LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V25, Keep it up!!! Old and Retro machines

shahiryusoff
post Dec 29 2011, 03:13 AM

487 posts

Hi Guys, I need some help.

My VDO trip meter already kong. Now I don't know how many KM I already jalan and when is my next service.

My trip meter only works when it's cold like for example in the morning after I start driving around 10min it will stop working. Any of the sifu here know what is the problem?

How much roughly to repair this and can recommend to me any shop in Seremban or KL?

Should I just change to whole meter because my fuel meter also fluctuating very bad. How much is it to change to whole meter panel? Any 3rd party meter available besides VDO?

Thank you very much. smile.gif
shahiryusoff
post Dec 29 2011, 07:55 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 29 2011, 07:43 AM)
Same thing happened to my car few months ago, bought the original center meter (speed/odometer) for RM150 I think and also the speedometer cable can't remember how much but less than RM50. Then diy took out old and replace it. Not difficult, just have to be careful when removing the center part of the meter from the meter housing.

No idea about the fuel meter, but before you change that - make sure it's the meter that is the problem and not the sending unit...
RM150? No offense but doesn't it seems like a bit expensive? Did you bought it at Proton? I thought maybe for around RM200 we can get the whole meter panel. blush.gif

Is there any other 3rd party meter that is cheaper?
shahiryusoff
post Dec 29 2011, 08:58 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 29 2011, 08:38 AM)
I don't know whether it's expensive or not but it's original Proton part. I bought from nearest spare part shop, told them I wanted original proton. So far ok. I also saw this blog/shop selling around same price:

http://jenfookbee.blogspot.com/2011/07/pro...eter-gauge.html

I've been using it for 6 months already now, working perfect no problems. I checked my records (I keep full records of all parts/services) and it was RM150 for the meter, RM30 for the cable. All ori Proton part bought from nearby spare part shop.

RM200 for whole meter panel, probably second hand but remember these are wear and tear items, if you buy second hand it's like lottery, you don't know when it will decide to kaput again then the RM200 masuk tong sampah.. see these...

http://www.mudah.my/Meter+iswara-12962244.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Meter+iswara-12875898.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Iswara+Speedo+Meter-5663175.htm

So high mileage still asking for so high price smile.gif Personally for me, I'd rather buy new part for these wear and tear crucial parts. Other non crucial body parts no prob buying second hand.

Just my opinion but everyone's different  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you so much bro for your time replying. You have a point there. Ill also change to ori part I guess. Actually what I meant for the RM200 is, I thought we can get a complete NEW meter for around RM200 not a second hand doh.gif . But that was just a guess blush.gif . I thought like this odometer was around RM70 maybe for a new part. Newer new how much is it actually. Now I know. rclxms.gif

Im also looking forward to install Cold Air Intake but dont know where can I find the hose. Does accessory shop sell the hose and do installation?
shahiryusoff
post Dec 30 2011, 06:44 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 29 2011, 09:51 AM)
it is that expensive for just ONE panel, i replaced mine for around rm200 somemore (including cable as well though).
Indeed it is. I have asked a shop here he say around RM180 also. I guess I'll just change there.
QUOTE(fleekreturn @ Dec 29 2011, 11:11 AM)
Changing all 3 new meter panel is expensive. Thats why I opt for vr4 meter. More reliable. But of course, 2nd hand item.
Actually I'm looking something like this. A 3rd party meter. But is it like plug and play or have to mod a bit? How much did it cost you? How is the installation? blush.gif

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 29 2011, 11:19 AM)
I prefer the 1st picture meter. Looks better. blush.gif

QUOTE(Chan320 @ Dec 29 2011, 11:55 AM)
u can try get it from sifu catacombs,he got sell
-----> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/317607
Alright Thanks bro!

QUOTE(fleekreturn @ Dec 29 2011, 02:26 PM)
Most accessories shop have that stuff. Retail price should be below RM40. I bought mine RM38 previously. And for the installation, out of 5 acc. shop I asked, all of them refuse / unwilling to do such job. Either they don't have the skill or just being lazy. Then I go to my preferred exhaust shop at klang and ask the uncle there a favor to help me install and he agreed. Cost me RM50 for the installation. Make a hole at bumper, routing the hose, and cut off the original intake hole bigger. A lil bit complicated I can say. Haha.
Okay. Thanks for the info! blush.gif

Added on December 30, 2011, 6:47 pm
QUOTE(cyanboy @ Dec 29 2011, 02:29 PM)
If you want ori saga CAI like this:

Then try to search at proton stokist... I got mine at RM60 which is kinda expensive... It fits the square hole on your engine bay... Insulation? You can opt for insulflex and gao tim...
Thats all in my blog...
But if you want aftermarket type go find sifu catacomb as suggested...

Huhu... Just added key buzzer... Now the beeping sound makes me feel like i'm entering a waja...
EDIT: Added spoiler... sorry for the darn large size...  doh.gif
This looks more clean and simpler. Was looking something like this. drool.gif Thanks for sharing bro. blush.gif

This post has been edited by shahiryusoff: Dec 30 2011, 06:47 PM
shahiryusoff
post Jan 8 2012, 09:23 AM

487 posts

Guys,I have a question. Yesterday I went to Nilai 3 to change my headlamps to HID 4300K. I changed to HID because my lights is in very bad condition. Barely can see anything and most of the time I use High Beam but people also dont give flash to me because my High Beam is like normal low beam already.

I ask the shop yesterday what can I do with my headlamps,initially he suggested to change wiring and bulbs to 100W bulbs but that cost around RM180. Then he suggest HID 4300K around RM250. I opted for the HID instead.

