Solar Water Heater

ozak
post Jan 6 2012, 11:55 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jan 6 2012, 07:50 AM)
actually you seldom need to turn on the backup heater for solar. Why ppl need to turn on bcoz

1) You have more than 6 ppl using hot water but u bought a 60gal solar only
2) Your family members shower night and early morning. There are ppl that shower at nite like 7pm and 7am in the morning, where there is no sun light at all. If u have 5ppl at home showering morning and night, that will b 10 ppl showering, you will definitely need to turn on the backup heater even you are using microsolar.
3) Long shower with big rain showers.

Why Micro solar is better? This is bcoz they are using vacuum tubes instead of panels which SOLAR POWER has it as well, i would say performance is about the same as microsolar but more durable.

A 60gal solar heater with panel is sufficient for 5-6 ppl and you do not have to turn on the heater provided there is sunlight everyday. a 60gal solar heater with vacuum tubes is sufficient upto 9 ppl, that is why u seldom need to turn on the heater bcoz u have extra 3 ppl worth of water as backup.

Why vacuum tubes solar could supply more hot water?
This is bcoz the max temperature that it can hit is 90 degree celcius while normal panel type could only reach 70. So, if your water is hotter, you use lesser hot water and mix it with more cold water.
You got to comeout the figure performance to claim it is better or not to others same product. Most of the website for solar heater at local don't have the performance and figure to lay the claim. The most is just the product spec. That is why it put me off about the solar heater till I discover the microsolar.

At least the microsolar website have the performance figure for me to check at what lowest deg C to produce highest deg C water , their product can sustain. Just 1 thing I don't understand, since no heater and extra component in their product, why the cost still expensive than others? hmm.gif
ozak
post Jan 24 2012, 02:21 PM

17,021 posts

I don't see my friend using any pump for the microsolar heater. The pressure flow is good enugh. Save the pump and power.
ozak
post Jan 31 2012, 06:01 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(manemaren @ Jan 31 2012, 05:46 PM)
Any idea how much is a microsolar heater cost ?
Read back and you can find the cost.
ozak
post Apr 12 2012, 04:42 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Apr 12 2012, 04:03 PM)
wondering why you need hot water in the kitchen.
any reason why you need it?

I'm in the midst of getting quaotation on copper piping installation, since my contractor not really interested to do it. Any suggestion for me? Only 3 bathrooms required. If got contact then better.
More clean to your cookware. Specially oilly.

Faster defrost your food from freeze.

Boil your water shorter time and use less energy.

Cook faster with hot water.

You need to insulate the copper pipe. Otherwise you have problem take longertime to flow out the hot water.
ozak
post Apr 14 2012, 08:59 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 13 2012, 10:02 AM)
No need to insulate the hot copper pipe. The waiting time for hot water is shorter than the total volume of the pipe distant. Water travel on the least resistance and shoot like bullet at the center of the pipe where it has least friction. Got it?

When you first open the tap, open the hot to the max and as you are getting hotter and hotter water coming out turn to knob to the cold. Use mixer, never use the troblesome seperate piping/taps.

Always use half inch copper pipe all the way from the solar heater to the bathrooms, kitchen, etc outlets. Never use big size pipe as this take longer waiting time for hot water and to replace all the cold water in the pipe and eventually the hot water in the pipe will be wasted as it cooled before next use.

The shorter the distant between the heater and the outlet the better and faster in delivering hot water.
If you have 2storey or 3storey house, imagine how long the hot water need to travel down to your tap. And the waste amount of cold water that you don't want. The time need to wait for the hot water when you cooking. The surrounding wall of the pipe is hot. That will contribute to increase your house temperature when you keep on using aircon to cold down.

Can you see how much the energy you have to waste just to get a small amount of hot water.
ozak
post Apr 14 2012, 05:57 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 14 2012, 04:25 PM)
Actually the insulation will not make much difference. Because in the mixer, after you switch off the tap, the cold water will travel and mix with the hot water.
My friend using microsolar just the first floor bathroom. The pipe no insulate. The water can reach 90deg. Can feel the heat when touch the wall. And take time for the hot water out. He advise me to use insulate when instal 1.

Added on April 14, 2012, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 14 2012, 03:03 PM)
this one i do not agree, want to do the hot water piping, just do it right icon_rolleyes.gif  the insulation won't cost much, less than rm1/ft run
i just calculate the volume of water from my heater to dry kt sink, about 70 fR of 12mm dia copper piping is just 0.00241304271264 m3 of water before the hot water reach my sink mixer whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
That is enough for your whole day drink. 2.4L

This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 14 2012, 06:09 PM
ozak
post Apr 14 2012, 11:56 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 14 2012, 09:50 PM)
Let's argue so that you see my reasoning.

