96 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Bottom

Hobbies RC Scaler/Rock Crawler/Monsta/Short course/Buggy, everything about off roader rc!!

ZZR-Pilot
post Apr 4 2020, 03:09 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Apr 3 2020, 10:42 PM)
You have to glue 12mm hex adaptors in making sure you centre them properly on an axel when you place them.

Similar to glueing hex adaptor into Tamiya style rim made for freewheel with bearings.
Okay... what do these 14mm to 12mm in-wheel hex adaptors look like? Where to get them?

I've seen those sleeve types that slip onto the 12mm axle hex to size it up to 14mm in order to mount a 14mm hex wheel, but they're twice the cost of buying a new set of 12mm hex rims!

SupermotoXL
post Apr 4 2020, 10:59 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Apr 4 2020, 03:09 AM)
Okay... what do these 14mm to 12mm in-wheel hex adaptors look like? Where to get them?

I've seen those sleeve types that slip onto the 12mm axle hex to size it up to 14mm in order to mount a 14mm hex wheel, but they're twice the cost of buying a new set of 12mm hex rims!
Thanks for the BEC link smile.gif
Btw did you try the slipping plastic shim method? I know you wheel is too big for 12mm hex but actually its easy fix..even plastic cardboard can be made to fill the 2mm differences.

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 4 2020, 11:22 AM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 4 2020, 11:17 AM

213 posts

DAY-15: 1989 TAMIYA QD RESTORATION PROJECT COMPLETED!
Btw sharing my interesting project that i've successfully completed turning this poor ugly old classic 1989 Tamiya QD Monster Beetle which i received as gift from my friend long time ago into more head turning beautiful looks of scale Monster Volkswagen! Its a 2 days of hard work cutting some part of the chassis, custom fabrication, 3d printing, painting and some customization work under. Now this R/C model looks beautiful!

You can check out my build log gallery here: https://www.supermotoxl.com/resources/galle...ter-beetle.html

Photos:

Before (The Ugly!)

Restoration!

AFTER - (The Beauty!)

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 4 2020, 11:21 AM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 8 2020, 08:58 PM

213 posts

DAY-20: 4x4 Track expansion
Work in progress..expanding existing size of my crawling track by adding more areas using recycling foam boards. Adding extra areas of tunnels, bridges and more off-roading area to drive around. Hopefully this 4x4 diorama to be completed by this week. bruce.gif

Photos:

ZZR-Pilot
post Apr 12 2020, 02:55 PM

1,057 posts

Well my 2.2" alloys finally arrived. Although it said 14mm hex mount in the fine print (which I missed), happily they screwed it up & sent me 12mm ones instead! So they fit right away! Problem averted.

My RGT Rockhammer / FTX Mauler chassis & drivetrain have now been completely rebuilt with SCX10 parts.

The only grief so far:

1) The wheel extenders bind against the axle, creating a significant amt of resistance. The locking pins had to be forced in. I guess the motor will just hv to wear them out by force to free them up.

2) The upper suspension links won't clear the servos when the suspension is fully extended, limiting articulation. Either I get new low profile servos (I won't), or get new ones that are 10mm longer with dogleg design.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
SupermotoXL
post Apr 13 2020, 09:13 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Apr 12 2020, 02:55 PM)
Well my 2.2" alloys finally arrived. Although it said 14mm hex mount in the fine print (which I missed), happily they screwed it up & sent me 12mm ones instead! So they fit right away! Problem averted.

My RGT Rockhammer / FTX Mauler chassis & drivetrain have now been completely rebuilt with SCX10 parts.

The only grief so far:

1) The wheel extenders bind against the axle, creating a significant amt of resistance. The locking pins had to be forced in. I guess the motor will just hv to wear them out by force to free them up.

2) The upper suspension links won't clear the servos when the suspension is fully extended, limiting articulation. Either I get new low profile servos (I won't), or get new ones that are 10mm longer with dogleg design.
Everything on RGT mods looks shiny blink! And looks super tall! Nice! drool.gif

(1) As for the wheel extender bind against the axle you can solve it by putting a thing metal collar same size as axle outer bearing collar so that the extender will sit on the bearing's rotating collar than press fit friction. If you look at your original 12mm hex hub from behind you'll understand what i meant. If you don't have that metal collar you can build your own using thin hard wire and round it into rings or use sliced of ball point pen spring.

