17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

My Problem with Malaysian e-Sports, Can't brain it lah

kEazYc
post Nov 30 2011, 03:41 PM

1,314 posts

I've shared this article on my Facebook, and got some reply from some of my friend, but they are in the other scene (CS1.6/CSS).

Too much about SC2, i am not going to get involve with it.
Someone willing to start about CSS Scene?
And btw, to get people to join gaming scene , its easy, host an online tournament, no prize no nothing, just like ACSL if you remember.

Lots of team join ya? Almost whole Asia participate, just host or organize an online tournament and once in awhile maybe 5 times a year, host a lan tournament.

People join cuz of the big prize pool, if keep on hosting LAN Tourney, they would divide the money for instance....

I am hosting a minecraft tourney on jan, the prize pool is RM200 champ, and then im hosting it again on feb, same prize pool.

If they host it, atleast 3 times a year maybe? The prize pool would be bigger and more people would come, cuz they don't have to divide the money for each tourney they host.

Minecraft tourney LOL :/

I don't does it fits into the topic lol.

This post has been edited by kEazYc: Nov 30 2011, 03:44 PM
SiewKaiz
post Nov 30 2011, 03:46 PM

304 posts

im cheapskate but i join any tourney possible including online 1 eventhough i m cheapskate
hazairi
post Nov 30 2011, 03:57 PM

2,694 posts

I love this game (SC II).
I consider it as my hobby and if i have the chance to enter a tourney with free registration, i will.

The event created by sportsgamer, when they did a RM30 registration fee, honestly I don't think it's worth it for me as I know that I can't compete with the pros + it's a knockout torney.

But when they announce they'll give some freebies, then I think it's worth the RM30 pay..
TSFXOBoSs
post Nov 30 2011, 04:13 PM

I think a few points have been proven already in this thread.

I have attended multiple game events in Malaysia and they are all the same in terms of habits mentality etc. It all would have transpired from one particular scene and spread at a time. It could have been broodwar or wc3 or dota.. Or even fifa..

The game I am trying to market originally is sc2 because its easier to watch from an external point of view. (People who dont play the game).

If DOTA was a game that 1) was new 2) was entertaining to those who dont play it and 3) not a team game full of people who threaten to kill me at lan cafes..

I would support it.

CS:S was a failed game... 1.6 crapped all over it and the game itself is a failure. Hence cs:GO being rushed.

I was once a CS pro. I wish CS was a good game to bring to the world, but other than playing it, its pretty crappy to watch. Especially with the calibre and accuracy of todays pros.
SUStlts
post Nov 30 2011, 04:18 PM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

i haven buy sc2 enuf said cry.gif
evofantasy
post Nov 30 2011, 04:22 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(FXOBoSs @ Nov 30 2011, 04:13 PM)
I think a few points have been proven already in this thread.

I have attended multiple game events in Malaysia and they are all the same in terms of habits mentality etc. It all would have transpired from one particular scene and spread at a time. It could have been broodwar or wc3 or dota.. Or even fifa..

The game I am trying to market originally is sc2 because its easier to watch from an external point of view. (People who dont play the game).

If DOTA was a game that 1) was new 2) was entertaining to those who dont play it and 3) not a team game full of people who threaten to kill me at lan cafes..

I would support it.

CS:S was a failed game... 1.6 crapped all over it and the game itself is a failure. Hence cs:GO being rushed.

I was once a CS pro. I wish CS was a good game to bring to the world, but other than playing it, its pretty crappy to watch. Especially with the calibre and accuracy of todays pros.
sc2 was made with esport in mind...
the UI makes it easy to follow and the casters really make it awesome (analytical + commentator)...
and who dont like lasers (hint: war of the world in PvP)...

compared to MOBA like Dota...
15min of pure farming doing ntg, auto-attack carries, bad commentary, lack of memorable moments and ppl dying so fast...
at least LoL (if u watch the big events) fixed lots of stuffs which made it watchable...
ask those who ever watched LoL competitively and would agree that dota is horrible to watch...

the same issue roughly in CS where it is nt suitable for the spectator...
being a team game is one thing and FPS is another...
compared to Quake:Live which is actually decent =p

for fighting games, it require really good players to shine out...
i did follow SSF4 in EVO2011 and i jz saw the one in dreamhack last weekend...
the dreamhack one was sooo damn freaking horrible =.=
sayyidbest
post Nov 30 2011, 04:28 PM

41 posts

errr for me and my team (cod4).we dont really think about winning the game.we just play and hope for the best.win or lose is nothing.the EXPERIENCE is valuable.who wanna give u a shouting moment in tourney dude ?

