52 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Solar Water Heater

inyourheart
post Jun 11 2014, 09:51 AM

31 posts

Hm... I was looking for a solar water heater and here I am stuck with the debate. It also look like some seller might have few accounts too. Just like playing game, where we can create new ID and convince on weapon sale tongue.gif

Oh well, shits happen. I'll need to research more on Solar brand. Anyone got good recommendation? Someone who actually OWNED one smile.gif
stevie8
post Jun 12 2014, 02:18 AM

1,365 posts

Aiyoyo. why put all the blame on a sale man la? You people are funny. Look at the big picture man. He is not the owner of the company that got into difficulties. How the hell he knew it would end up like that as a distributor. So was one of you paying a deposit and not knowing would end up like this.

In this competitive business world it is normal, very normal for companies getting into difficulties and close shop and there go all the warranty and promises. Even banks big businesses, renown companies go burst. Lehman brothers, AIG, etc whom people trusted them with their money and lives savings! Even the trustees of the investors also got into trouble, remember 2008 credit crunch?

What do you expect a distributor or a reseller to do when the product he carried from the company when the company got into trouble. He has to survive and lives have to go on and feed the family. And so he switched brand to the new better promising company. Likewise, if the company you work with go bankrupt or in financial trouble no longer can pay your salary what do you do? Yes, you look elsewhere for a job, you leave that company, you cannot afford to sink with the company that is obvious you need to survive and feed your family and pay your house instalments, etc whatever. So all the promises you made when you were with the company to your customers cannot be fulfilled are you to be blame?

We cannot expect the salesman or the distributor to sell other products but still solar heater, the product he knows best. We cannot blame him for introducing us another solar water heater brand, can we? We cannot expect him to go sell potatoes or kacang puteh or car, right? Likewise you too will look for a similar kind of job you know best. If you are a software programmer don't tell me you go build bridges and highway. No way! No that no one will hire you but you yourself do not believe you can build bridges.

For that we blame him and ask him to sell elsewhere and not here in lowyatt? Is that fair to disqualify him? So the programmer who did a part of the program in the software product sold to many customers in Malaysia now has to migrate to Singapore or Australia?

Why sell the product from the splinter group? Who else or other brand you expect him to sell but from people he knows and he trusts? Microsolar? monier? or some china brands? You think you know everybody and everyone want to recruit you to sell their products and give you good margin? There are 6 or 7 billion people in the world you but our friends circles are narrow.

Still he tries his best to help but you people not only not appreciate his help but also frighten or make worry other formers from buying from him. To me he is a good and honest salesman never run away and try assuming responsibility that wasn't due to him.

By the way, I am only a former here. I just want to speak what is right. A good business person is hard to find and when we have one here you people don't understand.

A piece of advice. Never put a deposit when you not needing the product in a month regardless the offer. The company or anything can happen. The longer it is the higher the risk.
TSzheilwane
post Jun 12 2014, 09:41 PM

4,184 posts

well said stevie8 and thank you. As mentioned, there are many different stories to this case and we cant tell who is telling the truth but as mentioned, solar power haven bankrupt and still installing solar for us til today. To prove it, i went to check on my customer's installation today. Previously, Solar Power decided to discontinue Panel Type solar and only focus on Evacuated Tube due to lack of workers, we were worried that they might not be able to service our existing customer who already installed panel type solar, hence we negotiated with AquaSolar to provide the after sales service in case we needed them and they did, that is why we do not have ANGRY customers. FYI, other solar companies went to recruit exsiting Solar Power dealers including us and told us all sort of scary stories, many dealers actually went to solar power asking for their money back as big dealers actually paid CASH for bulk order discount and they were panic (rumors say one of them actually paid RM100k bulk order). However, recently Solar Power informed us that they will produce panel type solar back soon as they manage to get more workers now and asked us do not worry about warranty issue. There are many forumer who purchased solar power from us and all of their solar got installed and after sales service was also provided. If there is no service or installation, wouldnt the forumers who purchased from me bombard me in the forum? This is the difference between a normal dealer and us, we think ahead and try to find solutions instead of blaming the company only and asking back for our refund. We done a lot of work back scene for our customers that is how we earn our trust and reputation, been doing online biz so many years and i don think u can find a valid complain on us.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jun 12 2014, 10:16 PM
tingc
post Jun 25 2014, 02:10 PM