Am not saying insulation is same as no insulation but insulation has little effect than you think for hot water pipe and there are other ways than unnecessary insulation.

Part 1.

Insulation of pipe or not got not much to do with the waste of water waiting for hot water due to the length of the pipe. Whether you insulate the pipe or you dont you still need the time taken for the hot water to travel the length of pipe to push out the cold water.

Aircond room gaining heat in a room largely due to airflow where cold air escape via bottom of the door as such sucking hot air at any other opening to replace the lost cold air. Very little is to cold the wall or that particular part of the wall where hot pipe are consealed.

When it is the wall getting hot, the wall itself is heat insulation with or withut the added insulation. Insulation to be effective is on exposed pipe. Why use copper pipe which is one of the best heat conductor. Use stainless steel pipe. Stainless steel is one of the worst metal in conducting heat.

Insulation the pipe will slow down the heat from lost. The heat will lost but take longer time. So don't waste that much water just to get the hot water.

The wall is 1 of the part as an insulation to the pipe. Cause brick and cement is 1 of the best insulation. But that will contribute to your room/house temperature if the heat keep there. If your wall face west with the sun, try put your hand on the wall inside the room late evening. This heat from the wall will increase your room temperature. That will increase your aircon bill.

Stainless steel is 1 of the best heat conductor beside copper. It is not worst. It transfer the heat faster than any normal metal.
ozak
post Apr 15 2012, 12:41 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 15 2012, 12:24 AM)
Agreed but not the last para regarding stainless steel heat conductor.

Common metal thermal conductivity at 68 degree F measure in K, (Btu/hr degree F ft):

Rank 1: Silver : 235
Rank 2: Copper : 223
Rank 3 : Gold : 182
Aluminium : 118
Stainless steel : 7 -26

That is why stainless steel pots get spot food burned and turn black but the metal is not burned, it is the food burned and stained on it. Since ss is clean and does not contaiminate or corrode unlike copper and alu it is best for making cookware pot and layered with aluminum and copper in between for better heat conduction. You cant layered it inside with gold and silver, they are too expensive.
I design a lot of heat conducting to melt lead and etc. We use SS as a heating plate and pot. The SS heating plate have a heater rod insert in it. The heater will heat up the plate and transfer the heat to the SS pot. The heater too is a SS material. Heating temperature as high as 600deg. The good of using SS rather copper or alu is, it stand the corrossion, cheaper cost and heat transfer.

I know those much more expensive material have a better heat transfer than SS. But not practical to use. SS at least better a lot others metal.
ozak
post Apr 16 2012, 10:45 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 15 2012, 12:43 AM)
let me explain a little more why ss pot get spot burnt. The area directly under fire is super hot as the heat is not quickly spread and the food at these spots get burnt. Wherea alu pot the spot directly under fire is not as hot as because the heat is quickly spread evenly and no food get burned. That is why when you buy ss pot make sure it has multy layers where some good heat conductor like copper is sandwich in between the stainless steel. There are ss pot sandwich with a kind of oil that has high evaporation point. The oil spread the heat more evenly better than copper since it is liquid. Liquid oil is not as good as heat conductor of copper but it spread evenly faster. The key is to spread evenly fast.
I haven't research till that spot burn. But if you talk the whole surface burn mark, yes it happen. Very common and normal due to time. Using SS as a transfer heat is normal for my industrial design. It is not my invent. I learn from japanese sifu. But the ss that we use is pure ss. Not mix with others metal layer.

1 more why I said ss conduct heat fast. Normally I do grind some metal part using bench grinder. when I hold the metal in my hand, ss material will heat up faster than metal. Even copper more faster. While I can hold longer on the metal. Try it yourself.

Here show you the material different after many years usage. The black SS is a heater plate. Few years usage with 600deg 24hr running. I guess this is what you mention as material change color. Compare the SS plate below which is temperature around 60-80deg. Ontop is a titanium material. Another material we use to transfer heat and as a pot.

ozak
post Apr 16 2012, 09:51 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 16 2012, 04:45 PM)
Anyone who use storage or solar heater will learn to turn on the hot side full first then move to the mix. I need to wait just 5 seconds just before the water get hot in my bathroom upstair. To me there is no much waste of cold water. Down stair the waiting time is 10 to 15 sec.

The first thing to do is try to lay the pipe as straight as possible and less bend. the more bend you have the longer is the wait though the volume is the same but you get the hot water mix with the cold inside the pipe and more volume of water has to come out before you get a good mix.