This post has been edited by sayyidbest: Nov 30 2011, 04:29 PM
gamestx
post Nov 30 2011, 04:35 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Nov 30 2011, 03:16 PM)
malaysian gamer mentality just weird

SCII RM200+ = exp
dota alot ppl play coz free
HoN/LoL = free but somehow those free skin,champ etc etc = exceed 200+ yet they feel it cheap
MMORPG = F2P but cash item = used more than RM500++(previous me) yet they feel it free coz hey it is F2P game

i got few dota fren i got ask them play sc2 b4 they all just say to me it is expensive n yet they all got ps3/xbox at home while i dun have any one of those

malaysia gamer just weird thats all i could say boss
Totally agree with you. smile.gif
fujkenasai
post Nov 30 2011, 04:36 PM

1,137 posts

Wow I've been bz for the afternoon and this is what I see.

Its really hard to change Malaysian's attitude, thats why whe ph41L in so many aspect compared to US and Korea. cry.gif

Needless to say that this is just a hobby, maybe if we can get people to like SC2 as much as soccer than we might have a chance.

btw I only read what boss said, there are too many things for me to read. at work...

QUOTE(FXOBoSs @ Nov 30 2011, 02:08 PM)
I have been planning to do barcraft but have been postponing it until I finished my research. I have contacts are 4 bars in Pavillion, 3 of them have shown interest. But should I do an event with the risk of everyone saying that pavillion is too far to attend? Or that there is no free gift for attending?

I know of about 10 people from the sc2 community who would 100% attend no matter what. Some would even bring a bunch of friends (ninjabear you stud!!). But it shouldnt be up to them to support the thing you love. IT should be up to EVERYONE to do it...

So, how far are you willing to go to support malaysian e-sports?
As for barCraft I am willing to come as long as it does not clash with friend's wedding. Pavillion to me is an excellent location, even though I am from iPoh, and since when do people get freebies going to a bar to watch a TV sports show. @.@ laugh.gif

As for friends, well the only friends I know that would go to a Bar for starcraft are people from here.

How far? hmm as long as I am free, Id join even though its RM30 for entree since I come all the way from iPoh.

This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Nov 30 2011, 04:45 PM
drakeria
post Nov 30 2011, 05:36 PM

93 posts

I hope i can join 2nd FXO but thn flight ticket is .....
cupmee2nd
post Nov 30 2011, 06:15 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Nov 30 2011, 03:16 PM)
malaysian gamer mentality just weird

SCII RM200+ = exp
dota alot ppl play coz free
HoN/LoL = free but somehow those free skin,champ etc etc = exceed 200+ yet they feel it cheap
MMORPG = F2P but cash item = used more than RM500++(previous me) yet they feel it free coz hey it is F2P game

i got few dota fren i got ask them play sc2 b4 they all just say to me it is expensive n yet they all got ps3/xbox at home while i dun have any one of those

malaysia gamer just weird thats all i could say boss
Agree. One of the many reason why there is not a lot of people playing SC2 in Malaysia. Since it was free, some of my friends have been playing it. But after a few days go back to Dota... doh.gif
drakeria
post Nov 30 2011, 06:21 PM

93 posts

Terrence 'MrBlue' Wong said these in fb when he saw this article

"And face it. The SC2 community is shit in Malaysia. DotA does not have a lot of the problems that SC2 have that was stated in the article. "

I view his profile, he is Division Leader DotA (Editorial) at GosuGamers.net.

So, whts your comment? Should i say he is a dotard or all malaysians are dotard?

