5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V25, Keep it up!!! Old and Retro machines

cyanboy
post Dec 7 2011, 09:42 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 7 2011, 12:32 AM)
I used to have timing tight, very easy to use (i used to self tune a 4g15...). Clip to plug cable number 1 i think, then shoot the light at the crank pulley. You should see a mark there. Loosen distributor and adjust till it's within manufacturers spec. I've tried adjusting too advanced (pinking at slightest load!) and too retarded too (tadak power)... It's interesting Wish i have a timing light to check my current 4g13...
Wow... The timing light seemed expensive...

QUOTE(Chan320 @ Dec 7 2011, 07:58 AM)
I have the same vacuum reading when idle but my aircon reading is at 19 or 20.Higher should be better as there is more power
QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Dec 7 2011, 08:09 AM)
Yours is in normal range... Mine is ignition timing too quick dy... As according to peekaboo's link. Crossed-referenced few links also state my ignition timing out... Will go check out then.

cyanboy
post Dec 7 2011, 04:23 PM

257 posts

I thought our stock spark cables are quite good by itself? And the limiting factor is the spark plug itself rather than the cable... Noobie here...
About the vacuum gauge... I bought brandless MONZA brand under 40 at kedai abang again, 20 for a good hose which rubber is as thick as stock ones, and installed myself. Sorry, its the last set, took 2 personnel half an hour to search for it...
Installation kat halaman rumah... Very easy 1 day job with guides from neosaint99 thread. Or you wan me offer installation also can nod.gif
I'll up this on blog later...
Here, Neosaint's99 VERY POISONOUS thread... [enter with antidote only]
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=541408&hl=

By ear punye mechanic then i rather tune myself la... Lol. Ooo, must be as advanced as possible... Will take note. Btw, I did saw instructions for DIY this light... I think its fake la...
I think check at SC for the actual timing ok or not first, cause my RM38 gauge maybe not be well-calibrated.

Seemed like very serious like that. Ok, i'll floor it later before I go SC...

That's poisonous...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 7 2011, 04:34 PM
cyanboy
post Dec 8 2011, 12:23 AM

257 posts

I just floored on a slope at 5th gear... Got 2 sounds actually...
One sounds does sounded like knocking. Do you mean the tin can might not be that "kosong"? Cause it doesn't sound like "kong kong kong" but rather very thick walled and small tin can with lots of marbles... blink.gif
Another sound is basically whole car shaking+jerking+dashboard+steering+4 wheels going to torn apart sound... Even the battery light also flickering dy if I dun downshift immediately

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 7 2011, 07:20 PM)
ooo....thanks for d tippp  rclxms.gif
yup. stock good liao. hand itchy ma dat time...lol..

ooo...nice link... i let u noe if i need any help.. huhu..
See all these poison everyday in this thread hand very fast itchy one whistling.gif

QUOTE(Codyx @ Dec 7 2011, 08:50 PM)
You guys have any unofficial TT here?

just Saga Iswaras [iswara/LMSS/LMST] only

Probably KL

beside all talk about spec here...how about sharing together and better visualizations  drool.gif
Second that... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(hammerclaw69 @ Dec 7 2011, 10:55 PM)
Hi Peeps... im new here ( not yet a member ).. n thanx for the new thread biggrin.gif ...

Just a quick question... My right hand side headlight bulb always kaput/burnt... lower beam ONLY ...
Is that common for Saga/Iswara or cud it be short circuit?, I din do any mod to headlight ..

Anyhow.. is that Voltage Stabilizer can solve this problem?
May thanx in advance seefuz smile.gif
Perhaps really short circuit? or the relay?
VS might help... I had seen satria neo meter flickering like mad until someone gave him a VS.
Problem solved without changing the meter...
Better wait for sifu to reply or just go to a trusted wireman to check up your headlights wiring...

QUOTE(hammerclaw69 @ Dec 7 2011, 11:29 PM)
Thats actually fuel sipping onto carburetor and you will find its hard to start again immediately... not sure what the cause but I got the experience. It will start normaly after awhile
Ok... So it's not my distributor timing advance thingy... Will see la...

Whats this port for? The two pins shows zero resistance towards each other but it is not ground itself and not 12V supply also...

How to access power window switch? Can't pull out although loosen screws on cup holder and leg there...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 8 2011, 12:25 AM
cyanboy
post Dec 9 2011, 12:45 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 8 2011, 06:15 AM)
Yes the tin can with lots of marbles sound. Thats the engine pinging. So if you retard the timing, then pinging won't happen so easily but you lose a lot of power.

