5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Short Review on the Exora Bold

MR_alien
post Mar 4 2012, 03:52 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 4 2012, 03:50 PM)
Correct me if I am wrong but I seldom come across people complaining about the reliability and durability of the Campro engine. All the complaint I heard are lack of low end power and high FC. Correct?
hmm..not so sure
many mechanic label campro as a "small gas"(mandarin) engine
but most the case is that they didn't service /take care of it properly
and yeah..high FC but the thing is....the cause of high FC is not the engine, its the gearbox itself
MR_alien
post Mar 4 2012, 08:10 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(noormsmy @ Mar 4 2012, 07:35 PM)
Thank you for the reply...its a relief to hear htey have tested the car to 2500000 km. My 5 yrs of using the current car is  only 80k km, never miss any oil change/ filter change, follow the manual religously.

Fuel fc i heard is around 10-12L per 100 km, is that correct?

What about the internal i.e dashboard, kerusi, bla bal, any issue (since the first launch)?

Sorry a lot of question la bang...As i mentioned not so rich have to be careful lah icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
FC depends on your right foot/how u drive/where u drive(city/h.way/mix)
for problems...u have to refer to exora thread
but most i think are just inconveniences instead of problem and nothing can't be solve with proton's 3-5 years warranty
MR_alien
post Mar 5 2012, 07:31 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(pgkia @ Mar 5 2012, 07:13 PM)
might be a bit too early to ask......but anyone knows how much is the cost of replacing the CVT GB if it is not working anymore and outside of the warranty period?
25k for VT2 which is in saga
the ones in exora is VT3
MR_alien
post Mar 6 2012, 02:47 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(pgkia @ Mar 6 2012, 08:27 AM)
hmm...seems like this is no cheaper than City CVT...
gearbox are never cheap
gearbox with the engine already cost well over half of the car's price itself
gearbox + engine = covers 60-70% of the car price itself
thats why must protect nicely...if not, a hole in your wallet will be seen
but those 2 part won't spoil so easily

Added on March 6, 2012, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(biosfree @ Mar 6 2012, 09:38 AM)
im my BOLD for about 1 month orady, 1000km service done,

x satisfy with the fan, after i off the engine, still the fan turning...is it like dat...?how frequent the fan turns,,..?
yes...normal
the fan will auto off when the engine cools down enough

Added on March 6, 2012, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(hemanlo @ Mar 6 2012, 11:22 AM)
I dont mind the fan keep turning after off the engine, but just cant stand the noise it produced.

Sometime it just embarrassing...
noise?
what kind of noise?
u rev the engine really high is it?
i drive a saga blm....in this 4 year period, i only encounter 1 time(only once) the fan keeps running after i switch off
which is i have to rev around 3k(2nd gear) to climb up a very steep hill to reach the destination
other than that, the fan pretty much didn't kept going after i switch off
that "ngggggi" sound is normal...cooling down the engine after engine switched off

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Mar 6 2012, 02:53 PM
MR_alien
post Mar 7 2012, 12:51 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 7 2012, 12:09 PM)
i tot if engine running battery connector loose also wont stall the engine?
not sure but it will
my saga also have same issue...the SA didn't tighten the connector which result in stall on the middle of the road
but mine is lucky cuz have sign, its like die but came back a few times thn total die
alarm also won't work
when towed to SC, fix is so simple yet most mechanic there dn't know how to fix...need manager
MR_alien
post Mar 17 2012, 12:07 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(mike1313 @ Mar 17 2012, 11:19 AM)
Hi, am first time posting here...hv obtain much guidance n info from everyone focusing on Exora Bold.

Got my Exora Bold (EB) late Feb 2012. Did the 1st 1000km service 3 days ago.

Kudos to Mat79 who hv been consistently providing informative details on how to "understand/drive" the EB.

Before 1st 1000km service...
1. wheel steering is not in straight position when driving a straight hway. (alignment was made by SC. (better now))

2. the kraa,kraa,kraa sound happened when hitting a pothole or going over a sharp speed bump. (SC tightened "something" on the suspension. so far, no more sound but still has to be mindful of potholes n bumps.)

