Well in my case I started watching football because of Liverpool so you won't catch me cheering any of our rivals on.
EPL can't compete, Best team in EPL can't compete in Champi
Dec 10 2011, 02:13 PM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
Well in my case I started watching football because of Liverpool so you won't catch me cheering any of our rivals on.
Dec 10 2011, 02:30 PM
121 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Dec 10 2011, 02:32 PM
2,449 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: 4.2105° N, 101.9758° E |
Dec 10 2011, 02:51 PM
Dec 10 2011, 03:20 PM
2,280 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: マレーシア |
QUOTE(Zen-X @ Dec 10 2011, 02:09 PM) well, i dont think its wrong to support other clubs eventhough they're arch-rival to your fav club pun dudeexample : i support chelsea to beat City this weekend dunno bout the others, but i support football first before the clubs.. tak semestinya kelab tu arch-rival then u cant support that clubs/watch them play/buy their jersey or watsoever.. your argument is a moot point assuming you're manu fan, you would want chelsea to win so that city dont extend their lead in the table its understandable the benefit, is coming back to your team in the sense that the gap doesnt grow bigger but if you're manu fan hoping liverpool to beat ac milan in UCL final for example, is rather foolish why would you want your arch rival to win a trophy get what i mean? |
Dec 10 2011, 03:30 PM
358 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Oxpod |
QUOTE(raul88 @ Dec 10 2011, 04:20 PM) dude Agree with you your argument is a moot point assuming you're manu fan, you would want chelsea to win so that city dont extend their lead in the table its understandable the benefit, is coming back to your team in the sense that the gap doesnt grow bigger but if you're manu fan hoping liverpool to beat ac milan in UCL final for example, is rather foolish why would you want your arch rival to win a trophy get what i mean? |
Dec 10 2011, 03:58 PM
7 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Dec 9 2011, 09:56 PM) Shallow? Haha I dunno but one thing I do notice is that every time you post, you add in some personal attack in your post and I would expect that someone who claimed to be knowing more, should at least behave like one instead like posting like a prick. oh...he's being a prick? So, taking a cheap shot by saying some thread here is quiet this week is not? Hypocrites. You need mirror?Yes, I do know how intense the rivalry between Barca and RM is. I know. Just because you are one of the Barca fans do not mean you know more than I do. I read up probably as much as you do. What I m trying to point out is that DO NOT RULE OUT POSSIBILITY and up until now, all we talking about this and that were all based on our own assumptions. How would you know Sneijder wont even move to Barca? Tevez moves to mancity from manutd. Paul ince moved to liverpool despite playing for manutd once. Oh wait, do you even know Paul Ince? Or your era revolves only in the likes of Messi, Ronaldo and kaka? Remember Luis Figo and the transfer? And I know which part you are coming for defense... these are not their favourite clubs. Equally doubtful on what you said that Sneijder is a RM fans, how can you trust what footballers said nowadays? I have seen enough from players that move to bigger clubs and claimed to be their supporters since young , only to move to other big clubs in future for better wages and future. Bullshits. They said that to earn the supports from the crowds. That's the way I see it. I have seen fernando Torres doing that, kissing badge, saying Liverpool is his only English club, only to see him moving to Chelsea. Recently I have seen Luis Suarez talking about him supporting Liverpool since young and I have no doubt one day he will leave as well. So what makes you think Sneidjer said that he supported RM out of sincerity? That's doubtful to me.... Added on December 10, 2011, 4:00 pm QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 10 2011, 12:27 PM) I think it's absurd. I'd never root for my rival. I'm surprised you've come across such people because I don't know any Liverpool fan who would root for Man Utd. I did, and he's a avid Pool fan. He said he rather Man Utd win the Champions League than Barca when those 2 met.This post has been edited by likeicare: Dec 10 2011, 04:00 PM |
Dec 10 2011, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(likeicare @ Dec 10 2011, 03:58 PM) I did, and he's a avid Pool fan. He said he rather Man Utd win the Champions League than Barca when those 2 met. In that case, I'd actually question is he is an avid fan?In the case of England's top two sides being knocked out, I actually think it's a complement to the Premiership, that the next 2 ranked sides progressed. Shows strength in depth no? |
Dec 10 2011, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 10 2011, 04:48 PM) In that case, I'd actually question is he is an avid fan? In the case of England's top two sides being knocked out, I actually think it's a complement to the Premiership, that the next 2 ranked sides progressed. Shows strength in depth no? |
Dec 10 2011, 05:21 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
