Alienware Mothership V9, Ivy babies!!!

zamanjaafar
post Feb 20 2012, 11:50 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

Met with kelvin_hata for upgrade from nVidia 460M to ATI 6970M in KL yesterday

Took 3 hours at McD to install then troubleshoot the card. Even needed a vbios flash.

So far so good, very happy with the performance increase. Recommend him for anyone who wants to upgrade.

What next to recommend upgrade?

i7 720QM to i7 920XM? (RM800)
Pro : Benefits CPU intensive games
Cons : Using a stock 150W ac adapter with 6970M plus an extreme processor may overload it

or

500gb HDD to 120gb ssd/500gb secondary + caddy? (RM565 + RM69)
Plus : Cheaper than CPU upgrade option
Cons : May need to buy enclosure for the orphaned dvd drive/buy new slim external dvd and both will add more cost

Which is more worth it? Use : pure gaming high FPS.

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Feb 20 2012, 11:55 PM
duabijitelur
post Feb 21 2012, 07:43 AM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

rm69 for only 500gb? so cheap ? lol
kopili
post Feb 21 2012, 10:12 AM

hi guys all~ smile.gif was planing to buy m18 alienware but dunno where got sell ~ can anyone let me know where can buy ? rclxm9.gif
fahmiac92
post Feb 21 2012, 10:32 AM

Guys could u plz help me with this problem....my window crash after awhile installing the graphic driver,,,i`ve have to uninstall it to fix the crash problem...now im using the normal intel graphic which is useless,,.i`ve tried redownload and reinstall the driver but the problem is still the same...do u guys have any solution?...my card is gtx460m...
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 21 2012, 11:07 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(fahmiac92 @ Feb 21 2012, 10:32 AM)
Guys could u plz help me with this problem....my window crash after awhile installing the graphic driver,,,i`ve have to uninstall it to fix the crash problem...now im using the normal intel graphic which is useless,,.i`ve tried redownload and reinstall the driver but the problem is still the same...do u guys have any solution?...my card is gtx460m...
Use back the stock Nvidia driver? hmm.gif
The one from Dell website

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Feb 21 2012, 11:07 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 21 2012, 11:09 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kopili @ Feb 21 2012, 10:12 AM)
hi guys all~  smile.gif was planing to buy m18 alienware but dunno where got sell ~ can anyone let me know where can buy ? rclxm9.gif
You can customize and import through illegear here: http://www.illegear.com/alienware/44-alienware-m18x.html
Do PM Prince J for more details, he's a nice guy and I'm sure he'll be able to help you out brows.gif
fahmiac92
post Feb 21 2012, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 21 2012, 11:07 AM)
Use back the stock Nvidia driver? hmm.gif
The one from Dell website
yeah i think i`ve done that...download the driver on dell website..and install it....but after awhile the window will start to crash
otosan
post Feb 21 2012, 03:02 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Feb 20 2012, 11:50 PM)

Took 3 hours at McD to install then troubleshoot the card.  Even needed a vbios flash.

So far so good, very happy with the performance increase.  Recommend him for anyone who wants to upgrade.

Cons : Using a stock 150W ac adapter with 6970M plus an extreme processor may overload it

or

Cons : May need to buy enclosure for the orphaned dvd drive/buy new slim external dvd and both will add more cost

Which is more worth it?  Use : pure gaming high FPS.
I think SSD upgrade will give more significant perf increase for overall usage.

920XM is indeed give u more power, but if u seldom use app that optimized for multicore i think ssd is better option. It definitely speed up login time and opening app and also speed up game that load a lot of data from disk...

btw for that price u can get 160gb SSD i think. but with SATA II only

zamanjaafar
post Feb 21 2012, 03:24 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

RM 565 is about the price of a 120gb SSD, the RM65 is for a caddy to put the old hard drive in and replace the dvd drive slot

So i get to keep the old 500gb in a caddy occupying the former dvd slot, and a ssd for system files and game installs

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Feb 21 2012, 03:25 PM
pelvin
post Feb 21 2012, 04:21 PM

521 posts

KEVIN... why come down kl no let me know.. sad.gif can help me swap my HDD using the caddy i bought lastime ma... sad.gif till today i not yet change yet

Added on February 21, 2012, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Feb 20 2012, 11:50 PM)

Took 3 hours at McD to install then troubleshoot the card.  Even needed a vbios flash.

