Patch 1.4.2 PTR Notes, EMP got nerfed.

jeffvip
post Nov 8 2011, 05:03 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 8 2011, 04:55 PM)
going leaps and bounds to defend his race. admirable  thumbup.gif
i m not interested in QQ or defending anymore. I didn't say Terran is not the winner here, just the graph is misleading. Pl read the facts b4 reply. don't make yourself looks like an idiot.
Quazacolt
post Nov 8 2011, 05:14 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jeffvip @ Nov 8 2011, 05:03 PM)
i m not interested in QQ or defending anymore. I didn't say Terran is not the winner here, just the graph is misleading. Pl read the facts b4 reply. don't make yourself looks like an idiot.
i did spent the 1 or 2 minute to read that long wall o text, and no, that graph isnt misleading one bit. it displays stats, and that's that. if you're perspective are so skewered to claim its misleading, then so be it. because you arent QQ or defending, right? so you shouldn't have any problems with a mere graph thats suposedly misleading, yes?
FLampard
post Nov 8 2011, 05:33 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 8 2011, 04:55 PM)
going leaps and bounds to defend his race. admirable  thumbup.gif
going leaps and bounds to defend a difference of 2-4%? admirable thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by FLampard: Nov 8 2011, 05:35 PM
nagflar
post Nov 8 2011, 06:32 PM

1,813 posts

that is not misleading . is depend how u analisys the graph.

1)terran have highest winning rate, even is few % but already we can conclude Terrans is the easy race to win .

maybe terran is not over power . but it is sure more power than other race .!
TSkding2
post Nov 8 2011, 06:45 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Nov 8 2011, 05:33 PM)
going leaps and bounds to defend a difference of 2-4%? admirable  thumbup.gif
Do you aware that 2%~4% difference is huge for a statistic?
FLampard
post Nov 8 2011, 06:53 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Nov 8 2011, 06:45 PM)
Do you aware that 2%~4% difference is huge for a statistic?
Do you aware rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Yes i am aware when you use the word percent its actually based on 100. 2% means 2/100 4% means 4/100.
jeffvip
post Nov 8 2011, 07:11 PM

134 posts

haha. really nobody understand? or nobody wanna understand? I fee like I'm a fool to talk in this forum. Is like talking bout how good Android are in the iPhone forum. Bye then...
siu_ling
post Nov 8 2011, 07:24 PM

yea this forum is full of kid. too affraid to admit fact . sigh ..

and they think they are good . acuatly is the race win them the games . tongue.gif

if u are diamond using op race . u should be in gold using not op race lol.

This post has been edited by siu_ling: Nov 8 2011, 07:30 PM
FLampard
post Nov 8 2011, 07:34 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(siu_ling @ Nov 8 2011, 07:24 PM)
yea this forum is full of kid. too affraid to admit fact . sigh ..

and they think they are good . acuatly is the race win them the games . tongue.gif

if u are diamond using op race . u should be in gold using not op race lol.
I am in bronze, my friend. So if i change race, i shud be silver, i assume?

This post has been edited by FLampard: Nov 8 2011, 07:35 PM
TSkding2
post Nov 8 2011, 07:45 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(jeffvip @ Nov 8 2011, 07:11 PM)
haha. really nobody understand? or nobody wanna understand? I fee like I'm a fool to talk in this forum. Is like talking bout how good Android are in the iPhone forum. Bye then...
Obviously Jeff VIP is the smartest person in this forum...I am sorry for being incompetent. Seriously rclxms.gif

I am in bronze, my friend. So if i change race, i shud be silver, i assume?

You are Terran player, right? then you will be placement league, not silver if you switch race.

This post has been edited by kding2: Nov 8 2011, 07:50 PM
FLampard
post Nov 8 2011, 07:58 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Nov 8 2011, 07:45 PM)
Obviously Jeff VIP is the smartest person in this forum...I am sorry for being incompetent. Seriously  rclxms.gif
You are Terran player, right? then you will be placement league, not silver if you switch race.
Why u make personal attack now.....

In reply to your statement, i prefer to call myself a "Human" player more than a "terran" player...
TSkding2
post Nov 8 2011, 08:47 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Nov 8 2011, 07:58 PM)
Why u make personal attack now.....

In reply to your statement, i prefer to call myself a "Human" player more than a "terran" player...
I didn't attack you personally.

What's is below Bronze? Placement league, not silver. I just correct it for you.

I am apologize if you think my remark offended you.
evofantasy
post Nov 8 2011, 09:00 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Nov 8 2011, 08:47 PM)

What's is below Bronze? Placement league, not silver. I just correct it for you.

Actually back in beta, you got copper league as the lowest and platinum as the highest
FLampard
post Nov 8 2011, 09:48 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Nov 8 2011, 08:47 PM)

u didnt attack me, im talking about jeffvip lar....u see he mad liao

this forum suppose to be much better than Wow right biggrin.gif cause any forums related to Wow sure gets very heated one.

This post has been edited by FLampard: Nov 8 2011, 09:50 PM
SUSdakwahgandist
post Nov 8 2011, 11:03 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(radkliler @ Nov 8 2011, 01:03 AM)
Really? I was with the impression that early Marine Marauder micro can murder anything the Protoss can throw at you on the field if properly micro'd.

Yes, that means even against Collosi and Templar.
and i am under the impression that 4gate utterly destroys early marine marauder.
Quazacolt
post Nov 8 2011, 11:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(dakwahgandist @ Nov 8 2011, 11:03 PM)
and i am under the impression that 4gate utterly destroys early marine marauder.
go give it a shot then, 5 or 10 games and tell me how many games you win biggrin.gif
FLampard
post Nov 8 2011, 11:18 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(dakwahgandist @ Nov 8 2011, 11:03 PM)
its true, if u micro properly of coz...

but u dun expect 4 gate to work all the time and be able to counter anything....if that happens then protoss is the faceroll race...