QUOTE(legendofhafiz @ Dec 10 2011, 12:36 PM) I think that fans are more like I support an EPL club and I rather see EPL club won than others The thing is the rivalry between Liverpool and manutd fans are probably more intense than you can imagine. If they support us when we playing City, i can understand because they would want us to help them to play catch up with City in league standing. In other competition, i think they would rather see us ended up trophyless.In other words, EPL fans. not weird actually. since most of us are not indirectly "related" with one club. ( I meant locally) so nope, I think manutd fans support Liverpool for a match other than for their own benefit is RARE Added on December 10, 2011, 5:27 pm QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:51 PM) oh well... to be fair the thought of EPL top 2 leader gone out at group still horrendous this season... Well, the thought of RM didnt do well in CL in the past few seasons still horrendous as well...after all how much money they spent over the year. Another reason I am amazed why someone can regard RM above the EPL teams after how RM finished in CL the last few seasons. Just because they won it 9 times in the past? Gimme a break.and that only haappens because people still have high expectation of EPL teams.. Added on December 10, 2011, 5:29 pm QUOTE(likeicare @ Dec 10 2011, 03:58 PM) oh...he's being a prick? So, taking a cheap shot by saying some thread here is quiet this week is not? Hypocrites. You need mirror? Cheap shot? I think someone need mirror and a reality check on how Football Lounge is going on for the past few years. All the trolls in the rival threads every time the manutd rivals lose out regardless of whether manutd playing against them or not.... You need me to name out all these trolls?Maybe u shud think before you speak. God give you brain for a reason. This post has been edited by solstice818: Dec 10 2011, 05:29 PM |
Dec 10 2011, 05:34 PM
82 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: 1 vote for <insert party> = 1 vote for Zahid |
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Dec 10 2011, 05:21 PM) The thing is the rivalry between Liverpool and manutd fans are probably more intense than you can imagine. If they support us when we playing City, i can understand because they would want us to help them to play catch up with City in league standing. In other competition, i think they would rather see us ended up trophyless. yes . I don't deny it. I never root for Liverpool beating Milan as well or even depend on Pool beating Blackburn in title race. The rivalry among two set of local rivals are always intense. I enjoyed the banter as well. Of course any United or Pool fans want their team do well or better than others, right? same goes with Chelsea-Fulham, Arsenal- Spurs, Barca-Real, Real-Atleti, Milan - Inter, Juve-Milan, Juve-Torino & others so nope, I think manutd fans support Liverpool for a match other than for their own benefit is RARE But at the same time, you should understand no matter how passionate you can support a club, it can never get as close as you supporting your local clubs . (I meant Malaysia league) Just enjoyed footy eh? It just some fans take it too far with mocking and doing disgraceful acts. just tease a bit kinda ok. at least for me |
Dec 10 2011, 05:37 PM
2,280 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: マレーシア |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 10 2011, 04:48 PM) In that case, I'd actually question is he is an avid fan? In the case of England's top two sides being knocked out, I actually think it's a complement to the Premiership, that the next 2 ranked sides progressed. Shows strength in depth no? QUOTE(solstice818 @ Dec 10 2011, 05:21 PM) The thing is the rivalry between Liverpool and manutd fans are probably more intense than you can imagine. If they support us when we playing City, i can understand because they would want us to help them to play catch up with City in league standing. In other competition, i think they would rather see us ended up trophyless. I brought this issue up because personally, I know dozens of people and my friends who have this mentalityso nope, I think manutd fans support Liverpool for a match other than for their own benefit is RARE which raised my eyebrow whether they are true fans or just "following the crowds" since football (especially epl) is a trend in the last 10 years or so in msia |
Dec 10 2011, 06:19 PM
1,616 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
I wonder y ppl keep saying if barca and rm plays in epl, no other epl team will win epl.
If they were in epl, I guess they will bankrupt first because they can't monopoly the tv revenues. Lol Anyway no hard feelings to any supporters. Ucl it's a competition. Luck plays apart whenever we agree or not. Unless a team from a country winning more times in a row, there is no domination. Barca n rm are only favourites. #justsaying |
Dec 10 2011, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Dec 10 2011, 06:19 PM) I wonder y ppl keep saying if barca and rm plays in epl, no other epl team will win epl. hahaha... If they were in epl, they wont be as good as they are now. They would only be at Manchester United or Liverpool's level at best... If they were in epl, I guess they will bankrupt first because they can't monopoly the tv revenues. Lol Anyway no hard feelings to any supporters. Ucl it's a competition. Luck plays apart whenever we agree or not. Unless a team from a country winning more times in a row, there is no domination. Barca n rm are only favourites. #justsaying |
Dec 10 2011, 08:23 PM
2,449 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: 4.2105° N, 101.9758° E |
Dec 10 2011, 10:15 PM
An assumption at best. So Barca and Real are the best teams in the world because they play in the best league in the world. I don't disagree nor do I agree. Man Utd and Liverpool are in comparison, lesser teams, ability wise anyway because the Premiership has less quality teams. So when was the last time any Spanish side other than Real or Barca made the finals, or semi finals of the Champions League?