Added on November 30, 2011, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 30 2011, 04:22 PM)
sc2 was made with esport in mind...
the UI makes it easy to follow and the casters really make it awesome (analytical + commentator)...
and who dont like lasers (hint: war of the world in PvP)...

compared to MOBA like Dota...
15min of pure farming doing ntg, auto-attack carries, bad commentary, lack of memorable moments and ppl dying so fast...
at least LoL (if u watch the big events) fixed lots of stuffs which made it watchable...
ask those who ever watched LoL competitively and would agree that dota is horrible to watch...

the same issue roughly in CS where it is nt suitable for the spectator...
being a team game is one thing and FPS is another...
compared to Quake:Live which is actually decent =p

for fighting games, it require really good players to shine out...
i did follow SSF4 in EVO2011 and i jz saw the one in dreamhack last weekend...
the dreamhack one was sooo damn freaking horrible =.=
Its fun to watch dota when they gank around but not when they farming. For me, after i watch ppl play in tourney, im so excited wanted to play the game especially those special move. This is the feeling after i watch sc2.

This post has been edited by drakeria: Nov 30 2011, 06:32 PM
Unnamezz
post Nov 30 2011, 06:33 PM

Malaysian is still new with PRO-gaming. In fact, there aren't enough tournament for the player to commit with.

DotA tournament? CS tournament? SMM, WCG, ESWC? For the whole year and you get 3 MAJOR tournament? and the stakes is you might not win any of them.

Malaysian still doesn't consider PRO-gaming as an occupation. I glad BoSs has made the 1st move by organizing FXOpen but it still not enough. We can't expect every tournament are hosted by FXO. I did see Orange CC hosting a few tournament but it's not Starcraft 2. I did see Gizmo hosting a few tournament but it's not Starcraft 2.

There are just too many games to begin with. DotA, LoL, HoN, CS1.6, CoD4, MAT, SA, SC2, and i did see SDO?. Which games should the players to commit with? Everybody know how to play all the game but they just need to find something which is worth commit for.

Free or not isn't the problem now but what is really the problem is are PRO-gaming worth the time and energy to commit with. IMO though.
drakeria
post Nov 30 2011, 06:37 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Unnamezz @ Nov 30 2011, 06:33 PM)
Malaysian is still new with PRO-gaming. In fact, there aren't enough tournament for the player to commit with.

DotA tournament? CS tournament? SMM, WCG, ESWC? For the whole year and you get 3 MAJOR tournament? and the stakes is you might not win any of them.

Malaysian still doesn't consider PRO-gaming as an occupation. I glad BoSs has made the 1st move by organizing FXOpen but it still not enough. We can't expect every tournament are hosted by FXO. I did see Orange CC hosting a few tournament but it's not Starcraft 2. I did see Gizmo hosting a few tournament but it's not Starcraft 2.

There are just too many games to begin with. DotA, LoL, HoN, CS1.6, CoD4, MAT, SA, SC2, and i did see SDO?. Which games should the players to commit with? Everybody know how to play all the game but they just need to find something which is worth commit for.

Free or not isn't the problem now but what is really the problem is are PRO-gaming worth the time and energy to commit with. IMO though.
Are you from kch? How you know gizmo?
Btw, free or not is a BIG deal. If you are kch ppl, u should know how many ppl got a sc2 acc and wht is it so.
Quazacolt
post Nov 30 2011, 07:10 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(FXOBoSs @ Nov 30 2011, 02:08 PM)
Firstly, let me say that I am thankful for all the loyal supporters of sc2 and FXO from Malaysia.

But now I am going to rant on the mentality of Malaysian e-Sports (not just sc2).

One of the big reasons I live in Malaysia is because of the people. I love Malaysian people, the culture, the lifestyle and the fact they feed you no matter if there is a reason to celebrate or not. But its these things that I love that bring a reason why e-Sports in Malaysia on a professional level will most probably fail unless change occurs.

When we first suggested we would do events in Malaysia, there was a common word in every sentence by the people I spoke to to get a jist of what I should do here. That word was FREE.

Its my belief that players should always have free entry to events, and I can make that happen everytime no matter what. But that seems to not be enough. If you base an events success on the amount of free things you give to the community the minute you stop giving away free things, the event dies. Its a bad habit to get into. And is a reason no one will be successful.

Take for instance FXO 1.. 10-20 of the people who joined the tournament only showed up for lucky draw.. That includes some close friends of mine.

How is e-sports going to survive if people only show up for free stuff?