Yesterday night I already try the HID. It is way way brighter than my headlamps before BUT there's a problem. The HIGH BEAM on this HID is like very I don't know how to explain. When I on high beam it's like the light is not projected on the road neither it is projected up straight. What could be the problem? HID problem?

Anyone else change their headlight to HID? Will JPJ or Polis "kacau"? Mine is only 4300K.
shahiryusoff
post Jan 9 2012, 01:43 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jan 8 2012, 10:50 AM)
U still use the original bosch headlamp?
Yes bro. Should I change it to other headlamp? How much does it cost?

I myself is not very comfortable when I look at my own HID. I'm worried about oncoming driver. It's quite glaring though. Today I tried to adjust the HID to the lowest angle and it was better. Even for me it's better because it projects on the road nicely and less glare to oncoming drivers.

BUT I broke the driver's side up/down angle screw because I turned it too tight to make the angle lowest. Now the passenger side is very good because I manage to turn the screw to the lowest angle without breaking the screw. The light projects all on the road and no glare but driver side the light is projecting quite high (I mean it's not projecting on the road. It's projecting straight up thus causing it very glare) because the angle is not maximum down. I cannot adjust anymore now since the screw is broken. Maybe tomorrow I will try to open the whole light cover and adjust if possible.

Anyone else using HID can share about their HID setup? Is it producing glare?

Thank you. blush.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jan 9 2012, 02:55 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Jan 9 2012, 02:32 AM)
1.5 saga can go 500++ on highway too. whistling.gif stock carb but must use ron97, i recently change to ron95 and the engine knock badly sad.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 2:34 am
erm, actually i have problem changing my headlamps to a high watt too, due to compatibility issue, the mech say must change whole thing, izzit true?  shocking.gif
Your standard headlights is 55W. If you want to change to 100W, it is best to change to new thicker wires. If you use the old wires with the 100W bulbs, it's going to be same as your current one. Yesterday I asked a shop(shop name Eleven A) in Nilai 3, they quote RM100 for the thicker wire with relay and around RM80 for 100W bulbs. This is much much brighter than your current headlights. blush.gif

If you want to get HID (which I just installed yesterday) the cost is RM250 including installation. HID is very very bright compared to standard bulbs. brows.gif But it's quite glaring to oncoming drivers. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by shahiryusoff: Jan 9 2012, 02:57 AM
shahiryusoff
post Jan 9 2012, 03:17 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Jan 9 2012, 03:02 AM)
but my mom cars able to change to a higher 1 ( i assume 100W) without changing the wire, is that possible my mom cars has been modify by the previous owner when my parents bought it in 1995?

both stock iswara year 1992/1993
Like I said, it is possible to change to 100W bulbs without changing anything else but the result is only slightly brighter than your current bulbs. I don't know if your mom's car has been modified by the previous owner but 1995 is quite long. I suggest you change the wire for better result. I have tested the thicker wire with 100W Osram bulbs personally and the result is far better. icon_rolleyes.gif

Edit: Typo error.

This post has been edited by shahiryusoff: Jan 9 2012, 05:53 AM
shahiryusoff
post Jan 10 2012, 11:50 AM

487 posts

Guys, anyone know where can I find this? http://www.lelong.com.my/proton-iswara-bla...2-07-Sale-P.htm

Anyone here selling this? Can get cheaper?
shahiryusoff
post Jan 11 2012, 08:49 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(fleekreturn @ Jan 10 2012, 07:23 PM)
that power booster really got effect ke? hmm.gif
the LCP depends on brand you chose. If jasma RM150 below, Arospeed RM200 below, and some will be around RM300++ (UTR, Mytheology)

Added on January 10, 2012, 7:24 pm
This one already many people offering to do such job. Blacken the headlamp. Cost less than RM100.
No I mean anyone here selling the headlamps whole set? Not blacken the headlamps. I want to buy this type of headlamp. How much does it cost?
shahiryusoff
post Jan 11 2012, 12:45 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Jan 11 2012, 09:35 AM)
I have a set of headlamps (bought it as spare). It's new, but the earlier version (2004 - 2006), grey tone. Willing to let go for RM225.
COD can be arranged if you're in Klang Valley area.
Yours is the Crystal type or the normal type with the lines? drool.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jan 21 2012, 04:35 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 21 2012, 12:58 PM)
I see wad u did there  brows.gif  no rev cut kasi lenjan high high rev  brows.gif  i also happy revving now very the syok wei  drool.gif
Anyone know if 4g13p can be fixed with rev limiter? Where can I find one? How much does it cost?
shahiryusoff
post Jan 21 2012, 11:56 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Jan 21 2012, 10:05 PM)
brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

Added on January 21, 2012, 10:10 pm
Carburetor do not have any rev limiters. However for few car models (none from Proton) the distributor did the job by cutting off ignition once reached certain RPM. How it really works, i need to google laugh.gif

Rev limiters for modern cars are being set by the ECU.

Fook rev limiters, once your internals can go high RPM why dont utilize it fully? biggrin.gif
Hahaha. Does standard 4g13p internals can rev to high RPM until redline? tongue.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jan 23 2012, 05:49 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Jan 22 2012, 06:14 PM)
I am on 4G13p internals...why not  biggrin.gif

Our block and it's internals are made with good stuffs. As long you not heavy footed every time and use good synthetic oils, no worries about block pecah....
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 22 2012, 07:54 PM)
People susah susah spend $$ remove rev limiter u mao install rev limiter fook die rev cut free revving best always u dun have to worry as long no rev over redline ALWAYS it will be fine 4g1series are proven strong reliable smile.gif
Hehehe. It's quite syiok to rev high but petrol also very fast the needle go down la. biggrin.gif

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

0.0666sec    1.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:18 PM