5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V25, Keep it up!!! Old and Retro machines

cyanboy
post Nov 22 2011, 04:18 PM

257 posts

Waliao so fast... Post #18...

Keep this up!

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Nov 22 2011, 01:47 PM)
Just changed my stock cables to ori Proton-Bougicord cables. RM60 from nearest spare part shop smile.gif

I do notice that just changing the distributor cap + rotor arm already made the car feel more responsive. Hope the cables will improve it further and see if I can get closer to the so called published FC of 5.5l/100km  blink.gif
Published fc? Macam susah sikit... unsure.gif

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Nov 22 2011, 04:20 PM
cyanboy
post Nov 23 2011, 10:59 AM

257 posts

Problem:
When I let my car roll down slope around 10-20km/h and pull handbrake, the rear drum brake giving me sound also...

1. Is LMST stock brakes leading/trailing type or duo servo?
2. Does this means that drum brake punye pads juga worn out?
3. Will it be "out-of-shape" resulting higher cost?
4. Cost around how much... (I'm paying by cash btw,later tak cukup wang then mati)

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Nov 23 2011, 11:00 AM
cyanboy
post Nov 23 2011, 12:47 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Nov 23 2011, 11:06 AM)
I believe it's leading/trailing. It could be just brake dust, last time I got mechanic to change rear drum brake pads for me, the amount of dust is unbelievable.

The brake pads should not cost much, less than RM50 for sure. See here only RM30 smile.gif but original part maybe slightly more expensive, not very sure.

Also found this one RM60 in mudah!

Maybe just get mech to change and clean the rear drum brakes and see how it goes?
QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Nov 23 2011, 11:10 AM)
If it's been a while since changing the rear brake - might as well change it one shot. Clean one time pay $ for labour, later change another round $ labour... smile.gif
Wow... Bendix seemed very branded it's brakes...
I don't think i'm going back to SC to kena cut throat... Btw the car is had been with me less than 1 month, clocking 26000km... I expect the owner didn't change before.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 23 2011, 11:08 AM)
^

better if just check/clean brake dusts first lo, workmanship/labour maybe rm10-20 more/less

if still got sound maybe troubleshoot further/change drum brake pads
Got it... Will tengok-tengok how...
cyanboy
post Nov 24 2011, 01:10 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Nov 23 2011, 02:12 PM)
26k km is too low for the rear brake shoes to wear out......
Good news... then i'll just send it for cleaning...
Hope they dun tell me the lady driver before me use handbrake to drift until rear brake shoes burnt also...

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 24 2011, 12:15 AM)
Hey, Hi guys. Erm.. anyone has any good recommendations for Saga LMST's tyres? I've been on this set of tyres for about 4 years+ and I guess it's about time to change.
When I got mine is Continental... Highway wise I think quite quiet...
I tried before Ralken on Waja is really noisy...
Wait for other sifu's to reply and see...

QUOTE(Codyx @ Nov 24 2011, 12:44 AM)
Car breakdown, cannot start, some indian porman come to 'help', identified FUEL PUMP stuck..... forman bring pump back service, serviced Fuel Pump then OK can start.

happen within 11pm-1am

rm100 fly(midnight OT + Ciggar money) -> 'indian forman'

:S
You sure the car broke down itself? Or you go highway toilet then some one "gao tim" your fuel pump?
That one must let them cut throat, no choice...
cyanboy
post Nov 25 2011, 03:29 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Nov 24 2011, 09:17 AM)
the brand dosent sound good.... i use Shell ATF is the best....coz i have done load chart test.... the most less load is the one shell dunno what ATF later i check back my auto log book then i tell u.
Sometimes LMST when off engine, the engine will die off then idle for 1 sec and gone off again... Is it tappet adjustment out is it?
cyanboy
post Nov 26 2011, 01:54 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Lowenkreuz @ Nov 25 2011, 05:11 PM)
I think that's call dieseling. Carb related problem i think. I also have that problem sometimes, not sure why also.... hmm.gif
QUOTE(Codyx @ Nov 25 2011, 11:03 PM)
*raise hand*

that's why i off slowly >ON>Power>off...step by step
QUOTE(kuaLe_AGX @ Nov 25 2011, 11:06 PM)
same here. Some says might be carbie engine syndrome.
So the problem seemed normal... Only way to solve is perlahan-perlahan off... Dun act cool cepat-cepat turn off rolleyes.gif

From uncle wiki:
Potential causes

Dieseling can occur for several reasons:
1. Built-up carbon in the ignition chamber can glow red after the engine is off, providing a mechanism for igniting unburnt fuel. Such a thing can happen when the engine runs very rich, depositing unspent fuel and particles on the pistons and valves. Similarly, rough metal regions within the piston chamber can cause this same problem, since they can glow red. It has also been suggested that an improperly rated spark plug can retain heat and cause the same problem.
2. A carburetor that does not completely close can contribute to running once the engine is off, since the extra fuel and oxygen mixture can combust easily in the warm piston chamber. Similarly, hot vaporized oil gases from the engine crankcase can provide ample fuel for dieseling.
3. Incorrect timing.
4. An engine that runs too hot or too lean may produce an environment conducive to allowing unspent fuel to burn.
5. An idle speed that is too fast can leave the engine with too much angular momentum upon shutdown, raising the chances that the engine can turn over and burn more fuel and lock itself into a cycle of continuous running.