Then there is spotgamers sc tournament. Struggling to get anyone to show up, they announced free AMD mobo or something along those lines, for anyone who enters. Immediately the tournament got a good number of participants. But if they dont give that free thing again, they wont get the same numbers. So it will essentially die if they dont give free things.

Infact when they announced the AMD mobo thing my skype chat was filled with how people are gonna get it and sell it for money. By any standards, this is disgusting. Rich or poor, it could almost be considered theft.

So, HOW is malaysian e-sports going to survive?

There are dedicated people such as pRoGeney, a bunch of nDL guys (not all) and a few of the top players (who have other issues to deal with such as their attitude towards the community), who will always be there. But will it grow accordingly?

Starcraft 2 is now 29.99 USD. According to statistics, its price is now in the comfort mark for Malaysian people to spend on luxury items. (about 98 RM approximately). But because the price is affordable isn't enough because there is no exposure. No investment and worst of all, little TRUE community support.

I am sure no matter what I do I can get a good showing of players to an event, mostly because of free things. But where does it go from there? To get external people to enter the community you need firstly to have approachable stars (The stars of malaysian SC2 ARE NOT approachable..... They can b**** me as much as they like about saying this). You need to have a community that will support sc2 no matter what (this doesnt mean spending money). And you need to show that no matter what other people think, you are here (where ever you may be) to support the event because you enjoy it, and nothing but that.

Being too lazy to support something you have passion about, means you are not passionate about it. Spending a saturday or sunday with people who are your friend should have no excuse like "10 min drive too far lah". To be honest, if 10 min drive is too far, then you are a bad friend to begin with.
So now Malaysian e-sports is in this bad habit of mooching which is damaging its growth. How do we fix it?

I am not sure really..... I don't know if it can be fixed. I had made big plans for a Malaysian sc2 league to move forward. But because of the support (or lack there of) within the community, it is no longer a viable investment. Albiet the LAN's are no problem. Its alot of fun and the cost is minimal, but anything bigger is a waste of investment these days.

I have been planning to do barcraft but have been postponing it until I finished my research. I have contacts are 4 bars in Pavillion, 3 of them have shown interest. But should I do an event with the risk of everyone saying that pavillion is too far to attend? Or that there is no free gift for attending?

I know of about 10 people from the sc2 community who would 100% attend no matter what. Some would even bring a bunch of friends (ninjabear you stud!!). But it shouldnt be up to them to support the thing you love. IT should be up to EVERYONE to do it...

So, how far are you willing to go to support malaysian e-sports?
first off, i will be VERY frank on this despite the impending elitist/*******/troll remarks. hell, i've been perceived a such anyways for all i can remember, so what does it matters anyways? to you from me, take it or leave it, entirely up to you. again as a reminder, this is of my personal views/opinions/perspective, if you (or anyone else) dont like it or have a problem with it, f*** off smile.gif

now to begin.

Your views on potential problems vs what/where i stand:

- money
to people who even know me for a bit (only need to take maybe 5 minutes to click on my siggy) would know quite easily i have absolutely no problems on forking out, regardless of my financial status or how i spend like a total retard

- transportation and/or distances issues (potential excuse)
i LOVE driving my car. even if its not the best car on the road (year 1999 proton iswara, who am i kiddin?) i drove this baby down to penang, ipoh, even singapore from KL, and i never complaint about it. i spend a fortune on it to the point it has no selling value, from complete overhauls to part replacements to ICE. for the records anyways, driving to cyberjaya MMU was never an issue. which i will address very soon.

- disgusting mentality of freebies
for spotgamers i did voiced out faintly on my first post on the thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=46956107

i was a participant for the cyberfusion (read: passion) held previously. and no doubt i got their amd processor, and god was i frustrated to get rid of it. to be VERY FRANK. even if they did not gave out free procs, i would've gone eitherway to push myself to my limits, and because i was still very passionate towards gaming, and most importantly, because a group of my friends went along with me. (although, if you relate to that, almost half of said friends went because of the freebies, while i cant be certain of this, as i am speaking from my viewpoint, it may be very much so the case as they arent hardcore gamers)

