123 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry

TSseeseng
post Jun 28 2019, 10:37 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jun 25 2019, 02:32 PM)
Interesting! Thanks for the  feedback SiFu
Did some SOS calls for a week on the land, trying to observe the swiftlets flying home direction during the evening but so far cannot really tell. There is no other BH  anywhere near at all.
PLanning to position my bird house, horizontal east-west direction, but still not sure which direction opening for my LMB/MK,

How do u  guys do it? Some consultant would open two direction, when BH active see where they come in from, then close the other direction hole
1 week SOS call are you trying to terrorize parents birds in that area? You don't need to call so many times. Just suitable timing and weather condition is good enough. Good timing would be 10-11am and 3:30-4:30pm. Each session 30 minutes + 30 minutes rest in between. Sunny weather condition with no wind to very mild wind.
ch_kee83
post Jul 16 2019, 06:10 PM

139 posts

Hi sifu sekalian,

Was tempted to purchase the swiftlet sound from FB.
Some quoted RM150 to RM 200 per song.
Is there any difference from the one at Youtube and them apart from the file size and quality?
If does, any sifu can recommend good song?
Newbie here...
tuckfook
post Aug 23 2019, 06:23 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(ch_kee83 @ Jul 16 2019, 06:10 PM)
Hi sifu sekalian,

Was tempted to purchase the swiftlet sound from FB.
Some quoted RM150 to RM 200 per song.
Is there any difference from the one at Youtube and them apart from the file size and quality?
If does, any sifu can recommend good song?
Newbie here...
Many swiftlet 'farmers' make money from selling 'miracle' sounds and not from their nests. Not all sounds work, some work better than others and some work for a short while only. A sound that works for your neighbour might not work for you.

Where is your location, maybe some locals ranchers can help.
Tomokitsu
post Aug 24 2019, 01:41 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Aug 23 2019, 06:23 PM)
Many swiftlet 'farmers' make money from selling 'miracle' sounds and not from their nests. Not all sounds work, some work better than others and some work for a short while only. A sound that works for your neighbour might not work for you.

Where is your location, maybe some locals ranchers can help.
Are there any criterias that define a good "sound" for the swiftlets? I am currently on a trial and error phase to find out the best.
DoctorRobertSaw P
post Aug 27 2019, 05:01 PM

Probation

Hi, I have a small swiftlet house for sale. Anyone interested, can pm me.
tuckfook
post Sep 5 2019, 06:29 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Tomokitsu @ Aug 24 2019, 01:41 PM)
Are there any criterias that define a good "sound" for the swiftlets? I am currently on a trial and error phase to find out the best.
Simple criteria. The sound attracts birds. It should attract passing birds and entice them to enter the new birdhouse to explore and hopefully stay.

Many sounds attract birds. Some more so than others. eg a sound of birds under duress will darken the sky with them as they are curious to see what is causing the duress. This sound will not entice birds to stay in your farm.

Good sounds attractive to these birds are usually mating sounds. This brings the young birds to discover the new nesting site and hopefully will be happy to stay.

Fmphappygarden P
post Nov 1 2019, 12:56 PM

Probation

Any interest in 3-in-1 non-toxic spray to whiten nest, improve antioxidative and hygience of nest harvested?
SUSMNet
post Nov 17 2019, 05:19 PM

11,954 posts

Is there any official place to know the current price?
NightHeart
post Nov 18 2019, 11:02 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Nov 17 2019, 05:19 PM)
Is there any official place to know the current price?
Ask around other sellers.
Seems like there's a group you can join & get a rough estimate based on other people's selling price (after taking the quality into consideration).
royalflush27
post Dec 29 2019, 09:32 PM

Hello Master and shifus here, would like to check with u all if my player/decoder spoilt. Where would be a good place to buy? Still new in this so need some guidance. This is from previous owner. Attaching the photo here
xunji
post Jan 2 2020, 09:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(DoctorRobertSaw @ Aug 27 2019, 05:01 PM)
Hi, I have a small swiftlet house for sale. Anyone interested, can pm me.
post Jan 2 2020, 09:11 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(royalflush27 @ Dec 29 2019, 09:32 PM)
Hello Master and shifus here, would like to check with u all if my player/decoder spoilt. Where would be a good place to buy? Still new in this so need some guidance. This is from previous owner. Attaching the photo here
Klang town many shops selling, if you happen staying in Klang valley
TSseeseng
post Jan 4 2020, 01:48 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(royalflush27 @ Dec 29 2019, 09:32 PM)
https://gmys9641.wixsite.com/mysite
J_Vansen_S
post Jan 13 2020, 05:13 PM

314 posts

hi GuYS!

I just started out recently..need some advise
How or when do u make ur 1st harvest on a new BH?
As we know one cycle is about 4months.

Do u guys harvest the 1st nest from ur BH after baby birds fly away...or just leave it for 2nd cycle?

NightHeart
post Jan 13 2020, 07:40 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jan 13 2020, 05:13 PM)
hi GuYS!

Do u guys harvest the 1st nest from ur BH after baby birds fly away...or just leave it for 2nd cycle?
If you leave it, the parents will re-use it (1 less nest) & the nest will be dirtier (more effort to clean it). If you harvest it, you’ll get a cleaner nest to sell & the parents will make a new one no?
J_Vansen_S
post Jan 14 2020, 02:50 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jan 13 2020, 07:40 PM)
If you leave it, the parents will re-use it (1 less nest) & the nest will be dirtier (more effort to clean it). If you harvest it, you’ll get a cleaner nest to sell & the parents will make a new one no?
Yea...i thought so, just would like to confirm with the SiFuSss
gerald7
post Jan 14 2020, 03:15 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jan 13 2020, 05:13 PM)
hi GuYS!

when I started. the common practice back then was to let the birds use the location once or twice. It was believed that that way, it would have the birds to stay put instead of moving around. After that can regularly harvest. I only did it once, because I only have ONE bird house.

Its up to you, no hard and fast rule about it
NightHeart
post Jan 14 2020, 09:23 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jan 14 2020, 02:50 PM)
Yea...i thought so, just would like to confirm with the SiFuSss
No where near sifu level sweat.gif

But the main issue with bird houses is each one is different. Thus has different conditions & problems. Sometimes what works for others may not work for you & vice versa.
boarulez
post Jan 15 2020, 09:24 AM

359 posts

Hi sifu, so my dad just passed away , and I’m taking over his bh, it’s quite old and not maintained , so I hire ppl to do some maintenance, spent a few thousand replace old damaged tweeters and so on , something I wana ask is they put the ammonia powder, is it useful? They said let it be there for a month , but the smell is horrible , even my eyes gets watery from it . Is it really useful ?
NightHeart
post Jan 15 2020, 10:16 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(boarulez @ Jan 15 2020, 09:24 AM)
Hi sifu, so my dad just passed away , and I’m taking over his bh, it’s quite old and not maintained , so I hire ppl to do some maintenance, spent a few thousand replace old damaged tweeters and so on , something I wana ask is they put the ammonia powder, is it useful? They said let it be there for a month , but the smell is horrible , even my eyes gets watery from it . Is it really useful ?
If i'm not mistaken, the purpose of that ammonia is to attract the birds or make them feel cozy. But it's not necessary to have. BH takes quite a lot of effort to maintain & grow. It's definitely not as simple as build & leave it there auto pilot. So unless you're planning to pick up the trade, ideally try to sell it off.

123 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:35 PM