How much I need to earn so that ..., TQ

TSrest
post Oct 23 2011, 04:22 PM, updated 15y ago

39 posts

How much I need to earn so that I can afford to buy a 100k car?Installment.
Second hand or first hand?
Faint
post Oct 23 2011, 04:49 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

Interest rate 3%, loan 100k and 9 years.

Interest for 9 years = 3k x 9 years = 27k

127k( 27 + 100) / 9 years / 12 months = 1.2k installment each month.

1.2k + petrol one month might b 1.5-1.6k.

Depend on where u're working and married status. Use ur current monthly salary deduct 1.6k then you will know whether you can afford to buy 100k onot.
turbocharged
post Oct 23 2011, 04:51 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Oct 23 2011, 04:49 PM)

Interest for 9 years = 3k x 9 years  = 27k

Depend on where u're working and married status.  Use ur current monthly salary deduct 1.6k then you will know whether you can afford to buy 100k onot.
boss, need to pay 10% downpayment first.

your formula is for 110k car?

----------------------------

TS, typically you need 4k-5k to be affordable for 100k car.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Oct 23 2011, 04:52 PM
megahertz
post Oct 23 2011, 04:52 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Oct 23 2011, 04:49 PM)

Interest for 9 years = 3k x 9 years  = 27k

Depend on where u're working and married status.  Use ur current monthly salary deduct 1.6k then you will know whether you can afford to buy 100k onot.
dont forget the insurance and road tax annually and maintenance will cost u how much tongue.gif

This post has been edited by megahertz: Oct 23 2011, 04:53 PM
Wira_lover
post Oct 23 2011, 04:55 PM

315 posts

if you are taking a loan, the instalment cant be more than 1/3 of your salary.

prepare downpayment, insurance also.
Renee
post Oct 23 2011, 05:09 PM

523 posts

This is why there are alot luxury "Logo car" on the road

Can't afford to pay the installment.
dares
post Oct 23 2011, 05:54 PM

834 posts

RM 100k, assuming 10k downpayment, 3% interest, 9 year loan.

Monthly payment = RM 1058.

Minimum salary for loan approval RM 3100 - 3200.

Another 2k every year for road tax & insurance (Assuming no NCD), plus another sum for servicing depending on what brand you buy.

This post has been edited by dares: Oct 23 2011, 05:56 PM
yamato
post Oct 23 2011, 06:43 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 23 2011, 04:22 PM)
its not the matter on how much u earn, its all about how much u can spend!
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 23 2011, 06:46 PM

2,479 posts

There is no answer for this..

How ur spending ...
Have to support ur family?
Hoe much fuel u need?
Planing to buy a house?
Planning to get married soon?

And thr story goes on ..
TSrest
post Oct 23 2011, 06:52 PM

39 posts

If let say:

I sell my current car.
my parents support my down-payment.
Single.
Pay rent monthly.
So is not worth if I earn only RM3k something?

Added on October 23, 2011, 6:53 pm
QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Oct 23 2011, 04:55 PM)

what if doing business?Not fix salary every month?

This post has been edited by rest: Oct 23 2011, 06:53 PM
nazri86a
post Oct 23 2011, 06:54 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 23 2011, 06:52 PM)
If let say:

I sell my current car.
Single.
Pay rent monthly.

3k per month owning 100k car is bunuh diri.. i assume u sell the car next year to 2nd hand dealer..
Faint
post Oct 23 2011, 06:57 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

If let say:

I sell my current car.
Single.
Pay rent monthly.
You shouldn't go for a 100k as it is quite burden for you. 100k car definitely cost you each year more than 2k for the road tax + insurance + maintenance. Repairing and maintenance might not included in the first few year if you buy new car, but after that it will break your wallet.

This post has been edited by Faint: Oct 23 2011, 06:58 PM
Christopher7
post Oct 23 2011, 06:58 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

Nowadays driving 100k won't get you better. Get it when you really able to afford it.
fr0sti3
post Oct 23 2011, 07:02 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

100k car i would say ok if yer around 4k pay range... but u gonna start doing your financial planning.

better advise would be get a 50k-80k car, then start plannin for a house property. car depreciates, while real estate most of the time appreciates
Renee
post Oct 23 2011, 07:03 PM

523 posts

If let say:

I sell my current car.
Single.
Pay rent monthly.