- friends
now that we are on spotgamers, in the end, i never went. (which i also mentioned in the said thread)
no one amongst my friends want to go, i have already stopped being a hardcore (or passionate, if you would prefer) gamer, even more so since i have gotten my new job, which requires 24/7 standby, and many graveyard shift activities, in a nutshell, i pretty much had no personal life for the first few months i got this job. The pay is well, and i need it due to my increasing debts, but thats more of a personal matter than addressing this thread at hand.

if i have no friends thats willing to follow me, and i am totally not passionate enough to do this alone, what else would there be to drive me to go to spotgamers event? (or any other events, like the ones you organized, organizing in the present or future for example)

- The Malaysian SC2 community
tada! the main spotlight of what i am wanting to voice.

i am absolutely disgusted, and i absolutely loath the Malaysian SC2 community. its too filled with hypocrites, shitty malaysian mentality (includes but not limited to the ones you have ranted), wannabe elitists, wannabe trolls - or in a nutshell, f***ing posers.

If you were active around when sc2 was launched, i was quite active with almost everything in this forum, to joining tournaments (vista lasik) to joining other malaysians (who are willing to goto US servers at least), to posting replays, guides and what not over the racial threads. what happened down the road?

it is just not worth it anymore.

if i am not in a clique (you yourself are DAMN CLEAR on the "not approachable" part), id just be show down easily by whatever i do. regardless the effort or if i am right or wrong, or if it is sensible or not.

That, backing up with my new job, my losing interests towards gaming in general, is what results in my standpoint towards the Malaysian SC2 community as a whole.

Now finally. if i have absolutely NO REASON to show up at events even if i could (money and transportation/distance). Why would i be?

unless something drastic is changing, my answer to your question of "So, how far are you willing to go to support malaysian e-sports?" will forever remain the same: "Nope."

And if you decide to forsaken the community just like i did, i do not blame you one bit, In fact you yourself also understood clearly. i mean, my education is low considering today's standards, however with so many years working in the big corporate world, i understand very well that the world revolves around money, You need money to get things done and what ever money you are investing, ultimately you would want returns as any sane businessman would be.

i don't know why malaysian's are still in the freebie/cheapskate mentality. to be honest i sometimes dont even understand that part (admittedly, that can be quite hypocritical even from me) because thats just totally naive. my only relief is that i do see more people understanding the saying "good things arent cheap, cheap things arent good", because being an active participant in other forums such as the ICE/audiophile forums, or even hobby forums, i've seen FAR TOO MANY faggots paying for peanuts and expecting high returns. But that's bullshit, they can blame govt, blame whoever, blame god, but fact is you need money for things, and the less you pay, the less you get.

now, im going too far into this rant, and it is coming quite close to RWI material already (which frankly, i find it either boring, or too tedious/tldr to bother) so ill cut this short:

Barcraft, i can and dont mind attending so long i dont get sudden night jobs (my dept usually opposes weekend jobs so normally, it should be no issue) as i can just treat it as a casual drinking session, and i could use some alchohol to cool off some work stress per say. however if its not happening, i hold nothing against you and again, it is fully understandable.
BlueBerry~
post Nov 30 2011, 07:52 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(drakeria @ Nov 30 2011, 06:21 PM)
Terrence 'MrBlue' Wong said these in fb when he saw this article

"And face it. The SC2 community is shit in Malaysia. DotA does not have a lot of the problems that SC2 have that was stated in the article. "

I view his profile, he is Division Leader DotA (Editorial) at GosuGamers.net.

So, whts your comment? Should i say he is a dotard or all malaysians are dotard?
Neither. There is a lot more to what I meant in that comment which in hindsight I guess I should phrase it better. The competitive SC2 community is pretty much non-existent in Malaysia, in fact I would go so far as to say that there is pretty much no competitive SC2 community outside of Europe, America and Korea. The thing with SC2 games besides the gamer mentality of wanting it to be free and so on is that we as Malaysian gamers prefer team games over individual games and the "accessibility" of the said game. Both reasons why games like DotA and Sudden Attack(Dropping I know, but was pretty big at its peak) pretty much thrive in the competitive scene. SC2 is a very resource heavy game and lets face it, only "elitist" can afford the setup to run it properly without lag and everything, that itself already hinders the development of the competitive community (Let us not talk about pricing since that is a whole other ballpark). That and like I said, team games > individual games in the Malaysian community.
LoNeLy-Zhai
post Nov 30 2011, 07:54 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 30 2011, 07:10 PM)
first off, i will be VERY frank on this despite the impending elitist/*******/troll remarks. hell, i've been perceived a such anyways for all i can remember, so what does it matters anyways? to you from me, take it or leave it, entirely up to you. again as a reminder, this is of my personal views/opinions/perspective, if you (or anyone else) dont like it or have a problem with it, f*** off smile.gif

now to begin.