haiz... rclxub.gif
cyanboy
post Nov 28 2011, 12:40 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Nov 26 2011, 09:00 AM)
how does d ac pump / fuel pump look like a?? d ufo 1? how long need change a? i dun wan suddenly brake down on middle road ooo  icon_question.gif
errmm.... for my case its carb. happen to me for 2-3 years liao.. jus dat i dun care.. but this year i found solution.. u may try also..carb cleaner
most of d time for our saga is i think its cause by carbon built by carburetor gua. coz d prob will come back after 5k km.. so i need service everytime i change engine oil... if no change d gigil disease will come back slowly....
Ok, that sounded reasonable to happen on my 26k km car...

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Nov 26 2011, 11:11 AM)
U can try to retard to distributor 1st. Loosen both bolt at the distributor's bracket ends, by facing the distributor adjust it anti-clockwise a little bit only and try it out. nod.gif
OK.. will try both and see...
You mean distributor cap there?

Any place to wrap seats around pj/kl area except kedai abang?
Budget <RM500... Sudah pecah lubang this month my pocket

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Nov 28 2011, 01:29 AM
cyanboy
post Nov 29 2011, 01:40 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(dreggy @ Nov 29 2011, 01:25 AM)
Need some help from sifus here, my saga lmst can smell exhaust smell inside the car when driving time, don t know from where leaking, fully changed the aircond system and also checked the whole exhaust system, but still can smell exhaust smell with in the car when driving. anyone with similar problems? sad.gif need help, worried i get knocked out unconsciously when driving then accident for sure :'(
I thought it's famous for LMST?
1. Dun touch air distributor knob.
2. Dun touch air intake knob.

Once touch these two and voila! Time to go back to P1 centre and adjust nod.gif

You can try refer to this thread of V24, there's a member that cover the hole for external air intake into the cabin.

But by doing so will disable the function of the air intake knob.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1914856/+1737
cyanboy
post Nov 30 2011, 07:52 PM

257 posts

Turbo timer Function:
1. Automatic calculation of the necessary amount of after idling time
2. Display estimate A/F ratio
3. Display O2 sensor voltage
4. Display RICH or LEAN via 2 LED
5. Display battery voltage
6. Engine timing shutdown
7. Time
* Injection – Function 1,2,3,4,5,6,7
* Carburetors - Function 5, 6, 7 only
So if I install this only can get 3 function only?
Feeling like installing it... Is the Brother's Apexi Turbo Timer Pen type genuine ah? RM30 got dy leh...
cyanboy
post Nov 30 2011, 11:39 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Nov 30 2011, 11:21 PM)
Yes 5,6,7 im using ... Yea cheap only.. i install for purpose of monitoring my Battery... Fake of course... Original cant be that price...
Oh... I actually wanted the clock and battery voltage only... The timing engine to off one we can use? Incompatible with our stock alarm right?
cyanboy
post Dec 1 2011, 02:43 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Dec 1 2011, 07:54 AM)
huh? Theres no clock in my apexi pen type one.. only battery voltage ...and the time option at the meter there is to turn off engine one... Juz set to 0.00 secs... otherwise default if not mistaken is 30 seconds... after u turn off ur car key ur car engine will only be turned off after 30 secs...
Oh... Like that then maybe opting for other with clock one...
Just got poisoned from "Practical Mods/Add-ons For Sagas/Iswaras, Come share what you have done" forum...
Thinking of installing vacuum meter... Since it's quite simple to DIY. Brand like Monza/Autogauge from kedai brother again fake ah? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(dakwan5555 @ Dec 1 2011, 02:28 PM)
Check out the internal aircon filter blower behind the glovebox area...... sometimes it is very dirty sad.gif
U mean this one?
http://z4.invisionfree.com/Saga_Iswara_Clu...opic=14464&st=0

EDIT: Oil pressure meter can DIY easily? Didn't have guides over here..

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 1 2011, 03:01 PM
cyanboy
post Dec 2 2011, 12:34 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(dakwan5555 @ Dec 1 2011, 10:42 PM)
This the blower

this is from a dirty LMST blower

Time to cleans up! biggrin.gif Hehehe
Ok thanks. Any idea of recommended chop shop near pj/kl?

Will be finding gauges, CAI or even other compatible stuffs...
cyanboy
post Dec 3 2011, 03:17 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Codyx @ Dec 3 2011, 01:06 PM)
Where can get stock LMST floor mat? the maggi one? i need the driver side only

Must be stock? Try proton parts stockist near your area... If there dun have maybe they can check the Glenmarie Parts Centre... If Glenmarie also dun have means need to wait for stock/not in production/no such thing inside their spare parts booklet.

