QUOTE(alyem @ Jun 24 2012, 08:32 AM)
How much is it?Solar Water Heater
Solar Water Heater
Jun 24 2012, 09:08 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jun 24 2012, 09:30 AM
17,023 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Jun 24 2012, 09:52 AM
303 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
M60VTHE RM 4k+
Jun 24 2012, 09:59 AM
Jun 24 2012, 10:41 AM
Jun 24 2012, 02:23 PM
85 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
I have been using solar power for 2 years, seldom need o turn on the backup heater. I used t have stroge heater, hate the waiting time though it is not very long.
Jun 24 2012, 02:58 PM
4,184 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Builders Hardware Enterprise 0362572412 |
QUOTE(mywii @ Jun 23 2012, 09:00 PM) My friend highlighted to me that when solar or storage breakdown. No hot water to use. If instant broke down one can go to the other toilet to shower Solar seldom breakdown, if it does, tat means somewhere is leaking. A solar is divided into storage tank and panel/tube. Therefore, if it leaks, it could only leak from either tank or panel/tube. Since many people are comparing with microsolar, i done a read up on microsolar. Microsolar is efficient as cold water flow into the tubes inside an independent pipe, therefore cold and hot water wont clash against each other and the flow will b smooth, hence better efficiency. However, as water flow into the tubes, if one of the tubes crack, water will gush out from the tube and you wont b able to use your solar. SOLAR POWER U60 (tube series) on the other hand uses a MANIFOLD & VACUUM TUBES. Water travels through a manifold and not into the tubes, therefore if you pull out the tube or one of the tube crack, no water will leak out and you could still use your solar without any problem. But ofcoz, if one tube crack and not working, the performance of the solar will drop.Maybe that's why I see some Hse have 2 solar. This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jun 24 2012, 02:59 PM |
Jun 24 2012, 05:37 PM
Microsolar given promotion for at RM4490 without Pump or Rain Shower.
I dun need pump for my house as the incoming are at 50psi. (3.5 bar) |
Jun 24 2012, 09:37 PM
Jun 24 2012, 10:21 PM
Jun 25 2012, 03:24 AM
22 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur |
I have been following this thread for some time. It is time for me to comment.
Weikee, at first you said there is a need to turn on the backup heater all the time because malaysia lack of sun; I believe you said cloudy and rainy too. Now , on your latest post, you have a change in stand and you mention that MALAYSIA is SOOOO HOT that you do not have to mix or turn on hot water. Contradicting no?....hmmmmmm.. I have been using solar for the past 5 years and it has served me well. Think ive turned on the solar backup heater less than 10 times in the past 5 years. Definitely gave me substantial cost savings. |
Jun 25 2012, 06:28 AM
QUOTE(voonyee86 @ Jun 25 2012, 03:24 AM) I have been following this thread for some time. It is time for me to comment. Sorry which statement I say all the time?Weikee, at first you said there is a need to turn on the backup heater all the time because malaysia lack of sun; I believe you said cloudy and rainy too. Now , on your latest post, you have a change in stand and you mention that MALAYSIA is SOOOO HOT that you do not have to mix or turn on hot water. Contradicting no?....hmmmmmm.. I have been using solar for the past 5 years and it has served me well. Think ive turned on the solar backup heater less than 10 times in the past 5 years. Definitely gave me substantial cost savings. And I only say recently weather is hot. early this year was rainy |
Jun 28 2012, 01:32 AM
2,140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Ironically, not many know that one of the best solar water heater in the world is designed by a Malaysian. Solar is the most efficient way to heat water in this region because there's enough sunshine per day on average to heat it at a useful quantity. There's sun all year round and depending on your location and the number of non-wet days per month, it is a worthwhile investment provided you're staying in your house for the long term of at least 10 years and there's at least 4 people in the house using hot water for showering twice a day. That's a rule of thumb as to the threshold I would use.
