123 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry

NightHeart
post Dec 4 2018, 05:33 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(Babablacksheep @ Dec 4 2018, 04:56 PM)
Anyone have issues on LUMUT / Mold?
Any way to reduce it?
Moisture level, reduce it or else all your wooden planks will be moldy.
Babablacksheep
post Dec 4 2018, 05:47 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Dec 4 2018, 05:33 PM)
Moisture level, reduce it or else all your wooden planks will be moldy.
Thanks for reply
1)Will reduce moisture level reduce growth of birds?
2) Saw a lot of products out there , liquid that reduce or clean mold. Anyone use b4?
NightHeart
post Dec 4 2018, 06:00 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(Babablacksheep @ Dec 4 2018, 05:47 PM)
Thanks for reply
1)Will reduce moisture level reduce growth of birds?
2) Saw a lot of products out there , liquid that reduce or clean mold. Anyone use b4?
I cannot remember but the mold will cause major issues for you, what exactly I cannot remember unfortunately.

Someone suggested to sprinkle water inside your BH?
gerald7
post Dec 5 2018, 07:49 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(Babablacksheep @ Dec 4 2018, 04:56 PM)
Anyone have issues on LUMUT / Mold?
Any way to reduce it?
Ddo you clean out the bird poop regularly? Do you use anything like, fendona on the floor ?
coolandy
post Jan 19 2019, 08:12 PM

314 posts

It is 19 days into the new year. I might be late but still better

Wish You all a Happy New Year 2019
sirclide
post Feb 1 2019, 09:32 AM

Hello folks! I'm new here smile.gif

I was wondering if anyone has tried bird house monitoring system for temp, humidity etc.
Something like this https://youtu.be/TOhvAXuM1yk

It seems pretty useful, what do you guys think?

Thanks!

Savor_Savvy
post Mar 5 2019, 09:04 PM

2,776 posts

How do we attract swiflets into the BH?
NightHeart
post Mar 6 2019, 12:08 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Mar 5 2019, 09:04 PM)
Temperature, humidity, light, sound etc etc.
I hope you haven’t build your BH yet if you’re asking this kinda question laugh.gif
mois
post Mar 6 2019, 09:51 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Mar 5 2019, 09:04 PM)
You are asking million dollar question. Have you build one yet?

Ahh how time flies. Been 10 years into bird house and almost 5 years into processing. Been riding up and down for raw price since 2008
Savor_Savvy
post Mar 6 2019, 04:32 PM

2,776 posts

Asking on behalf of my father in law. Yes, the BH is ready since late Jan. Facing issues with exhaust fans. At first, a lot of birds flew in and out, but ever since he switched the exhaust fans (with timer) upside down, the numbers were declining. He did check two weeks back, a lot of droppings, but no nest yet. Is this normal?

Am worried maybe it is due to the temperature or humidity.

This post has been edited by Savor_Savvy: Mar 6 2019, 04:33 PM
NightHeart
post Mar 6 2019, 06:43 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Mar 6 2019, 04:32 PM)
Asking on behalf of my father in law. Yes, the BH is ready since late Jan. Facing issues with exhaust fans. At first, a lot of birds flew in and out, but ever since he switched the exhaust fans (with timer) upside down, the numbers were declining. He did check two weeks back, a lot of droppings, but no nest yet. Is this normal?

Am worried maybe it is due to the temperature or humidity.
Hard to comment because different people have different beliefs. Some disagree with exhaust fan, some agrees.

Got droppings means at least managed to attract but maybe could make them stay. Temperature & humidity is definitely an important factor to control.
Savor_Savvy
post Mar 6 2019, 08:40 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Mar 6 2019, 06:43 PM)
Hard to comment because different people have different beliefs. Some disagree with exhaust fan, some agrees.

Got droppings means at least managed to attract but maybe could make them stay. Temperature & humidity is definitely an important factor to control.
Is there such thing as 'survey first before settling down', as in the birds try to 'test water' before they agree to build nests there?
NightHeart
post Mar 7 2019, 04:29 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Mar 6 2019, 08:40 PM)
Is there such thing as 'survey first before settling down', as in the birds try to 'test water' before they agree to build nests there?
Yea, so sometimes you may be able to attract them to come but they don’t feel conducive enough to nest there.
TSseeseng
post Mar 7 2019, 11:24 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Mar 6 2019, 08:40 PM)
Within few weeks you hope to see nests? Be grateful they stay overnight. The more the merrier. When start to see those shiny markings can thank god already. Fingers crossed.
jayb2
post Mar 7 2019, 03:21 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Mar 6 2019, 09:51 AM)
You are asking million dollar question. Have you build one yet?