3. Unable to set the ODO / Trip A n B/ DTE / AFC / IFC display. (SC reset the MPV's computer system...thus ok now)

4. Noisy cooling fan, after ignition is switched off. (very normal was told, no choice...)

5. Both side mirrors have limited adjustment space. (manufacturing shortfall...i guess)

6. SAT is useless. (for better pick-up?...no way)
When going for yr 1st 1000km service...tks to kochin who alerted me on the magnatec.

a. Change the engine oil (syntium 800 10w30), oil filter n gasket drain plug, total cost RM 124.,
brdown as 1st 3L -rm78, 2nd 1L - rm30, oil filter -rm12, gasket drin plug - rm4
(SC wants to add the magnatec which will cost another RM40-rm50, ...never tell me why n what is going to do to the engine? )

b. Not many customers if go before 8am but the service advisor is not up to par...not so friendly n not willing to hear our problems on the MPV (oh, btw, was at the Puchong SC).

c. What I did was to ring up my sales dealer to have him to talk to his "friends"at the SC. (at least attention can be given to my MPV)

d. SC reminded me to go back for service on the next 5000km. (btw, can someone enlighten whether the semi syn oil, mentioned above, can last for 5000km or 10,000km)

Conclusion
1. am so far satisfied wt the power of the engine...once it hits 60km/h n rpm at 2 or more, this MPV can fly...
2. don't expect good pick-up...when stationary.
3. spacious for my family for balik kampung trips.
4. value for money...if u dont mind the badge....i am not...but hv seen the Transformer Prime badge on other EBs.
5. still monitoring the fc...am driving abt 50km daily betw home n offic...(city driving consume more..)
6. the front windscreen view is wide. (did EB owners notice that u cant see the front bonnet of the MPV no matter how high u climb from the seat to the dashoard)
7.  the rear mirror wt the camera is comfortable n clear. 

Thats it...until next time.
semi syn is 5000KM
its best to service every 5000...engine is happier
MR_alien
post Mar 17 2012, 07:19 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Mar 17 2012, 07:15 PM)
i just went for my first 1000km service today... my SC gives me syntium 800 10/30 and tells me to come back at 10k because he told me according to him free service for bold is 1, 10 and 20k... if i want to do 5k he says no problem but 5k all expenses on me...

i check my service booklet... space for chop is only 1, 10, 20 and so on.. i guess he's right???
the free service...it requires a "coupon"..right?
see what the "coupon" states
its definitely every 5k
MR_alien
post Mar 17 2012, 09:31 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Mar 17 2012, 09:16 PM)
No coupon.
hmm..thn how do they know "free service"
few years ago...they will give 3 coupon...and coupon is all stated
MR_alien
post Mar 17 2012, 10:40 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Mar 17 2012, 10:26 PM)
they know because every car is given the free services...??? heheh computer kan ada tongue.gif
thn if like that thn they can say whatever they want
last time the coupon have stated 1k, 5k, 10k...thats why we know

BTW...its suppose to be every 5k...maximum also can hold until 7k

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Mar 17 2012, 10:41 PM
MR_alien
post Apr 3 2012, 01:32 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Apr 3 2012, 12:57 AM)
install ultra racing in your exora for better handling during corner.. hohoho.. front strut, front lower bar (4point) and rear lower is enough.. anti-roll bar too expensive.. huhuhu
am not sure abt exora
But i drived saga
a 4 point strut bar is already enough
lower part have effects too but not sure abt exora but if install in saga, cannot go to off road
MR_alien
post Apr 3 2012, 02:53 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Apr 3 2012, 10:57 AM)
I already installed front strut n front lower n rear lower.. Feel much more stable during corner.. For saga blm i install front strut.n rear lower.only.. Btw, who drive saga for offroad? U go for rally ka? Hohi
no...just that sometime u have to go kampung...u have to offroad alittle bit since road there not so good
and that lower bar...a member say will hit if go off road..have to remove it only can

Added on April 3, 2012, 2:56 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 3 2012, 01:32 PM)
halo... JDM car speed limited to 180-185kmh ler..  after speed cut is electronically removed, you think 3.5L V6 win or your 1.6 engine?  laugh.gif
3.5L V6 sure can win if speed cut is removed
but the thing is...those car are way way heavier than exora
and plus...3.5L...imagine the FC...imagine the road tax..imagine the insuranse
my friend owns an alphard and estima...when its time for road tax and insurance..headache and hole in the wallet

