Alienware Mothership V9, Ivy babies!!!
alvinkhorfire
Feb 25 2012, 11:19 AM

In terms of RAM pricing in Malaysia, is it the right time now to purchase 2 sticks of 8 GB RAM modules? Or, should I wait till a few months later as the price of 8 GB RAM module will keep on decreasing? Well, I already have 8 GB (2 x 4 GB) in my M15x, thus am in no rush to obtain additional 8 GB. That is why I would wait for the time when the price of 8 GB RAM module is at its lowest, before buying two of them.
Thank you for the advice.
This post has been edited by alvinkhorfire: Feb 25 2012, 11:19 AM
otosan
Feb 25 2012, 12:47 PM

From what i see the 8gb price have decreased almost by RM100 in this last 2 months...
It won't hurt to wait another month actually, i believe it probably can reach arround RM100-150 /piece
Added on February 25, 2012, 2:14 pmBtw, does anyone here happen to know how much is it the 240w adapter now at dell malaysia?
I check one reseller, they offer it for arrnd RM750. Is it really that expensive? O.o
This post has been edited by otosan: Feb 25 2012, 02:14 PM
Pro3363
Feb 25 2012, 02:40 PM
Aiming high to stay flying
QUOTE(otosan @ Feb 25 2012, 12:47 PM) From what i see the 8gb price have decreased almost by RM100 in this last 2 months... It won't hurt to wait another month actually, i believe it probably can reach arround RM100-150 /piece Added on February 25, 2012, 2:14 pmBtw, does anyone here happen to know how much is it the 240w adapter now at dell malaysia? I check one reseller, they offer it for arrnd RM750. Is it really that expensive? O.o Check ebay.......................  Added on February 25, 2012, 4:30 pmBTW, to those Battlefield 3 players using nVidia GPUs........., do u guys feel that the game is more stable using the latest nVdia drivers????????????? This post has been edited by Pro3363: Feb 25 2012, 04:30 PM
otosan
Feb 27 2012, 03:16 AM

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Feb 25 2012, 02:40 PM) ebay one mostly is OEM, it's quite cheap though, arround US $50, but no warranty..., if one month kaput,  about the new driver, it released to improve the perf on those game indeed isn't it? but could be placebo, ahahah
Pro3363
Feb 27 2012, 08:37 PM
Aiming high to stay flying
QUOTE(otosan @ Feb 27 2012, 03:16 AM) ebay one mostly is OEM, it's quite cheap though, arround US $50, but no warranty..., if one month kaput,  about the new driver, it released to improve the perf on those game indeed isn't it? but could be placebo, ahahah yeah................
putochip123
Feb 28 2012, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(otosan @ Feb 25 2012, 02:35 AM) Really? even with 920xm ? O.o if so, then i gonna be very happy, hahaha, but the PSU surely will become very hot on full load isn't it? it wnt be hot, but ur system will throttle down. i got 1 customer with m15x always complaint his M15x hang when full load. i rather ask u take the money for SSD whch is better
otosan
Feb 28 2012, 01:24 PM

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Feb 28 2012, 01:04 PM) it wnt be hot, but ur system will throttle down. i got 1 customer with m15x always complaint his M15x hang when full load. i rather ask u take the money for SSD whch is better If SSD, use it already as system disk, combined with momentus XT for data disk, hehehe
beeenn
Feb 29 2012, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Feb 25 2012, 12:02 AM) Hohohohoho Ivy serious rock!!!!!! New gc best too   Really? Is it the new Nvidia 6xx-series? Because rumours saying dats its just a rebadge of 5xx-series
TSkelvin_hata
Feb 29 2012, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(beeenn @ Feb 29 2012, 08:55 PM) Depends on some model
beeenn
Mar 1 2012, 12:52 PM