Have no idea what the other sound is, sound serious if everything seems to be falling apart and batt light flickering...
Falling apart means dashboard all use clips only lo... Batt light flickering means sudah mau mati engine...

QUOTE(hammerclaw69 @ Dec 8 2011, 08:15 PM)
Mine LMST 6 years edy bro... was using Phillips bulb ( not sure wic version ) bright white one... it last me 5 years wo ... but d headlamp plastic get damn hot ... so  d 5th year end its kaput... n oni d right hand side low beam...

Den i change to some german brand HOD bulb.. was better than the phillip in terms of d white light and never blind oncoming traffic.... used that about 6 - 8 months nw d same right hand side low beam kaput....

some says , it is related to relay.. n not sure which relay cuz i didn add any relay for headlight ...

n coincidently.. my reverse light for rear left lamp kaput also... so.. not sure whether ada short circuit ke or related to relay....

duwan 2 kena poison by foreman lar... any seefus can confim what could be the cause?

EDIT : N bro.. i guess you're talking about fuse... if fuse blow.. the entire headlight will kaput wo.. ini juz left low beam.. haiz.. din wash car.. din kena rain.. duno hw lar.. m not using any voltage stabilizer, no power amp .... was juz using led strip connected to small lamp kat headlight ... n that oso remove edy wen i change the headlight ( taiwan made )
Whats your phillips or HOD bulb Watt rating? If you use like 110/120W bulb with stock wiring confirm connector habis, headlamp habis fast and reflector also habis fast... I read this somewhere...
Cause kedai abang say if I wan use their promo less than RM10 H4 110W bulb need pull another wiring to settle...

Today went SC for 30k service... Manyak mahal... But for the sake of the service book stamp, okla...
Complained about the air con pretensioner bearing... They say no prob, add lubricant then jalan... Now still got eeeh-eeeh sound at high rpm doh.gif
cyanboy
post Dec 10 2011, 08:49 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Lowenkreuz @ Dec 10 2011, 08:40 AM)
According to my previous owner maintenance record, the installation is free at proton service centre... No charges on seat belts and workmanship.

But for this mobile team, charges? hmm.gif
cyanboy
post Dec 13 2011, 02:53 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Rhadykall @ Dec 12 2011, 11:46 PM)
Recently installed Osram Nightbreaker+. The bulbs are bright as expected. Just one problem; left side seems way brighter. Any idea why? Or suggestions on how to fix this?
QUOTE(lyordson @ Dec 13 2011, 02:05 AM)
same here. left side is slight higher too.
So now the problem is brighter or higher?
If one side is still brighter after switching bulbs, maybe the grounding? Cause many iswara taxi around my area one bright one dim... And their H4 bulb is on! If didn't notice you'll probably thought the bulb blow or what... So maybe grounding?

If want to adjust the height of the light spread then poolcarpet's advice is true... Stock headlamp can use phillips screwdriver and Bosch/Local lamp uses Hex screwdriver or Torx screwdriver...
QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 13 2011, 10:59 AM)
the stock ori headlamp can be adjusted, there are 2 philips screws and you can adjust up-down left-right. if you've replaced with some local headlamp, those still can be adjusted up-down via a hex screw.

but someone suggested to swap the bulbs and see if it's the bulb being actually brighter or maybe just the headlamp reflector or plastic/glass cover not so cloudy/hazed on the left side?
QUOTE(hammerclaw69 @ Dec 13 2011, 03:12 AM)
Not press down the suspension system bro.. juz the spring ( the iron rods , press 2 iron rods together )

n yes bro.. the car is way lower now sad.gif ... so shud be spring wo... n is it change all 4 spring better or juz the rear ?

erm.. oraite bro... many thanx for the advise smile.gif

Added on December 13, 2011, 4:36 am
not phillips bro , some german brand ( not ori thou ) but it is HOD bro bukan halogen... and watt also follows standard H4 bro , I guess they maybe fix relay for 110W bulb..

still got that sound ar? hmm .. i had that kinda sound earlier... they changed the air con compressor belt , oil d compressor , change valve... basically its complete air cond service.. n tadaaa... no sound and super cool air cond.. but... d white smoke comes sad.gif ....

Added on December 13, 2011, 4:39 am
dayumn.. seriously? so far i din use over rated watt bulbs bro.. juz the standard for saga... shud be fine.. but must check again .. thanx for highlighting it mate smile.gif
Maybe relay? Try use branded Bosch one... RM8 per piece...
Complete air con service!!! rclxms.gif
This car baru 27000 km and air con level always 2 "clicks" from bottom only rclxub.gif

EDIT: Complete air con service causes white smoke? Did Aircon-Air-Intake to your Cold-Air-Intake is it? brows.gif

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 13 2011, 02:55 PM
cyanboy
post Dec 14 2011, 02:36 PM

257 posts

Pic pic so can poison us mah...

