129 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V25, Keep it up!!! Old and Retro machines

cyanboy
post Jan 5 2012, 08:24 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jan 5 2012, 12:49 PM)
My friend is thinking of getting a 2nd hand Saga... Prefer the car to be within 10 years old..... budget is around 15k, do you guys think it's worth it?
QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 5 2012, 01:23 PM)
Get LMST 2004-2007 models . Should cost around 10-13k nowdays then spend another like 1-2k change some wear and tear parts.. im sure no mather how good condition the car is... some wear and tear parts are definitely passed away already lol ...

A link to share...

http://www.carthrottle.com/racing-with-the-proton-saga/

brows.gif
And for those who are looking for oem CAI intake box ...

http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Saga+Parts-13181394.htm
I just got myself LMST last Nov... RM14k with JPJ and PUSPAKOM check fee inclusive... Its a late 2006 car... With proton service booklet and milage 25000 km only... So 15k budget I suggest you go for even newer models like 2007 and later... Newer second hand car! And in mudah, all these late 2007-2008 LMST with low milage clear up real fast... I called few of those newer models with low milage (<50000km) but all sold...

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Jan 5 2012, 06:38 PM)
Yah, agree on getting the LMST models, as the milage won't be so high, and body all should be in good condition.
If got budget, look for the Merdeka Edition batch (2007 - 2008) models. Two colours only, black & orange.

And interesting article on the Saga racing.
thumbup.gif
Da Best one, I chose LMST car cause DSV4500 points. Because you won't want the car start to karat on roof after a year of ownership.. And for a lot of those buy, abuse and sell-off owners (Since its less than 5 years car and it's only RM25/28k ori price), can you imagine how they treat the car? Park under sun+rain then whack pedal like nothing then wash once every half a year.. Rust will come real fast before you noticed it...

At RM15k budget, iswara LMST is the latest, cheap and the best spec model you can get for a sedan/aeroback car... Later version LMST which is merdeka edition even uses 1.6 latest Wira SE gearbox, which is considered good gear ratio, at least better than the 20yrs old design gearbox... And builds are better... But less parts compared to the older version LMST...

At the price, wira will be kinda old, like 8yrs+ car... Karat problem... Somemore won't be able to get EFI engine also, only carburator... So no point for me...
Old iswaras might be cheaper options since their built and spec is better... But you have to compensate the year (karat) and dun get an auto unless you are enough with 3 gears...

Just my 2 cents after my research last time...
Peekab0o
post Jan 5 2012, 08:33 PM

QUOTE(cyanboy @ Jan 5 2012, 08:24 PM)
I just got myself LMST last Nov... RM14k with JPJ and PUSPAKOM check fee inclusive... Its a late 2006 car... With proton service booklet and milage 25000 km only... So 15k budget I suggest you go for even newer models like 2007 and later... Newer second hand car! And in mudah, all these late 2007-2008 LMST with low milage clear up real fast... I called few of those newer models with low milage (<50000km) but all sold...
Da Best one, I chose LMST car cause DSV4500 points. Because you won't want the car start to karat on roof after a year of ownership.. And for a lot of those buy, abuse and sell-off owners (Since its less than 5 years car and it's only RM25/28k ori price), can you imagine how they treat the car? Park under sun+rain then whack pedal like nothing then wash once every half a year.. Rust will come real fast before you noticed it...

At RM15k budget, iswara LMST is the latest, cheap and the best spec model you can get for a sedan/aeroback car... Later version LMST which is merdeka edition even uses 1.6 latest Wira SE gearbox, which is considered good gear ratio, at least better than the 20yrs old design gearbox... And builds are better... But less parts compared to the older version LMST...

At the price, wira will be kinda old, like 8yrs+ car... Karat problem... Somemore won't be able to get EFI engine also, only carburator... So no point for me...
Old iswaras might be cheaper options since their built and spec is better... But you have to compensate the year (karat) and dun get an auto unless you are enough with 3 gears...

