125 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Android Phone recommendation thread v4, The fourth of many, many more to come

drinity
post Jan 24 2012, 02:47 PM

hey guys, i really need ur help..

i've been looking to buy a phone for ard a month now. this would be my first smartphone. my budget is ard rm1250.<kais pagi makan pagi while sem break>

at first i was close to purchasing xperia arc s Ap set. but then my friends told me tht SE phones are not as good as samsung. they said that the phone will start to lag or hang after 6 months and the build quality isn't as good as samsung. like the cover will start to come out after a while.
so i then directed my sights on galaxy S+ ori. can get ard 1.2k i think. but the problem is that the camera has no flash. xperia arc s- 8mp flash vs s+ 5mp no flash.. that spec really bugs me..

so basictly my queation, is SE buld quality really as bad as some say or should i just go for it. or are there other phones that im overlooking. my requirements for the phone would be good build quality, good camera with flash, large screen, and doesnt have any lag issues...
plzz help me...

danielcmugen
post Jan 24 2012, 03:16 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(drinity @ Jan 24 2012, 02:47 PM)

i've been looking to buy a phone for ard a month now. this would be my first smartphone. my budget is ard rm1250.<kais pagi makan pagi while sem break>

at first i was close to purchasing xperia arc s Ap set. but then my friends told me tht SE phones are not as good as samsung. they said that the phone will start to lag or hang after 6 months and the build quality isn't as good as samsung. like the cover will start to come out after a while.
so i then directed my sights on galaxy S+ ori. can get ard 1.2k i think. but the problem is that the camera has no flash. xperia arc s- 8mp flash vs s+ 5mp no flash.. that spec really bugs me..

so basictly my queation, is SE buld quality really as bad as some say or should i just go for it. or are there other phones that im overlooking. my requirements for the phone would be good build quality, good camera with flash, large screen, and doesnt have any lag issues...
plzz help me...
SE build quality is bad but for the lag/hang issue, I dun think that's really true unsure.gif . Yes arc S got the crack issue (not sure newer batch still got or not) on the plastic part on top of the screen, but it can be fixed through warranty so I suggest u better buy ori instead. Cuz the crack isnt obvious (I've seen it on my friend's arc) and if u wanna send it for AP warranty they might say dun have crack as an excuse to not fix.

Samsung's build quality also not that good, HTC is the 1 good...totally solid thumbup.gif

I suggest huawei honor, around 1k and suits your needs
yeejin9004
post Jan 24 2012, 03:23 PM

36 posts

Digi Smartplan punya s2 is G or Non G??
danielcmugen
post Jan 24 2012, 03:24 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jan 24 2012, 01:17 PM)
Less games but those light light ones...i'm a girl and actually i prefer appearance more than internal heheh...screen wise and music which one is better? thx
Arc S or 2nd hand xperia X10, both got brilliant design!

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(yeejin9004 @ Jan 24 2012, 03:23 PM)
Should be G

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 24 2012, 03:25 PM
yeejin9004
post Jan 24 2012, 03:28 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 24 2012, 03:24 PM)

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:25 pm
Should be G
thx notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by yeejin9004: Jan 24 2012, 03:29 PM
drinity
post Jan 24 2012, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 24 2012, 03:16 PM)
SE build quality is bad but for the lag/hang issue, I dun think that's really true unsure.gif . Yes arc S got the crack issue (not sure newer batch still got or not) on the plastic part on top of the screen, but it can be fixed through warranty so I suggest u better buy ori instead. Cuz the crack isnt obvious (I've seen it on my friend's arc) and if u wanna send it for AP warranty they might say dun have crack as an excuse to not fix.

Samsung's build quality also not that good, HTC is the 1 good...totally solid thumbup.gif

I suggest huawei honor, around 1k and suits your needs
for HTC which model would you recommend?

danielcmugen
post Jan 24 2012, 05:25 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(drinity @ Jan 24 2012, 04:48 PM)
for HTC which model would you recommend?
HTC desire S or incredible S

Desire S - better take ori as I heard that it got some motherboard issues.

Incredible S - need to top up a bit for ori, AP is in your budget...can go for it if u willing to take risk

Got some slowness in both after update to sense 3.0

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 24 2012, 05:28 PM
drinity
post Jan 24 2012, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 24 2012, 05:25 PM)
HTC desire S or incredible S

Desire S - better take ori as I heard that it got some motherboard issues.

