Scam SMS, I just got scammed. How prevalent?

TSklimal
post Dec 29 2011, 01:07 PM, updated 14y ago

1,136 posts

Actually it is my wife's digi phone that got scammed.
She is on a plan with auto-billing/debit via credit card.

We asked and got an itemized bill via emails.
Under the Mobile Services we found the culprit.

A recurring every other day Value Added Service 0400, No. sent to 220400.
Each entry cost RM4.00 and there were many in a month.
Total per month was on average RM68.

Called digi and the 2nd level support helped to send an SMS to stop the service.
However, we were asked to call the 32711 provider Makro Kiosk Bhd,...basically washing their hands off the matter.

Tried calling the number provided i.e. 03-2164 3273 and all I got was a n answering machine.
Finally left a short but curt msg on their Consumer Support HelpForm.

How can a service sms ever cost RM4 each. It is clearly designed to cheat us of our money.
And they send it on alternate days.

The telcos are complicit in this devious and crooked scheme too .
When we asked why we didn't get a regular statement, the CSR just said no email or mailing address. on record..what **llshit.

Sorry for the long rant..just darn angry vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
lonely66
post Dec 29 2011, 01:12 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 29 2011, 01:07 PM)
Actually it is my wife's digi phone that got scammed.
She is on a plan with auto-billing/debit via credit card.

We asked and got an itemized bill via emails.
Under the Mobile Services we found the culprit.

A recurring every other day Value Added Service 0400, No. sent to 220400.
Each entry cost RM4.00 and there were many in a month.
Total per month was on average RM68.

Called digi and the 2nd level support helped to send an SMS to stop the service.
However, we were asked to call the 32711 provider Makro Kiosk Bhd,...basically washing their hands off the matter.

Tried calling the number provided i.e. 03-2164 3273 and all I got was a n answering machine.
Finally left a short but curt msg on their Consumer Support HelpForm.

How can a service sms ever cost RM4 each. It is clearly designed to cheat us of our money.
And they send it on alternate days.

The telcos are complicit in this devious and crooked scheme too .
When we asked why we didn't get a regular statement, the CSR just said no email or mailing address. on record..what **llshit.
Sorry for the long rant..just darn angry vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
U want fast action from digi n Makro Kiosk Bhd, write to malay mail n complain. Let everybody know about it so that people aware of their tactic. tongue.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 29 2011, 01:21 PM

12,696 posts

Don't know this work or not but every time I receive free this or free that SMS, I ALWAYS DELETE THEM OFF IMMEDIATELY AND NEVER REPLY to them. I presume if you did reply to them, it's may be a confirmation you wanted their service. And since you asked for it, legally you have to pay.

Furthermore, I always ask my telco to stop sending my any free MMS because receiving MMS in Malaysia is free from them but when overseas, receiving MMS is chargeable because they are considered data usage.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Dec 29 2011, 01:22 PM
TSklimal
post Dec 29 2011, 01:47 PM

1,136 posts

As far as we know, that is what she (wife) does.
She is mandarin educated and these were in English.
Just deletes them without even reading.
I will wait a day or two for a reply to my msg.
If it is not resolved, i will definitely take it further.
SUSXabrius
post Dec 29 2011, 05:50 PM

»»───Knee───►
1,486 posts

You might wanna refer to this:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1841061
Infopier
post Dec 29 2011, 06:52 PM

136 posts

Is this the Iphone 4s get for free competition? Got it this morning, same entry fee RM4. Ignored it.
exquisite_markas
post Dec 30 2011, 12:03 PM

It's edible... I mean editable.
1,344 posts

QUOTE(lonely66 @ Dec 29 2011, 01:12 PM)
U want fast action from digi n Makro Kiosk Bhd, write to malay mail n complain. Let everybody know about it so that people aware of their tactic.  tongue.gif
+1

but dont limit it to d Malay Mail only.. publish ur complaint to each and every newspaper.. NST, The Star, The Sun, Harian Metro, Nanyang Siang Pau, China Press.. fuhh.. dats almost all dat i can think of.. but i believe malaysia has a lot more than dat..

if u wanna go up a notch.. channel ur complaint via political parties.. MCA, UMNO, MIC.. its near to d GE, they will serve you like a king.. thumbup.gif

all d best to u pal..
TSklimal
post Dec 30 2011, 02:54 PM

1,136 posts

The following are a summary of communication between Macro Kioks and I

Me :
"We never subsrribed to this service at all. We have been billed and paid a total of RM252 since Sept 2011. We demand a refund of the amount paid or we will make a police report against your company for cheating us"

MK CSR :
Provide us your itemized bill statement for the mentioned month for us to do further verification.

