5,538 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Jan 6 2012, 04:08 PM)
simple, Galaxy Nexus S  smile.gif
^ No galaxy word la, just Samsung Google Nexus S icon_idea.gif
danielcmugen
post Jan 10 2012, 04:00 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 12:10 AM)
1. Brand - Anything. As long as I can find it at normal retail stores. lol.
2. Budget - 800 - 900
3. Specs. >1Ghz Proc, RAM > 300mb, >3.2megapixel camera

Had been thinking of Galaxy W but the demand is so great that the price is not moving at all ==
If normal authorized dealer is ok, then can look at google nexus S. If MUST REAL official retail store, other than galaxy W would be SE neo V. But not sure its RAM how much rclxub.gif
danielcmugen
post Jan 10 2012, 04:04 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Badakitten @ Jan 10 2012, 09:02 AM)
Hey guys, need some help here.

Love to have android now, never use it before so i have nothing on this..
Price : somewhere below 2K
brand: Give the best, would think of Samsung
Important things i need: can use to scan 2D code, internet flexibilities 3G,EDGE,Wifi, GPS that works to the point am standing, Good memory for watching videos in good quality (hopefully full HD).

Thanks in advance.
Samsung galaxy nexus, ori set coming soon smile.gif Or wait for the MWC event to see what are the upcoming phones

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 10 2012, 04:07 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 10 2012, 04:39 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 04:35 PM)
Why Google Nexus S or Neo V? I saw that Galaxy W's Clock speed is higher than that two
The neo V is just a suggestion just in case u like its design or so. Galaxy W is more recommended than neo V.

I recommend nexus S because it is a google phone and has...
-better future support than most droids
-stock vanilla UI = smooth
-loads of custom ROMS to play with
-better GPU than galaxy W although galaxy W is faster by 400mhz, but the GPU matters more than the 400mhz
-16gb internal memory but no card slot though
-bigger screen with gorilla glass

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 10 2012, 04:41 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 10 2012, 10:06 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jan 10 2012, 09:44 PM)
yup. no touchwiz or what timescape UI (useless to me) lol
hmm do u guys think google will give jelly bean to nexus S? nexus one did not get ICS right?
Ya, nexus one no ICS. For the jellybean thing, N.S has the highest chance to get it than any of them in the 1k price range...maybe can challenge those rm2k phones also brows.gif

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(sk8ter87 @ Jan 10 2012, 10:05 PM)
Hi guys,i'm planning to buy new smartphones. This will be my first smartphone. I hope to find good one that suits my budget. Hope you guys can advise me in this. smile.gif

1. Brand. (HTC/Samsung)
2. Budget. (Around RM 1.5K )
3. Specs. (any spec)
4. What you need in the phone (Good camera/good sound quality/GPS/long last battery)

SE xperia arc S (sound quality I think so-so only though) or wait for the MWC event to know what are the upcoming phones

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(eastwest @ Jan 10 2012, 09:36 PM)
when will the s2 price go down? should I get s2 now or wait for a few months more?
I think if can wait then wait lor, cuz MWC event coming soon

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 10 2012, 04:53 PM)
I thought that GPU only matters if you play a lot of games?
But I think the advantage of the better gpu is more than that clock speed? That's what I read somewhere. I think GPU not only for gaming hmm.gif not that sure...hope some other forummers can help u in this

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 10 2012, 10:15 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 12 2012, 03:45 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(kalandra @ Jan 11 2012, 09:39 PM)
I keep reading about the next generation of smartphones coming, when is it expected to come (rough estimatation is ok), and how much the current model prices are expected to drop?
Those announced during CES maybe will come around feb-april, those from MWC maybe april-july. If the next generation already quad-core, then dual-cores I think will drop until 1.6k and below depending on model...not that sure hmm.gif
danielcmugen
post Jan 14 2012, 11:16 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Jan 14 2012, 07:49 AM)
Galaxy Y, Xperia Mini , Xperia Mini Pro, and Galaxy Ace

Which is better, in term of price?
I scare if I getting a 3" inch screen, is it hard to for typing message or social network , so is it getting a Xperia Mini Pro is a good idea since it got QWERTY keyboard + front camera, and cheaper than Ace, is it?