Incredible S - need to top up a bit for ori, AP is in your budget...can go for it if u willing to take risk

Got some slowness in both after update to sense 3.0
OK, thank a lot bro...
i think i'll go for incredible S... smile.gif
sasaug
post Jan 24 2012, 07:51 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

What could I get with 600-800 budget? Still new to android and I want to try out Android and might write some apps for it because I'm a developer as well. Any nice phone to start out with?
danielcmugen
post Jan 24 2012, 08:29 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(sasaug @ Jan 24 2012, 07:51 PM)
What could I get with 600-800 budget? Still new to android and I want to try out Android and might write some apps for it because I'm a developer as well. Any nice phone to start out with?
Huawei ideos x5 or top up and get samsung galaxy W
Farlz_89
post Jan 24 2012, 10:31 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(drinity @ Jan 24 2012, 05:46 PM)
OK, thank a lot bro...
i think i'll go for incredible S... smile.gif
+1..u also can consider HTC Sensation..Got lag on stock rom becoz of Htc sense..when u use custom rom phone will smooth..this phone is dual core somemore icon_rolleyes.gif
XeactorZ
post Jan 25 2012, 02:10 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,612 posts

QUOTE(Calex @ Jan 24 2012, 11:21 AM)
Haven't posted here in awhile  laugh.gif Need help from you guys  tongue.gif

Budget is Rm1k, can stretch to probably 1.3 at the very most.

Music is the main priority, good sound via earphones and speaker is a must.

A good, big screen is a deciding factor too.

From what I looked around, I see the :

-Xperia Arc / S,

-Xperia Play

-Samsung Infuse 4G

-Motorola Atrix 4G

Anymore suggestions is welcome tongue.gif No HTCs though, used them for so long, thought I want a change  tongue.gif
xperia arc s better
or consider lg optimus 2x
but both of them i dunno good music quality or not
and i tot the good sound via earphone is depends on the earphone ???

QUOTE(wyen @ Jan 24 2012, 12:32 PM)
brand: SE/HTC
Budget: below 1.3k
specs: 8MP camera, large screen, nice audio
main use: camera, sms, gaming

any recommendation? thinking SE arc S or HTC incredible
SE xperia arc s biggrin.gif

QUOTE(yeejin9004 @ Jan 24 2012, 02:32 PM)
samsung galaxy s2 or samsung galaxy nexus??pls help me...
this question a lot people ask
and this question also happen on me
but i choose to go nexus
cuz i prefer ori set than ap set so that have better resell value
furthermore, s2 too common already, everywhere can see, just like iphone
so need get something special
although it don't have microsd slot, but 16gb is enough for me which just like iphone no memory card slot
furthermore, it camera MP is just 5, but is enough for me since i seldom go photo shop print out the picture
and for galaxy nexus got hd screen and bigger screen, totally nice rclxms.gif
and here the link that a lot people discussing
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2195119
QUOTE(drinity @ Jan 24 2012, 02:47 PM)

plzz help me...
good camera with flash totally is SE phone already which is SE xperia arc s
for lag issue, sure got, cuz nothing is perfect

QUOTE(yeejin9004 @ Jan 24 2012, 03:23 PM)
G

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 24 2012, 03:24 PM)
Should be G
not should be, is exactly

QUOTE(sasaug @ Jan 24 2012, 07:51 PM)
wow developer, then go samsung galaxy w, nexus s(recommend this since you are developer, but hard to find at garage sales, good luck)
rikajue91
post Jan 25 2012, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 22 2012, 10:59 PM)
Actually for your usage u dun really need a dual-core phone, why not save some $ and get mid-ranged ones? The desire S should be enough, incredible S or rhyme also ok. Desire HD got big screen but bad battery life wink.gif
i do admit i seldom use phones much unless for calling or sending sms. will think about the mid-ranged ones. yup, maybe save some $ too. biggrin.gif

Thanks. rclxms.gif

Added on January 25, 2012, 2:13 pm
QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jan 23 2012, 05:06 PM)
Why htc only..? Curious..if i were u..i go for sensation xl
hahaha, just my own infatuation, i guess. tongue.gif

1st phone was a motorola & now using nokia. have seen samsung or is it ericson in the family...... & so i thought i'll try for something none of my family members ever use. call it sibling rivalry...kinda a bit. laugh.gif