2nd is use half in pipe all the way, never use 3/4 inch pipe for your hot water piping.
When I stay at my friend home in aus, he advise to turn on the cold water first, than hot water. It is to save the hot water which need energy to boil. And the tank is small. I said over here we do opposite and i totally no sense to do this as I use instant heater. He....

Added on April 16, 2012, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Apr 16 2012, 04:30 PM)
Hey Guys, regarding insulation for hot water piping system and stainless steel piping, the best determinant on the value of piping insulation is just to get people that use piping with insulation or stainless steel piping to give review.

I agree with weikee and stevie8. But of course to be fair, i am a solar power water heating system end user with non insulated copper piping.  nod.gif

When I want hot water from my mixer after a long period of unuse (12 hours), I do as weikee describe, I turn on my mixer tab full to the hot side. Wait approx 10-20second depending on location, initially cold water will flow then the water will get scalding hot quickly, then I turn the mixer to the tempreture i want. This is the fastest way to get to the tempreture I want.

If piping with insulation or stainless steel piping give instant hot water without having to do as I do, then yes, its better.
But is there anyone (actual end user) to verify this??
If not then the question will be left hanging in the air. All theories are yet unproven. hmm.gif

If piping with insulation or stainless steel piping require a shorter time then how much shorter?
Half the time, less, more, 2 second ??????
So how is your heater efficiency?

This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 16 2012, 09:53 PM
ozak
post May 3 2012, 12:52 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ May 3 2012, 10:45 AM)
Just got my solar water heater tank replaced yesterday. (Under warranty)
In the morning the water was lukewarm.  doh.gif
Suspect it was because of insulation in the tank.

As for heater efficiency.
From a lukewarm water in the morning , the water become very hot in at 1.30pm.
So after replace the tank, does this problem happen again? Heater look ok. But seems like the tank cannot hold the hot water.
ozak
post May 4 2012, 12:26 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(chun5113 @ May 3 2012, 11:05 PM)
what is the current price now for good quality of solar heater? any good brand recommended? pump necessary?  The solar and the tubing can be installed in advanced before the renovation rite?

My house got 4 room, 3 at second floor and 1 at 1st floor.  Can any supplier here give me the best quote?

The most efficiency is microsolar. Read back previous pages. Or check their website.

You need to provide how many person using to determine the size of the solar heater.
ozak
post May 4 2012, 06:38 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(chun5113 @ May 4 2012, 05:23 PM)
Targeted 5-6 ppl using.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2097573/+100
ozak
post Jun 10 2012, 11:10 AM

17,021 posts

Once you can understand why microsolar is more efficiency is, they don't have a heater to backup in case cloudy day. They are confident that their solar heater can retain the hot water enough even cloudy day.
ozak
post Jun 12 2012, 10:11 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 12 2012, 09:51 AM)
This are common for solar hot water panel, you get hot water when you don't need it.
I wonder can we generate some power from this hot water when we don't need it. To we need it. Electric.
ozak
post Jun 12 2012, 01:35 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(alyem @ Jun 12 2012, 01:22 PM)
My brother used his solar heater to generate power lighting to Attic room, 1st floor balcony and Staircase area.
And that was 20 years ago.

Am sure they have come out with a better idea. But never heard of anyone doing it anymore..
That is very interesting. rclxms.gif Can tell us more about it? How to convert and what parts need.

At least save some energy and solar heater ROI.
ozak
post Jun 12 2012, 05:40 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(alyem @ Jun 12 2012, 04:59 PM)
Hahahaha.

Well Solar Heater do have solar power return to the storage tank. 12V
As for now, need to see where the backup power go to.
From there you can tap out to supply direct to 12v LED.
Huh? you mean the solar heater got some electrical charge on it? How this happen?
ozak
post Jun 12 2012, 09:18 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(alyem @ Jun 12 2012, 08:55 PM)
Yes the solar cell, not the water.

My brother did it last time.
But but solar heater don't content solar cell. It only have pipe and reflective bed or evacuate pipe.

So your brother is using solar panel to generate electric or solar heater?
ozak
post Jun 12 2012, 10:38 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(alyem @ Jun 12 2012, 09:29 PM)
Those solar water heater that everyone is using la. Those with solar panel.
Let me check with my electrician friend. If that can be done.
Is there a solar heater with a solar panel on it? I m getting confuse. rclxub.gif
ozak
post Jun 15 2012, 07:24 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ Jun 15 2012, 03:40 PM)
Ooiyo...I got small children...very dangerous after scalding...

instant water heater cannot have rain shower ar with pump installed?
Not dangerous lah. There is a valve call thermostatic that control the temperature water stable. Off and on again, the temperature is same. Very longtime this valve in market already.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0652sec    0.96    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:27 AM