I received a "Change New Meter" notice from TNB, Technician charges RM500 for modifying

RickOoi
post Aug 4 2012, 01:07 PM

403 posts

Hi All Sifus here,

Have a few questions regarding the house meter (pic below - sorry, don't know how to rotate the pic):

1) Can you please advice whether below meter is 1-phase or 3-phase? Location is Puncak Jalil.

2) Can I relocate this meter to column next to the front gate? If 'yes', may I know roughly how much (like deposit with TNB, relocation fee, etc)? I feel that the workmanship is really poor...so many exposed wires running directly above the main door, so ugly and scary at the same time, like anytime the whole thing will catch fire or something. blink.gif

3) What are the 1 black and 2 grey things besides and above the meter? (Sorry, I am really poor with technical things). blush.gif

Thank you.

brutalsoul
post Aug 4 2012, 03:55 PM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

if they changed without our permission, can we report this case since this is a trespassing
RickOoi
post Aug 10 2012, 12:42 PM

403 posts

Any sifu here can answer my questions above? Thank you.
coconutzz
post Aug 10 2012, 03:34 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(RickOoi @ Aug 10 2012, 12:42 PM)
Any sifu here can answer my questions above? Thank you.
Ur meter is single phase
RickOoi
post Aug 12 2012, 02:40 PM

403 posts

Thank you for your advice Coconutzz.

This post has been edited by RickOoi: Aug 12 2012, 02:40 PM
ernteoh
post Jan 17 2014, 08:43 AM

I would like to know if my previous owner did modify tnb meter and now I would like to widen my gate which need to move the gate pillar and tnb meter inside the pillar. Understand that I need to fill in the form at tnb office and they will get their people to come and check for this job. I am wondering when tnb moving the meter will they able to notice the meter has been modify before? My electricity usage bill is almost the same average as the previous owner. Need advice, thanks in advance.
weikee
post Jan 17 2014, 07:10 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ernteoh @ Jan 17 2014, 08:43 AM)
I would like to know if my previous owner did modify tnb meter and now I would like to widen my gate which need to move the gate pillar and tnb meter inside the pillar. Understand that I need to fill in the form at tnb office and they will get their people to come and check for this job. I am wondering when tnb moving the meter will they able to notice the meter has been modify before? My electricity usage bill is almost the same average as the previous owner. Need advice, thanks in advance.
Either they know now or later. Because when they replace with digital meter they take your average one year (some say 6 months) usage bill on the digital meter and do a reversed charge back. I was in ss15 tnb office in 2012 to claim back overcharge by tnb. I saw few house owner trying to negotiate with the officer how settle the reversed charge if 10 over thousands ringgit :0 I ask one of the officer why so high they reversed charge? The officer told me how they work it out, and suspect the owner tamper the meter and they are trying to be reasonable not wanting to bring them to court just ask them pay the amount.

Good luck.
ozak
post Jan 17 2014, 08:08 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(ernteoh @ Jan 17 2014, 08:43 AM)
There is a way to check using kettle and some calculation.

For easy way, just pay some electrician to check for you. They will open your db box and check some suspicious extra wiring from behind.
jimmytm31
post Jun 8 2016, 11:42 AM

30 posts

anyone have modify digital meter contact? pm, tq
DrWatsons
post Jun 11 2019, 12:26 PM

I too encountered the same problem as I was the third owner of my current house. After living there for the past 5 years, I requested TNB to change the meter as I realised the electricity bill getting lower each month although the usage was almost the same. Upon changing the meter, the found there is a wire tampering the meter. They issued me with a letter and I went to their office to meet up their revenue officer. I told them it is hard for me to prove who did it and I am prepared to pay for the differences tariff during my stay (since the day I change the TNB ownership to my name) as I did enjoyed a lower tariff. They agreed and they charged me around RM800 for the differences.
pinklittlecat
post Nov 21 2020, 03:29 PM

76 posts

With so much opposition from the people, how can it not draw any attention to the news or any MP to look into it. God damn it.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0185sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:47 AM