So far so good, very happy with the performance increase.  Recommend him for anyone who wants to upgrade.

or

Which is more worth it?  Use : pure gaming high FPS.
i think add ssd is better then changing cpu... change cpu no diff oso.. lol

This post has been edited by pelvin: Feb 21 2012, 04:22 PM
fahmiac92
post Feb 21 2012, 04:43 PM

how do u know whether u hav a correct graphic card or not?...mine was suppose to be nvidia gtx460m...but when i check,its intel Hd graphic and standard vga graphic adapter.....do i have to install the driver first before the pc cn detect it?...
duabijitelur
post Feb 21 2012, 05:08 PM

1,951 posts

cant detect when normal usage.... have to do some buffering in youtube, or buffer videos, play games... then u can detect it has a GTX460

This post has been edited by duabijitelur: Feb 21 2012, 05:08 PM
pali_5373
post Feb 21 2012, 07:49 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(kopili @ Feb 21 2012, 10:12 AM)
hi guys all~  smile.gif was planing to buy m18 alienware but dunno where got sell ~ can anyone let me know where can buy ? rclxm9.gif
www.hidevolution.com also a good choice..i've bought one from them..took 3 weeks to arrive at my doorstep..

Pro3363
post Feb 21 2012, 10:10 PM

Aiming high to stay flying
1,193 posts

QUOTE(pali_5373 @ Feb 21 2012, 07:49 PM)
www.hidevolution.com also a good choice..i've bought one from them..took 3 weeks to arrive at my doorstep..
what's ur specs.............? hmm.gif hmm.gif
rc2x
post Feb 21 2012, 10:17 PM

Ask me about my vore fettish
1,838 posts

Anyone know how to get rid of that alien sense? Tried remove from start up yet still appear every time. icon_question.gif
pali_5373
post Feb 22 2012, 12:53 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Feb 21 2012, 10:10 PM)
what's ur specs.............? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
just cheap2 one only..

-Space Black Anodized Aluminum
-intel® Core™ i7 2860QM
-win7 ulti 64
-gtx580m sli
-ram Kingston HyperX 12GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1866MHz
-Crucial M4 (C400) SATA3 6Gb/s 128GB SSD
-500GB Hybrid Drive Seagate Momentus XT

This post has been edited by pali_5373: Feb 22 2012, 05:10 AM
duabijitelur
post Feb 22 2012, 07:04 AM

1,951 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Feb 21 2012, 10:17 PM)
Anyone know how to get rid of that alien sense? Tried remove from start up yet still appear every time.  icon_question.gif
i also forget how already.... just disable the face recognition, uninstall it
TSkelvin_hata
post Feb 22 2012, 12:15 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

Im sorry pelvin... Dah lupa... Hahaha

Btw, if can jus wait for new m18x r2, m17x r4, m14x

rc2x
post Feb 22 2012, 12:53 PM

Ask me about my vore fettish
1,838 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Feb 22 2012, 07:04 AM)
i also forget how already.... just disable the face recognition, uninstall it
I cant just uninstall cc. I need it but the alien sense part has been disable yet it appear. doh.gif

Added on February 22, 2012, 12:58 pmNew nvidia driver. WHQL - 295.73
Performance
Increases performance by up to 45% in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Updates the NVIDIA Control Panel ambient occlusion support for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim to a higher performance profile.
Boosts Mass Effect 3 SLI performance to up to 2x.
Ambient Occlusion

Adds ambient occlusion support for Diablo III. See the comparison screenshots on GeForce.com.
Updates the ambient occlusion support for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim to a higher performance profile (also in 290 beta drivers). See the comparison screenshots on GeForce.com.
Adds ambient occlusion support for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (also in 290 beta drivers). See the comparison screenshots on GeForce.com.

Source: http://www.geforce.com/Drivers/Results/41704

This post has been edited by rc2x: Feb 22 2012, 12:58 PM
darco33
post Feb 22 2012, 04:53 PM

hope that new driver fix my sound problem la.. that old driver make my sound skipping when gaming.. sad.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by darco33: Feb 22 2012, 04:53 PM

135 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:49 AM