My point is there is no logical explanation to suggest that either Spanish side wont be as good as they are had they played in the Premiership. If there is, I'd like to hear it. |
Dec 10 2011, 10:32 PM
358 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Oxpod |
QUOTE(raul88 @ Dec 10 2011, 06:37 PM) I brought this issue up because personally, I know dozens of people and my friends who have this mentality for me the tradition of the football in malaysia for the pass decade..totally different from England...Arsenal vs Chelsea not as fierce as Chelsea vs United..Spurs vs Arsenal..nothing really about the derby..only 3 points all the fans aiming for...Man Utd vs Man City?..Man Utd fans against the ghost army...which raised my eyebrow whether they are true fans or just "following the crowds" since football (especially epl) is a trend in the last 10 years or so in msia Liverpool vs United is the only good fierce rivalry that come close as good as back at England.. but still nothing is the same.. just my opinion... |
Dec 11 2011, 08:52 AM
7 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Dec 10 2011, 05:21 PM) The thing is the rivalry between Liverpool and manutd fans are probably more intense than you can imagine. If they support us when we playing City, i can understand because they would want us to help them to play catch up with City in league standing. In other competition, i think they would rather see us ended up trophyless. Lol...and you call ppl being a prick when you are one. That's what I meant. so nope, I think manutd fans support Liverpool for a match other than for their own benefit is RARE Added on December 10, 2011, 5:27 pm Well, the thought of RM didnt do well in CL in the past few seasons still horrendous as well...after all how much money they spent over the year. Another reason I am amazed why someone can regard RM above the EPL teams after how RM finished in CL the last few seasons. Just because they won it 9 times in the past? Gimme a break. Added on December 10, 2011, 5:29 pm Cheap shot? I think someone need mirror and a reality check on how Football Lounge is going on for the past few years. All the trolls in the rival threads every time the manutd rivals lose out regardless of whether manutd playing against them or not.... You need me to name out all these trolls? Maybe u shud think before you speak. God give you brain for a reason. Added on December 11, 2011, 9:09 am QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 10 2011, 04:48 PM) In that case, I'd actually question is he is an avid fan? Yes, he is. That is why I mentioned this in the first place. Expecting this question.In the case of England's top two sides being knocked out, I actually think it's a complement to the Premiership, that the next 2 ranked sides progressed. Shows strength in depth no? Strength in depth maybe. Complement? Nah. BPL champion and City's spending spree but knocked in the first phase. That's hardly a complement. Here's my take: Viewpoint A - BPL best league in the world because they are the most entertaining league in the world. I mean top to bottom teams, most of the game are entertaining. I wouldn't be so sure about La Liga. Viewpoint B - La Liga is the best league in the world because they have the strongest teams in the world in the mould of Barca and Real. This post has been edited by likeicare: Dec 11 2011, 09:09 AM |
Dec 11 2011, 10:04 AM
950 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Just 1 season and the BPL teams' strength is questioned. Never put in the weight that from 2005 till 2011, all the finals except 2010 includes at least 1 English team. My view, this statement is sooooo shortsighted, i wouldnt even know where to start countering.
Simple fact is, Man City probably got too overwhelmed by the tourney and playing in a strong group as well, the fact that they got 10 points but still finish 3rd shows how strong their group is. Rule of thumb for UCL group stage, most of the time qualification is secured with 10 points, except for circumstances like City. Man Utd, simply fails to perform, thats all. Performance and standard is 2 different thing, just like the sayin goes "form is temporary, class is permanent". The top 2 teams in the BPL currently not qualifying through doesnt mean shit, after all Chelsea and Arsenal qualified, as expected. Note that i only talk about the statement that BPL teams cant compete in UCL anymore, nothing to do about which league is stronger/better. That discussion will never have an answer. As for the supporting-same-league teams, its your personal view. Some thinks that if their own club cannot win it, might as well be another team from the same neighbourhood. More hardcore ones will probably go against that arch rival and rather support the opponent. Others, like me, cant be bothered if its not my club playing. |
Dec 11 2011, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(likeicare @ Dec 11 2011, 08:52 AM) Viewpoint A - BPL best league in the world because they are the most entertaining league in the world. I mean top to bottom teams, most of the game are entertaining. I wouldn't be so sure about La Liga. I like competitive leagues. The problem with the La Liga is the disparity when it comes to wealth between Barca, Real and the rest of the league. Like I said earlier, with the exception of Real and Barca, when was the last time another Spanish side entered the Champions League final or semi-finals (to keep in context of this thread title)? It's true that even in England, Man Utd have dominated for the past 2 decades but in the context of Europe, 4 different sides have reached the final in the last decade. Viewpoint B - La Liga is the best league in the world because they have the strongest teams in the world in the mould of Barca and Real. Best league? Well being competitive is one, and I suppose the one that garners the most interest and hype, and at the moment the Premiership is lightyears ahead of anyone else in that aspect. That being said, I don't see why anyone wants to argue which league is best. I mean you watch what you want to watch la. |
| Change to: | 0.0160sec
5 queries
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:22 PM |