32 posts

I'm not sure about the truth on all the changes in Solar Power and how Aqua Solar came about, but I did get a new 66 gal panel type from Aqua Solar. I got the solar panel + pump pacakge from Zheilwane, and the only reason I did that was not because of how he sells himself in the forum but because I actually visited his shop and got some very practical and logical advise in many things related to sanitary ware, kitchen, bathroom etc. I do not trust adverts blindly but only trust what I see.

The Aqua Solar panel was installed in my new home earlier this month. Initially there has been some hiccups in terms of wrong location of the panel due to some technical matter related to my roof design. I wasn't very happy about it and called up Aqua Solar (Zheilwane gave me his number), and mentioned about my dissatisfaction. Within 3 days, Aqua Solar came back to relocate the solar panel with all interconnecting piping, at no cost. There were also a lot of phone calls in between myself and Aqua Solar related to queries on how the system works etc and I must say Aqua Solar has been very responsive in that sense

When Aqua Solar came back to relocate the panel, one of the owner came directly to look at the situation and later that day when the work was completed, he shared with me a lot of photos showing defects on my existing roof tiles and rusting on the roof ridges. My neighbours house had the same problem. Aqua Solar's worker actually helped me to put some temporary board to seal up some of the broken tiles to prevent water from getting through in case it rains heavily and sealed it up. The owner then contacted me and advised that I get a roof contractor to repair the roof asap.

This is the part that I am really impressed in terms of quality of service. Aqua Solar does not need to take the trouble to temporarily patch up the roof or even tell me about it, but they did exactly that. In today's time, excellent services do not always come along with products. Yes there was some hiccups initially but what is more important is how they reacted to it and on top of that, provided value added services.

For those who think I am just someone creating and account to say good things for Zheilwane or Aqua Solar, you can drop me a note and I will show you my house to see exactly what I mentioned above. I welcome those who are looking for Solar Panel to contact me if you want to see how the unit looks like, how it performs etc. I didnt write this up to help anyone but to make sure people who provided good service deserves what they should.

It is sad to see that people take the trouble to judge others unethically in a forum like that. I'm not saying Aqua Solar is fool proof and perfect (no one is anyway), but my experience so far has been good
Mohdnorazman
post Jun 25 2014, 05:57 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(tingc @ Jun 25 2014, 02:10 PM)
I'm not sure about the truth on all the changes in Solar Power and how Aqua Solar came about, but I did get a new 66 gal panel type from Aqua Solar. I got the solar panel + pump pacakge from Zheilwane, and the only reason I did that was not because of how he sells himself in the forum but because I actually visited his shop and got some very practical and logical advise in many things related to sanitary ware, kitchen, bathroom etc.  I do not trust adverts blindly but only trust what I see.

The Aqua Solar panel was installed in my new home earlier this month. Initially there has been some hiccups in terms of wrong location of the panel due to some technical matter related to my roof design. I wasn't very happy about it and called up Aqua Solar (Zheilwane gave me his number), and mentioned about my dissatisfaction. Within 3 days, Aqua Solar came back to relocate the solar panel with all interconnecting piping, at no cost. There were also a lot of phone calls in between myself and Aqua Solar related to queries on how the system works etc and I must say Aqua Solar has been very responsive in that sense

When Aqua Solar came back to relocate the panel, one of the owner came directly to look at the situation and later that day when the work was completed, he shared with me a lot of photos showing defects on my existing roof tiles and rusting on the roof ridges. My neighbours house had the same problem. Aqua Solar's worker actually helped me to put some temporary board to seal up some of the broken tiles to prevent water from getting through in case it rains heavily and sealed it up. The owner then contacted me and advised that I get a roof contractor to repair the roof asap.

This is the part that I am really impressed in terms of quality of service. Aqua Solar does not need to take the trouble to temporarily patch up the roof or even tell me about it, but they did exactly that. In today's time, excellent services do not always come along with products. Yes there was some hiccups initially but what is more important is how they reacted to it and on top of that, provided value added services.

For those who think I am just someone creating and account to say good things for Zheilwane or Aqua Solar, you can drop me a note and I will show you my house to see exactly what I mentioned above. I welcome those who are looking for Solar Panel to contact me if you want to see how the unit looks like, how it performs etc. I didnt write this up to help anyone but to make sure people who provided good service deserves what they should.

It is sad to see that people take the trouble to judge others unethically in a forum like that. I'm not saying Aqua Solar is fool proof and perfect (no one is anyway), but my experience so far has been good
Any picture during and after installation? My house mid of reno. Will install water heater solar system 'my solar'. Maybe from your picture i can alert if solar installer do something wrong.

tingc
post Jun 25 2014, 07:51 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Mohdnorazman @ Jun 25 2014, 05:57 PM)
Any picture during and after installation? My house mid of reno. Will install water heater solar system 'my solar'. Maybe from your picture i can alert if solar installer do something wrong.
Hi, the photos are in my mobile phone. I can share that with you no problem if you PM me your contacts. Basically, you want to make sure that the solar panel has maximum exposure to the sun at all time throughout the day. In my case, my roof design has 2 elevations. The panel was initially installed in the lower section, but then rectified and relocated quickly to the higher section to get maximum exposure to the sun.

I will send the photos to you so you can get a better idea on what I mean.
stevie8
post Jun 25 2014, 10:06 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(tingc @ Jun 25 2014, 07:51 PM)
Hi, the photos are in my mobile phone. I can share that with you no problem if you PM me your contacts. Basically, you want to make sure that the solar panel has maximum exposure to the sun at all time throughout the day. In my case, my roof design has 2 elevations. The panel was initially installed in the lower section, but then rectified and relocated quickly to the higher section to get maximum exposure to the sun.

I will send the photos to you so you can get a better idea on what I mean.
Why so secretive? Why cant just post photos here? If not prepared to share just don't post comments cause people like me just ignore all that had been said. Cause by pm you with phone no then one fine day someone call and sell you solar heater. Funny selling trick? As far as I know locating the panel for max effect is as easy as 1,2,3 for solar panel installers.
wa1k3r
post Aug 1 2014, 04:46 PM

96 posts

All the readings in this thread cant help me decide..in fact, am no where close to a decision.

1) solar mate -> recommended by 2 (different) very technically sound friend.
60galllon, 8tubes/panel
RM3,888 (Raya promo)

2) Aqua solar -> recommended by Builders Hardware
66gallon, 10tubes/panel
RM5,199 bundle with booster pump

3) my solar -> reviewed as most efficient by many forumers (altho i dunno why its more efficient)
60gallon, 7tubes/panel
RM4,999 bundle with Grundfos pump & outdoor water filter
If 60gallon, 10tubes/panel add RM1k so, is RM5,999

all other specs seems more less the same.

Solar mate (to me) hv advantage of being the oldest brand (correct me if i'm wrong) hence, no need worry like what happen to Solar Power, but 8tubes/panel nia..

Aqua Solar seem like have the best spec, but is a very new brand, probably the newest, so, might end up like Solar Power?

My solar, seems highly recommended in this forum and seem more expensive...

hrmmmm...anyone can share input?

This post has been edited by wa1k3r: Aug 2 2014, 11:19 AM
SUSsupersound
post Aug 1 2014, 05:51 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(wa1k3r @ Aug 1 2014, 04:46 PM)
All the readings in this thread cant help me decide..in fact, am no where close to a decision.

1) solar mate -> recommended by 2 (different) very technically sound friend.
60galllon, 8tubes/panel
RM3,888 (Raya promo)

2) Aqua solar -> recommended by Builders Hardware
66gallon, 10tubes/panel
RM4,950 bundle with booster pump

3) my solar -> reviewed as most efficient by many forumers (altho i dunno why its more efficient)
60gallon, 7tubes/panel
RM4,999 bundle with Grundfos pump & outdoor water filter
If 60gallon, 10tubes/panel add RM1k so, is RM5,999

all other specs seems more less the same.

Solar mate (to me) hv advantage of being the oldest brand (correct me if i'm wrong) hence, no need worry like what happen to Solar Power, but 8tubes/panel nia..

Aqua Solar seem like have the best spec, but is a very new brand, probably the newest, so, might end up like Solar Power?

My solar, seems highly recommended in this forum and seem more expensive...

hrmmmm...anyone can share input?
Just a question, how much electric bill you are looking at in terms of savings? rm10 a month?
wa1k3r
post Aug 2 2014, 08:58 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 1 2014, 05:51 PM)
Just a question, how much electric bill you are looking at in terms of savings? rm10 a month?
Feeling your sarcasm..perhaps i will try to justify

Honestly, i dont know how much in terms of electricity i will save per month using solar vs electric water heater, but lets look at the initial cost
I have 5 bathroom & 1 wet kitchen across 3-storey.
(1) I think the cost of instant water heater is somewhere RM600-800 x 5 = RM3k to RM4k excluding installation (plumbing & electrical)
also, instant water heaters, no matter what design, still ugly and bulky as hell not to mention noisy too..
Not forgetting also risks associated with instant water heaters..nvr know when it will fail and wouldnt wanna be part of stats really
And i wont get hot water in my kitchen

(2) electric storage water heaters, similarly, cost is RM800 each exclud installation. Fyi, i have used the storage type before, and its no fun waiting for the water to be boiled. From what i learnt, we're boiling more than needed, hence, i'm wasting alot of electricity.

So, if i choose to use electric type, start up cost of similar to solar type.
Plumbing cost is higher on solar cos long run of hot water pipes but electric point is only 1. So, RM4k solar + RM5k plumbing + RM200 wiring = RM9.2k

Plumbing cost maybe half on electric heaters, but wiring is applicable for each.
So, RM4k heater + RM2.5k plumbing + RM1k wiring = RM7.5k

So difference is rm1.7k / 3650 (10yrs operation) = RM0.46/day

Should be cheaper than using electric heater no?

btw, i hv 4 adults & 2 kids at home, so yes, will be using quite a bit of hot water.

This post has been edited by wa1k3r: Aug 2 2014, 09:00 AM
weikee
post Aug 2 2014, 10:08 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(wa1k3r @ Aug 2 2014, 08:58 AM)

Honestly, i dont know how much in terms of electricity i will save per month using solar vs electric water heater, but lets look at the initial cost
(1) I think the cost of instant water heater is somewhere RM600-800 x 5 = RM3k to RM4k excluding installation (plumbing & electrical)
also, instant water heaters, no matter what design, still ugly and bulky as hell not to mention noisy too..
Not forgetting also risks associated with instant water heaters..nvr know when it will fail and wouldnt wanna be part of stats really
And i wont get hot water in my kitchen

(2) electric storage water heaters, similarly, cost is RM800 each exclud installation. Fyi, i have used the storage type before, and its no fun waiting for the water to be boiled. From what i learnt, we're boiling more than needed, hence, i'm wasting alot of electricity.

So, if i choose to use electric type, start up cost of similar to solar type.
Plumbing cost is higher on solar cos long run of hot water pipes but electric point is only 1. So, RM4k solar + RM5k plumbing + RM200 wiring = RM9.2k

Plumbing cost maybe half on electric heaters, but wiring is applicable for each.
So, RM4k heater + RM2.5k plumbing + RM1k wiring = RM7.5k

So difference is rm1.7k / 3650 (10yrs operation) = RM0.46/day

Should be cheaper than using electric heater no?

btw, i hv 4 adults & 2 kids at home, so yes, will be using quite a bit of hot water.
For that number of toilets you need bigger solar, I doubt 60+- gallons is sufficient. Therefore your solar will be more expensive too.

Wiring for Storage maybe around RM 450 - 600 for 3 storage points, you don't need RM 1k. Don't forget Solar also need wiring because they have the backup heater. Storage piping and Solar piping are similar. And for Storage, you don't need to buy one big storage, split it to 3 storage for the 5 toilets and wet kitchen.

I am using two storage heater for two toilet, I don't need to wait like you describe for hot water. The storage can hold the hot water for sometime. Every morning I just switch on and use, after bath just off it. don't need to wait. Unless you did not switch it on for two days or more.

There are no ROI for Solar, At least for my calculation, because whatever extra you put on Solar, I can use the money for other better investment. But for mother nature sake, yes there are better.

You can look into Micro Solar, is more efficient, but no advertisement made and no one in this forum carrying this product, therefore you see read less people recommend. If you are around Subang you can give them a visit.

Another type you can look at is Gas heater, This will be my replacement if my Storage give way. Rinnai is the leading brand for Gas water heater and hob.

Hope this help.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 2 2014, 11:43 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(wa1k3r @ Aug 2 2014, 08:58 AM)

Well, solar heaters won't really effective for your case. As it will be hot on day time and colder on night time, not to mention the cell will degrade over the time. Add the changing cell cost and maintenance cost also.
For those water heaters you mentioned, there are 2 types, with and without build in motor. Since your house got so many people, can consider getting non motor type and install 1 motor near to the water tank.
Then all your water tanks install exposed to direct sunlight which will preheat the water.
Panasonic water heaters only cost rm300-500 and can heat up water quite fast, not like what you said. Unless you or your family like to waste water by keeping water run, then another story. Malaysian are known to be 1 of the most water wasting nation in the world.
Considering the piping material quality, can you really run hot water to them for long term without problem?
wa1k3r
post Aug 2 2014, 11:52 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 2 2014, 10:08 AM)
For that number of toilets you need bigger solar, I doubt 60+- gallons is sufficient. Therefore your solar will be more expensive too.

Wiring for Storage maybe around RM 450 - 600 for 3 storage points, you don't need RM 1k. Don't forget Solar also need wiring because they have the backup heater.  Storage piping and Solar piping are similar. And for Storage, you don't need to buy one big storage, split it to 3 storage for the 5 toilets and wet kitchen.

I am using two storage heater for two toilet, I don't need to wait like you describe for hot water. The storage can hold the hot water for sometime. Every morning I just switch on and use, after bath just off it. don't need to wait. Unless you did not switch it on for two days or more.

There are no ROI for Solar, At least for my calculation, because whatever extra you put on Solar, I can use the money for other better investment. But for mother nature sake, yes there are better.

You can look into Micro Solar, is more efficient, but no advertisement made and no one in this forum carrying this product, therefore you see read less people recommend. If you are around Subang you can give them a visit.

Another type you can look at is Gas heater, This will be my replacement if my Storage give way.  Rinnai is the leading brand for Gas water heater and hob.

Hope this help.
RM600 for 3 point = RM200 per point x 5 point = RM1k no?

Dont forget each storage need a 20A on/off switch which cost rm100 each too

60gallon = 272ltr not sufficient for 6? but 3 storage (instead of 5) is sufficient?
I remember when i bot a 35ltr storage tank forumers bombard me ask me why need such a big tank cos not using 100% hot water..mix ratio maybe 70:30
hrrmmm..

anyways, decision is made to use solar water heater..its not about ROI at all...if thinking ROI dun need waste money on reno, or cars, or tv or anything that depreciates in value..

i just cant decide which brand/type to go for..

for microsolar..i was interested in their solar aircon + water heater combo but was advised against it...and they operate from home..so..microsolar is no no

SUSsupersound
post Aug 2 2014, 12:01 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(wa1k3r @ Aug 2 2014, 11:52 AM)

60gallon = 272ltr not sufficient for 6? but 3 storage (instead of 5) is sufficient?
I remember when i bot a 35ltr storage tank forumers bombard me ask me why need such a big tank cos not using 100% hot water..mix ratio maybe 70:30
hrrmmm..

anyways, decision is made to use solar water heater..its not about ROI at all...if thinking ROI dun need waste money on reno, or cars, or tv or anything that depreciates in value..

for microsolar..i was interested in their solar aircon + water heater combo but was advised against it...and they operate from home..so..microsolar is no no
So your solar water heater still need to pull a 20A wiring to it hmm.gif
I thought it can run independently without any AC wired to it.
weikee
post Aug 2 2014, 12:38 PM

12,019 posts

hrrmmm..

Why need to have 5 storage? 3 to share out is sufficient. And Storage water are much hotter than solar, you don't need big tank to store water, the electric heater will heat up water when required. Solar on the other hand need to store the heated water in the afternoon to use it later at night or next morning, too small the storage you won't be able to reserved enough for next morning. It also depend how is the usage pattern. 20Amps switch no need RM 100 each, even my Simon switch is <RM20 in 2011.

If you have independent storage heater, your piping work will reduce, that also saved some amount.

Microsolar use back their water heated micro solar, Never really look at Solar A/C before so no comment. My friend house use one installed many years ago. The Microsolar I am referring is this : http://www.microsolarsystem.com/

This post has been edited by weikee: Aug 2 2014, 01:17 PM
weikee
post Aug 2 2014, 12:40 PM

12,019 posts

My neighbor using a US brand solar, installed in early 90s, only recently bring down to service during house reno. The installer told her not to change to newer model, as material are not that good and not reliable anymore.
ozak
post Aug 2 2014, 03:29 PM

17,025 posts

hrrmmm..

You need to read more about solar heater. What size is sufficient. And the important thing is "worst weather scenario". Not in good weather scenario.

So what is the highest temperature can the heater generate during the raining day? The highest the water temperature, the less hot water ratio you need to mix. That give you more people can use perliter of hot water. It is about the efficiency the heater.

Ya I know they will tell you, just switch ON the heater when raining day. Than what the use I buy a solar heater if the most colder day I cannot get the hot water. What is that solar mean. Does it tell me the efficiency is low of that brand/model.

Have you check how many liter of water you need to use for bath? The checking is just as simple as using the baldi to measure. Than x how many person. The ratio of hot water. Don't forget the extra liter and the temperature of the hot water for some safe calculation.

With some own checking and data collect, I believe you can decide what brand/type of solar heater is good for you. You need to ask for the data spec from the brand that you search. Not just reading at the company conflict and their operation.
weikee
post Aug 2 2014, 04:37 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 2 2014, 03:29 PM)
You need to read more about solar heater. What size is sufficient. And the important thing is "worst weather scenario". Not in good weather scenario.

So what is the highest temperature can the heater generate during the raining day? The highest the water temperature, the less hot water ratio you need to mix. That give you more people can use perliter of hot water. It is about the efficiency the heater.

Ya I know they will tell you, just switch ON the heater when raining day. Than what the use I buy a solar heater if the most colder day I cannot get the hot water. What is that solar mean. Does it tell me the efficiency is low of that brand/model.

Have you check how many liter of water you need to use for bath? The checking is just as simple as using the baldi to measure. Than x how many person. The ratio of hot water. Don't forget the extra liter and the temperature of the hot water for some safe calculation.  

With some own checking and data collect, I believe you can decide what brand/type of solar heater is good for you. You need to ask for the data spec from the brand that you search. Not just reading at the company conflict and their operation.
Come to my showroom I show you biggrin.gif

Problem with Solar water heater in malaysia you get hot water when is hot day and seldom use hot water with that weather. Not like 4 season country, they get sunny weather but still cold, that is where using solar heater the best.

This post has been edited by weikee: Aug 2 2014, 04:45 PM
Termibait
post Aug 3 2014, 12:09 AM

71 posts

Any good plumber to install hot and cold water piping for 4 bathroom?
ozak
post Aug 3 2014, 01:01 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 2 2014, 04:37 PM)
Come to my showroom I show you biggrin.gif

Problem with Solar water heater in malaysia you get hot water when is hot day and seldom use hot water with that weather. Not like 4 season country, they get sunny weather but still cold, that is where using solar heater the best.
Don't tell me you change job already. tongue.gif

Maybe people here like to take hot shower no matter what weather. Like my colleague kid. Everyday hot shower even very hot weather. rclxub.gif

Last 2week visit my retired sifu in Japan. He retired into the deep high mountain. Built his own house. He get the hot water from the "onsen". Underground hot water nearby. Plenty and free whole yrs.

52 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0647sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:09 AM