My Problem with Malaysian e-Sports, Can't brain it lah

Unnamezz
post Nov 30 2011, 06:33 PM

Malaysian is still new with PRO-gaming. In fact, there aren't enough tournament for the player to commit with.

DotA tournament? CS tournament? SMM, WCG, ESWC? For the whole year and you get 3 MAJOR tournament? and the stakes is you might not win any of them.

Malaysian still doesn't consider PRO-gaming as an occupation. I glad BoSs has made the 1st move by organizing FXOpen but it still not enough. We can't expect every tournament are hosted by FXO. I did see Orange CC hosting a few tournament but it's not Starcraft 2. I did see Gizmo hosting a few tournament but it's not Starcraft 2.

There are just too many games to begin with. DotA, LoL, HoN, CS1.6, CoD4, MAT, SA, SC2, and i did see SDO?. Which games should the players to commit with? Everybody know how to play all the game but they just need to find something which is worth commit for.

Free or not isn't the problem now but what is really the problem is are PRO-gaming worth the time and energy to commit with. IMO though.
Unnamezz
post Nov 30 2011, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(drakeria @ Nov 30 2011, 07:37 PM)
Are you from kch? How you know gizmo?
Btw, free or not is a BIG deal. If you are kch ppl, u should know how many ppl got a sc2 acc and wht is it so.
Yes, i am from Kuching, Sarawak and i am aware of the numbers of SC2 players in Kuching is relatively low. Why this happen? There isn't a single tournament (Don't count in the one online tournament which only for below-platinum) happened in Kuching. If there is no tournament, there is no PRO-gaming. Even if there is tournament, there's only 1 or 2. Would you spent $30 on a game and play like a PRO-gamer - >10hr/day - when there is no place for you to shine? Only those who love the game would do so. There is few but not many CC willing to bring eSports up in Kuching, that's my opinion though.

Just some of my idea which PERHAPS can bring eSports up in Malaysia. (I typed this while i half drunk/dreaming) Don't click it.

Unnamezz
post Nov 30 2011, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(drakeria @ Dec 1 2011, 12:23 AM)
Btw, me and my friends has organised a sc2 onlone tourney but the turn up is bad only less thn 10 ppl attend even with theprize offering. Just face it that players here just like FREE things.

The sc2 scenes in east malaysia is the worst! Here is all about dota abs CS only. Apart from that, no more. Has been discussed with those cc like Gizmo, they promise they will start organising sc2 tourney but thn tillnow still no news from them. Quite disappointed with them.
Gizmo has hosted bunch of tournament. They even promised to host a CoD4 tournament but the community just GGed. I talked to them as well, and i know it's hard when you the only CC in the whole area hosting bunch of tournament. There's involve lot's of planning, sponsorship, income, popularity, etc in hosting a tournament. What we can do now is hoping someone would take the 1st move, but in Bolehland, i doubt so.

If only Gizmo focus on one or two game, that's more than enough. Imagine a whole year, 12 months, every 1/2 months got a small tournament, and at the end of the year, big tournament = profits. It's easier to said than done so i doubt it would happen UNLESS there is sponsorship though. The problem now, like i said in the previous previous posts, there is TOO MUCH game for a normal gamer to commit with. Try focus 1/2 game is enough.
Unnamezz
post Dec 1 2011, 04:19 PM

Just posting here doesn't bring us anywhere. The problem itself still within the WHOLE Malaysian gamer mentality. I recall this post supposed to be in the 'Gamers Hideout' but see where it went now? Starcraft? i wonder why... *You should know why this happened*
Unnamezz
post Dec 3 2011, 08:11 PM

So you guys planning on watching SC2 in a Club or a Pub or a Bar or a Lounge? Wait, what's the difference between those 4? -.-|||

More event is good, but Malaysia is 'big' though. No way FXO manage to host event in North South East West of all Malaysia.

Unnamezz
post Dec 4 2011, 08:35 PM

From what i heard, this year SMM sarks hardcore, PC problems till rules and regulations till referee experience... Oh well~
Unnamezz
post Dec 9 2011, 09:13 AM

How on Earth politics gets into this thread? Joke sial.
Unnamezz
post Dec 21 2011, 11:56 PM

http://www.nst.com.my/life-times/tech/drea...1#ixzz1h8Kh1Rkq

“It is possible for us to handle all of our international e-sports events and teams from Malaysia because of its geographical location. Kuala Lumpur is not saturated with e-sports which is quickly becoming the next billion dollar industry. There really is no better place than here for our project.”
- BoSs

This post has been edited by Unnamezz: Dec 21 2011, 11:59 PM

0.0262sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:56 AM