(2) Since your suspension setup is quite high for the servo to reach best is to put the servo back directly on top of the axle just like traditional AX-10 type mount.
ZZR-Pilot
post Apr 13 2020, 10:12 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Apr 13 2020, 10:13 AM)
Everything on RGT mods looks shiny blink! And looks super tall! Nice!  drool.gif

(1) As for the wheel extender bind against the axle you can solve it by putting a thing metal collar same size as axle outer bearing collar so that the extender will sit on the bearing's rotating collar than press fit friction.  If you look at your original 12mm hex hub from behind you'll understand what i meant.  If you don't have that metal collar you can build your own using thin hard wire and round it into rings or use sliced of ball point pen spring.

Interesting! Thanks I check it out!

(2) Since your suspension setup is quite high for the servo to reach best is to put the servo back directly on top of the axle just like traditional AX-10 type mount.
Yeah it's mounted on the axle, but the mounting plate sits so far back that the rear of the servo blocks the upper links. I managed to solve this problem by flipping the mounting plate around 180-deg, which shifts the servo fwd by 15mm to clear the upper links completely. Now I get full articulation.

Will do the wiring & electronics next weekend.

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Apr 13 2020, 10:13 AM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 13 2020, 10:24 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Apr 13 2020, 10:12 AM)
Interesting! Thanks I check it out!
Yeah it's mounted on the axle, but the mounting plate sits so far back that the rear of the servo blocks the upper links. I managed to solve this problem by flipping the mounting plate around 180-deg, which shifts the servo fwd by 15mm to clear the upper links completely. Now I get full articulation.
Did you already bought 2.2 tires for your new wheel or use back stock RGT tires?
SupermotoXL
post Apr 13 2020, 10:36 PM

213 posts

DAY - 28" Crawler track at 80% completion

Oh btw some updates on my track building...yes! its at 80% completion and yet still looks good! Driveable with passable rocky tunnels, caves, steep climbs and etc. The track looks almost perfect. I've just completed mold it using heat torch, painting using acrylic paint and put sponge DIY ornaments few days ago. Next putting few track decoration like sign post, bridges and light touch up soon.

Photos:

ZZR-Pilot
post Apr 14 2020, 07:41 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Apr 13 2020, 11:24 PM)
Did you already bought 2.2 tires for your new wheel or use back stock RGT tires?
The stock RGT ones are glued on already. Looking to buy new rubbers maybe next month or after our office reopens (musn't let the wife kantoi me receiving yet another package of toy parts otherwise she will hiam me to death).

kizwan
post Apr 15 2020, 11:44 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

Usually for speed, which is preferred? Solid axle OR independent suspension?
ShaolinTiger
post Apr 15 2020, 12:03 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Apr 15 2020, 11:44 AM)
Independent, solid-axle is for strength more than anything else, if you are putting serious power through something which is getting a lot of abuse, solid-axle has a lot less moving parts, so less to go wrong or break.

That's my understanding of it anyway.
kizwan
post Apr 15 2020, 12:51 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Apr 15 2020, 12:03 PM)
Independent, solid-axle is for strength more than anything else, if you are putting serious power through something which is getting a lot of abuse, solid-axle has a lot less moving parts, so less to go wrong or break.

That's my understanding of it anyway.
Since solid axle has less moving parts, maybe it would be too stressful for them to handle like high speed off-roading?
SupermotoXL
post Apr 16 2020, 01:16 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Apr 15 2020, 11:44 AM)
What kind of speeding you're looking at? I have some model that have various suspension configuration which i can tell you base on my experience driving these models.

