125 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Android Phone recommendation thread v4, The fourth of many, many more to come

danielcmugen
post Jan 10 2012, 04:39 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 04:35 PM)
Why Google Nexus S or Neo V? I saw that Galaxy W's Clock speed is higher than that two
The neo V is just a suggestion just in case u like its design or so. Galaxy W is more recommended than neo V.

I recommend nexus S because it is a google phone and has...
-better future support than most droids
-stock vanilla UI = smooth
-loads of custom ROMS to play with
-better GPU than galaxy W although galaxy W is faster by 400mhz, but the GPU matters more than the 400mhz
-16gb internal memory but no card slot though
-bigger screen with gorilla glass

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 10 2012, 04:41 PM
wcypierre
post Jan 10 2012, 04:53 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 10 2012, 04:39 PM)
The neo V is just a suggestion just in case u like its design or so. Galaxy W is more recommended than neo V.

-better GPU than galaxy W although galaxy W is faster by 400mhz, but the GPU matters more than the 400mhz
I thought that GPU only matters if you play a lot of games?
x132755
post Jan 10 2012, 09:17 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 04:53 PM)
CPU + GPU is important too. thumbup.gif
annoymous1234
post Jan 10 2012, 09:21 PM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 10 2012, 04:01 PM)
i tot you already have s2 and s+ ???
need another phone, got so many sim card ?? @@

the powervr sgx540 i think won't outdate since galaxy nexus and motorola razr also using it
furthermore, the 1st sgs already using it, which is 1 and 1/2 years ago @@
for gaming i dunno since i confuse on phone GPU, yes xperia neo totally has the better camera
but, it disadvantage is less internal storage, although got link2sd, but also can't move a lot @@
i dont own s2.. only S+
my S+ pass it to my parents liao.. but i still will use it sometimes xD
wa bout urs? i remember u said ur sgs2 at ur sister there or something?
actually i also aiming for nexus but way over budget d.. the closest thing is either nexus S which fully support by google or neo cause of the cam. don't want samsung edi after the decide not to give us ICS..

This post has been edited by annoymous1234: Jan 10 2012, 09:28 PM
eastwest
post Jan 10 2012, 09:36 PM

1,608 posts

when will the s2 price go down? should I get s2 now or wait for a few months more?
annoymous1234
post Jan 10 2012, 09:44 PM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 10 2012, 04:39 PM)

yup. no touchwiz or what timescape UI (useless to me) lol
hmm do u guys think google will give jelly bean to nexus S? nexus one did not get ICS right?

This post has been edited by annoymous1234: Jan 10 2012, 09:55 PM
wcypierre
post Jan 10 2012, 09:58 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Jan 10 2012, 09:17 PM)
CPU + GPU is important too. thumbup.gif
Yeah, I know. But I use my phone mostly for surfing, listen music or play with apps(maybe some lightweight games), that's why I asked whether I should get a phone with better GPU or not. (As a better GPU can hasten the picture loading time for the browser, I think)
sk8ter87
post Jan 10 2012, 10:05 PM

33 posts

Hi guys,i'm planning to buy new smartphones. This will be my first smartphone. I hope to find good one that suits my budget. Hope you guys can advise me in this. smile.gif

1. Brand. (HTC/Samsung)
2. Budget. (Around RM 1.5K )
3. Specs. (any spec)
4. What you need in the phone (Good camera/good sound quality/GPS/long last battery)

danielcmugen
post Jan 10 2012, 10:06 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jan 10 2012, 09:44 PM)
yup. no touchwiz or what timescape UI (useless to me) lol
hmm do u guys think google will give jelly bean to nexus S? nexus one did not get ICS right?
Ya, nexus one no ICS. For the jellybean thing, N.S has the highest chance to get it than any of them in the 1k price range...maybe can challenge those rm2k phones also brows.gif

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(sk8ter87 @ Jan 10 2012, 10:05 PM)
Hi guys,i'm planning to buy new smartphones. This will be my first smartphone. I hope to find good one that suits my budget. Hope you guys can advise me in this. smile.gif

1. Brand. (HTC/Samsung)
3. Specs. (any spec)
4. What you need in the phone (Good camera/good sound quality/GPS/long last battery)

SE xperia arc S (sound quality I think so-so only though) or wait for the MWC event to know what are the upcoming phones

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(eastwest @ Jan 10 2012, 09:36 PM)
when will the s2 price go down? should I get s2 now or wait for a few months more?
I think if can wait then wait lor, cuz MWC event coming soon

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 04:53 PM)
But I think the advantage of the better gpu is more than that clock speed? That's what I read somewhere. I think GPU not only for gaming hmm.gif not that sure...hope some other forummers can help u in this

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 10 2012, 10:15 PM
kidmad
post Jan 10 2012, 10:26 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 09:58 PM)
Yeah, I know. But I use my phone mostly for surfing, listen music or play with apps(maybe some lightweight games), that's why I asked whether I should get a phone with better GPU or not. (As a better GPU can hasten the picture loading time for the browser, I think)
seriously... NO! how fast your browser can load the image is highly depending on the network you are on. Your rendering speed will always be faster than your network connection.