Added on January 25, 2012, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(Farlz_89 @ Jan 23 2012, 08:49 PM)
If i were him i will wait + topup a little bit and get Xperia S tongue.gif
mm..... *cough* I'm a she actually.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by rikajue91: Jan 25 2012, 02:15 PM
drinity
post Jan 25 2012, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(Farlz_89 @ Jan 24 2012, 10:31 PM)
+1..u also can consider HTC Sensation..Got lag on stock rom becoz of Htc sense..when u use custom rom phone will smooth..this phone is dual core somemore  icon_rolleyes.gif
i tried looking ard for HTC sensation but cant find, only got sensation xl and xe. both are over budget.
however when going through mudah.com i found an advertising for ori SIS HTC EVO 3D. priced at RM1379.
Thats like 200 bucks cheaper than other ori phones out there.

http://www.mudah.my/HTC+X515m+Evo+3D+SET+B...IS-13451363.htm

does the advertisement sound credible to you??
bakry
post Jan 25 2012, 03:27 PM

385 posts

Brand: up for recommendation
Budget: 1.5 - 1.8k
Usage: music, surfing, media, calls, maybe work, are all android os customizable?

Am also wondering, i dont see the moto droid razr being mentioned often. Is it not good?

Am really looking to buy asap since my bold 3 KO d.

Oh, not s2 since two of my family members r using it already

Edit: doesnot need to be within my budget range. Can b cheaper. Just want something that is upgradable, durable n fun. Im sick of my colleagues asking me to get iphone. Yes, im the odd one without an iphone at work. Haha

This post has been edited by bakry: Jan 25 2012, 04:00 PM
yeejin9004
post Jan 25 2012, 04:06 PM

36 posts

Lol...no stock at sunway area cry.gif
Calex
post Jan 25 2012, 04:11 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Jan 25 2012, 03:27 PM)
Usage: music, surfing, media, calls, maybe work, are all android os customizable?

Am also wondering, i dont see the moto droid razr being mentioned often. Is it not good?

Edit: doesnot need to be within my budget range. Can b cheaper. Just want something that is upgradable, durable n fun. Im sick of my colleagues asking me to get iphone. Yes, im the odd one without an iphone at work. Haha
The RAZR is actually quite ok hardware wise, only issue is the lack of custom ROMs and the like (there's only 2 compared to like, loads on the S2 for example).

You could also optionally wait for the RAZR MAXX, which is essentially the same but with a ridiculously huge 3,300mah battery.

There's also the Sensation XE as an alternative.

bakry
post Jan 25 2012, 04:16 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(Calex @ Jan 25 2012, 04:11 PM)
The RAZR is actually quite ok hardware wise, only issue is the lack of custom ROMs and the like (there's only 2 compared to like, loads on the S2 for example).

You could also optionally wait for the RAZR MAXX, which is essentially the same but with a ridiculously huge 3,300mah battery.

There's also the Sensation XE as an alternative.
Ah ok, then do you guys have any other recommendations? I need a phone that doesnt lag, nice display, good audio and nice wide screen.
danielcmugen
post Jan 25 2012, 04:26 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Jan 25 2012, 03:27 PM)

^ I dun really get wat u mean in that.

Anyway, RAZR is ok but very few custom ROMS. For good customising ability, best in specs other than s2 is HTC sensation XE. Or why not save some $ and get huawei honor instead? Around 1k only and it will get ICS update as well

Oh ya, all androids also can customize in some ways.

Reply to your latest question : I heard that the XE got some weird lag issues, but it should be solved after an update fix or something. But still, it wont be 100% lag free

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 25 2012, 04:28 PM
bakry
post Jan 25 2012, 04:29 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 25 2012, 04:26 PM)
^ I dun really get wat u mean in that.

Anyway, RAZR is ok but very few custom ROMS. For good customising ability, best in specs other than s2 is HTC sensation XE. Or why not save some $ and get huawei honor instead? Around 1k only and it will get ICS update as well

Oh ya, all androids also can customize in some ways
What i meant by upgradable is like what you said, the ability to install newer OS versions.

Ok, seems like a good bet, this Huawei Honor, where can i get it? Im in Damansara. Honestly, i have never heard of huawei before. But since you guys are recommending it, i'll give it a shot.

125 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0403sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:13 AM