But sometimes can try some parts stockist, they might have stock for "old"/"weird"/"loooong time not in production already" stuffs. Cause I just got a saga ori CAI from a stockist, Glenmarie not in production dy.
cyanboy
post Dec 4 2011, 01:24 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ILikePie @ Dec 3 2011, 07:40 PM)
DRL on LMST nice or not? Plan to install. Any foglamp that can fit the bumper shape other than myvi? brows.gif
DRL? My cheapo DRL less than RM10:
Night time:

Day time:

Normal DRL should be a lot brighter than this...

For foglamp i'm trying to get the MyVi second version one... Looks more fit, more expensive, but haven't try yet...

Now pocket bakar dah... Just got a cheapo vacuum meter... Dunno can use or not...

EDIT: Added spoiler to the post...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 4 2011, 01:26 AM
cyanboy
post Dec 4 2011, 07:53 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ILikePie @ Dec 4 2011, 01:55 AM)
Very gooding brows.gif
SO cheap? Less than RM10? ohmy.gif
Any separate switch for the DRL?
Kedai abang... They have RM10, RM20, RM30... RM150 punye DRL...
RM10 punye thin wiring, no switch.
RM150 punye use thick cables. But also no switch...
If buy expensive punye can ask for best price... Just realised exp items can nego there...
I tap from radio fuse... Together with my vacuum gauge lighting.

My vacuum meter showed 62 when idle (no a/c, no light) and 58 when heavy load (a/c+light)
So it is not calibrated properly right?

QUOTE(kanada242 @ Dec 4 2011, 01:48 PM)
Hey guys, my friend (iswara aeroback) and I (iswara sedan) are looking for chop shops/kedai potong to buy some parts for our cars eg:front bumper, back bonnet, doors, interior parts... you guys know of any cheap and good places in the Klang Valley/Selangor area to go?

Thanks biggrin.gif
Second that... Want to know also...
cyanboy
post Dec 4 2011, 11:36 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ILikePie @ Dec 4 2011, 09:41 PM)
Heh. Thanks cyanboy. Your pic helped me with DRL positioning. Confirm will do for my LMST soon brows.gif
If you think my DRL are both slightly out of position, its the number plate problem... The fella before me dunno how to stick number plate on the CENTRE of the bumper...

Actually after consulting my few friends when i'm installing DRL, if put beside or under number plate then the "car teeth" not so nice. I'm putting my DRL there instead of sides because need to make way for MyVi second version fog lamp on the bumper sides...

Officially sudah kena poison brows.gif

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 4 2011, 11:37 PM
cyanboy
post Dec 5 2011, 03:44 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(dakwan5555 @ Dec 4 2011, 11:34 PM)
Hopefully this will help you smile.gif
THANKS! That really helps... Now got chance to turn few more second hand shops more upside down...

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Dec 4 2011, 11:50 PM)
Bro, can you share pictures after you pasang the MyVi 2nd version fog lamps?
I'm interested to see if can perfect fit a not...
QUOTE(ILikePie @ Dec 5 2011, 12:09 AM)
Don't forget post poison. I already kena DRL poison brows.gif
I will post, dun worry... But kena tunggu lama lor...
Cause the imitation MyVi 2nd gen fog light casing itself cost RM150+, and the wiring about RM50+... If first gen imitation can get RM150 including wiring...
Maybe going to few chop shop and see can get cheap one or not...
I'm just a student... Waiting for my part time salary then kasi poison this thread kau kau brows.gif

EDIT: Check out my siggy for current mod...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 5 2011, 03:48 PM
cyanboy
post Dec 6 2011, 12:16 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ILikePie @ Dec 5 2011, 09:36 PM)
Regret clicking your blog la. Now got slight urge to find mudguard and pedals too tongue.gif
Slight urge only... Still ok... haha...
Din kena so much poison yet brows.gif

cyanboy
post Dec 6 2011, 10:23 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Lowenkreuz @ Dec 6 2011, 08:27 AM)
fiber not expensive right? but will i get the exact dimension? cuz i abit not trust custom jobs than factory made lah. Hmmmm but see first. smile.gif
Actually is fibre that bad compared to PU?

Just done insuflex on my bonnet... Confirm got difference in noise... Engine noise now more less from cabin dy... Love it!
cyanboy
post Dec 6 2011, 11:50 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 6 2011, 03:06 PM)
fiber easy to repair, PU cannot~~...

fiber cannot absorb force, PU can..

fiber can easily custom make if got mould, PU go kilang produce better..lol
Ok... SO our stock bumper is PU?

My vacuum gauge shows 21.3 when air con kicks in and 24.4 when idle... Ignition timing too advance right?
How to adjust ah?

I read some thread need timing light one.. What is it? How to use?

Or just go sc gao tim?
Recommended sc anyone? Going there for 30k km service.

Blacklisted Senaxis, RM90 for brake pads!!!

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 6 2011, 11:51 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0676sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:05 AM