Your views on potential problems vs what/where i stand:

- money
to people who even know me for a bit (only need to take maybe 5 minutes to click on my siggy) would know quite easily i have absolutely no problems on forking out, regardless of my financial status or how i spend like a total retard

- transportation and/or distances issues (potential excuse)
i LOVE driving my car. even if its not the best car on the road (year 1999 proton iswara, who am i kiddin?) i drove this baby down to penang, ipoh, even singapore from KL, and i never complaint about it. i spend a fortune on it to the point it has no selling value, from complete overhauls to part replacements to ICE. for the records anyways, driving to cyberjaya MMU was never an issue. which i will address very soon.

- disgusting mentality of freebies
for spotgamers i did voiced out faintly on my first post on the thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=46956107

i was a participant for the cyberfusion (read: passion) held previously. and no doubt i got their amd processor, and god was i frustrated to get rid of it. to be VERY FRANK. even if they did not gave out free procs, i would've gone eitherway to push myself to my limits, and because i was still very passionate towards gaming, and most importantly, because a group of my friends went along with me. (although, if you relate to that, almost half of said friends went because of the freebies, while i cant be certain of this, as i am speaking from my viewpoint, it may be very much so the case as they arent hardcore gamers)

- friends
now that we are on spotgamers, in the end, i never went. (which i also mentioned in the said thread)
no one amongst my friends want to go, i have already stopped being a hardcore (or passionate, if you would prefer) gamer, even more so since i have gotten my new job, which requires 24/7 standby, and many graveyard shift activities, in a nutshell, i pretty much had no personal life for the first few months i got this job. The pay is well, and i need it due to my increasing debts, but thats more of a personal matter than addressing this thread at hand.

if i have no friends thats willing to follow me, and i am totally not passionate enough to do this alone, what else would there be to drive me to go to spotgamers event? (or any other events, like the ones you organized, organizing in the present or future for example)

- The Malaysian SC2 community
tada! the main spotlight of what i am wanting to voice.

i am absolutely disgusted, and i absolutely loath the Malaysian SC2 community. its too filled with hypocrites, shitty malaysian mentality (includes but not limited to the ones you have ranted), wannabe elitists, wannabe trolls - or in a nutshell, f***ing posers.

If you were active around when sc2 was launched, i was quite active with almost everything in this forum, to joining tournaments (vista lasik) to joining other malaysians (who are willing to goto US servers at least), to posting replays, guides and what not over the racial threads. what happened down the road?

it is just not worth it anymore.

if i am not in a clique (you yourself are DAMN CLEAR on the "not approachable" part), id just be show down easily by whatever i do. regardless the effort or if i am right or wrong, or if it is sensible or not.

That, backing up with my new job, my losing interests towards gaming in general, is what results in my standpoint towards the Malaysian SC2 community as a whole.
Now finally. if i have absolutely NO REASON to show up at events even if i could (money and transportation/distance). Why would i be?

unless something drastic is changing, my answer to your question of "So, how far are you willing to go to support malaysian e-sports?" will forever remain the same: "Nope."

And if you decide to forsaken the community just like i did, i do not blame you one bit, In fact you yourself also understood clearly. i mean, my education is low considering today's standards, however with so many years working in the big corporate world, i understand very well that the world revolves around money, You need money to get things done and what ever money you are investing, ultimately you would want returns as any sane businessman would be.

i don't know why malaysian's are still in the freebie/cheapskate mentality. to be honest i sometimes dont even understand that part (admittedly, that can be quite hypocritical even from me) because thats just totally naive. my only relief is that i do see more people understanding the saying "good things arent cheap, cheap things arent good", because being an active participant in other forums such as the ICE/audiophile forums, or even hobby forums, i've seen FAR TOO MANY faggots paying for peanuts and expecting high returns. But that's bullshit, they can blame govt, blame whoever, blame god, but fact is you need money for things, and the less you pay, the less you get.

