123 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry

MugenK20A
post Nov 18 2012, 11:21 AM

1,244 posts

What's the price per kgs now currently? Heard that is around rm1300 for unprocessed.
West Wing
post Nov 18 2012, 12:55 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(NightRider @ Nov 17 2012, 06:47 PM)
you shape, is it 抒盏 or 燕条?

my market here is small, not rich enough to eat even the low prices, i'd like to clean mine and sell so how's the market over at your side?
No problem and I will tell you all my secret of success....bare all as they say!!!

My cake type of nest I sell at RM5K/kg but I sell them in 5 to 6 pcs carefully pack in plastice boxs of 5 to 6pc each ans sell at RM150 to RM180 per box depending on weight. So, this way, everybody can afford to eat birdnests and

you may wholesale to other offering discounts if they buy in quantity.....people will buy if they find your nest properly cleaned and that there is no chemical used and no even one tiny feather in all my nests cos my QC manager is my wife who ensure no feather left in the nests which we sell.

People who buy from us will return for more for they can't clean so well and most of those who bought 100 gms or more uncleaned nests from us gave up and since then, buy ready to eat nests without the trouble and difficulties of trying to clean 100% the nests themselves ..then they will understand the high cost of cleaning the nests not to mention the impossibility to have a nest 100% cleaned without feather and no chemical added but we can.....with 100% refundable if not satisfied with our quality.

Added on November 18, 2012, 12:57 pm
QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Nov 18 2012, 11:21 AM)
What's the price per kgs now currently? Heard that is around rm1300 for unprocessed.
R U taking about corners as till today, AB EBN never drop so low yet.........

Added on November 18, 2012, 5:59 pmGreat News!!!!!

A friend just return from China told me that he saw that grade A nests at one shop is selling @ RMB38K/Kg but what's the use.

We can't get our nests to China and sell................so, meanwhile, just saliva rolling down the cheek only.............and the chinese there are complaining that no one take the initiative to take unprocessed nests to China as they are the buyers and so far, nothing has been dicuss about the unprocessed nests. By the way, Dato told us that the Govt. didn't prevent and do allow unprocessed nests out of the country and have anyone done that legally???????

This post has been edited by West Wing: Nov 18 2012, 05:59 PM
tuckfook
post Nov 19 2012, 11:51 AM

360 posts

Anyone confirm that it is possible to export or personally carry any amount of clean EBN into Hongkong?

Btw, WW, which Dato were you referring to? Please bear in mind that many of our assoc heads are politically minded and will say things to please the listener.

I would rather listen to someone who has had actual experience.

This post has been edited by tuckfook: Nov 19 2012, 11:57 AM
West Wing
post Nov 19 2012, 01:49 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Nov 19 2012, 11:51 AM)
Anyone confirm that it is possible to export or personally carry any amount of clean EBN into Hongkong?

Btw, WW, which Dato were you referring to? Please bear in mind that many of our assoc heads are politically minded and will say things to please the listener.

I would rather listen to someone who has had actual experience.
It was told by Dato Tok during the Committee meeting of the Fed Association @ KL recently. I was there because my President cannot answered my Qs and asked me to go with him to the meeting and asked from the horses and there I was.

He and his men told me that there isn't a problem exporting the unprocessed nests and the only problem was that China refused to allow the entry of unprocessed nests into the country. I told him that many have complaints that they cannot take out the nests and he even make phone call then and confirmed to me that there was no such thing happening and that's nest isn't forbidden to take out all.

Since I have no time to take nests out and I am banned by my wife for venturing too often to China ( just kidding), someone please forward some proofs if nests really cannot be taken out at our airports... then, we got good reasons to bombard these Dato and gang.... He even told me that VHM or any other certifications can easily obtained and if I encounter any difficulties, he would help me out..........but I wasn't interested al all with the processing of nests in the first place.

So, anyone here do have the experience of being ban from taking EBN out of the country but don't tell me about that you were not allow to take the nests into China cos that's will depend on your Luck and your strength with the authorities in China and which Airport, too.
tomytan
post Nov 20 2012, 08:04 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Nov 19 2012, 02:49 PM)
It was told by Dato Tok during the Committee meeting of the Fed Association @ KL recently. I was there because my President cannot answered my Qs and asked me to go with him to the meeting and asked from the horses and there I was.