Anyone got other better recommendation within budget RM700, no CSL or china brand (Huawei etc)?

BTW, 480x320 res, is it enough to running 75% of android market apps, beside games? I need a student and I need to use it as dictionary apps, sometimes social , or play some dumb games like Moron test
Xperia mini pro. 320x480 res shouldn't be a problem, dun worry smile.gif

Added on January 14, 2012, 11:20 am
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 14 2012, 08:36 AM)
Currently using Nexus S with 4.0 ICS. Fell in love with ICS interface.. now i a choosing over galaxy nexus and galaxy note. Galaxy nexus is nice with the higher ppi and has a notification LED, which is a Godsend. But galaxy note is more powerful and has a big screen, can take note, write, same  like a notepad..
Up to u actually, the note I think will also get ICS hmm.gif . It seems note is more suited for u if u dun mind the size, make sure hold nicely both phones before deciding. Good luck

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 14 2012, 11:20 AM
danielcmugen
post Jan 14 2012, 02:52 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(soapmac @ Jan 14 2012, 02:26 PM)
1. Brand: i prefer Sony Ericsson but please feel free to suggest other brands.
2. Budget: rm700 max.
3. Specs: no lagging or not responding stuff. camera that can capture nice video. hd perhaps. screen size can be any.
4. What you need in the phone: pdf reader. angry birds. basically usual stuffs that an android must be able to install.

i think ive asked before but i cant find my reply anywhere around the thread. maybe its due to the connection problem at that time. anyway, if its being removed or ignored i am very sorry. i just want to spend rm700 nicely.

SE xperia mini pro/xperia mini (not x10 mini/x10 mini pro). But not sure about the pdf reader and hd video recording(can check out the spec sheet)
danielcmugen
post Jan 15 2012, 12:35 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(frella @ Jan 15 2012, 12:31 AM)
huhu. arc s is indeed one of the besties. but i'm just a first time android user. thinking to familiar myself with the midrange fon first

so if i buy neo ap, the resale value is very low meh? hard to trade in?
what if i buy neo (V) ORI instead?

jus luv the neo brothers design dun no why
Then take neo V lah, the AP thing is just that less people want AP. So resale value will be lower a bit

Added on January 15, 2012, 12:38 am
QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Jan 15 2012, 12:03 AM)
alot of people using S2 now sad.gif  and there's the G and non-G issue tongue.gif quite troublesome...
galaxy 7 plus gt ICS?
Not confirmed got ICS yet. Wait a while for the announcement...if u can. But I heard it's not gonna have hmm.gif not that sure

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 15 2012, 12:40 AM
danielcmugen
post Jan 15 2012, 05:16 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(frella @ Jan 15 2012, 12:42 AM)
thanx. gud to hear that. then i'll juz grab either this neo or neo v. going to shop see n feel myself and decide there riteaway

Added on January 15, 2012, 12:46 amowh yes.
1- both neo n neo v can get free ICS update onot?
2- both can install papago?
3- the built-in a-gps need to pay for the service? must have internet to use the a-gps?
1) yes
2) yes
3) not sure
danielcmugen
post Jan 17 2012, 03:59 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(jaithesimpleguy @ Jan 17 2012, 12:22 PM)
ap set? what the ori price xpera neo v would be?
I think 850-900.
fridel, ori set is available for neo V but not neo

Added on January 17, 2012, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(sarf2k4 @ Jan 17 2012, 01:38 PM)
do u know any cheapest android based phone available? i only ask this cos my friend r going to get a 1st phone for him, id recommend him android rather than just folding type (his preference). doesnt matter what feature it has.

if can, maybe list out the model name along with their price...

thanks in advance biggrin.gif
Cheapest: CSL mi-300, maybe around 300+
Others: Sansung galaxy Y, huawei ideos x3

Added on January 17, 2012, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(MasterAlvin @ Jan 17 2012, 07:52 AM)
I know, I'm aware too.