It all depends on utilization rate of the sun heated water that would otherwise be electrically boiled. The more people in the household the more sense it makes to go solar so long as it's landed. Assuming 4 pax x 2/day x10/60/pax x 3.6kWh x 30 day/month = 144kWh/month or 144 units is a lot of electricity consumed if not factoring fridge and aircon and washing machine if the latter is running on high wash temperature (60-90). Anyhow tariff depends on usage so saving 144kWh/month for 4 pax can make a difference btw the lower tarriff block to the next higher one. If we assume electricity tariff increases, it makes sense to avoid using 144kWh for heating water. Compound that by 12 months per year (1728kWh/yr). 10 years? However, I admit that one hurdle to overcome mentally is the existence of hot water plumbing or rather the lack of it. Old houses that used central gas or electricity for hot water storage would likely have central hot water plumbing. These are good candidates for drop-in replacement with some cost of retrofit plumbing of 3-5k. Otherwise expect to invest upwards of 8k for plumbing and tile works not inclusive of solar heater and water pump. The differentiator btw solar water heaters make and model is how high it can raise the temperature of water. The reasoning is that the higher the temperature, the longer the rate of "decay" aka cooling hence the longer the rate of storage before reheating is required. If there is to be a backup water heater, one way is to using a thermal recovery unit coupled to aircond compressors and a storage heater and use that as a pre-feed into solar. The true test between models is seen on cloudy days and how much it can last through continuous wet days (no sun) before boosting (backup electrical or gas). To learn more about the internal dynamics involved when solar heating water between different designs, look it up here. BTW if living in condo, aircond with thermal recovery storage water heater is the one of the best solution short of district heating. Other factors is the rate of mixing wastage - higher flow rate means the usable heated water flows away faster. Those who have showered using electric instant water heaters will know what I mean at least in the old days when they were introduced. After a while running at preferred temp, water is no longer hot so have to adjust temp up and then bring it down plus reduce flow rate so that hot water is consumed slower. This is where low flow but high pressure shower heads come into play. I'm not talking about just flow restriction alone without increasing the pressure at the outlet- that's no fun. It's restricting the flow and increasing the outlet water pressure at the shower head that makes the difference. If the solar thermal water heater can raise the water hot enough, the ratio of mixing hot and cold is such that more cold water is used to mixed down the hot to a comfortable temperature. A combination of such and a regimen of Navy shower will conserve the amount of hot water used. One more thing, I don't know if you'd agree, there is a certain con with solar heater even on non-wet days. Over here, the haze will reduce the performance of solar water heater that relies on reflective coating. If the rain can strip the dust of the glass tubes, polished reflector manifold or collector plates, it should return back to the normal which means the lever is 3/4 way to 5/6 towards the cold side of a shower mixer. Despite that it still beats using 144 units of electricity in a household of 4 for hot showers. |
Jun 28 2012, 12:04 PM
Jun 29 2012, 10:45 AM
2 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
zheilwane fb me asking about the performance of my solar water heater and asked me to share my experience here in lowyat. After reading this thread, now I know why he wanted me to comment. It would be more convincing and reliable to get feedback from someone who is actually using a SOLAR heater rather just talking based on one’s perception. Well, I have been using SOLAR POWER for awhile and never turn on the backup heater. I got hot water every time I needed it instantly. However, during rainy days, the water is not very hot, we just have to mix more hot water and there is never a need to turn on the heater.
The reason I purchased Solar Power is because of the good service and professional explanation by zheilwane, he seems to be very confident with his products and that is what makes us customers feel assured to purchase from him. Lastly, his price is very attractive as well. In fact, my neighbor coincidently bought SOLAR POWER from zheilwane as well. We are both happy users of solar heaters. Thumbs up zheilwane, sorry for the delay, was busy last week and didn’t have time to create a LYN account. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jun 29 2012, 10:50 AM
Again, no one say solar is bad. Is about the ROI of 5 years are not practical. 7 to 10 are more like it.
And of you want better get micro solar. |
Jun 29 2012, 11:22 AM
394 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Penang |
does anyone know if someone selling sollar that I can pay via installment?
Jun 30 2012, 12:09 PM
Jun 30 2012, 12:22 PM
Hsbc 3% for ten months installment, 5% for twenty month.
Jul 4 2012, 09:42 AM
10,319 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(xiaoxiao86 @ Jun 29 2012, 10:45 AM) zheilwane fb me asking about the performance of my solar water heater and asked me to share my experience here in lowyat. After reading this thread, now I know why he wanted me to comment. It would be more convincing and reliable to get feedback from someone who is actually using a SOLAR heater rather just talking based on one’s perception. Well, I have been using SOLAR POWER for awhile and never turn on the backup heater. I got hot water every time I needed it instantly. However, during rainy days, the water is not very hot, we just have to mix more hot water and there is never a need to turn on the heater. i share the same sentiments.The reason I purchased Solar Power is because of the good service and professional explanation by zheilwane, he seems to be very confident with his products and that is what makes us customers feel assured to purchase from him. Lastly, his price is very attractive as well. In fact, my neighbor coincidently bought SOLAR POWER from zheilwane as well. We are both happy users of solar heaters. Thumbs up zheilwane, sorry for the delay, was busy last week and didn’t have time to create a LYN account. a purchaser of zheilwane's products too. (in this case, it's solar power heater) so far, i'd never switch on my backup. the water is hot enough and enough on most occasions even when my relatives drop by for a visit. we were sorta pushing it a little and draining out all the hot water we can (about 9 individuals taking bath leh...). and the effect is entirely different from the instant heater. you do not get the sound of the heater (especially if you are using pump). on a side note, i have heard of solar heater's effectiveness diminishing over time but for it to last 5-7 years, it's good enough for me. This post has been edited by kochin: Jul 4 2012, 01:16 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0584sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:54 PM |