Ahh how time flies. Been 10 years into bird house and almost 5 years into processing. Been riding up and down for raw price since 2008
Based on your experience, what is the Return on Investment for the past 10 years with fluctuating prices, can one get 30% to 50% return per year average?
mois
post Mar 7 2019, 03:32 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(jayb2 @ Mar 7 2019, 03:21 PM)
Based on your experience, what is the Return on Investment for the past 10 years with fluctuating prices, can one get 30% to 50% return per year average?
Back then the break even point was fast. Under 5-6 years. But for now, to think BE also nightmare with massive thieves around. ROI very subjective, 1 sample data not gonna sufficient to generalise the industry. You dont control bird house population. Factory however, is a production business particularly wholesales to china.

Bird house if if if if success, it is autopilot mode except biweekly maintainance or once a month if population not big.
J_Vansen_S
post Jun 10 2019, 11:29 AM

314 posts

hi all Sifuz,

Ive been since reading thru v1-v2 thread, i kept finding answer to 'swiftlet flying path' but i don't really get the picture of it.

i am planning to do location testing on a piece of agricultural land, using SOS call.
Previous post mentioned to observe AF flying path, exactly what do i need to look out for? Do you mean observe where the AF is flying from? towards ur location eg they fly incoming from north/south/east/west?

Read somewhere along the line, birdhouse direction ideal built from east -> west & opening north-ish side?

Just clearning my mind in order to determine the opening direction
TSseeseng
post Jun 17 2019, 10:43 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jun 10 2019, 11:29 AM)
hi all Sifuz,

Ive been since reading thru v1-v2 thread, i kept finding answer to 'swiftlet flying path' but i don't really get the picture of it.

i am planning to do location testing on a piece of agricultural land, using SOS call.
Previous post mentioned to observe AF flying path, exactly  what  do i need to look  out for? Do you mean observe where  the AF is flying from? towards  ur location eg they fly incoming from north/south/east/west?

Read somewhere along the line, birdhouse direction ideal built from east -> west & opening north-ish side?

Just clearning my mind in order to determine the opening direction
There are two types of "flying path". One is outside BH and the other is within BH. Outside BH type apply to high population areas where one area with many BHs. Early morning when it's still dark the hungry walets from various BHs fly out for their first meal will fly very fast towards a specific direction(Path1).

(Path2) Big flock returning path. 1 and 2 normally use river or main road as guide.

(Path3) Occuring within the BH it let u know how to design the main floor plan. Where to partition where to partly partition where to locate entrace 2nd entrance 3rd entrance etc ect. The magic number as stated in many Indonesian guide books etc. (Cough!Cough!)
Bobby C
post Jun 20 2019, 04:34 PM

663 posts

https://www.edgeprop.my/content/1022928/swi...verted-shoplots

Old news. True, so many neighbors close shop already. Can't imagine those build near plantation. Super super high risk!

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Jun 25 2019, 06:10 PM
J_Vansen_S
post Jun 25 2019, 02:32 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Jun 17 2019, 10:43 AM)
There are two types of "flying path". One is outside BH and the other is within BH. Outside BH type apply to high population areas where one area with many BHs. Early morning when it's still dark the hungry walets from various BHs fly out for their first meal will fly very fast towards a specific direction(Path1).

(Path2) Big flock returning path. 1 and 2 normally use river or main road as guide.

(Path3) Occuring within the BH it let u know how to design the main floor plan. Where to partition where to partly partition where to locate entrace 2nd entrance 3rd entrance etc ect. The magic number as stated in many Indonesian guide books etc. (Cough!Cough!)
Interesting! Thanks for the feedback SiFu
Did some SOS calls for a week on the land, trying to observe the swiftlets flying home direction during the evening but so far cannot really tell. There is no other BH anywhere near at all.
PLanning to position my bird house, horizontal east-west direction, but still not sure which direction opening for my LMB/MK,

How do u guys do it? Some consultant would open two direction, when BH active see where they come in from, then close the other direction hole

123 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:05 PM