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 10 2012, 10:06 PM)
But I think the advantage of the better gpu is more than that clock speed? That's what I read somewhere. I think GPU not only for gaming hmm.gif not that sure...hope some other forummers can help u in this
For such a small device yup the GPU is not only for gaming. Anything which has an UI will actually require a graphic accelerator to render it on your screen. How fast could it be render on your screen? That's depending on both your GPU and CPU. On our dekstop the speed is too fast where the difference can only be significant when gaming or other application which require high graphic processing power.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Jan 10 2012, 10:28 PM
x132755
post Jan 10 2012, 10:53 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

1. Brand. (HTC/Samsung)
3. Specs. (any spec)

Infuse 4G @ 1300 ap thumbup.gif 4.5"/8mp/3g/wifi/gps thumbup.gif
wcypierre
post Jan 10 2012, 11:15 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jan 10 2012, 10:26 PM)
seriously... NO! how fast your browser can load the image is highly depending on the network you are on. Your rendering speed will always be faster than your network connection.
I'm talking about keeping other factors as constant and keeping CPU and GPU as the factor la.

For such a small device yup the GPU is not only for gaming. Anything which has an UI will actually require a graphic accelerator to render it on your screen. How fast could it be render on your screen? That's depending on both your GPU and CPU. On our dekstop the speed is too fast where the difference can only be significant when gaming or other application which require high graphic processing power.
This is what I'm talking about. What I meant is that will the loss of 400mhz be worth it for the sake of increased performance of GPU?
kidmad
post Jan 10 2012, 11:35 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 11:15 PM)
I'm talking about keeping other factors as constant and keeping CPU and GPU as the factor la.
This is what I'm talking about. What I meant is that will the loss of 400mhz be worth it for the sake of increased performance of GPU?
Simple answer to your question. You're image loading speed bottleneck is on the network. Not your Gpu..

sk8ter87
post Jan 10 2012, 11:36 PM

33 posts

@x132755, bro.. if you are in my shoe , which one u prefer ?? Infuse 4G or htc sensation xe (need to add extra $)?
wcypierre
post Jan 10 2012, 11:41 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jan 10 2012, 11:35 PM)
Simple answer to your question. You're image loading speed bottleneck is on the network. Not your Gpu..
Well, I had already said that, KEEP the Network speed as a constant factor doh.gif . Just compare the CPU and GPU
kidmad
post Jan 11 2012, 12:44 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 11:41 PM)
Well, I had already said that, KEEP the Network speed as a constant factor  doh.gif . Just compare the CPU and GPU
do you even know what comparison you making? Constant? Nothing is constant and of course better CPU & GPU would help. That's just a simple logic but for browser img loading.. That is a bad was example....
wcypierre
post Jan 11 2012, 01:29 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jan 11 2012, 12:44 AM)
do you even know what comparison you making? Constant? Nothing is constant and of course better CPU & GPU would help. That's just a simple logic but for browser img loading.. That is a bad was example....
Yes, I'm very clear of it.
Google Nexus S:
CPU 1 GHz Cortex-A8
GPU PowerVR SGX540
Galaxy W:
CPU 1.4 GHz Scorpion
GPU Adreno 205
Does the size of your phone changes? sweat.gif Well, maybe that example would not be that suitable since Internet speed is a factor that can't be held constant that easily.

Obviously I know that better CPU and GPU would help, but now my question is what if one goes up(GPU) and the other one goes down(CPU)? doh.gif

nick_vll
post Jan 11 2012, 02:13 AM

512 posts

1. Brand. (HTC/Samsung)
3. Specs. (any spec)

sony erricson xperia arc s, htc sensation, samsung galaxy s plus
kidmad
post Jan 11 2012, 06:49 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 11 2012, 01:29 AM)
Google Nexus S:
Galaxy W:
Does the size of your phone changes?  sweat.gif  Well, maybe that example would not be that suitable since Internet speed is a factor that can't be held constant that easily.

Obviously I know that better CPU and GPU would help, but now my question is what if one goes up(GPU) and the other one goes down(CPU)?  doh.gif
no one will be able to give you the damn exact figure here. Both unit if taken for comparison there would not be much difference and you are the one who took PICTURE LOADING as a benchmark. If you want to benchmark them just use antutu scores.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Jan 11 2012, 09:29 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 11 2012, 01:29 AM)
Google Nexus S:
Galaxy W:
Does the size of your phone changes?  sweat.gif  Well, maybe that example would not be that suitable since Internet speed is a factor that can't be held constant that easily.

Obviously I know that better CPU and GPU would help, but now my question is what if one goes up(GPU) and the other one goes down(CPU)?  doh.gif
The extra 400mhz of horsepower is useless. It serves no purpose. The SGX540 will definitely triumph in game FPS if compared to the adreno205.

Added on January 11, 2012, 9:36 am
QUOTE(sk8ter87 @ Jan 10 2012, 11:36 PM)
@x132755, bro.. if you are in my shoe , which one u prefer ?? Infuse 4G or htc sensation xe (need to add extra $)?
Infuse 4g is not really recommended as it is a single core phone and since your budget is already quite high, I suggest you either go for a Sensation/XE or you wait till next month for more announcements.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Jan 11 2012, 09:36 AM

125 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:50 PM