Oh, papa and mama, then no problem.U able to afford it.
No worries, buy first and everything can be settle in future.
Daniel John
post Oct 23 2011, 07:08 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Renee @ Oct 23 2011, 07:03 PM)
Oh, papa and mama, then no problem.U able to afford it.
No worries, buy first and everything can be settle in future.
true! i got experience on tat!
gunsnroses
post Oct 23 2011, 07:13 PM

77 posts

Even my salary close to RM5k also i dont buy 100k car. I only will buy 50-60k car, put better downpayment, finish instalment faster. I see a lot of kids nowadays just start to work go and buy 70k car with 2k plus salary, i really wonder how they survive. When come to pay insurance/road tax, take personal loan. No wonder everyday got 42 ppl brankrupt under 40 years old.
Wira_lover
post Oct 23 2011, 07:18 PM

315 posts

If let say:

I sell my current car.
Single.
Pay rent monthly.

3k + still can la..more or less you have no other commitments... but taking care of the car etc also needs money... depends on ur lifestyle etc...i think this car is too much for you to handle. maybe 60-70k still ok. at the end of the day if you dont have enough $$ and mummy n daddy can support you, then no problem la bro...go for it
jy1905
post Oct 23 2011, 07:23 PM

1,411 posts

for a 100k car and assuming 10-20% dp, you'll still need to spend around 2k a month for everything such as petrol, maintenance and ins.. to afford it? try multiplying with 3 and you'll need to earn at least 6k a month.. even then, sometimes it is not sufficient to live COMFORTABLY coz you'll tend to spend more when you are earning 6k.. i would say 8k monthly if you are single to afford 100k car with comfort.. but if you are having support from YIB, perhaps another story then..

just wondering, why you need a 100k car in the first place?

This post has been edited by jy1905: Oct 23 2011, 07:26 PM
figure8
post Oct 23 2011, 07:49 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

3k salary can afford 100k but as other ppl said, how much u spend monthly will decide whether u can survive or not.
jy1905
post Oct 23 2011, 08:01 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ Oct 23 2011, 07:49 PM)
3k salary can afford 100k but as other ppl said, how much u spend monthly will decide whether u can survive or not.
3k salary buy 100k car then live like a rat.. worth it?
Irishcoffee
post Oct 23 2011, 08:10 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

try get a 10years old camry
my fren earning 2k per month , he get himself a 2nd hand camry cost him 30k
the car still nice n stable at high speed
Poadster
post Oct 23 2011, 08:26 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

Salary 3K wanna get 100K car??? Lets see:

Salary: RM3000 (lets assume this is nett after CPF and income tax)...
Room rental: Less RM300, balance RM2700
Food (rent room means not staying at home): RM30 (conservative) per day = RM900, balance RM1800
Car installment: RM1100, balance RM700
Fuel: RM400 (minimal driving), balance RM300

Consumables:
Insurance and Road Tax = RM1500 (assuming he have 55% NCD)
Tyre: RM400 a piece = RM1200
RM1500+1200 = RM2700 divided by 12months = RM225 per month, balance RM75

Enuff for TS (or anyone to live by)??

And the main reason he wanna get a 100K is to prolly show off to his friends and/or GF that he have arrived (and in style)... so he definitely will be using more money on movies, entertainment, shopping.... he will be in credit card debt in no time...

But its ok... biar ada gaya, bankrupt takpe coz papa/mama ada.... brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Oct 23 2011, 08:27 PM
gunh
post Oct 23 2011, 08:38 PM

459 posts

there is study recommending ppl not to buy car more than double of their annual salary... better stick to the car value to your annual or 1.5x annual salary...
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 23 2011, 08:42 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Oct 23 2011, 08:38 PM)
there is study recommending ppl not to buy car more than double of their annual salary... better stick to the car value to your annual or 1.5x annual salary...
I would says not all applicable..

Imagine i earn 2k = 24k per year..
Can biy 48k car..
Even 9 years shd be around 600+/-

2k minus this n that 1.8k
600 car
300 fuel
Rental ?
Phone bill ?
Parents?
Saving?

end up Lkpk..:-p

Referering to 2x :-)

This post has been edited by K3nnYkl82: Oct 23 2011, 08:43 PM
turbocharged
post Oct 23 2011, 08:44 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Oct 23 2011, 07:23 PM)
for a 100k car and assuming 10-20% dp, you'll still need to spend around 2k a month for everything such as petrol, maintenance and ins.. to afford it? try multiplying with 3 and you'll need to earn at least 6k a month.. even then, sometimes it is not sufficient to live COMFORTABLY coz you'll tend to spend more when you are earning 6k.. i would say 8k monthly if you are single to afford 100k car with comfort.. but if you are having support from YIB, perhaps another story then..

need to show their frens they made it.

they drive city/vios/altis/civic, use iphone, buy ipad. and then every month pay minimum payment for credit card.

this is what happens when u're a fresh grad and drive a brand new city/vios
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 23 2011, 08:45 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 23 2011, 08:44 PM)
need to show their frens they made it.

they drive city/vios/altis/civic, use iphone, buy ipad. and then every month pay minimum payment for credit card.

this is what happens when u're a fresh grad and drive a brand new city/vios
U wont understand.. generation gap..