I got my 2005 lmst 50k milage for 13k brows.gif
sinister_sid
post Jan 6 2012, 02:43 AM

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 5 2012, 08:33 PM)
I got my 2005 lmst 50k milage for 13k  brows.gif
i got mine 91 saga with 160k millage for 2k only last year
new alternator,rebuild head,custom tuned carb,no rust al round,jdm chrome side mirror with motor inside,jdm mitsubishi both side doors,cromex passenger side window brows.gif user posted image
extra given year 1999 4 piece 70percent thread tyre that i pushed till 150 km/h on my way to jpj to do inspection doh.gif

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: Jan 6 2012, 02:46 AM
DSV4600
post Jan 6 2012, 08:28 AM

432 posts

I got my Dec 2007 LMST with 20k milage and warranty up till Dec 2012 for RM18k. It was Merdeka edition black, driven by an old 55 year old lady. Everything looked so brand new. I remember sending it for the 1st time for service, the undercarriage of the car was still jet black...
Came with tinting & upgraded CD player some more!
Now it's giving me 6.7L/100km!
Beat that, Myvi owners...
Peekab0o
post Jan 6 2012, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Jan 6 2012, 08:28 AM)
I got my Dec 2007 LMST with 20k milage and warranty up till Dec 2012 for RM18k. It was Merdeka edition black, driven by an old 55 year old lady. Everything looked so brand new. I remember sending it for the 1st time for service, the undercarriage of the car was still jet black...
Stock carb , aftermarket camshaft , 1.5block , knn air filter... full tank 550 km 100% highway / pure city driving giving me about 10-13km/L brows.gif yeah.. beat that myvi owners brows.gif onecamonly.com / onebatangonly.com

This post has been edited by Peekab0o: Jan 6 2012, 01:46 PM
DaBestOne
post Jan 6 2012, 04:34 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

Thanks bros for all the feedbacks... will let my friend know about it.... and I always thought that Saga has high FC shocking.gif
cyanboy
post Jan 7 2012, 08:26 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(cyanboy @ Jan 5 2012, 08:24 PM)

Erm... My year is end 2007, not 2006... Lost track of car age liao...

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Jan 6 2012, 08:28 AM)
How you get the 5 years warranty thingy ah? I want to get it so can claim some parts until this year end...
Btw... he lady owner seems to really dun like to drive this car huh? lol...

Your 6.7L/100lm is full town driving is it? Mine does 6.28L/100km 90% highway+10% town when I got the car... My distributor timing advanced a bit from stock, according to my cheapo vacuum meter...
shahiryusoff
post Jan 8 2012, 09:23 AM

487 posts

Guys,I have a question. Yesterday I went to Nilai 3 to change my headlamps to HID 4300K. I changed to HID because my lights is in very bad condition. Barely can see anything and most of the time I use High Beam but people also dont give flash to me because my High Beam is like normal low beam already.

I ask the shop yesterday what can I do with my headlamps,initially he suggested to change wiring and bulbs to 100W bulbs but that cost around RM180. Then he suggest HID 4300K around RM250. I opted for the HID instead.

Yesterday night I already try the HID. It is way way brighter than my headlamps before BUT there's a problem. The HIGH BEAM on this HID is like very I don't know how to explain. When I on high beam it's like the light is not projected on the road neither it is projected up straight. What could be the problem? HID problem?

Anyone else change their headlight to HID? Will JPJ or Polis "kacau"? Mine is only 4300K.
feekle
post Jan 8 2012, 10:50 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Jan 8 2012, 09:23 AM)
Guys,I have a question. Yesterday I went to Nilai 3 to change my headlamps to HID 4300K. I changed to HID because my lights is in very bad condition. Barely can see anything and most of the time I use High Beam but people also dont give flash to me because my High Beam is like normal low beam already.

I ask the shop yesterday what can I do with my headlamps,initially he suggested to change wiring and bulbs to 100W bulbs but that cost around RM180. Then he suggest HID 4300K around RM250. I opted for the HID instead.

Yesterday night I already try the HID. It is way way brighter than my headlamps before BUT there's a problem. The HIGH BEAM on this HID is like very I don't know how to explain. When I on high beam it's like the light is not projected on the road neither it is projected up straight. What could be the problem? HID problem?

Anyone else change their headlight to HID? Will JPJ or Polis "kacau"? Mine is only 4300K.
U still use the original bosch headlamp?
shahiryusoff
post Jan 9 2012, 01:43 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jan 8 2012, 10:50 AM)
U still use the original bosch headlamp?
Yes bro. Should I change it to other headlamp? How much does it cost?

