Alienware Mothership V9, Ivy babies!!!

otosan
post Dec 2 2011, 06:42 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Dec 2 2011, 02:40 PM)
I tried Bootracer on my M1x and got 59 seconds for boot up... Dont know whether can get it speed up till 30 seconds or not.
my 2 years old M15x can boot in 29secs after changed to SSD, so i think ur one should can get less than 30 sec also.. =]

This post has been edited by otosan: Dec 3 2011, 01:19 AM
otosan
post Dec 2 2011, 10:42 PM

162 posts

^ i mean after change from HDD to SSD, ahahaha.

btw, can somebody here help me diagnose my problem,

tonight i bring out my M15x out from my room and turn on without plugged to charger, it turned on till login screen, but suddenly the screen black out and all LED turned on RED color, and it stucked like that. I can't even turn it off without unplugging the batt. blink.gif

So i unplug&replug the battery and try to turn it on, but it refused to power up, again only all LED is on & all is red color.

I try to plug to charger, same thing, no luck...

try shuffling RAM memory & Unplug the CMOS batt, same thing happen sad.gif

Quick Google say it probably loose connection of LCD or my graphic card is died, doh.gif

so i dissasembly my m15x, checking LCD connection, open graphic card, released & cleaned it and assembly it back,

yet, same thing, can't power up, only all LED turned RED. cry.gif

when already desperate and plan to order new GPU soon, i try unplug the battery and plug only to charger, and try power it up, and BING, it ON... =.=

so i think it's my battery, but then i try put back the battery, and now it can turn on also... rclxub.gif

Now i'm confused what actually the problem is... aarghhh icon_question.gif
otosan
post Dec 8 2011, 09:43 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Dec 8 2011, 03:06 PM)
M15xR2 coming out soon.
I AM SERIOUS.
http://dell.benyouhui.it168.com/forum.php?...ead&tid=1881035
ps: chinese forum
i always thought "all powerfull" is R2, while M15x Area-51 is R1, so mean i'm wrong, am i?
otosan
post Dec 12 2011, 07:29 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Dec 12 2011, 11:49 AM)
I remember there is an Alienware shop in KL. Where is it located? Wanna go get a feel before I buy.
Lowyat also got few display units i saw last time, it's either 2nd or 3rd floor, i forgot what floor was that.. They got M17x , M14x and 11x all on display, all turned on, can try...

Or else, at the curve also got display unit for M14x and M11x
otosan
post Dec 18 2011, 01:47 AM

162 posts

i7 should be better choice..., and just make sure u take the good GPU if u gaming a lot... smile.gif

btw, just take picture of my baby tonight :

btw, someone talked about 4s queue up there, actually i can help to get maxis unit without contract, RM2200 for 16GB model..., limited unit can bought, maybe someone interested.. ;p
otosan
post Dec 18 2011, 07:12 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(keanoppy @ Dec 18 2011, 03:34 PM)
i read review 1.5 n 3.0 gt555 doesnt give much difference..better get ram + cpu

Added on December 18, 2011, 3:36 pm
nice pic
how long to queue? >.<
no no, i mean i can help u get maxis unit without contract, and of course without queue, hahaha

Added on December 18, 2011, 7:13 pm
QUOTE(MikeX @ Dec 18 2011, 06:40 PM)
Hi... I never encounter any blue screen after using my lappie for 1 year +..
My blue screen only coming when i do overclocking, hahaha, or wrong mod graphic driver

Added on December 18, 2011, 7:15 pm
QUOTE(D-Frog @ Dec 18 2011, 02:38 PM)
Bro...but ssd is too small capacity..don't you think so? laugh.gif
just replace ur optical drive with HDD and use SSD for main system disk..., become dual drives system. as for optical, external optical drive nowaday r slim enough to be always inside my laptop bag... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by otosan: Dec 18 2011, 07:15 PM
otosan
post Feb 21 2012, 03:02 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Feb 20 2012, 11:50 PM)
Met with kelvin_hata for upgrade from nVidia 460M to ATI 6970M in KL yesterday

Took 3 hours at McD to install then troubleshoot the card.  Even needed a vbios flash.

So far so good, very happy with the performance increase.  Recommend him for anyone who wants to upgrade.

What next to recommend upgrade?

i7 720QM to i7 920XM? (RM800)
Pro : Benefits CPU intensive games
Cons : Using a stock 150W ac adapter with 6970M plus an extreme processor may overload it

or

500gb HDD to 120gb ssd/500gb secondary + caddy? (RM565 + RM69)
Plus : Cheaper than CPU upgrade option
Cons : May need to buy enclosure for the orphaned dvd drive/buy new slim external dvd and both will add more cost

Which is more worth it?  Use : pure gaming high FPS.
I think SSD upgrade will give more significant perf increase for overall usage.

920XM is indeed give u more power, but if u seldom use app that optimized for multicore i think ssd is better option. It definitely speed up login time and opening app and also speed up game that load a lot of data from disk...

btw for that price u can get 160gb SSD i think. but with SATA II only

otosan
post Feb 25 2012, 12:42 AM

162 posts

Just upgraded my M15x to Gtx460m and 16GB Ram, this lappie is indeed futureproof! =D it still can take 8gb on single bank. Finally no more memory low in photoshop, hahaha
otosan
post Feb 25 2012, 01:35 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Feb 25 2012, 01:09 AM)
I think you really should straight to at least GTX560M or ATi HD6870.