Those are the advatages of the Xperia S but Galaxy Nexus is also dual core and comes with ICS and Xperia S is only on android 2.3,
Is ICS enough to be the reason for me to get GN now? or should I wait for Xperia S?
Xperia S almost certainly will get official ICS. If u can wait...wait for xperia S rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 17 2012, 04:08 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 19 2012, 03:18 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(sarf2k4 @ Jan 19 2012, 02:05 PM)
g-pop is actually g-mini... saw this 1 store sell g-mini but the the sticker on the screen says g-pop
i did tried it out several times until recently tried it for real set without the one displayed by shop that has alarm system attached, quite comfortable on my hand, 70% of the time can do it with single hand. definitely going to get g-note

off topic a little bit, for samsung phones, how can i know if the phone r original warranty or not? maybe can post a link or picture to identify this? afraid later will tio ap set

Added on January 19, 2012, 2:13 pm
depending on what u wan to use the phone with android of cos, so far the slowest cpu that can support android that i know is 600mhz, thats g-mini, my friend using it and when play angry birds it got lag.

rendering a graphic, calculations or watching video requires cpu, RAM specifically dont pose much of a problem since RAM purpose is to keep temporary file inside it until closed/saved.

these r just what i understand about cpu and ram... not very sure about phone systems. but should be the same concept. hope this info wont confuse u guys out there
i think he means about the min requirement for android
HTC wildfire and some older androids only 528mhz, but laggy lah hehe

Added on January 19, 2012, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(SaltyBean @ Jan 19 2012, 02:45 PM)
hehehe, i dun know how to describe it.. i mean does the android program requires high specs phone to run it?
I notice this wen each android software version update..
Yeah u got a point bout the RAM concept.
I just wana get the feel of a android program. It was coincidence i have sum $ to "play" another phone set. kiddingx3
I just use it for vids, listen songs & surf d net.
I guess everyone who own a big screen phone will feel that "not so gud feeling" when switchin to a smaller screen set. I want a bigger screen.
That's my only requirement. Between the samsung S+ and W, which is a better? I baca d comparison in GSMarena, the S+ is better in term of the
- display (S+ had super amoled)
- bigger screen
- larger internal H/Disk

Anyone own this two phone before? Mind to give ur feedbacks? Thank you again
If $$ is not an issue, sure S+ better

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 19 2012, 03:21 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 19 2012, 09:44 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(sarf2k4 @ Jan 19 2012, 07:48 PM)
so ap one dun have? or the imei differs from the box?
I heard that nowadays some AP sets the IMEI same with the box. Not sure bout the sticker though
danielcmugen
post Jan 22 2012, 05:34 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Ebitz @ Jan 22 2012, 01:32 AM)
RM500
Huawei ideos x3

Added on January 22, 2012, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(ZeeKhai @ Jan 22 2012, 10:16 AM)
1. Brand. HTC, Samsung, Sony (Maybe) Huawei (Maybe)
2. Budget. 800-1k
3. Specs. 1Ghz processor (Single core would do), 512 mb RAM, minimum of 1gb internal storage, 5mp camera.
4. What you need in the phone
1) Durable, solid build
2) Custom roms that are fast and beautiful available (Eg: CM7/Miui)
3) Preferably ori sets
4) Easy to root/flash (No locked bootloaders)
5) Has large community
6) Decent gaming capabilities.
7) Smooth web browsing

I asked here before on what phone should I get, and I was reccomended with Sony and stuffs, but never bought one yet. Right now it's been like 3 months + already. So I was thinking what other options do I have?

And if there are better options for more than 1k, I can stretch my budget by maybe an extra 100-200, but that's about it.
No doubt it is the HTC desire S thumbup.gif but u have to confirm bout the bootloader 1st

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 22 2012, 05:36 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 22 2012, 10:53 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 22 2012, 09:52 PM)
evo 3D so bad ar? sweat.gif
whats the usual problem that they faced?
Just that you'll be bored with the 3D effects after some time. If u like it, go ahead and buy rclxms.gif no one's stopping u
danielcmugen
post Jan 22 2012, 10:59 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(rikajue91 @ Jan 22 2012, 08:56 PM)
Hi, I'm noob in this phone thing. Currently using Nokia Classic 2210, I think  tongue.gif . Planning to buy new phone because Nokia keeps autostarting & also keypad not good anymore.