now, im going too far into this rant, and it is coming quite close to RWI material already (which frankly, i find it either boring, or too tedious/tldr to bother) so ill cut this short:

Barcraft, i can and dont mind attending so long i dont get sudden night jobs (my dept usually opposes weekend jobs so normally, it should be no issue) as i can just treat it as a casual drinking session, and i could use some alchohol to cool off some work stress per say. however if its not happening, i hold nothing against you and again, it is fully understandable.
You and your grandmother story shocking.gif

Not that you don't have friends to go with you, you don't have much choices of friends to go with you icon_idea.gif

Why you so shy to mix with us? Wanna be foreverkeyboardwarrior? sad.gif

I heard that you called renson a noob for that vista lasik event, and he pawned you badly drool.gif

I <3 renson, he is a good guy. Prolly the most noble player among all prodigyians icon_rolleyes.gif
ricardoizecson
post Nov 30 2011, 07:57 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Nov 30 2011, 07:52 PM)
Neither. There is a lot more to what I meant in that comment which in hindsight I guess I should phrase it better. The competitive SC2 community is pretty much non-existent in Malaysia, in fact I would go so far as to say that there is pretty much no competitive SC2 community outside of Europe, America and Korea. The thing with SC2 games besides the gamer mentality of wanting it to be free and so on is that we as Malaysian gamers prefer team games over individual games and the "accessibility" of the said game. Both reasons why games like DotA and Sudden Attack(Dropping I know, but was pretty big at its peak) pretty much thrive in the competitive scene. SC2 is a very resource heavy game and lets face it, only "elitist" can afford the setup to run it properly without lag and everything, that itself already hinders the development of the competitive community (Let us not talk about pricing since that is a whole other ballpark). That and like I said, team games > individual games in the Malaysian community.
such a sad-day to be a malaysian then. T__T
Mansamune
post Nov 30 2011, 08:06 PM

49 posts

I personally try to attend as many tourneys as possible, regardless of registration fee or not (I even drag my friends along as well) As cliche as it sounds, it's more of the spirit of competition and the atmosphere surrounding it that appeals to me, even more so than the prize money itself. Meeting new people, talking about the game, sharing a laugh or two, grabbing a bite in between matches all make it worthwhile at the end of the day.

Although it makes me sad to say, I do agree that the Malaysian mentality present in our society today is very real and as we all know, the main reason that is setting e-sports in Malaysia back. Truth be told, I don't know if this problem will ever go away. You might say, "hey, I don't have to do anything, I'll leave it to the rest of the community", NO. This is the sort of attitude that is very common among Malaysians. And especially since the starcraft scene is relatively small, everyone's effort is exponentially more important.
Quazacolt
post Nov 30 2011, 08:12 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(LoNeLy-Zhai @ Nov 30 2011, 07:54 PM)
You and your grandmother story  shocking.gif

Not that you don't have friends to go with you, you don't have much choices of friends to go with you  icon_idea.gif 

Why you so shy to mix with us? Wanna be foreverkeyboardwarrior? sad.gif

I heard that you called renson a noob for that vista lasik event, and he pawned you badly  drool.gif

I <3 renson, he is a good guy. Prolly the most noble player among all prodigyians  icon_rolleyes.gif
THIS is exactly what i am talking about.

however since i do have a bit of spare time, i will humor you up:

- sure man, you would know how many friends i make biggrin.gif (feel free to dig up on me, the need to proof myself towards your level is just sad)

- i've been to so many TTs amongst other communities within LYN and they *were* complete strangers to begin with. heck, for the sake of SC2 anyways, i've been to the gath fuj organized (one of the main reason is i knew him since way back then during /AS/ days)

and i think chobo (iinm? for a short while) and ash was there too? sorry, couldnt remember whos who ^^;
feel free to correct me fuj tongue.gif

- i dont recall calling renson a noob, and i will admit that he did pwned me very badly smile.gif
in fact, i do have replays to prove it, and i dont recall ever chatting to him at all outside our games.

what that means is that, the burden of proof is upon you.

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:53 AM