He and his men told me that there isn't a problem exporting the unprocessed nests and the only problem was that China refused to allow the entry of unprocessed nests into the country. I told him that many have complaints that they cannot take out the nests and he even make phone call then and confirmed to me that there was no such thing happening and that's nest isn't forbidden to take out all.

Since I have no time to take nests out and I am banned by my wife for venturing too often to China ( just kidding), someone please forward some proofs if nests really cannot be taken out at our airports... then, we got good reasons to bombard these Dato and gang.... He even told me that VHM or any other certifications can easily obtained and if I encounter any difficulties, he would help me out..........but I wasn't interested al all with the processing of nests in the first place.

So, anyone here do have the experience of being ban from taking EBN out of the country but don't tell me about that you were not allow to take the nests into China cos that's will depend on your Luck and your strength with the authorities in China and which Airport, too.
.......the birdnest taipans of hk in the 20th century are still the taipans in this day and age........let's just say that they are still in control but subject to how they manoeuvre to get supply in ...........after all its their turf and playground

i think they should not be to happy with datuks trying to muscle their way in and teaching them to how
suck eggs

northface
post Nov 20 2012, 05:54 PM

359 posts

Dear sifus,

I have an owl problem in one of my BH, just discovered last week the pellets of feather/bone that owls regurgitate in my BH.

The owl is nowhere to be seen which means it probably is familiar with the entrance etc of my BH already, how to stop it from coming?

Or do I need to eradicate the owl somehow.
West Wing
post Nov 20 2012, 07:17 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Nov 20 2012, 05:54 PM)
Dear sifus,

I have an owl problem in one of my BH, just discovered last week the pellets of feather/bone that owls regurgitate in my BH.

The owl is nowhere to be seen which means it probably is familiar with the entrance etc of my BH already, how to stop it from coming?

Or do I need to eradicate the owl somehow.
My only newly finished Agriland BH also has the same problem and I still have no time to finish off the owl, either to send it to TBT or just catch it and release it but I think I would finish it for good with high voltage at the entrance.

So, I am not an expert in getting rid of Owl which is the first time I encounter myself and formally are all told by friends having the problems...and Owls are serious problem to BH....or you end up with no birds coming to stay...

So, surely we have some SF with experience in getting rid od OWL and can share their expertise on the matter.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Nov 20 2012, 07:19 PM
northface
post Nov 20 2012, 08:00 PM

359 posts

Well I do have high voltage at entrance but I think it tripped for 2-3 weeks because I didnt visit the BH. Now got fren tell me that once the owl is familiar with the BH it will not need to stand at the entrance hole. So even though I turn the electric back on it will not kill it.

Not sure abt this hope I find a barbequed bird next time I go into the BH.
tuckfook
post Nov 20 2012, 08:18 PM

360 posts

Owls again! This solution has been posted umpteen times

Use 2 stainless steel rods as conductors running parallel, along bottom edge of your in out hole (s). Separate the conductors wuth porcelain insulation which is commonly available. These were used to separate wires running in the ceilings of houses a few years ago. Sort of like 2" oval plates with grooves for the wires.

Connect the rods to Khind high tension transformers (RM70Approx.) Note that the wires have to be kept at least 2" apart.

Any bird stepping on these wires when it is on will have hot feet. Cicak will be fried.

If your owl has been visiting for a long time it will not need to stop at the hole so will not get hot feet. You will have to find where it habitually stops and electrify that. Otherwise you'll have to catch or shoot it.

Am in hongkong looking for customers. Cheapest grade still hkd500+ per tahil. (37.5gm.) Got customers how to get it here.
calvinswiftlet
post Nov 20 2012, 11:07 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Nov 20 2012, 08:18 PM)

Use 2 stainless steel rods as conductors running parallel,  along bottom edge of your in out hole (s). Separate the conductors wuth porcelain insulation which is commonly available. These were used to separate wires running in the ceilings of houses a few years ago. Sort of like 2" oval plates with grooves for the wires.

Connect the rods to Khind high tension transformers (RM70Approx.) Note that the wires have to be kept at least 2" apart.

Any bird stepping on these wires when it is on will have hot feet. Cicak will be fried.

If your owl has been visiting for a long time it will
not  need to stop at the hole so will not get hot feet. You will have to find where it habitually stops and electrify that. Otherwise you'll have to catch or shoot it.