Me:
The bills are as attached.
The items in question are under Mobile Services -->Value Added Service 0400.
Each SMS is billed for RM4.
We have never subscribed to this service.
Kindly do a refund ASAP.
Thank you.

MK CSR
"There is a VALID request from your number to subscribe for this service. We are looking on this matter and will revert to you."

Me:
How does on subscribe to this service in the first place.
Does opening the sms constitute a Yes or does one need to type ON and send back?
My wife who uses this phone does not read English and has never replied to any sms since she got the phone in August.
She asks my son to read any sms in english and deletes them immediately.
I hope you can shed light on this ASAP.
Thank you.

MK CSR
We will proceed with the refund on our good will basis. Refund will be credited into your DIGI account. Process of refund will take within 14 working days.

Me:
Thank you very much and Happy New Year.

To their credit, they responded and the end result was to my satisfaction.
The CSR actually called me. She was very polite and patient as I was a bit annoyed to say the least.

lidahkuterkelu
post Jan 1 2012, 01:24 PM

Le Smokin' Weed
608 posts

lucky u they decide to refund u back. thumbup.gif

these scammers get smarter these days. doh.gif
TSklimal
post Jan 1 2012, 07:34 PM

1,136 posts

Till now, we still have no idea when and how we subscribed, if we ever did.
The CSR did mention it could be via an app on the new iPhone we bought.
The sms started 2 days after we registered the new iPhone.
heavenly91
post Jan 1 2012, 10:50 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

u must shoot the Digi center ppl. u r too soft la Bro. know ur right as a consumer. doesnt mean they ask u go to that stupid company then u must. be firm and stay at the counter.
if the staff refuse help.
u ask him call the manager then they will take immediate action.
ok?
cwtien
post Jan 2 2012, 12:39 PM

477 posts

Did you use a new or existing number? If it's a new number it might have been the previous owner that subscribed to it.
kae7
post Jan 2 2012, 12:41 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(cwtien @ Jan 2 2012, 12:39 PM)
Did you use a new or existing number?  If it's a new number it might have been the previous owner that subscribed to it.
it might be one of the cause,

but if people who use the new number such as 0111 -1XXXXXX ,i dont think there are previous owners for that number.. blink.gif
TSklimal
post Jan 3 2012, 03:07 PM

1,136 posts

It is an existing number.
We discovered it only after 4 billing cycles later as we didn't receive any bills hard copy or email.
Only did the complaining on the phone and via emails, but it got the result I wanted i.e refund.
Also made a complaint on CFM, the Communications and Multimedia Consumer Forum Of Malaysia.
johnlau91
post Jul 6 2012, 05:11 PM

55 posts

may i know the way to fight our rights? i just found out that my mum has been paying for this for last 6 months unnecessarily, and it's RM70 average. thanks
SUSahter
post Oct 3 2012, 12:00 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(johnlau91 @ Jul 6 2012, 05:11 PM)
may i know the way to fight our rights? i just found out that my mum has been paying for this for last 6 months unnecessarily, and it's RM70 average. thanks
make complaint to MCMC / SKMM.
sephirothvr
post Oct 3 2012, 12:05 PM

625 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 30 2011, 02:54 PM)
The following are a summary of communication between Macro Kioks and I

Me :
"We never subsrribed to this service at all. We have been billed and paid a total of RM252 since Sept 2011. We demand a refund of the amount paid or we will make a police report against your company for cheating us"

MK CSR :
Provide us your itemized bill statement for the mentioned month for us to do further verification.

Me:   
The bills are as attached.
The items in question are under Mobile Services -->Value Added Service 0400.
Each SMS is billed for RM4.
We have never subscribed to this service.
Kindly do a refund ASAP.
Thank you.     

