6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

RAMChYLD
post Apr 2 2012, 01:56 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 1 2012, 09:49 PM)
If I posted here on 31-03-2012 that Astro will launch SyFy HD Channel 439 on 01-04-2012, will anyone believe me IF true ?
Given that there's still nothing about repealing the exclusive programming law and TM has SyFy HD... sweat.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 2 2012, 03:51 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 2 2012, 03:15 PM)
If Astro got SyFy HD with subtitles, sure it's nice since the Unifi one have none... brows.gif  brows.gif
Give feedback to SyFy and/or TM tongue.gif If enough people write in they'll add it to their to-do list. After all, UniFi IPTV STB has subtitle support...

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 2 2012, 03:51 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 3 2012, 12:50 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 2 2012, 09:54 PM)

If only the goverment would be nicer on 2017... brows.gif  brows.gif
Sad thing, expanded to 2025 by the s#!* SKMM iirc cry.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 5 2012, 01:41 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 5 2012, 11:48 AM)
Still, takes forever. No one can wait 10 years shakehead.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 5 2012, 05:20 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 5 2012, 02:03 PM)
This means no nationwide take off  vmad.gif  chances to end up like mitv hmm.gif At least megatv covered most parts of the nation. cry.gif
Exactly. Which is why I think they'll fail.

It's impossible to have nationwide takeoff if using fiber, unless you have one or two dozen contractors per district and willing to pump out ultra huge capital, and you keep constant pressure on the contractors to make sure they roll out fast and within days of signing up.

15 contractors only is a joke. No way 15 contractors can cover whole of Malaysia let alone Klang Valley.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 5 2012, 05:20 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 6 2012, 01:15 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 5 2012, 08:49 PM)
Presently, we are using two satellites, named... MEASAT 3 and MESAT 3A. I don't know how long these two will last until its fuel is finished, go out-of-orbit and falls back to earth. New satellites will have to be launched when the time comes, maybe MEASAT 4.
Stupid thng is, MEASAT 1 and 2 is still up there. Just that both has been apparently given, rented or sold off to South Africa and renamed Africasat 1 and 2 vmad.gif mad.gif

WTF gomen! That was suposed to be a national heritage! It even has a few groundbreaking features and world firsts! vmad.gif mad.gif

If MEASAT had just kept both, we'd have more bandwidth! But no! they apparently wrote the two off so Assteruk can play the "not enough bandwidth" card! mad.gif vmad.gif

* Sos cili that Measat 1 & 2 renamed and moved to Africa: http://space.skyrocket.de/doc_sdat/measat-1.htm

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 6 2012, 01:27 AM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 6 2012, 10:07 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 6 2012, 03:17 AM)
The total is 72 transponders. The Byond box can select 12 available Ku-band transponders from MEASAT 3 and 6 available Ku-band transponders from MEASAT 3A.

So.. not total 64 transponders from MEASAT 3 & 3A as was told by my friend, hehe. I will give feedback to him and tease him, haha!
Well, note that some of the transponders are designated as "spare", in case of breakdown. Maybe it will be used in the future tho. So maybe he meant oly 64 is in use...

Correct me if I am wrong... Africasat 1 & 2 is still operated by MEASAT so I assume that it was not sold, only rented all the transponders in the two satellites.
Possibly, but if it's only rented out, why the rename? hmm.gif

From a business standpoint of making more profits, selling off or renting transponders to others is understandable. In my own personal opinion, I would be more inclined to believe that the "not enough bandwidth" excuse (if used) by Assteruk is to hide and divert attention to the exclusive monopoly it enjoyed and will continue to enjoy until 2017 and which could be extended further.
Iirc already extended further to 2025 in 2009. Those SKMM b*****ds...

... this only shows to me that "the exclusive license aka monopoly" to protect the billions of ringgit investment is only just bull-sh** !

In my opinion... culture is for the rakyat to continue practicing but national heritage is to make fat profits for "you-know-who".
Agreed!