I myself is not very comfortable when I look at my own HID. I'm worried about oncoming driver. It's quite glaring though. Today I tried to adjust the HID to the lowest angle and it was better. Even for me it's better because it projects on the road nicely and less glare to oncoming drivers.

BUT I broke the driver's side up/down angle screw because I turned it too tight to make the angle lowest. Now the passenger side is very good because I manage to turn the screw to the lowest angle without breaking the screw. The light projects all on the road and no glare but driver side the light is projecting quite high (I mean it's not projecting on the road. It's projecting straight up thus causing it very glare) because the angle is not maximum down. I cannot adjust anymore now since the screw is broken. Maybe tomorrow I will try to open the whole light cover and adjust if possible.

Anyone else using HID can share about their HID setup? Is it producing glare?

Thank you. blush.gif
squarepilot
post Jan 9 2012, 02:32 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 6 2012, 01:46 PM)
Stock carb , aftermarket camshaft , 1.5block , knn air filter... full tank 550 km 100% highway / pure city driving giving me about 10-13km/L   brows.gif  yeah.. beat that myvi owners  brows.gif onecamonly.com / onebatangonly.com
1.5 saga can go 500++ on highway too. whistling.gif stock carb but must use ron97, i recently change to ron95 and the engine knock badly sad.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 2:34 am
QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Jan 8 2012, 09:23 AM)

erm, actually i have problem changing my headlamps to a high watt too, due to compatibility issue, the mech say must change whole thing, izzit true? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by squarepilot: Jan 9 2012, 02:34 AM
shahiryusoff
post Jan 9 2012, 02:55 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Jan 9 2012, 02:32 AM)
1.5 saga can go 500++ on highway too. whistling.gif stock carb but must use ron97, i recently change to ron95 and the engine knock badly sad.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 2:34 am
erm, actually i have problem changing my headlamps to a high watt too, due to compatibility issue, the mech say must change whole thing, izzit true?  shocking.gif
Your standard headlights is 55W. If you want to change to 100W, it is best to change to new thicker wires. If you use the old wires with the 100W bulbs, it's going to be same as your current one. Yesterday I asked a shop(shop name Eleven A) in Nilai 3, they quote RM100 for the thicker wire with relay and around RM80 for 100W bulbs. This is much much brighter than your current headlights. blush.gif

If you want to get HID (which I just installed yesterday) the cost is RM250 including installation. HID is very very bright compared to standard bulbs. brows.gif But it's quite glaring to oncoming drivers. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by shahiryusoff: Jan 9 2012, 02:57 AM
squarepilot
post Jan 9 2012, 03:02 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Jan 9 2012, 02:55 AM)
Your standard headlights is 55W. If you want to change to 100W, it is best to change to new thicker wires. If you use the old wires with the 100W bulbs, it's going to be same as your current one. Yesterday I asked a shop(shop name Eleven A) in Nilai 3, they quote RM100 for the thicker wire with relay and around RM80 for 100W bulbs. This is much much brighter than your current headlights. blush.gif

If you want to get HID (which I just installed yesterday) the cost is RM250 including installation. HID is very very bright compared to standard bulbs.  brows.gif But it's quite glaring to oncoming drivers. icon_rolleyes.gif
but my mom cars able to change to a higher 1 ( i assume 100W) without changing the wire, is that possible my mom cars has been modify by the previous owner when my parents bought it in 1995?

both stock iswara year 1992/1993
shahiryusoff
post Jan 9 2012, 03:17 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Jan 9 2012, 03:02 AM)
but my mom cars able to change to a higher 1 ( i assume 100W) without changing the wire, is that possible my mom cars has been modify by the previous owner when my parents bought it in 1995?

Like I said, it is possible to change to 100W bulbs without changing anything else but the result is only slightly brighter than your current bulbs. I don't know if your mom's car has been modified by the previous owner but 1995 is quite long. I suggest you change the wire for better result. I have tested the thicker wire with 100W Osram bulbs personally and the result is far better. icon_rolleyes.gif

Edit: Typo error.

This post has been edited by shahiryusoff: Jan 9 2012, 05:53 AM
DSV4600
post Jan 9 2012, 08:23 AM

432 posts

I'm using HID too. Took the bulbs with 4300K light. From what I've noticed, it's definately clearer and brighter compared to normal lights.
When during heavy cats & dogs rain, I find myself switching to high beam to throw the light forward better. Don't see the lights affecting other road users as I hardly get flashed. Only kena kacau once by JPJ, where I made a story that I bought the car stock standard, approved by Puspakom and point to the stickers on my window. I also tell them that I got the Puspakom approval letter in my car, and they let me got.