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Feb 29 2012, 11:37 PM) Depends on some model  hope thats true, if the 670M/675M is just a rebadge of 570M/580M then it would be vry dissapointing
putochip123
Mar 1 2012, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(beeenn @ Mar 1 2012, 12:52 PM) hope thats true, if the 670M/675M is just a rebadge of 570M/580M then it would be vry dissapointing  Haha. In nOtebook series, it used to be like this, or rebage at high clock with different code name, then it is new GC d Added on March 1, 2012, 7:01 pmQUOTE(otosan @ Feb 28 2012, 01:24 PM) If SSD, use it already as system disk, combined with momentus XT for data disk, hehehe Ur momentus XT totally cant compete with real ssd. Some how momentus XT controller are just too weak This post has been edited by putochip123: Mar 1 2012, 07:01 PM
BlueBerry~
Mar 2 2012, 12:54 AM
Hmm. So I noticed I'm suppose to be getting 60 fps when playing dota 2. but I'm just averaging about 45. Are there any settings on the computers i need to do to allow that? I'd think my machine can handle the game settings on high.
otosan
Mar 2 2012, 12:25 PM

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Mar 1 2012, 07:00 PM) Haha. In nOtebook series, it used to be like this, or rebage at high clock with different code name, then it is new GC d Added on March 1, 2012, 7:01 pmUr momentus XT totally cant compete with real ssd. Some how momentus XT controller are just too weak Yes true, it can't compete, it only help caching slightly, that's why i set it as data disk..., hehehe, my system running on real ssd though.. hehehe
fahmiac92
Mar 2 2012, 08:06 PM
i hav a problem here, recently i got a new graphic card...gtx460m...so i installed the driver for it, everything was working fine except when i try to start up a game, an BSOD error occur , its says that 'attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed'.....anyone know wts the problem?lappy is m17x r3...
tapau76
Mar 3 2012, 08:14 AM
Just placed an order for m14x...
all standard except ram upgrade to 8gb, killer wireless
got it for roughly $4699. What do you guys reckon ? Good price or there's possibility of going even lower. Technically, I got the upgrades for free as it would have costs $5080 if I were to get it straight off the internet without haggling my balls off... lolz....
riku2replica
Mar 3 2012, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(fahmiac92 @ Mar 2 2012, 08:06 PM) i hav a problem here, recently i got a new graphic card...gtx460m...so i installed the driver for it, everything was working fine except when i try to start up a game, an BSOD error occur , its says that 'attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed'.....anyone know wts the problem?lappy is m17x r3... is this fresh installation or u did a removal of older driver and install new ones?
TSkelvin_hata
Mar 3 2012, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(fahmiac92 @ Mar 2 2012, 08:06 PM) i hav a problem here, recently i got a new graphic card...gtx460m...so i installed the driver for it, everything was working fine except when i try to start up a game, an BSOD error occur , its says that 'attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed'.....anyone know wts the problem?lappy is m17x r3... Pls install dell nvidia driver and replace with latest nvidia website driver.
fahmiac92
Mar 3 2012, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Mar 3 2012, 10:23 AM) Pls install dell nvidia driver and replace with latest nvidia website driver. tried it,,,but still got the problem huhu Added on March 3, 2012, 12:55 pmQUOTE(riku2replica @ Mar 3 2012, 09:02 AM) is this fresh installation or u did a removal of older driver and install new ones? fresh installation This post has been edited by fahmiac92: Mar 3 2012, 12:55 PM
beeenn
Mar 3 2012, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Mar 1 2012, 07:00 PM) Haha. In nOtebook series, it used to be like this, or rebage at high clock with different code name, then it is new GC d yup, true that but the 6xx-series supposed to be 28nm (kepler). if its a rebadge means its still using the old 40nm (fermi) technology anyway, those are just rumours but im still positive its not a rebadge
Unbreakable3131
Mar 4 2012, 05:10 AM
Hello guys,
Can anyone one of the sifus here give me an estimate how much my alienware can sell for?
Age : 1 1/2 year M15x Core i7 740qm GTX 460m @ 780/1500/1560 Overclocked Full 1080p screen 8gb Ram
Thanks so so so much in advance