1. Full front and rear axle.
+ Great for straight line speed (Drag racing)
- Slow and unstable when steering/cornering. Center Gravity topple/yawing around.
- Not good for competitive racing.
+ Good for crawling over rocks due to linear moment side by side.
+ Good consistent ground clearance

2. Front independent + Rear solid axle
+ Great for all terrain off-roading speed
+ OK for cornering speed
+ Average rock crawling performance

3. Full independent front and rear
+ Great for extreme speed
+ Good Center Gravity chassis countering
+ Excellent cornering
+ Excellent stable ramp jumper and landing
- Not so good for ground clearance.
ZZR-Pilot
post Apr 19 2020, 02:18 AM

1,057 posts

Basic wiring checks out! Hooray!! The ESC runs, the RX runs, the lights run & the motor runs.

This overdue build is slowly taking shape, finally...

SupermotoXL
post Apr 19 2020, 05:11 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Apr 19 2020, 02:18 AM)
Basic wiring checks out! Hooray!! The ESC runs, the RX runs, the lights run & the motor runs.

This overdue build is slowly taking shape, finally...
Looking good, i can see the two wheel steering running parallel. thumbsup.gif
How did you program the 2WS servo to steer in various configuration?
kizwan
post Apr 20 2020, 12:04 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Apr 16 2020, 01:16 PM)
What kind of speeding you're looking at? I have some model that have various suspension configuration which i can tell you base on my experience driving these models.
1.  Full front and rear axle.
+ Great for straight line speed (Drag racing)
- Slow and unstable when steering/cornering. Center Gravity topple/yawing around.
- Not good for competitive racing.
+ Good for crawling over rocks due to linear moment side by side.
+ Good consistent ground clearance
2. Front independent + Rear solid axle
+ Great for all terrain off-roading speed
+ OK for cornering speed
+ Average rock crawling performance
3. Full independent front and rear
+ Great for extreme speed
+ Good Center Gravity chassis countering
+ Excellent cornering
+ Excellent stable ramp jumper and landing
- Not so good for ground clearance.
Thanks. No. 3 would be what I'm looking for. I'm more 2s extreme speed kinda guy. Not really into 3s, 4s, etc because I don't have access to proper track for them. smile.gif
ZZR-Pilot
post Apr 20 2020, 12:57 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Apr 19 2020, 06:11 PM)
Looking good, i can see the two wheel steering running parallel.  :thumbsup:
How did you program the 2WS servo to steer in various configuration?
My FS-GT5 radio TX has a crawler function that allows the rear servo to be engaged on channel 3. Straight out of the box, the TX menu gives me the option to do front wheel steering, rear wheel steering, F+R steering same direction & F+R steering opposite directions.

Best cheap TX.

SupermotoXL
post Apr 20 2020, 10:29 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Apr 20 2020, 12:04 AM)
Thanks. No. 3 would be what I'm looking for. I'm more 2s extreme speed kinda guy. Not really into 3s, 4s, etc because I don't have access to proper track for them. smile.gif
Nice! what model you're getting?. Lots of choices for independent suspension on the market.

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Apr 20 2020, 12:57 AM)
My FS-GT5 radio TX has a crawler function that allows the rear servo to be engaged on channel 3. Straight out of the box, the TX menu gives me the option to do front wheel steering, rear wheel steering, F+R steering same direction & F+R steering opposite directions.

Best cheap TX.
Great to hear FS-GT5 support all those 2WS configuration out of box. I might get one some day for 2WS crawler soon and they seems to be cheaper and easy to use than expensive Futaba for the same function. rclxm9.gif
SupermotoXL
post Apr 20 2020, 10:43 AM

213 posts

DAY 30: Night crawling on my new '4x4 ARENA' track

We'll i've 100% completed building my track during MCO/PKP season which i called it as '4x4 ARENA' based on the sheer size all and stacked height track. Finished added final touch of paint, track ornaments and ambient LED lighting to spark the feeling of crawling sensation all day and night. Spend from 7.00pm till 12.30am to complete a loop on this massive track. Here snapshots of fun i had at night driving my 1:35 scale Orlandoo Hunter crawler model at home and also gallery below links at my site:

4x4 Arena gallery links: https://www.supermotoxl.com/resources/galle...wd-crawler.html

Photos preview:

96 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled