TSg5sim
post Apr 9 2008, 03:17 PM, updated 17y ago

5,750 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Astro barred from increasing channels until services improve

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tue...icle/index_html

Astro is barred from increasing the number of channels until it improves its services to the satisfaction of the Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission (MCMC). It has also been given a December deadline to comply with the Multimedia Communications Act 1998.

Astro's license was issued in 1997 under Telecoms Act and Broadcasting Act which were abolished and replaced by the newer Act. MCMC, under the Energy, Water and Communications Ministry, has decided to rap Astro on the knuckles following numerous public complaints on its services.

Minister Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor said the number of complaints had increased in recent years along with the growing number of Astro subscribers, now over two million.

"When Astro migrates to the newer Act, MCMC will be able to conduct better enforcement. It is also better to have all broadcasting stations under the same Act," he said. Other TV stations are governed by the 1998 legislation.

Among the complaints MCMC has noted are the late payment fee of RM10, disconnection upon a month's delayed payment, reconnection fees, technical support fees, disrupted services during bad weather, billing disputes, lack of choice in packages offered, and content of certain programmes.

Shaziman also said it was unclear if certain packages were priced correctly as they included channels which showed programmes that were not related to the package theme.

"We have decided not to allow Astro to add more channels until MCMC is satisfied that they have improved their services. We also hope they will migrate to the newer Act by the end of the year. More importantly, they should focus on improving services," Shaziman told reporters after a meeting with MCMC members.

He assured Astro that coming under the new Act would not mean the loss of its exclusive rights until 2017 to be the sole operator of direct-to-home broadcasting via satellite.

"We will maintain their exclusivity," he said, adding that Astro's operating license until 2022 under the two abolished Acts would be replaced with a new license.

He said in 1999, Astro had then indicated it was willing to migrate to the new Act but till now, had not done so.

Shaziman also urged Astro to provide more package options with cheaper pricing as this would benefit lower-income households, many of whom are subscribers.

He also said the company should sponsor services to about 140,000 households in rural and remote areas which did not receive terrestrial television as part of their social responsibility.

"We had made an earlier proposal to them on this but they declined and wanted the government to pay for it."

He urged Astro to dialogue with the MCMC.

syazwanreno
post Apr 9 2008, 03:25 PM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

good move by the gov,

already read the newspaper....

wonder if the gov will do something bout our internet later.......
zildj
post Apr 9 2008, 03:45 PM

244 posts

astro monopolised.. gov should do more to pressure them.. hope rtm dvb-t to be launch quickly.. so that more tv service will rival astro..
driftmeister
post Apr 9 2008, 04:05 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

dam i hate Astro day by day
from the day i subscribe (1997)
the ads is very few
lasted for around 5 mins i think
now when start ads
i come LYN see the replies
go back TV still ads
sigh shakehead.gif
cyew86
post Apr 9 2008, 06:00 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

and still no HD sad.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Apr 9 2008, 07:01 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

i only watch astro 4 BOLA...the rest i feck it off

Added on April 9, 2008, 7:03 pmno doubt astro sucks since i cant bare with no BOLA because of heavy rain laugh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Apr 9 2008, 07:03 PM
unknown
post Apr 9 2008, 07:09 PM

12,012 posts

I want HD for sports CH.
tifosi
post Apr 9 2008, 09:11 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,155 posts

Yeah, their service sucks but what to do, many ppl like me cant live without live football, F1 etc. Monopoly = bad for us, good for them
maximus85
post Apr 10 2008, 02:23 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

subscribe Astro = no Astro...

my hometown Ipoh there.....everyday the channels cannot receive clean signal coz KL here every farking day rain (now outside also raining in Puchong) vmad.gif

my father always complaint....even though Ipoh weather good doesn't means the signal will be good too coz if Puchong's Astro station here cloudy or raining...also cannot receive...fark that... doh.gif doh.gif

waste money only.....hopefully garment can improve the internet speeds so that TV programme can be watch thru internet.....

nowadays i only use internet to watch football..... no need to worry the weather..... sometimes its really fark up when at mamak stall watching then rain and cannot receive....got big screen and projector also no use la cheebai....
m o m o
post Apr 10 2008, 03:57 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(unknown @ Apr 9 2008, 07:09 PM)
I want HD for sports CH.
HD sounds good dude...

yeah, Astero has been pissing a lot of people off...esp abt the late payment of bills, the reconnection fee and all those crap...i mean, how hard is it for them to reconnect? a few clicks away man... ini macam bikin bisnes takda bagus lar...

but then again, wut to do, kena watch bola...and no other providers... macam telekom monopoly, first class infrastructure, service? hmmmmmmmm! macam ****
obefiend
post Apr 10 2008, 04:42 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

good one gomen!

i hate the fact that they added " free channels" like 734, 733, 731 and then hike up the subscription. i also get 4 free indian channel that i dont need. not to mention 4 malay channels with INDO content most of the time. FREE? what free? im paying through my nose now. then suddenly 24 months ago the 731-724 channel suddenly tak free lagi. kena subscribe pulak. did the subscription go down? no! it stayed the same.

then there is the littel problem of ADVERTS

hey astro. its a PAID television channel kan? cable tv where got advert patutnya. if advert only advert on your packages i can accept lah. but no! you get stupid maxis+celcom+digi avdert. during pilihanraya lagi teruk. Even Astro aired the BN campaign add. i feel like lamping the TV with my balls. its sooo annoying.

as for HD......dream on. they cant even get analog transmission corect nak mengada-ngada transmit HD. not gonna happen. well not until 2013 i think since only RTM is doing the digital transmission demo in lembah kelang.

ah apa apa lah. just as long as i get my weekly bola ( and ocassional continenatl footie + history channel) i tak kisah lah
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 10 2008, 04:47 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Anyone haven't receive their ASTRO GUIDE mag?
I haven't receive mine since March 2008 doh.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Apr 10 2008, 04:47 PM
mythies
post Apr 10 2008, 07:03 PM

ananda krishnan, the owner must be having sleepless night liaw
when he hear this...
roy_pck
post Apr 10 2008, 07:22 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!
552 posts

i've just cut my packages from dynasty+sports+fun (RM94.95) to sports+fun only (RM54.95). not worth la to subscribe dynasty package. WLT keep on showing some old shows sleep.gif if it wasn't i couldn't live without football, i would have cut Astro totally. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by roy_pck: Apr 10 2008, 07:23 PM
obefiend
post Apr 10 2008, 09:24 PM

863 posts

roy_PCK

series repetition is not endemic to dynasty. even knowledge package repeat same old crap over and over again.but at least those disovery channel one is worth watching even 100 times. i never grew tired of Mythbusters or History Channel.
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 11 2008, 06:33 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(mythies @ Apr 10 2008, 07:03 PM)
ananda krishnan, the owner must be having sleepless night liaw
when he hear this...
During Tun Mahathir's time...Ananda need not to worry.

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Apr 10 2008, 07:22 PM)
i've just cut my packages from dynasty+sports+fun (RM94.95) to sports+fun only (RM54.95). not worth la to subscribe dynasty package. WLT keep on showing some old shows sleep.gif if it wasn't i couldn't live without football, i would have cut Astro totally.  vmad.gif
nod.gif
I only subscribed Sports for Formula One.

pirateguy
post Apr 11 2008, 07:47 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Apr 9 2008, 03:17 PM)
He assured Astro that coming under the new Act would not mean the loss of its exclusive rights until 2017 to be the sole operator of direct-to-home broadcasting via satellite.

This is the main problem.

RAMChYLD
post Apr 11 2008, 11:15 PM

1,715 posts

lack of choice in packages offered

So, if they refuse new channels, then how are they going to increase choice?

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Apr 11 2008, 07:47 PM)
This is the main problem.
Agreed. Baka one. If they're smart, lift the monopoly rights completely. Then ASTRO force to compete to offer better value-for-money, better price and provide better service. Entertainment technology in Malaysia move forward faster and become in par with the rest of the world. Everybody wins.

But instead they do this, which is probably not so much as going to help (ASTRO has excuse to not add channel, so they save $$$ from licensing). *Sigh* so much for getting Boomerang and BabyTV.

I think I go bury myself in Marmalade now. I miss Paddington Bear and they're showing it on Boomerang last I checked Starhub CableTV Singapore guide sad.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 11 2008, 11:26 PM
obefiend
post Apr 12 2008, 06:29 AM

863 posts

to be honest i wont miss astro that much if the thing went bust. i get most of my TV show from torrent anyway. better pic quality and no adverts. plus i can watch it anytime i want.

what happened to the malaysian TIVO. i remember him promoting the thing a few years ago. MiTV or something it was called.
EroS
post Apr 12 2008, 09:42 AM

2,902 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Apr 10 2008, 04:47 PM)
Anyone haven't receive their ASTRO GUIDE mag?
I haven't receive mine since March 2008  doh.gif
astro guide need subscription money rite??
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Apr 12 2008, 11:04 AM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(EroS @ Apr 12 2008, 09:42 AM)
astro guide need subscription money rite??
no need one laugh.gif once you pasang astro, the guide will come 4 free brows.gif
Soulsareworthless
post Apr 13 2008, 02:53 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

Aiya, UMNO lose election already now trying to squeeze out more money from Ananda... doh.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Apr 13 2008, 10:33 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Apr 12 2008, 06:29 AM)
to be honest i wont miss astro that much if the thing went bust. i get most of my TV show from torrent anyway. better pic quality and no adverts. plus i can watch it anytime i want.

what happened to the malaysian TIVO. i remember him promoting the thing a few years ago. MiTV or something it was called.
LOL the internetzzzz revolution 4 the 11111oneoneone!!!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

MiTV has gone busted long ago dy i think laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
aiman04
post Apr 14 2008, 07:55 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

This won't hurt much. Just suspend their license, if you got real balls gomen. tongue.gif

PS: RTM doing testing digital transmission in Klang Valley? How to join ar? hmm.gif

I want HD broadcasting in 2 years (in my dreams more likely! tongue.gif )
whatsupbro
post Apr 14 2008, 11:33 AM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

HD HD HD HD.... i need HD...

Please la Astro we need HD cos without HD we just wasting the technology here....

RTM... urghh.. they need to change their style...it just so bad....
paqralos
post Apr 14 2008, 11:42 AM

p@qY
4,476 posts

what is hd broadcasting btw?? tongue.gif
hehe.. sorry noob here..
in my opinion, i think astro is too expensive for us nowadays, they have actually added our burden as a consumer because everything else is increasing in price and they have got a lot of sponsors and advertisements. so i think it's irrelevant if they want to increase their price some more doh.gif
whatsupbro
post Apr 14 2008, 11:45 AM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

HD broadcasting is a High Definition Picture specifically for Plasme TV or LCD TV that support higher resolution... that is what I know... maybe anyone can explain better...
paqralos
post Apr 14 2008, 11:47 AM

p@qY
4,476 posts

hmm.. yeah i think the same way as well. isn't it almost the same??? i mean if you're using the normal tv, you will have the same effects only isn't it?? tongue.gif

RViN
post Apr 14 2008, 11:54 AM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Apr 12 2008, 11:04 AM)
no need one laugh.gif once you pasang astro, the guide will come 4 free brows.gif
Read up on Astro website... its free no more wink.gif
paqralos
post Apr 14 2008, 11:57 AM

p@qY
4,476 posts

wahh the guide book also have to charge?? then go and eat shit la ask all of them doh.gif
TSg5sim
post Apr 14 2008, 11:59 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(paqralos @ Apr 14 2008, 11:47 AM)
hmm.. yeah i think the same way as well. isn't it almost the same??? i mean if you're using the normal tv, you will have the same effects only isn't it?? tongue.gif
the tv contents that we are currently having are all in standard definition. just check the resolution. yellow and read color = standard dvd. the rest are high def resolutions

read more:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-definition_television

This post has been edited by g5sim: Apr 14 2008, 12:05 PM

paqralos
post Apr 14 2008, 12:00 PM

p@qY
4,476 posts

k thank you tongue.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 14 2008, 02:30 PM

1,715 posts

PS: RTM doing testing digital transmission in Klang Valley? How to join ar?  hmm.gif 

First, you go to All IT Hypermarket and buy a TV card with the DVB-T logo (I saw mostly USB one, but got one or two PCI one). Install the card, then manually scan frequency 658MHz (got 1,2,RTMi, Muzik Aktif and Arena) and 674MHz (got RTMi and Muzik Aktif). Your mileage may vary. In Teluk Pulai Klang, Indoor antenna with booster can barely pick up 658MHz stream (roughly 40-60% signal) with the antenna booster set to maximum, but the 674MHz stream very clear (full signal) with same booster setting. Without booster, indoor antenna cannot receive at all. sweat.gif

Good luck!

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 14 2008, 02:31 PM
TSg5sim
post Apr 14 2008, 02:35 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 14 2008, 02:30 PM)
First, you go to All IT Hypermarket and buy a TV card with the DVB-T logo (I saw mostly USB one, but got one or two PCI one). Install the card, then manually scan frequency 658MHz (got 1,2,RTMi, Muzik Aktif and Arena) and 674MHz (got RTMi and Muzik Aktif). Your mileage may vary. In Teluk Pulai Klang, Indoor antenna with booster can barely pick up 658MHz stream (roughly 40-60% signal) with the antenna booster set to maximum, but the 674MHz stream very clear (full signal) with same booster setting. Without booster, indoor antenna cannot receive at all. sweat.gif

Good luck!
wah lidat my TV tuner card oso ken receive lah. will try whoohooooo!

from wiki

RTMi is a digital television channel owned fully by Radio Televisyen Malaysia. It is also known as Digital Terrestrial Television Broadcasting (DTTB). Its test broadcast began in 2000 chosen residential homes surrounding Klang Valley for 6 months starting in September 2006, using the DVB-T standard. The test ended in March 2007, involving the installation and the interpretation of the "Set Top Boxes" in the respective homes. During the period, DTTB will be broadcast daily from 7PM until 12 midnight (for 5 hours), previewing programmes that are shown on RTM1, RTM2, RTMi and Muzik Aktif. This digitalization test is estimated to cost over RM76 million. The transmitters used were provided by Harmonic Inc.

In April 2007, RTM has announced that digital transmission will persist despite the test period being over due to the positive response received during the period and plans for further testing involving different video/audio codecs.

As of February 2008, the channel is available in the Klang Valley to the appropriate receivers at 674MHz and 658MHz. The 674MHz channel carries RTMi as TV 6 and Muzik Aktif as TV7, while the 658MHz channel carries a simulcast of RTM1 and RTM2 as well as RTMi (with it's broadcasting hours extended, starting transmission at 3PM daily and ending sometime between midnight and 2AM), Muzik Aktif (which now broadcasts 24 hours), Arena (which Broadcasts for two hours between 3PM to 5PM), a demo channel called EPG, and Radio Aktif, a simulcast of the 7 RTM-owned radio stations in the Klang Valley.

Datacasting services in this project is the Superteks channel that include Berita Aktif airing 24/7.

During the test period, a research to collect feedback and to access the number of viewers will take place.

During the digital transmission off periods, RTM no longer uses the Philips test card, instead opting for a color bar test card.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Apr 14 2008, 02:38 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 15 2008, 11:45 AM

1,715 posts

from wiki

Yah, I know. I submitted that tongue.gif

There could be more channels, but I could only get 1,2,i,EPG,Muzik and Arena as well as the radio channels because using cheap rabbit ears antenna with booster.
aiman04
post Apr 15 2008, 12:17 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 15 2008, 11:45 AM)

There could be more channels, but I could only get 1,2,i,EPG,Muzik and Arena as well as the radio channels because using cheap rabbit ears antenna with booster.
Must use PC ar? Normal HDTV cannot?
TSg5sim
post Apr 15 2008, 01:20 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 15 2008, 11:45 AM)

haha thankies - i thought wiki embedded there spies everywhere in the world. they know things that even people from their own countries do not know sweat.gif

Must use PC ar? Normal HDTV cannot?

if your tv has a built in DVB-T tunner, then sure you can tune in to the channels. HDTVs with built in HD Tuners should also have built in digital tuner. so no harm trying wink.gif
kirakracus
post Apr 15 2008, 02:36 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Apr 12 2008, 11:04 AM)
It's called Astro View. It's free for the next year - after you send in a huge survey that gives all the details about yourself/household. Then they'll start charging.

The thing I hate the most about Astro is where they manage to clip the show where the ads are not supposed to be i.e. the blackout part. Since they want to fit in more ads (their own ads 99% of the time) they put it earlier .. like when the guy is right at the end of his sentence. I find that extremely annoying.

Also how there's a subtitle on/off button but it really doesn't work. On most channels. Ever. When I'm watching a movie and it's there covering 1/5th the screen. The solution? Create a "subtitle" department and create a bunch of new jobs. Simple thing to keep customers satisfied + help the community biggrin.gif

The best thing Astro should do is come up with a way for someone to subscribe to specific channels they want. Do away with all these packages. For example just for NHK I have to sub to a package where I don't watch the other channels at all.
RAMChYLD
post Apr 15 2008, 04:43 PM

1,715 posts

if your tv has a built in DVB-T tunner, then sure you can tune in to the channels. HDTVs with built in HD Tuners should also have built in digital tuner. so no harm trying :wink:

Yah, but make sure your HD tuner is DVB-T type. ATSC (US standard) and ISDB (Japan Standard) type tuner most probably cannot receive.

But for now actually not really worth it lor. RTMi got so-and-so only programming, Muzik Aktif mostly Malay music (not that I have a problem with it, but not the kind of music I listen to, and more variety would be nice). And Arena only broadcast two hours a day.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 15 2008, 04:48 PM
pucman
post Oct 20 2008, 10:49 PM

319 posts

Astro sucks. If it was not a monopoly, it would have gone bankrupt long time ago.

I complained about the disabling of the subtitles and they didn't take any action.

The installer who came to install the dish is very lazy type too.
ericpires
post Oct 20 2008, 11:11 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Astro is stupid and expensive, we pay so much for what, we don't even get all the channels!!! U want to watch CS channel, or some new movie? pay more... dem fricking stupid.

Everyone boycott now!
pucman
post Mar 11 2009, 12:10 AM

319 posts

astro sucks.

What new channels are they offering in 2009 for the minorities ?
Goblinsk8er
post Mar 11 2009, 12:27 AM

306 posts

If only they can do the same thing to Streamyx.
Mgsrulz
post Mar 11 2009, 01:35 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Oct 20 2008, 11:11 PM)
Astro is stupid and expensive, we pay so much for what, we don't even get all the channels!!! U want to watch CS channel, or some new movie? pay more... dem fricking stupid.

Everyone boycott now!
boycott then how to watch football leh sad.gif

god damn monopoly

QUOTE(Goblinsk8er @ Mar 11 2009, 12:27 AM)
If only they can do the same thing to Streamyx.
yeah!
wtf...double standards bs doh.gif
skippro
post Mar 11 2009, 04:34 AM

914 posts

i wub.gif astro

This post has been edited by skippro: Mar 11 2009, 04:34 AM
shoduken
post Mar 11 2009, 04:49 AM

1,741 posts

oh great, gomen ban astro from adding new channel, but why they never get streamyx to be better? they shud ban streamyx from accepting new customer until their service is up to tip.. >.<
calibre2001
post Mar 11 2009, 07:06 AM

154 posts

Both streamyx and astro are damn complacent. They know people don't have a choice, so exploit them la. Look at astro dynasty package, is it worth RM40 a month while adding movie channel is just RM10/month? They know the chinese will pay for it regardless of cost.

Business in Malaysia is all about monopolies, not exactly capitalism now is it?
TSg5sim
post Mar 11 2009, 04:44 PM

5,750 posts

hehe - a slight good news - a former 'competitor' might be relaunching. I saw job ads for U Television. Most probably will have HD channels at launch wink.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/607279/+20

0.0290sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:47 PM