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Apr 3 2012, 02:56 PM
MR_alien
post Apr 3 2012, 03:13 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 3 2012, 03:07 PM)
drive so fast for what? ingatlah orang yang tersayang
i think he pushes it until redline already
MR_alien
post Apr 3 2012, 06:56 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Apr 3 2012, 06:05 PM)
Is this true!! because I just take my car today and on the way home I can smell smoke inside the cabin( a little bit ) and then when I arrived, came out and bau asap so strong!!  shocking.gif  I thought it was the brake, but after read your comments  shocking.gif
did u or did u not ON the aircon filter/"circulate"
MR_alien
post Apr 3 2012, 07:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Apr 3 2012, 07:05 PM)
I not sure...how to know? havent read through the manual book yet  hmm.gif

btw, check already myself, the hose is okay and there was no check engine light indicator appear, so it must be the brake because of hard breaking xD cant resist to rev  thumbup.gif
ahhh....theres a dial or a button...that can switch between "air from outside" and "circulate"
if its set to "air from outside" and u drive through smoky places, of course the smoke smell will come inside the car
and the aircon will be less cold as well
so need to set to circulate
MR_alien
post Apr 4 2012, 12:13 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Apr 4 2012, 11:35 AM)
hi mr aliern,

im using circulate. i still able smell a little lorry smoke from outside when waiting traffic light. or smell mee goreng when pass by food stall.
when filling petrol, i can smell heavy petrol come in to my car. ya, i didnt turn off my engine n keep my aircon on, hehe...
have u guys got this experience before? can sc fix the problem?
erm...i think...i think ah
i think its becuz the aircon filter isn't as thick as u think it is
if u open the glove box and take out the filter, it isn't as thick as u think it is
u can however, buy a better filter and see how it works...search around "automotive garage"...its very cheap
but it might not be the filter's problem

added: i suddenly remember, exora have 2 sets of compressor..right?
can that be the problem?

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Apr 4 2012, 12:21 PM
MR_alien
post Apr 4 2012, 03:10 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Apr 4 2012, 02:11 PM)
im driving exora bold. i think its same as other exora bold owner right? donno they got same problem or not.

how to check its compressor problem?
its not the compressor's problem
its somewhere else i think
just now i said exora have 2 compressor...which i dn't know true or not cuz i saw somewhere last time saying exora have 2 sets of compressor
and am not sure if there are 2 compressor, is the "circulate" thingy controls both
MR_alien
post Apr 4 2012, 07:20 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Apr 4 2012, 07:15 PM)
Same here, just got the car yesterday and sometimes can smell like sumthing burning, but check engine temperature is normal at 5 bar, maybe because the brake pad quality?  hmm.gif
The issue about smell of petrol inside cabin after fill up i think is normal to all proton car, my neo also has this issue and until now no problem occur related to that  nod.gif

Added on April 4, 2012, 7:16 pm
Thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif  hopefully you will get your car as soon as possible
5 bar?...how many bars does it have?...10?

MR_alien
post Apr 8 2012, 07:36 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(biosfree @ Apr 8 2012, 06:00 PM)
thing make me worried about my EB...orady 4k plus2,

today the engine stopped suddenly at traffic light, dunno why, luckyly can restart the engine....

pleaseee....what happen???

i noticed the symptom, especially once the radiator fan start to run, got my engine show a sign to off.......last few week ago..,,

and today.....it happend......let me know .....very scared la..if it off while the car run fast......
i think u have the typical...battery connector loose problem
tighten both the battery connector...it should solve the prob
MR_alien
post Apr 8 2012, 08:19 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(megat89 @ Apr 8 2012, 07:46 PM)
i think that it is not the connector that loose..since when the engine is already started, u can drive the car even without the battery..since the alternator is supplying the electrical..
only old car will not die after engine is started
newer car needed the battery even when the engine is started
i know cuz my BLM died suddenly in the middle of the road as well
doing 30...thn suddenly died....thn stop at the side of the road....alarm also won't work...and there were no crank at all
but of course be4 it completely died....there was signs that was given by the engine like it "almost" died thn came back...a few time be4 it fully stop
car nowadays are not same as cars last time
MR_alien
post Apr 8 2012, 08:20 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(biosfree @ Apr 8 2012, 08:17 PM)
temp fine, only 3 bar.....but dunno la about the connector, i try chek,.

well...diablo, yea..u describe well....same....hopefully its about d  batteryconnector only...
just grab a spanar and tighten everything connected to the battery....the upside one and the one at the back of the battery
they tend to loosen it when its kept in stockyard and SA forgotten to tighten it back

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0423sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:04 PM