Duit tak ada tak apa.. yang penting gaya ada ..
Tua only enjoy meh
turbocharged
post Oct 23 2011, 08:49 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 23 2011, 08:45 PM)
U wont understand.. generation gap..

Duit tak ada tak apa.. yang penting gaya ada ..
Tua only enjoy meh
tongue.gif i'm still 2x years old la tongue.gif

but then, when i was a fresh grad, an experienced engineer driving city/vios is already successful.

but now, a fresh grad needs to drive 100k car to impress ppl, vios/city already cannot.

it makes me wonder, who the hell drives a myvi or saga? makcik cleaner?

jalan sombong, poket kosong?
gunh
post Oct 23 2011, 09:00 PM

459 posts

that's y is a recommendation mah... at least is to remind us and others the max range of car price u should look at... the final decision on what to get, u got to look on individual expenses la... some petrol and phone bill is by company so can i say you calculation again is not applicable?

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 23 2011, 08:42 PM)
I would says not all applicable..

Imagine i earn 2k = 24k per year..
Can biy 48k car..
Even 9 years shd be around 600+/-

2k minus this n that 1.8k
600 car
300 fuel
Rental ?
Phone bill ?
Parents?
Saving?

end up Lkpk..:-p

Referering to 2x :-)
jy1905
post Oct 23 2011, 09:01 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 23 2011, 08:49 PM)

but then, when i was a fresh grad, an experienced engineer driving city/vios is already successful.

but now, a fresh grad needs to drive 100k car to impress ppl, vios/city already cannot.

if you didn't notice, let me remind you.. nowadays, it is difficult to see proton or perodua on the road.. the common scene is vios or city with P.. so what to do to stand out?

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(gunh @ Oct 23 2011, 09:00 PM)
that's y is a recommendation mah...  at least is to remind us and others the max range of car price u should look at... the final decision on what to get, u got to look on individual expenses la... some petrol and phone bill is by company so can i say you calculation again is not applicable?
i would say this kinda calculation is indivual.. it depends on priority.. some ppl put car as top priority, some put savings and investment or some put property.. i have seen a company boss driving proton saga costing less than 30k and he nvr bother to fix the broken signal light.. but his monthy income is at least 20k..

This post has been edited by jy1905: Oct 23 2011, 09:06 PM
GTR r-35
post Oct 23 2011, 09:09 PM

if u go look around those private university or college.... go look at their car park, u will be shocked to see what are the students driving...
ar188
post Oct 23 2011, 09:11 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Oct 23 2011, 07:23 PM)

maybe eyeing the new avante? brows.gif

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:14 pm

aiseh, vios /city cannot make it already liao? sad.gif kind of like the new city, getting bored of driving those D segment cars liao..

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 23 2011, 09:14 PM
lucifah
post Oct 23 2011, 09:14 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

why on earth do you need a car that cost > 100k?

you 2" ?

jokes aside, a car is a liability, not an asset

it costs money - not just monthly repayment, but repairs, parts, insurances and taxes

get a car that's within your capacity to pay. a good and tried formula is 1/4 of your monthly pay goes to the car repayment - with FIVE year loan

CODE

example:

100k loan + 3% int @ 5years = 115k
115k/60month = 1,900

1,900 x 4 = 7.600

u need at least RM 7,600 monthly pay to afford a 100k car, if you are sane

anything above that, means you can't afford it

and who use the same car >5 years?

again, i re-iterate, car is a LIABILITY. it depereciates the second it leaves the showroom

edit: just for the lulz, go and sit at a tyre shop and see how those young ppl drive nice civic, or vios or city can only afford to replace TWO tyres ONLY at one time? man... that's soo wrong. (doesn't matter the fact the car is 2wd and usually the front goes first)

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(GTR r-35 @ Oct 23 2011, 09:09 PM)
if u go look around those private university or college.... go look at their car park, u will be shocked to see what are the students driving...
they are driving their parents' (or their parent's company registered) cars...

nothing hardly to be shocked at... living with FAMA allowances. not impressed.