Would recommend to those considering HID to get a reputable brand, try to avoid Made in China, and make sure the HID system got it's own wiring and ballast system. Oh, and having a voltage system helps to ensure your electrical system isn't drained by the HID system.
hiozneko
post Jan 9 2012, 08:55 AM

83 posts

Cool Story Bro ! I used to have 4300K HID affix on my Saga, later alot of Kes Ops jalan .. haih Tukar. to 100W. laugh.gif. I think if you car is lowered with 100W i already satisfy. Last time without HID The bodoh Polis Stop my car.. why cause my side lamp is LED. he complained Lampu Silau doh.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Jan 9 2012, 09:23 AM)
I'm using HID too. Took the bulbs with 4300K light. From what I've noticed, it's definately clearer and brighter compared to normal lights.
When during heavy cats & dogs rain, I find myself switching to high beam to throw the light forward better. Don't see the lights affecting other road users as I hardly get flashed. Only kena kacau once by JPJ, where I made a story that I bought the car stock standard, approved by Puspakom and point to the stickers on my window. I also tell them that I got the Puspakom approval letter in my car, and they let me got.

Would recommend to those considering HID to get a reputable brand, try to avoid Made in China, and make sure the HID system got it's own wiring and ballast system. Oh, and having a voltage system helps to ensure your electrical system isn't drained by the HID system.

Added on January 9, 2012, 10:17 amHi Sifu of Saga/Iswara biggrin.gif Is it better to install
Rear ARB
http://www.ultraracing.com.my/vgreenwap/im...0Arb%2016mm.jpg

Front Lower Bar / Front Member Brace
http://www.ultraracing.com.my/Bars.asp?ID=4896
? need advice biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hiozneko: Jan 9 2012, 10:17 AM
Mercury_fulminate
post Jan 9 2012, 01:03 PM

70 posts

Damm.. i bought sept 2007 saga LMST for 15.6K with 35K milage.. seem like overprice to me, body still nise but engine kinda vibrate loudly..
[kuaLe]_AGX
post Jan 9 2012, 01:38 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Jan 9 2012, 03:02 AM)

i've used the 130w something bulbs b4 this...but with standard wiring. Guess what? No different whatsoever from stock 55/65w bulb. Anyway, its not recommended to use high wattage bulb
with standard/thin wiring/cable. Just stick with standard bulbs @ just use HID as these guys recommended..but be aware of JPJ lah hehe brows.gif
Peekab0o
post Jan 9 2012, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(hiozneko @ Jan 9 2012, 08:55 AM)
Cool Story Bro ! I used to have 4300K HID affix on my Saga, later alot of Kes Ops jalan .. haih Tukar. to 100W.  laugh.gif. I think if you car is lowered with 100W i already satisfy. Last time without HID The bodoh Polis Stop my car.. why cause my side lamp is LED. he complained Lampu Silau  doh.gif  sweat.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 10:17 amHi Sifu of Saga/Iswara biggrin.gif Is it better to install
Rear ARB
http://www.ultraracing.com.my/vgreenwap/im...0Arb%2016mm.jpg

Front Lower Bar / Front Member Brace
http://www.ultraracing.com.my/Bars.asp?ID=4896
? need advice biggrin.gif
Just install both , it improves ur handling nicer alot really...

QUOTE(Mercury_fulminate @ Jan 9 2012, 01:03 PM)
Damm.. i bought sept 2007 saga LMST for 15.6K with 35K milage.. seem like overprice to me, body still nise but engine kinda vibrate loudly..
Check engine mountings ... got 4 pcs inside... if kong kasi change all .. around 50 bucks per piece
cyanboy
post Jan 10 2012, 12:09 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 9 2012, 02:10 PM)
Just install both , it improves ur handling nicer alot really...
Check engine mountings ... got 4 pcs inside... if kong kasi change all .. around 50 bucks per piece
I thought of opting for side lower bar first... Does it improved handling ar?
Only saw in this topic dunno Version berapa... The car feels more "together" in high speed... But what I scare is kena bump till 2 side bar bengkok hmm.gif

129 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:41 PM