum speed on a single connection alone.

also, i don't think it is fair to compare total bandwidth between streamyx 4Mbps and time fibre 8Mbps. obviously Time 8Mbps has more bandwidth to accomodate your downloads and streaming through Netflix. it has 8Mbps total after all.

i hope nobody misunderstands me. i am just pointing out that Time Fibre performs poorly when downloading on a single connection, not that it can't achieve maximum 8Mbps total bandwidth overall.
I did a test just now.

Test 1: Beat both your TIME and UNIFI results - 500Kb to 800Kb/s. Average probably 600 -700Kb

Test 2: About the same. 2xx kb/s

Test 3: Didn't do.

Just because you have a few sources which can't download at full speed, doesn't mean it's problem with TIME. Not a fair comparison. I can download at full speed from MSDN site for single link file....i prefer to download at home then office coz my home line way faster than the office...LOL.

You have to look at the overall package. TIME 8Mbps is only RM129. And the 50Mbps boost is nothing to sneeze at...no other provider give you this option!

IMO, it still beats UNIFI and MAXIS in terms of speed and value for money. But if you take the ASTRO IPTV package, then i believe the MAXIS package is more value. TIMES ASTRO IPTV sucks...downgrade to miserable 3Mbps-6Mbps while MAXIS gives you 10Mbps for the same price.

PS: Btw, maybe this makes a difference. I am not using the TIMES provided router. I used my own TPLINK router since day 1 ...this model:

http://www.tp-link.us/products/details/?ca...del=TL-WR1043ND

Bought it during my Streamyx days....worth to pay a bit extra for top of the line model then....an update to the firmware and i am all ready to go with fiber support!!! thumbup.gif Save me $$$ from buying another gigabit router!!!!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2013, 05:45 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 06:10 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Sep 21 2013, 05:55 PM)
hey thanks for doing the tests man. yeah, Time is definitely better value and much better customer service which is the main reason why i decided to change service providers. believe me, i would love to stay with Time if i can sort out my download speed issue. smile.gif

may i know which program you used to perform the download test? just to clarify, i am not talking about a single file link download, i mean a single connection download. when you use download managers like jdownloader, it will download the file using multiple connections to get the total 8Mbps speed. in your screenshot, on the bottom right corner you can see Max Connections has been set to 6. please try the download test with Max Connections set to 1, or download using your web browser (without the use of a download manager).

Too late...my World War Z already finished download.(i download another lesser version about 6GB..just now i download the wrong version...crazy..40GB+++ doh.gif)....any way, i do this test 3:

Using IE. (Previously test 1 and test 2 using Chrome).

it goes up to 1.7x MB/s ....already exceed your test result above by a whole lot...now probably limited at the server end. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2013, 06:12 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 06:17 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Sep 21 2013, 01:47 AM)
just because a different isp gets better download speeds from some random server doesn't mean it is better. there are many factors you need to take into account. for one, the routing and uplink providers.

if you want to test download speeds, download something common like drivers and programs from microsoft. not some obscure file from a small scale web server.

better yet, stream a 1080p youtube video.

I 2nd this. Sorry to say alphabet4, your tests are not reflective of the real world usage of majority of people. Unfortunately for you, you have to download from these small uncommon servers for whatever reasons.

Most people download simultaneously from multiple server, with multiple usage from a few person in the house. And for this, TIME will beat all competitor at price/performance.

But still...i managed to beat your test wor. I think you need to change router. biggrin.gif
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2013, 06:33 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

This is my last test for you(Alphabet4):

Downloding that FLAC files of yours which you got 320KB/s.....i got 650KB/s...

Ok bro, that's it...i beat all your tests, won't do no more. have to get back to watch World War Z now.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2013, 06:34 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 28 2013, 07:54 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Sep 24 2013, 03:18 AM)
Hi Bro,

Feel free to refer the following for your questions :

1)multiple 720p youtube video streaming at the same time (probably 2-3 computers) - My current Unifi plan is stuck at this, unless I change to 10Mbps, but if I go for 8Mbps Time I expect this to no longer be an issue
We have tested on 8Mbps line for both 720p & 1080p Youtube Streaming. Assuming good & fast server source, cabled connections,
For 720p, 2-3 computers basically no problem.
For 1080p, single computer no problem, 2nd computer sometimes still able to stream smoothly, sometimes lagging a bit.

2)downloading and uploading at the same time, and no throttling so that you're able to see if you can hit both download and upload speed to its max. - My current Unifi is able to do this, unlike Streamyx even while I was using the 4Mbps service, just wanted to know if Time can offer the same concurrent upload/download service just like Unifi (speedtest doesn't solve this as it seperates the download and upload test, I usually check this via concurrent leeching and seeding).
For seeder, ADSL definitely is not your choice, 4Mbps Streamyx only has 512K of UL (theoretical package speed, account level capped will further reduce the speed)
For Unifi / Time, yes definitely it's capable of doing that & no throttle (Time only) whatsoever. Both Unifi & Time FTTx have no issues maximizing its package bandwidth for both concurrent DL & UL.
Since Time is using GPON technology where DWDM is used, this is not an issue at all.

Cheers smile.gif
I can 2nd this....upload speed is always faster than download speed...my torrents currently have ratio of almost 5...coz i upload more than i can find stuff to download....doh.gif

SUSMatrix
post Oct 17 2013, 11:56 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(stls @ Oct 17 2013, 11:51 AM)
Does anyone know how to connect the Archer C7 with the TIME huawei modem? Or has anyone tried connecting TIME with any other router because I can't seem to connect at all. It says forever connecting.
I'm sure there are special settings I need to input.
i use this.

TPLINK TL-WR1043ND
http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details...del=TL-WR1043ND

Plug and play only.

No special settings, just key in the user id and password in the router, that's all.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Oct 17 2013, 11:56 AM
SUSMatrix
post Oct 17 2013, 12:16 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

You sure the modem is ok? Got the stable lights? Maybe you try factory reset on your router and see.
SUSMatrix
post May 3 2014, 10:01 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

No wonder. Woke up this morning down already. First time down so long. Been using a year liao.

Persiaran surian area here.

Call the support line forever on busy tone. Maybe they hang up the phone...

At least make announcement on their website lah. Did nothing also!

This post has been edited by Matrix: May 3 2014, 10:02 AM
SUSMatrix
post May 3 2014, 10:57 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Everyone here please complain and demand 2 days of downtime refund if they manage to get it fix by today. I wonder if their cs will be as effective as tm..no questions asked..just direct to refund department and get your money back.
SUSMatrix
post May 3 2014, 10:58 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Just finished posting on my phone...and realized my PC connection is back on. I am typing this from my PC using TIME broadband. Guess it's up now.
SUSMatrix
post May 3 2014, 11:05 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

No internet for me= No netflix, no huluplus, no XBMC, no TVB online and no Diablo 3...

wahlau...no internet is like no water!!!!
SUSMatrix
post May 3 2014, 12:28 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(warrior @ May 3 2014, 11:11 AM)
Streamyx and Unifi downtime requires  users to file official letter in order to get rebate, no such no question ask and straight rebate thingy
Well, i get my rebate easy, just call and transfer to refund department. No need letter. They even asked how many days of refund i want. biggrin.gif

0.0412sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:14 PM