1. Brand: Looking at HTC. One & only.  wub.gif Sorry for other suggestions.

2. Budget: RM 750- RM1700 (Depends maybe after I buy other stuffs.)  biggrin.gif

3. Specs: Don't really know anything about the specs.  sweat.gif If camera 5MP like the Nokia I'm using now, maybe. Either, I don't use camera much.

4. What you need in the phone: WiFi, Internet surfing capabilities, apps lock if possible. some task manager like stickynotes, calendar reminders etc.....

My first phone Motorola L6 had a lock for apps which was really handy. Would love that lock again for Contacts and SMS.  whistling.gif

Thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif
Actually for your usage u dun really need a dual-core phone, why not save some $ and get mid-ranged ones? The desire S should be enough, incredible S or rhyme also ok. Desire HD got big screen but bad battery life wink.gif
danielcmugen
post Jan 22 2012, 11:08 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 22 2012, 07:51 PM)
is it? mistaken identity then. tongue.gif

my budget initially is 1.2k, but then saw most place no more stock for Sensation, so maybe upped 200 to get Evo 3D or Optimus 3D.
Why not go for motorola atrix? Only worry is the ICS update as it looks like only the atrix 2 will be getting it. Unless u flash ICS custom ROM on atrix brows.gif

Added on January 22, 2012, 11:09 pmHappy CNY everybody!!

Added on January 22, 2012, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 22 2012, 11:06 PM)
oh, ok luckily. i thought it was hardware or software problem.  that would be really bad.

Sensation seems either out of stock or sold more expensive than Evo 3D. from what i observe, LG seems to be very bad at updating it's software quick enough, or will it even get an update..
But I heard that the 3D effect of the optimus 3D is better than the 1 in the evo. True about the updates of LG sad.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 22 2012, 11:12 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 23 2012, 09:13 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jan 23 2012, 05:06 PM)
Why htc only..? Curious..if i were u..i go for sensation xl
Some people got their favourite brand ge mah laugh.gif
But why XL over XE? XL got single core only wor
danielcmugen
post Jan 24 2012, 11:26 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Jan 24 2012, 07:29 AM)
Okay...

now down to these

Huawei Honor
Xperia Arc/S
Xperia Play
Galaxy W
Incredible S

main use

GPS, Gaming, PDF Reading, Camera
Incredible S. 1 forummer here upgraded from galaxy SL I think satisfied with incredible S' GPS. Not sure bout GPS on others. Gaming, PDF and camera also would do fine in that phone thumbup.gif But maybe got occasional phone slowdown due to sense 3.0, 2nd choice would be huawei honor

Added on January 24, 2012, 11:29 am
QUOTE(Ebitz @ Jan 24 2012, 02:24 AM)
thanks to the one suggested xperia mini pro.

ok guys, now i cant make up my mind between samsung galaxy y and xperia mini sad.gif
i like the galaxy y design but xperia mini's camera and hd videos beats it.
what you guys say?
anyone knows the ap and ori price of xperia mini?
thx a lot
$$ not a prob? Go for xperia mini then. But u need to test 1st as the screen only 3". For the price can check x132755's signature

Added on January 24, 2012, 11:38 am
QUOTE(lightonokira @ Jan 23 2012, 10:34 PM)
BUDGET 1k, AP/ORI

please recommend me... serious gamer!
SE xperia play

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 24 2012, 11:38 AM
danielcmugen
post Jan 24 2012, 01:04 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jan 24 2012, 12:32 PM)
brand: SE/HTC
Budget: below 1.3k
specs: 8MP camera, large screen, nice audio
main use: camera, sms, gaming

any recommendation? thinking SE arc S or I HTC incredible
What kind of games? HD type? Go for incredible S, bigger internal storage. But performance slower than arc S sad.gif
More HD games but slower - Incredible S
Less HD games but faster - Arc S

Camera wise arc S wins, for audio Im not sure. But huawei honor more worthy thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 24 2012, 01:06 PM

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0515sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:57 PM