This post has been edited by FLampard: Nov 8 2011, 11:29 PM
SUSdakwahgandist
post Nov 8 2011, 11:45 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(radkliler @ Nov 8 2011, 01:14 AM)
Here's a few fun facts about Protoss.

1. Shields constitute HALF of the health a Protoss unit has. WRONG. Most protoss unit shield only constitutes about 1/3rd of it's life or less. Zealots have 100/50. Immortals have 250/100. Colossus has 200/150. Void rays have 150/100. Phoenix has 120/60. The only units that have half life/shield or more are stalkers, HTs, DTs, and Sentries, and it barely matters since these units are meant to sit at the back for support instead of being in the front line where all the damage is happening.

2. EMP affects EVERY single Protoss unit. Guess what, Storms effect every single Terran unit too. But in this case it is much worse for Terran. Even with perfect dodging, a single storm will do at least 20 damage to units. 20 damage sounds very little, but keep i mind that most terran units are squishy -100 hitpoint units. 20 damage is basically half the life of a marine. All it takes is a blanket of 3 or 4 storms to kill of most of a marine marauder force while leaving the rest in terminal red. And this is just damage from Storms by the way, not adding all the damage being done by other units like zealots or stalkers.

3. Protoss shields do not regenerate during battle. And that is why most Protoss units have +150 hitpoints while terrans barely hit 120 hitpoints.

4. EMP has that side effect of taking out the energy of a Protoss unit. Proper EMP will make Sentries and Templars become as useful as faulty condoms. And it also has the side of effect of NOT KILLING ANYTHING AT ALL. However the same cannot be said for Storms.

5. Feedback is useless against anything that doesn't have energy. Which means that you can't feedback Marines no matter how hard you're hammering at that F key. Why would you want to feedback a marine when you can simply spam Storms and send 100 marines into oblivion?

6. Psionic Storm needs to be researched and requires 75 energy. They removed Khaydarin Amulet, so no more insta-warpstorms. EMP on the other hand. requires no research and Ghosts can research whatever it is that is needed to boost their starting energy. Yes. And that is why storms kill just about everything while EMP doesn't.

7. Templars move at the speed of a snail, can't cloak, and doesn't have an attack. Ghosts can cloak, move relatively fast, and can shoot normally. And that is why ghosts costs 200/100 and takes 40 seconds to make while HTs cost only 50/150 and takes only 5 seconds to make. Also, Terrans can't conveniently combine 2 ghosts together in an emergency to get a free Thor.

8. You can micro out of a Storm, you can't micro out of an EMP. All it takes to kill an army of marines and marauders are a blanket of 4-5 storms. Even 100 bajillion EMPs cannot kill a single probe.

And besides, if you overcommitted to Ghosts in the first place, you deserve to lose. That's funny, because Protoss can simply throw around a random bunch of units into a blob, a-move and still win. Protoss doesn't get punished for overcomitting on anything at all; more templars or more colossi will only make Protoss stronger no matter what the situation, because these units counter just about 90% of Terran units in a standard terran army. Tell me, how many units do Ghosts and Vikings counter each?

comments in red.

This post has been edited by dakwahgandist: Nov 8 2011, 11:46 PM
Quazacolt
post Nov 9 2011, 12:01 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

christ hesoos
baka keseluruhan

anyone wanna have the honors instead? im too tired coming home from work 10ish pm, after a whole day staring at wall of text unix/linux/solaris terminals.
dishwasher
post Nov 9 2011, 12:21 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(dakwahgandist @ Nov 8 2011, 11:45 PM)
comments in red.
1. Stalkers are meant to sit in the back? What?

2. Marines are squishy, yes. I wouldn't call Marauder's squishy, nor Siege Tanks. If you bring pure Marines to fight an army with HTs in it, guess what? Sucks to be you. And if you can't micro Marauder's out of storms, guess what? Really sucks to be you.

3. If a Protoss unit loses 50 hp, that's 50 hp that is lost forever. We may regen shields, but we sure as hell don't heal hp damage. Come back when medivacs and SCVs can't heal/repair. Also, Protoss are supposed to be the race with pricey but sturdy stuff, so you'll forgive me if I wonder why you're harping on the fact that Terran units have less hp than Protoss ones.

4. EMP may not kill anything on its own, but it sure helps make killing Protoss a lot easier. Come on, don't tell me dealing 100 dmg to ALL units hit by EMP isn't good. Damage done is damage done, regardless of whether it kills or not.

5. Again, why are you sending pure Marines to a tier 3 fight? What, you didn't know you could make other stuff? Oh ok.

6. Again, damage done is damage done.

7. You do know that there's this whole warp in cooldown thing attached to warping in units right? What, we aren't supposed to add that to the calculation? Not this retarded argument again? Please? Also, if a ghost runs out of energy, its still a pretty useful unit, doing decent damage to light units. HTs with no energy are about as useful as critters on the maps. That is why HTs can combine. Take away the ghost's ranged attack and then you can talk about combining 2 of them into some weird Siamese mutant monster.

8. Marines to a tier 3 fight. Bringing Marines to fight the unit designed to counter them. Come on, you're making me cry. And why on earth are you EMPing probes? You can friggin shoot them if your ghost is in range to EMP, geez.

What do you mean Protoss aren't punished for building anything? Last I heard, the deathball is (ironically) dead. Anything the Protoss army can build, the Terran army can counter. Lots of Stalkers? Get Marauders. Lots of Immortals? Get Marines. And to answer your question: Ghost counter's the entire protoss army, and Vikings counter the entire Protoss air fleet, plus Colossi.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0214sec    0.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:31 AM