MK CSR
"There is a VALID request from your number to subscribe for this service. We are looking on this matter and will revert to you." 

Me:
How does on subscribe to this service in the first place.
Does opening the sms constitute a Yes or does one need to type ON and send back?
My wife who uses this phone does not read English and has never replied to any sms since she got the phone in August.
She asks my son to read any sms in english and deletes them immediately.
I hope you can shed light on this  ASAP.
Thank you.

MK CSR
We will proceed with the refund on our good will basis. Refund will be credited into your DIGI account. Process of refund will take within 14 working days.

Me:
Thank you very much and Happy New Year.

To their credit, they responded and the end result was to my satisfaction.
The CSR actually called me. She was very polite and patient as I was a bit annoyed to say the least.
this is a known issue way back since 2006. i used to be maxis csr back then. all i can say, its not csr fault as well.

this scam comp makes high profit. however, plz take note USER must have subscribed by reply sms method, certain websites that request ur mobile no, and even mobile apps.

so y no1 takes legal actions against them? simply coz they have valid reason saying u did apply for their services by the methods above. n if not, they just simply refund just like ur case here.

try imagine other unfortunate ppl who are being ignorance about this and end up keep paying for this? there is ALOT are still ignorance on their bill on their external content provider (ECP).

IMO, i believe government (MCMC/SKMM) should actually revised or create a policy or rules to protect us from scammers like this. alas, we all know how government efficiency.
navalstone
post Dec 4 2012, 12:39 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(sephirothvr @ Oct 3 2012, 01:05 PM)
this is a known issue way back since 2006. i used to be maxis csr back then. all i can say, its not csr fault as well.

this scam comp makes high profit. however, plz take note USER must have subscribed by reply sms method, certain websites that request ur mobile no, and even mobile apps.

so y no1 takes legal actions against them? simply coz they have valid reason saying u did apply for their services by the methods above. n if not, they just simply refund just like ur case here.

try imagine other unfortunate ppl who are being ignorance about this and end up keep paying for this? there is ALOT are still ignorance on their bill on their external content provider (ECP).

IMO, i believe government (MCMC/SKMM) should actually revised or create a policy or rules to protect us from scammers like this. alas, we all know how government efficiency.
I used to work for digi and umobile, actually its your wife fault, she might have reply sms and subscribed the services. and the best part is you dont know to unsubscribe, and the next best thing you do is to call telco and scew them..
chosenlc
post Dec 5 2012, 09:59 AM

143 posts

bull shit, i got charged for so many months and i swear i dint reply/subsribe any of this `service provider` as im working in IT i know what shud do or not in internet

but i stil get charged by digi for this. Wonderful digi allow this kind of charge get tag with their company. No way for me to continue with this kind of WONDERFUL company

between i log a complaint to CFM and MCMC. anyone get charge plz do so and get back your money.
K for Ketamine
post Dec 5 2012, 10:52 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(chosenlc @ Dec 5 2012, 09:59 AM)
bull shit, i got charged for so many months and i swear i dint reply/subsribe any of this `service provider` as im working in IT i know what shud do or not in internet

but i stil get charged by digi for this. Wonderful digi allow this kind of charge get tag with their company. No way for me to continue with this kind of WONDERFUL company

between i log a complaint to CFM and MCMC. anyone get charge plz do so and get back your money.

did u receive push SMS/MMS (just link/URL to website) or using smartphone ?
tcch666
post Dec 15 2012, 07:22 PM

447 posts

Wow,thx for the sharing. I must be aware for this.

How ever,lucky you can get back the money.
chosenlc
post Dec 19 2012, 02:11 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Dec 5 2012, 11:52 PM)
did u receive push SMS/MMS (just link/URL to website) or using smartphone ?
hell no, is very obvious a scam from digx, super rubbish telco, which my gf using other telco dint face this kind of issue at all, i don care how good digx plan or cheap their phone, i swear wont use digx anymore

1 user cheat rm100, 1000000 user cheat rm100000000, no wonder telco so rich
crocky
post Jan 8 2013, 01:32 AM

31 posts

Bro,

I kena scam also..mahaii knn

I called digi to stop this unknown charges as STOP text doesnt help!

0.0220sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:52 PM