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 6 2012, 10:18 AM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 6 2012, 10:44 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 6 2012, 10:05 PM)
May I request you to provide me the website link which shows detailed info on the license extension to 2025 by SKMM. Please don't misunderstand me as I am a curious person who likes to enquire a lot and find out more on anything that interest me. My apologies for my ignorance.
Good point. I remember reading it in The Star. But now I cannot find it either.

Maybe I remember wrong thing? hmm.gif

Edit: Ok, turns out I was half right. After some tenuous digging, it turns out that the sos was NST, it was 1998 not 1999, and sos article has been removed. But a copy has been preserved in another thread in LYN: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/670019/all

"We will maintain their exclusivity," he said, adding that Astro's operating license until 2022 under the two abolished Acts would be replaced with a new license."

So it's not 2025, but 2022. Still, 5 years if I didn't misunderstand the article... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 6 2012, 10:50 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 7 2012, 02:24 AM

1,715 posts

Correction: it's 2008, not 1998, and 2009, not 1999. My calendar cuckoo already.

And I'm now more convinced that I may have misread the article at that time, after reading it over again, probably anger from the article saying gomen blocking Assteruk from bringing in new channel- just when all my favorite shows moving from channels Assteruk has to channels Assteruk doesn't have - caused bias and read error.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 7 2012, 02:32 AM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 9 2012, 10:29 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 9 2012, 05:54 PM)
( lots off stuff )
I beg to differ. Not sure if the issue Max204 facing is due to new FW, but when I upgraded to bae-yong in December 2009 (my last year before cancel), I had HDMI going to TV and Composite (yellow-red-white cable) going to old VCR (yes, I still use one to play back old archival tapes and make archival recording at that time). Never had that issue. The error only cropped up when I tried to experiment and connected the Assteruk bae-yong directly to a BlackMagic Intensity Pro card on my MCPC (My MCPC has 5.1 channel surround speaker and 1080p display! At that time Assteruk not yet release PVR function yet, which is one of my motives for integrating Assteruk to MCPC- want PVR function and use 5.1 speaker kit), which of course is programmed to deny HDCP copy-once and copy-never signal. Also, Assteruk bae-yong Component (RGB/YPbPr) is already adhering to analog sunset, can only output 576i signal one. Last I checked HD video is downscaled to 576i and simultaneously output with HDMI.

It could be his TV acting up (HDCP chip fry?) or simply, his assteruk decoder HDCP fry (lightning? since most people dun turn off and unplug even when lightning, I'm inclined to think it a possibility), or simply cable loose or oxidization of HDMI cable contacts on either end. If he has a HDCP splitter or HDCP wireless transceiver, it could be that fry too. My advice would be to try a different TV using HDMI, and if that fails, call Assteruk.

My experience with bae-yong was over 2 years ago tho. Maybe newer firmware blocks analog out. Either way, I dun care, Assteruk already step on my toe, not dealing with them ever again.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 9 2012, 10:38 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 10 2012, 02:35 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 10 2012, 02:56 AM)
When Max204 posted for help with only "Copy Protection Failed" messsage and a picture, I think you can agree with me that Max204 gave too little info. He did not mention whether he used Byond or Byond PVR or whether 1 or 2 TVs is used. He did not mention what actually happened before the message appeared.
Yeah, that's true. I agree.

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 10 2012, 02:56 AM)
Maybe Max204 is only using 1 HDTV with Byond PVR (with internal harddisk). I phoned to my installer friend and he also don't know the actual reason. He told me a few things... could it be that he have Byond PVR and switched off power completely (not standby) with live rewind still in use ? I am lazy to check what its actually called so I used "live rewind". Example.... this PVR function allows user to immediately rewind to watch a missed goal while watching a Live Telecast of a football match. This means the PVR is actually recording the Live match to harddisk while we are still watching the match. My friend told me that switching PVR totally off immediately without first putting on standby may cause problems and the PVR should always be in standby because switching off may have caused failure to add copy protection to recorded files which may be why the PVR shows the message.  Max204 problem may not be due to HDCP.
Peace  smile.gif
Interesting observation smile.gif Yeah, I dun know about that. As mentioned, my last experience with bae-yong was between December 2009 and December 2010.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 10 2012, 02:36 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 11 2012, 03:46 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 11 2012, 12:36 PM)
doh.gif 17 location in 2 years? Freaking kidding me.