Thats cheap and worth the price! Pic pic... Where you get it?

I use car 2 clicks only speed 1 or 2 even hot day... If got passenger then nearly half bar... (If night 2 clicks speed 1 I dy can sleep while driving) No doubt LMST air con is lots colder than waja and comparable to Wira...

These few days parents drive my car, FULL bar max speed doh.gif My wife kena abuse 3 days kaw kaw dy, I think when I got back the car sure got a lot of bruises to gao tim...
Oh? Can adjust one ah? Noted...

Air con to CAI?

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 14 2011, 02:37 PM
cyanboy
post Dec 15 2011, 01:18 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Codyx @ Dec 14 2011, 04:18 PM)
You turn on aircon already give stress to your bearings already...how it give boast?

==

Quite true... Minimal to no improvement lar... The hose so small also compared to CAI, mana boleh suck a lot of air wo?

QUOTE(Codyx @ Dec 14 2011, 09:19 PM)
go grab em

Eneos @ Jusco Kepong

which the best on has been taken by me biggrin.gif

Sharing is caring ;P

Added on December 14, 2011, 9:21 pm
go to my Flickr more  brows.gif

thankkiu des laugh.gif
Eneos 1U selling also... Just saw it today... But didn't grab it...
Saving money for MyVi 2nd version/Saga FL series fog lamp...
Your interior doesn't look Proton to me... Great job over there rclxms.gif
cyanboy
post Dec 16 2011, 06:44 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 16 2011, 03:08 PM)
hmm...if like dat i also wan try try abit.. hmm.gif

can show any pic how to connect a? brothers got sell, rm30-40..
I can verify its true... its 39.90 I think... Stretchable up to 2m easily... It's Turbo hose stated on the box, but i guess can use also?

It even comes with two coloured rings and two tightener, no need buy separately.

Or if you want stock CAI like VERY VERY old proton saga one can get from here:
AME AUTO PARTS (PJ) SDN. BHD.
25, Jalan 21/11A SEA Park
Petaling Jaya 46300
Selangor.

It's a proton parts stockist. The CAI hose is not in production anymore and even the Proton parts shoppe in Glenmarie also habis stock since 2007... When I bought at RM60 (VERY expensive, if glenmarie only selling at RM51 in 2007), it doesn't even come with a fastener... Got the fasterner at another RM4... I just bought it last month...

The boss say still have "some" stocks for this... But I dunno now still have or not as I had posted the place at
Practical mods/add ons for saga iswara
cyanboy
post Dec 17 2011, 12:47 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 16 2011, 06:50 PM)
hi all,

sorry i'm not trying to pour cold water in all the diy plans... but do you observe the shape of the stock air filter cover? notice it's not round and more like flattened oval shape?

could it be possible that the car engineers have done their airflow analysis and determined that to be the best size of the air intake for optimum performance? by changing the air intake to different hoses/curves/sizes, wouldn't it affect the airflow into the engine (possibly positive or negative effects....)

just something to think about... rclxub.gif
You mean the intake there the hole? It's round I thought?
Well, i'm not sure of what the engineers thought of during design of LMST Air intake, cause it's without the stock hose connected to suck air from the fender part... But old sagas like 1990's all has the hose... That's the reason I got it... My first thought is the stock hose is removed to make it RM25k / RM27k hmm.gif

But still, no doubt that our ori air intake without the hose is kinda placed in the best position already... I just thought that maybe when air passes through the radiator part the air might be slight hotter... And when idling on jams where hot air is still inside the engine bay...

For the difference before and after add... Maybe i'll try to remove it next week and see how...
cyanboy
post Dec 17 2011, 10:06 AM

257 posts

The stock CAI I mentioned is on your second pic...
Rm25? Thats quite worth the money, brothers selling at 40 but longer though...
Dyno? Itu perlu tengok tengok lo...
cyanboy
post Dec 17 2011, 12:21 PM

257 posts

Sorry I didn't make myself clear before...
This is the CAI hose from stock proton sagas/iswaras before LMST design... Not sure whether LMSS has it though. Rare item now... Fits perfectly at the fender rectangular hole... I covered up the another circular hole with some double layer insulflex so the engine bay hot air won't mix with fender cold air... The position of this 1990 saga's CAI is quite good as it is protected from dust and water. (Unless you took your car for a dive) And the design at that time is by japan engineers... Personally I trust their design more...