Hell, even GTX580M and HD6990 is possible.
ahahaha, the thing is..., my wallet is not straight enough... xD

and i still need to find the 240W PSU 1st before do any of those heavy GPU upgrade... else, it just gonna useless sad.gif
otosan
post Feb 25 2012, 02:35 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Feb 25 2012, 01:55 AM)
Bro... Urs jus 15inch lcd... 150watt vy enugh liao smile.gif
Jus gtx580m need more. smile.gif

Nvm, wait for next upgrade lo smile.gif
Really? even with 920xm ? O.o if so, then i gonna be very happy, hahaha, but the PSU surely will become very hot on full load isn't it?
otosan
post Feb 25 2012, 12:47 PM

162 posts

From what i see the 8gb price have decreased almost by RM100 in this last 2 months...

It won't hurt to wait another month actually, i believe it probably can reach arround RM100-150 /piece

Added on February 25, 2012, 2:14 pmBtw, does anyone here happen to know how much is it the 240w adapter now at dell malaysia?

I check one reseller, they offer it for arrnd RM750. Is it really that expensive? O.o

This post has been edited by otosan: Feb 25 2012, 02:14 PM
otosan
post Feb 27 2012, 03:16 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Feb 25 2012, 02:40 PM)
Check ebay....................... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on February 25, 2012, 4:30 pmBTW, to those Battlefield 3 players using nVidia GPUs........., do u guys feel that the game is more stable using the latest nVdia drivers????????????? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
ebay one mostly is OEM, it's quite cheap though, arround US $50, but no warranty..., if one month kaput, shakehead.gif

about the new driver, it released to improve the perf on those game indeed isn't it? but could be placebo, ahahah
otosan
post Feb 28 2012, 01:24 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Feb 28 2012, 01:04 PM)
it wnt be hot, but ur system will throttle down. i got 1 customer with m15x always complaint his M15x hang when full load.

i rather ask u take the money for SSD whch is better
If SSD, use it already as system disk, combined with momentus XT for data disk, hehehe
otosan
post Mar 2 2012, 12:25 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Mar 1 2012, 07:00 PM)
Haha. In nOtebook series, it used to be like this, or rebage at high clock with different code name, then it is new GC d

Added on March 1, 2012, 7:01 pm
Ur momentus XT totally cant compete with real ssd. Some how momentus XT controller are just too weak
Yes true, it can't compete, it only help caching slightly, that's why i set it as data disk..., hehehe, my system running on real ssd though.. hehehe
otosan
post Mar 13 2012, 04:47 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Mar 13 2012, 12:57 AM)
any1 here got 5870m used to sell..?? i think of upgrading my current 260m..
this card is kinda hard to get arround here, maybe u should try get 6970 instead, hehe
otosan
post Mar 14 2012, 04:49 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(ebay @ Mar 13 2012, 06:17 PM)
probably HDD/ram probs?
thanks, yeah but the warranty and the GFX card, the 3rd deal is 6990m.
SSD is from dell, the seller didnt tell me the model of SSD. how to check? any online software to check the SSD, i hope its sata3

and guys, how about the processor? does it make any major difference

so, #1 is out, left #2 and #3 only.

please please help. or should i wait for new refresh? but i heard it till end of this year, cant wait lol
for Processor, 2720 with 2630 performance is not that far...

btw i'm agree that SSD is worth to picked, as GFX, i think 6970 is good enough, hehehe

but those WiFi card on #2 is not that appealing, but, well Killer is only arround RM180-200, can upgrade later
otosan
post Mar 14 2012, 08:32 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(MightySmiter @ Mar 14 2012, 03:10 PM)
Thanks for all the guidance guys, will try and resolve this issue.
Can i also just ask, the button for "stealth" mode, if i press it, am i suppose to see some indication that it is "ON" or "OFF"? because when i press it, nothing happens as well.
it actually will show something on your screen,

mine will show alienhead in bluecolor which mean Stealth activated, and will show it in red color when it turned off

your one could be different, since mine is custom themed
otosan
post Mar 22 2012, 02:34 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(hidz7 @ Mar 21 2012, 04:45 PM)
Yeah maybe just upgrading, RGBLED screen is too nice to let go. wub.gif
But I PMed kelvin, he said does not order AMD cards already, planning to go for CF HD6990M but dont know where to buy.
6990 quite easy to find on ebay, hehehe

otosan
post Mar 23 2012, 02:00 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(hidz7 @ Mar 22 2012, 06:25 PM)
ebay US?
yes international ebay... hehe
otosan
post Mar 23 2012, 05:07 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Mar 23 2012, 04:11 PM)
=-= my m15x sudden shutdown again....
probably temp too hot? zz din overlclock wo
what temp is it when shutdown? Mine is confirm will shutdown when hit 100 degree, happen several times when do 3D rendering and forget to set throttlestop multiplier to lower one, hahaha

0.0318sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:08 AM