They'll need to target whole of Klang Valley and Straits settlement plus other major cities and outskirts in two years if they want to be successful.

Sounds like history is repeating itself. They still haven't figure out why assteruk is so popular (hint: Almost full coverage of Malaysia upon launch).

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 11 2012, 03:50 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 16 2012, 03:15 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(chikana @ Apr 16 2012, 03:09 PM)
Popular in Jakarta too because they can receive Measat satelitte footprint. On high demand during last World Cup.....
But then in Jakarta big ugly dish receiver is legal...
RAMChYLD
post Apr 19 2012, 02:28 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 19 2012, 09:40 AM)
Rais thinks he has done a good job and perhaps trying to get more attention,he is one of the useless ministers still in the cabinet
I hate that fella like poison. He's the one that initially approve Assteruk's price hike last year, remember? After rakyat complain, he put on show only to cover his ass, price still rise.

And of course, I will never forgive him for Internet censorship blocking of FS sites (I think P2P also kena for a few days, Steam which is using P2P protocol also suddenly become unusably slow). Seksa dun get to continue watching show that NTV7 cancelled halfway through it's run because of him. And also will never forgive him for banning Erykah Badu over a stupid reason (Erykah Badu guest appeared in a show I liked. Said show also kena cancel halfway through it's run).

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 19 2012, 02:35 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 20 2012, 03:22 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 20 2012, 07:35 AM)
Yes, I do know that RTM already have test digital channel now. Anyone heard anything about TV3 test digital channel ?
They did a test using the Chinese DMB-T system in 2008. I actually got to watch quite a bit of it because by sheer luck I ended up with a handheld DMB-T receiver.

Not very good, framerate very choppy.

The signal has vanished last I tried it tho. Unless the decoder's tuner, being Chinese made, has died. But then again, it is still capable of picking up RTM DMB/DAB Radio test signal (and before this, RTM's DMB-T TV test signal, which is now also gone).

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 20 2012, 03:57 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 21 2012, 11:44 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 21 2012, 11:08 AM)
Told'ya so. brows.gif
Well, signal no longer on air. Is there any wonder why? laugh.gif

Most likely they'll be forced to pick DVB-T2 when RTM digital launches this..., er, next year.
RAMChYLD
post Apr 22 2012, 08:18 AM

1,715 posts

ABN didn't even respond to my question about where it's initial rollout is going to be, and how long before they cover Klang...

Why do I have a feeling that ABN is just an illusion created to trick people into thinking that the gomen is doing something about assteruk's monopoly?

Btw, TM will be dropping Fashion TV from their lineup in May. So much for that...

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 22 2012, 08:21 AM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 22 2012, 10:22 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 22 2012, 09:19 PM)
More like Aku Benci Najib. laugh.gif  rclxm9.gif
notworthy.gif

Hmmm... The notice say channel 143 only. There's another Fashion TV channel on 142. Both shows different programming tho.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 22 2012, 10:32 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 23 2012, 10:23 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 22 2012, 11:04 PM)
So, both Unifi and Maxis IPTV got it... hmm.gif
Maxis, sister company of Assteruk, using it's older sister tricks - "exclusivity" - to lock in channels. I can see where this is going. Still, TM already got Trace Sports, and Maxis Internet salesperson once told me most likely Maxis IPTV and TM IPTV will share channels once launched. So maybe some (if not all) of TM's channels will also go to Maxis IPTV and vice-versa?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 23 2012, 10:29 AM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 23 2012, 04:24 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 23 2012, 03:36 PM)
Speaking of which, TM just announced that France 24 is added to Unifi channel (RM20/month). Astro? Not a single damn new news channel... sweat.gif
It costs money? I thought they were giving it away for free. I noticed it it since two weeks ago.

Questionable if people will want to pay for it tho, the channel is available free of charge on SPB TV. Still, good effort. I notice that the programming on SPB TV's France 24 is different from Unifi's- compared them side by side, it's not just a 10 second delay, but entire programming is different.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 23 2012, 04:30 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0688sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:00 PM