Fuel saving/improvement all those I didn't even bother to give them a second look. Unless it's so called proven in terms of going dyno in your way... There's even those vacuum turbine thingy or CPU fan to be installed on air intake or something... Mostly are marketing gimicks only. Placebo effect is highly possble case over here. Nevetheless, some might work out of the blue though...

I will rather invest on Tufoil engine treatment or those manual/auto transmission treatment... But got snake oil problem, sudden stop using treatment then engine kong faster la... rclxub.gif
Bought X1-R engine treatment from Proton Parts Centre till now also din use, pricing enough for me to get a better gauge doh.gif
cyanboy
post Dec 17 2011, 01:02 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 17 2011, 12:33 PM)
I have had Sagas in the 80s, Wira+Iswara from the 90s but none of them ever came with this stock CAI! It just stops at the end of that 'elephant' trunk. Where can I find this?? Might want to give it a try on my Iswara....
The answer is below:
QUOTE(cyanboy @ Dec 16 2011, 06:44 PM)
I can verify its true... its 39.90 I think... Stretchable up to 2m easily... It's Turbo hose stated on the box, but i guess can use also?

It even comes with two coloured rings and two tightener, no need buy separately.

Or if you want stock CAI like VERY VERY old proton saga one can get from here:
AME AUTO PARTS (PJ) SDN. BHD.
25, Jalan 21/11A SEA Park
Petaling Jaya 46300
Selangor.

It's a proton parts stockist. The CAI hose is not in production anymore and even the Proton parts shoppe in Glenmarie also habis stock since 2007... When I bought at RM60 (VERY expensive, if glenmarie only selling at RM51 in 2007), it doesn't even come with a fastener... Got the fasterner at another RM4... I just bought it last month...

The boss say still have "some" stocks for this... But I dunno now still have or not as I had posted the place at
Practical mods/add ons for saga iswara
Btw the item code in the receipt is MD108871, description is "DUCT, AIR CLEANER HOSE PVC", Model "SAGA,ISW 12V".
The last stockist with the hose... Or you can try Proton stockist near your area... Maybe they dun even realise they have it / make a profit out of this old old junk hose!
cyanboy
post Dec 18 2011, 07:16 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 17 2011, 01:20 PM)
aaaaah..... maybe i can find one in ebay!!! smile.gif

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NOS-Mopar-Airduct-...1-/230589494516
Waliao-eh? Malaysia takde USA ada? doh.gif

QUOTE(fleekreturn @ Dec 17 2011, 04:15 PM)
I sold mine to one of the forumers past few months. I remembered posting up here but seems like no one is interested. Haha. Rare item~
Well, I was very keen in finding it in Nov when I got the car, but I got the CAI on my first try... Sorry bro, would be nice if can deal with you.

QUOTE(DiamondBar @ Dec 18 2011, 12:53 AM)
I am afraid Proton Saga does not have front reinforcement steel bar,
who do you guys think?  Please see the picture:
I don't think we have that right?

QUOTE(Codyx @ Dec 18 2011, 01:09 AM)
just use a coke tin to DIY one....spinning props is just to create turbulence....not need to spin wan fix also same...waste money

unless just for fun

btw, this reported retarding engine performance....so dun buy laugh.gif
Luckily it's reported... If not a lot more people will get conned.
cyanboy
post Dec 19 2011, 07:37 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 19 2011, 09:09 AM)
u mean this kind of bar ? http://www.mudah.my/Kangroo+BAR+Eterna+mod...ra-12268077.htm

anyway, d saga lmst do have steel plate at d bumper there to absorb super minor accident..
Add those bar on iswara? Need to check whether nice or not le. But not that good if banging people on their back, sure kena their rear bonnet kau kau...

Maybe install on back of LMST, then no need scare kena bang+damage banger's car kau kau. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(sun1989 @ Dec 19 2011, 09:53 AM)
hi guys ... my iswara car lock alarm sometimes nt functioning.
anyone of you know the location of the remote receiver ?? something is definately wrong with it as I press my remote but nth happen. sometimes it just function suddenly..
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 19 2011, 10:41 AM)
change battery d?
Try change battery first as suggested. Location of alarm box is at driver's side accelerator pedal there. It's on the right of the accelerator pedal. Just need to pull the carpet on the right then can see dy. A black box, on top of it sticked with a copper wire insulated with silicon-ish insulation. The wire is it's antenna. Read somewhere before try to straighten it hmm.gif (Check with uncle google)

If last time can activate alarm very far but now very near only can activate/not functioning, its battery.
If last time can activate alarm but need to be very near to car's body, after change battery also like that, then open up your remote. You'll notice something which can be turned with a precision screwdriver. Thats some sort of capacitor which can adjust transmitting power/range/wavelength or some sort of stuffs. Turn a little (Like 1mm) at a time and press the button until you get the max range or desired range. You may need to try a few complete turns only can get.