Am in hongkong looking for customers. Cheapest grade still hkd500+ per tahil. (37.5gm.)  Got customers how to get it here.

Added on November 20, 2012, 11:09 pm
Bro, retail price or dealer price ..
Now dealer price only rm3800 include postage to HK
QUOTE(tuckfook @ Nov 20 2012, 08:18 PM)

Use 2 stainless steel rods as conductors running parallel,  along bottom edge of your in out hole (s). Separate the conductors wuth porcelain insulation which is commonly available. These were used to separate wires running in the ceilings of houses a few years ago. Sort of like 2" oval plates with grooves for the wires.

If your owl has been visiting for a long time it will not  need to stop at the hole so will not get hot feet. You will have to find where it habitually stops and electrify that. Otherwise you'll have to catch or shoot it.

Am in hongkong looking for customers. Cheapest grade still hkd500+ per tahil. (37.5gm.)  Got customers how to get it here.
This post has been edited by calvinswiftlet: Nov 20 2012, 11:09 PM
tuckfook
post Nov 21 2012, 10:45 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(calvinswiftlet @ Nov 20 2012, 11:07 PM)

Added on November 20, 2012, 11:09 pm
Bro, retail price or dealer price ..
Now dealer price only rm3800 include postage to HK
You are right. The price I quoted was the over the counter price. Some places mark up a little higher.

Most shops are low in stocks and are interested to stock up for CNY.
West Wing
post Nov 22 2012, 10:12 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Nov 21 2012, 10:45 PM)
You are right. The price I quoted was the over the counter price. Some places mark up a little higher.

Most shops are low in stocks and are interested to stock up for CNY.
So, you got many interested buyers??
Before, they buy unprocessed nests from us and what they want now and I believe that they also import mostly unprocessed nests, right?

Even if Calvinswiftlet said is the truth that the agents here sold the nests to HK for Rm3500/kg, that's not fair to give us Rm2K or less.....so, my advice to newbizs, better go into export of EBN and make assured profit and, need not do the waiting gamble and much much more profit than us, the poor farmers..........like farmers elsewhere, it's the middlemen that make the most!!!!!!
tuckfook
post Nov 22 2012, 01:36 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Nov 22 2012, 10:12 AM)
So, you got many interested buyers??
Before, they buy unprocessed nests from us and what they want now and I believe that they also import mostly unprocessed nests, right?

Even if Calvinswiftlet said  is the truth that the agents here sold the nests to HK for Rm3500/kg, that's not fair to give us Rm2K or less.....so, my advice to newbizs, better go into export of EBN and make assured profit and, need not do the waiting gamble and much much more profit than us, the poor farmers..........like farmers elsewhere, it's the middlemen that make the most!!!!!!
I wanted to see what response I would get but so far not many except for the usual guys.

The price of HKD 500 per tahil is about RM 5.3 per gramme. For cleaned cake form. The shops will buy at about RM4 per gramme.

At a cleaning cost of RM1k per kg. Loss of 30%
For 1kg clean cake we pay RM1.3k. So we get RM4k -1.3k=RM2.7k for 1.3kg = RM2k per kg. Not including cost of sending it there etc.

So maybe selling locally or doing it yourself may have a small margin of 10 to 20%. Of course doing this with a large volume will be viable.

West Wing
post Nov 22 2012, 02:39 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Nov 22 2012, 01:36 PM)
I wanted to see what response I would get but so far not many except for the usual guys.

The price of HKD 500 per tahil is about RM 5.3 per gramme. For cleaned cake form.  The shops will buy at about RM4 per gramme.

At a cleaning cost of RM1k per kg. Loss of 30%
For 1kg clean cake we pay RM1.3k. So we get RM4k -1.3k=RM2.7k for 1.3kg = RM2k per kg. Not including cost of sending it there etc.

So maybe selling locally or doing it yourself may have a small margin of 10 to 20%. Of course doing this with a large volume will be viable.
Bro,

Calculation out lah.

When doing cake form, we used patahan and patahan sell at Rm1K or less and even using corner, now only @ Rm1300 and the loss is only max. 20%.

When I was in HK 2 years ago, the offered RM4800/Kg for unprocessed nests ( mind you that HK buyers provide in RM) and HK knew our price well then and they even told me that M'sia unprocessed nests are only Rm4300/KG.

