I received a "Change New Meter" notice from TNB, Technician charges RM500 for modifying

weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 02:42 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jan 4 2012, 02:27 PM)

I just received  a "Change New Meter" notice from TNB today..

I have a few questions..

a) During working hours, nobody at home...how they going to change my meter? will they climb inside my house or break my gate? (I heard they are gangsters)

b) I heard new meter uses new calculation...the electric bil will raise drastically...is it true?

Haiz, the notice like a bomb for me in 2012 year...what's a gift!!!
Can you ask them to come in the weekend? They have no right to come in your house without your permission. That is call trespassing.

Is the same type of meter just with tempered proof. I usually record my daily maybe 2 days once, so you can do that before they come over change, and after they come over change. See what's the difference.
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 03:08 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jan 4 2012, 02:52 PM)
ok..understand

Added on January 4, 2012, 2:59 pmtnb technician came....they suggest us to modify the meter for RM500 to save electricity....how??
Haha, direct from TNB? give lah. If contractor no no...
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 04:34 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 4 2012, 04:29 PM)
Yes. They climb. The gate is not high. You can't do anything.
You can sue them.
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 09:09 PM

12,019 posts

Try control the electric use, know the household equipments power consumption you know where to switch off when not use.
weikee
post Mar 1 2012, 08:43 PM

12,019 posts

I just got a letter, want to come change meter on 2nd March.

So what happen now? They will come climb our home and change the meter?
weikee
post Mar 2 2012, 09:23 AM

12,019 posts

It say whole street woh, now I work from home. Waiting for them. See below the crop copy

weikee
post Mar 2 2012, 09:43 AM

12,019 posts

Very stupid, give us so short notice. Think we work for them ah.
weikee
post Mar 2 2012, 10:13 AM

12,019 posts

My meter bottom panel is taken out because it need to relocate. But the actual casing is still good. I take photos like every alternate day to keep track the "mileages" i use biggrin.gif
weikee
post Mar 2 2012, 10:45 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Mar 2 2012, 10:18 AM)
How much is ur average per month at the moment? after reno with all the new electrical stuffs smile.gif
Without A/C running at night is about 8 to 9kw, with A/c is about 12 kw per day. I only use one A/c now.

Added on March 2, 2012, 3:40 pmMeter changed already.

Want to ask, got 7 digit, is there got 1/10 KW reading for the new digital meter?

This post has been edited by weikee: Mar 2 2012, 03:40 PM
weikee
post Mar 2 2012, 06:09 PM

12,019 posts

I act stupid. First I ask them is this meter more accurate. They say lots of people complain cause too expensive. I say: oh is it, never mind I will complain if is high, I don't use much and record my usage.

This post has been edited by weikee: Mar 2 2012, 06:11 PM
weikee
post Mar 2 2012, 08:36 PM

12,019 posts

Now outside. Check later.
weikee
post Mar 2 2012, 09:43 PM

12,019 posts

About 6 hours running, tick 1 Kwatt. Last 6 hours very minimal, no one @ home. Let see tomorrow how.
weikee
post Mar 9 2012, 10:55 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 4 2012, 10:13 PM)
Think he bz banging the new meter. tongue.gif
Electronic meter, too sensitive to bang biggrin.gif

Here is right after install, 000000

Here is the usage after 7 days, 6 hours. 61 unit.

Don't run far off from my old analog meter. about 9 unit per day. Only switch on two days a/c.
weikee
post Mar 10 2012, 09:27 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Mar 10 2012, 09:17 AM)
Not bad....how many downlight you ON at night? some more two day A/C Full night ON?

ANy modification?
No modification, only home after office, and dinner at my mom place. I think average 6 downlight for about 5 hours. I work late too, conference calling to US. I calculate, when I am home (night), usually around 5 to 8 units.

So I would say the electronic and the old meter did not go far off. Still, why they want to change the black horse? is working fine.

Added on March 10, 2012, 9:28 amBTW, the new meter come with reverse mode. Think good for people want to put solar in future.

This post has been edited by weikee: Mar 10 2012, 09:28 AM
weikee
post Mar 10 2012, 11:34 AM

12,019 posts

With family.
weikee
post Mar 10 2012, 04:59 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Mar 10 2012, 02:27 PM)
16KW is high???
Without A/C it will around 10Kw...

Normally
Refrigerators
Pray table light
Salt stone light
2 LED (never off) (3W and 9W)
Car pourche 15W LED downlight
At night normally with use the 15W x 6LED downlight for few hours...
Backdoor 2 x 10W LED

with this possiable hit 10KW?
You got hot water dispenser? that one take some energy too. You did not mention water heater, you using solar?

And other possibility is the driver for your LED is not efficient, maybe wasting another 50% for heat.

Added on March 10, 2012, 4:59 pm
QUOTE(birain @ Mar 10 2012, 04:02 PM)

weikee,how you get that panel to light up? that square button is for what use?
Auto light up at night. Big blue one not sure. Did not try playing with it.

This post has been edited by weikee: Mar 10 2012, 04:59 PM
weikee
post Mar 10 2012, 07:38 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Mar 10 2012, 07:22 PM)
wah...with A/C for 8 hr yet only 10kw?
Hmm....guess i need to ask my electrician come over to check...
Is your ac service regular? Is it indersize?
weikee
post Mar 10 2012, 11:29 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Mar 10 2012, 10:43 PM)
my usage is 20kwhr a day with
- one aircond 1.5hp running 9 hrs
- a pond water pump runing 24hr at 230watt.
- No water heater, use solar with water pump
- electric hop, cook 6 days a week
- electric oven, seldom use, if use one time = 1 kwhr
- microwave use to cook rice once a day, 6 times a week
- two fridge
- only 3 ppl in the house

When off pond water pump and aircond, 14 kwhr a day
When use the electric oven for the day goes up 1kwhr

The new meter was installed on 21st Feb.
Water pump 240 watt per hour. 24 hours is a 5.76 KWh per day. Minus the pump, the A/C usage is about 2 Kwh, think is about that number.

weikee
post Mar 17 2012, 07:59 PM

12,019 posts

Today meter read 125, 15 days. Average about 8.3333 per day.
weikee
post Mar 17 2012, 10:02 PM

12,019 posts

i think is slightly lower. Wonder if TNB can give me the extra i charged from the old meter.

0.0218sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:56 PM