My family waja used to need to touch the car body's only can activate alarm with new battery, after adjusting the capacitor, now can range more than 5-8 meters easily (stock alarm). From McD second floor to opposite road side parking icon_rolleyes.gif

But i'm not sure whether will consume remote battery faster as need more transmitting power, but currently don't have this problem yet. Few years already heavily used the GP battery still main tahan. Maybe because just need to press less than 1 sec per time as the remote signal is strong, compared to my LMST which need to press 2-3 sec near car only can get it activate, which will waste the battery more. I had adjusted my LMST remote, only managed to get 2meters max doh.gif , not thinking of changing battery yet (It's like RM8 per piece!)
cyanboy
post Dec 22 2011, 07:46 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Dec 22 2011, 02:28 AM)
Basket, poison me kau-kau in the middle of the night...
I feel like group buy already!!! Who else is interested?
Midnight poison eh? drool.gif
Pricing not stated?
cyanboy
post Dec 22 2011, 01:52 PM

257 posts

I had seen people DIY cut-off fuel pump thingy as extra security for "el-cheapo" alarm...
But iswara LMST uses ancient mechanical fuel pump right?

Can I use this wire and add a switch to thid connector to enable/disable the "thing"?
When I installed my vacuum meter, I plug out the connector as it's blocking my installation.
But I forgotten to plug it in and attempted to start the car... The car cranks but engine doesn't start. Attempted like 5 mins only found out didn't plug in this connector.

What is this wire for?
This connector near air filter:

The plug wire leads to here:

EDIT:
Another extra ques... What is this port for? It's under our driver side dashboard...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 22 2011, 05:50 PM
cyanboy
post Dec 24 2011, 09:47 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Dec 24 2011, 02:33 AM)
thats is fuel cut out solonoid
our saga iswara have starter kill immobolizer
not sure lmst have it though
its a black box mounted at firewall near the starter

You mean this pic on our carburator is starter kill solenoid? I won't be able to start the car when I disconnect the wire... Only can crank till starter kong...

This port...

I found out dy. I wanted to install my Turbo Timer initially but found out this new stuff to play with... This port original intention is a reminder for key not removed after engine off... Like those car will beep if key not removed...
It has zero resistance between the pins when key is inserted and connection unlatched when key is inserted... It acted like some type of switch... Anyway, I had figured out the wiring and may post on my blog bout this next year whistling.gif ...

Btw all the images are taken from LMST...
EDIT: Added spoiler and bigger pic for the port...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 24 2011, 09:51 AM
cyanboy
post Dec 25 2011, 01:34 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Codyx @ Dec 25 2011, 11:36 AM)
added a relay to my starter.....ignition was a breeze now:D
Sometimes if my gear not positioned correctly the car seemed to can't start... I'm driving LMST though...
Eg: I must shift the gear to the right only can start... But sometimes this method doesn't work out also... Engine stalled in middle of road and it just go "click"... Waliao-eh!

I think time to add starter relay sad.gif

EDIT: Btw, what wire you used to add to the relay part... Cause I scare wire too thin... Those used in household extension cords wiring thick enough?

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 25 2011, 01:37 PM
cyanboy
post Dec 29 2011, 02:29 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Dec 29 2011, 08:58 AM)
Thank you so much bro for your time replying. You have a point there. Ill also change to ori part I guess. Actually what I meant for the RM200 is, I thought we can get a complete NEW meter for around RM200 not a second hand doh.gif . But that was just a guess blush.gif . I thought like this odometer was around RM70 maybe for a new part. Newer new how much is it actually. Now I know.  rclxms.gif

Im also looking forward to install Cold Air Intake but dont know where can I find the hose. Does accessory shop sell the hose and do installation?
If you want ori saga CAI like this:

Then try to search at proton stokist... I got mine at RM60 which is kinda expensive... It fits the square hole on your engine bay... Insulation? You can opt for insulflex and gao tim...
Thats all in my blog...
But if you want aftermarket type go find sifu catacomb as suggested...

Huhu... Just added key buzzer... Now the beeping sound makes me feel like i'm entering a waja...

EDIT: Added spoiler... sorry for the darn large size... doh.gif

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Dec 29 2011, 02:40 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0612sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:16 PM