If cleaning, Indo cleaners charge only Rm400/Kg for half cup but M'sia double the charges.....2 years ago news

This bring us to processing plant. We cannot compete with Indo due to the fact that
1. Indo cleaners clean faster; 2X faster
2. Indo wages are cheaper by 50% and worst if Govt' impose Rm900 min. wages.
3. Indo already have strong market oversea.

So, when Indo throw prices, our processing plants will close cos we cannot compete with them in production costing so I do agree that we go for high end processing in Malaysia but never at we farmers's expenses........as I always emphasized in meeting with the Fed.....having 2 separate way........an old lane for our unprocessed nests and a super highway for the highly quality nests.

This way, we can build up and perfecting our own high end processing EBN industries without affecting our farmers income.. We can seek new high end market which has been abandoned due to Red problem and we don't have fight a price war with Indo which we will be the loser.

This is my feeling and believe.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Nov 22 2012, 03:04 PM
aeiou228
post Nov 22 2012, 03:36 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Nov 19 2012, 01:49 PM)
Here's the proof back in Dec 2009. Not sure if it still valid though.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=30415392
calvinswiftlet
post Nov 22 2012, 07:13 PM

35 posts

See the comment from Indo fren comment in FB

- Actually for the last 2-3 months, I am very reluctant to disccuss about nest price because it is really useless. But I try to answer you politely, positively & unsinically&please accept it unbiaslly. Hopefully it will cool the situation down. The PROBLEM is not that SIMPLE my bro. Till now, nest trade does not have a clear standarisation pricing. This is due to lack of system. We need to notice that for now, the competition in nest trade is very severe. We are not a very big company. If we insist on high selling price, we would lose our order to other exporter. This translate to no order for us and we pile up in stock. Dilematic. The fact is in this bussiness, we need fast cash turn over because price can suddently go down any time. I can not hold my capital in stock for too long. It has to become cash as fast as possible. I am not happy with my current selling price in comparison to previously and will keep on trying to LOOK FOR WAYS & OTHER BUYERS that are willing to take higher price. For now I am selling bowl 2-2.5 fingers nest ONLY 9juta. That's what I have to say THANKS to and serve well. Do I have to decline this decent order amist the uncertainty of current nest business? Isn't it dilematic? Hope you would understand and forgive me if I am considered incorrect.

Added on November 22, 2012, 7:40 pm9jt !!! Or rmb6000 !!! Or rm3000 !!!
Wahduh !!! How the price will grow up if Indo throw nest price .. So how to compete with Indo .. :-(

This post has been edited by calvinswiftlet: Nov 22 2012, 07:40 PM
mois
post Nov 22 2012, 08:29 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

As long China doesnt allow export, then all bird nests will take a hit. Only those flexible exporter will make money and they will too control the industry.

Farmers like us, just can wait to harvest and sell. China bird nest consumption is low for now since no stocks. Low demand + cannot export, I wouldnt surprise if nests drop to RM1000. By that time, only those who harvest alot can make money. You see, the way they handle the protocol is quite slow. If before CNY still not yet resolved, then what can we expect? Just imagine all the nests from Asia are pilling up, cannot enter china. What will happens? Basic supply and demand tell you that price will drop for retail and raw.
calvinswiftlet
post Nov 22 2012, 11:26 PM

35 posts

Chinese new year is near .. China man now looking stock to stock up .. but their only wan to buy with lower price ... Demand still large out there .. The only is how we compete with Indo price .. :-(
Furfur
post Nov 23 2012, 11:35 AM

277 posts

So, how do you guys get into China market? I'm just curious about the business. I'm working on thesis about industries in Malaysia
philoswiftlet
post Nov 23 2012, 07:22 PM

39 posts

Lets see how many ways we can export nests into China:

Through the 4th dimension...
Via the wormholes...
Or we can just dig a tunnel to China
like what Palestinians did in Gaza...
But ours one will be known as The Great Tunnel To China

Or we can DIY a sub to sail under the South China Seas and sneak into Pearl River...

Or maybe we can export via our dream...
And receive payment in the dream also.

Sorry, just joking... or maybe some of the ideas can just work;
what they say about thinking out of the box, or lateral thinking...

They also say that where there's a will, there is a way.

Maybe we can simply blaze a sort of Ho Chi Min trail through the jungles all the way into Thailand, Burma and Yunnan.

123 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:50 AM