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:18 pm

u got that one right. plus, lots of credit card debts, and 2 - 3 month did not pay car installment

This post has been edited by lucifah: Oct 23 2011, 09:22 PM
gkl83
post Oct 23 2011, 09:26 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 23 2011, 09:14 PM)

+1

i driving myvi, a bit regret to spend another RM10k on it and i should rather go for saga instead to save some bucks... tongue.gif anyway, i glad that i can owned a DSL house) with my bloody money as tat time cost me RM300k 3 years ago (about 25 years old that time) but selling price is about RM600k now... if i wish to sell my house now, i can buy a super luxury car now... drool.gif

as advise dont spend ur hard earned money when u r young, save it and do investment or buy house instead... wait for 5 years and u can get a car for FREE... smile.gif hence, dont forget in future u may have more commitment and u need more money to survive...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Oct 23 2011, 09:28 PM
nazri86a
post Oct 23 2011, 09:28 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Oct 23 2011, 09:01 PM)
if you didn't notice, let me remind you.. nowadays, it is difficult to see proton or perodua on the road.. the common scene is vios or city with P.. so what to do to stand out?
my fren just buy new vios with 10 years installment 2tier (pay 700 for several years.. 7years++ 1k+) but seldom see he going outside.. no money to put petrol kot.. hmm.gif
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 23 2011, 09:31 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 23 2011, 09:14 PM)
why on earth do you need a car that cost > 100k?

you 2" ?

it costs money - not just monthly repayment, but repairs, parts, insurances and taxes

get a car that's within your capacity to pay. a good and tried formula is 1/4 of your monthly pay goes to the car repayment - with FIVE year loan
CODE

example:

100k loan + 3% int @ 5years = 115k
115k/60month = 1,900

1,900 x 4 = 7.600

u need at least RM 7,600 monthly pay to afford a 100k car, if you are sane

anything above that, means you can't afford it

and who use the same car >5 years?

again, i re-iterate, car is a LIABILITY. it depereciates the second it leaves the showroom
edit: just for the lulz, go and sit at a tyre shop and see how those young ppl drive nice civic, or vios or city can only afford to replace TWO tyres ONLY at one time? man... that's soo wrong. (doesn't matter the fact the car is 2wd and usually the front goes first)

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:17 pm
they are driving their parents' (or their parent's company registered) cars...

nothing hardly to be shocked at... living with FAMA allowances. not impressed.

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:18 pm

u got that one right. plus, lots of credit card debts, and 2 - 3 month did not pay car installment
2 tires not bad wei..
Last time i see someone tire cant repair d.. driving accord.. ask for 2nd hand tire.. The shop owner say 50. He ask for 30 summore. lolz
ar188
post Oct 23 2011, 09:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(nazri86a @ Oct 23 2011, 09:28 PM)
my fren just buy new vios with 10 years installment 2tier (pay 700 for several years.. 7years++ 1k+) but seldom see he going outside.. no money to put petrol kot..  hmm.gif
vios where got makan minyak? maybe should buy insight instead? biggrin.gif
nazri86a
post Oct 23 2011, 09:41 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 23 2011, 09:32 PM)
vios where got makan minyak? maybe should buy insight instead?  biggrin.gif
yeap vios jimat minyak but if ur saving permonth balance below 500 can go wayang, lepak, etc..?

jy1905
post Oct 23 2011, 09:57 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 23 2011, 09:31 PM)
2 tires not bad wei..
Last time i see someone tire cant repair d.. driving accord.. ask for 2nd hand tire.. The shop owner say 50. He ask for 30 summore. lolz
i guess sometimes the apek riding a bicycle/ motorbike might be richer than those driving a benz on the road
dares
post Oct 23 2011, 10:04 PM

834 posts

42 Malaysias go bankrupt everyday thanks to car debt and credit card debt. You'd think everyone would learn something from these statistics.
lucifah
post Oct 23 2011, 10:10 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nazri86a @ Oct 23 2011, 09:28 PM)
my fren just buy new vios with 10 years installment 2tier (pay 700 for several years.. 7years++ 1k+) but seldom see he going outside.. no money to put petrol kot..  hmm.gif
HA HA HA HA... 10 years?

my god

the only reason why i didn't get a car loan less than 5 years is the interest rate gets higher

i asked for a car loan a few months back

9 yr - 3.5%

7 yr - 3.2%

5 yr - 2.9%

3 yr - 3.5% <--- WTF?

bank says not making enough money....

true story.

i'd have paid in cash, but that would raise LHDN alarm bells.
SUSkimsim
post Oct 23 2011, 10:13 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Ha ha I'm quite interested to know about 100k
Value of car loan.

Let said lah.

100k -10% DP = 90k and your monthly installment should at around Rm1000 for 9 years.

1. Car installment at Rm1k
2. Road tax Rm280/12 mths
3. 1st year car Insur. At Rm2.9k -NCB 20% or deduce from old car insur at 55% then the cost at around Rm1400/12 mths.
4. Petrol for 100k car should be more higher than small CC car at Around Rm450-500 pet mths.
5. Personal insurance Rm150-200.
6. Makan for breakfast + lunch time at Rm15 per day.
7. Plaza Toll at Rm50 per mth.
8. Every 3 mths servicing at Rm250-300.
9. Ticket Moving if you have gf already smile.gif
10. Bills etc at Rm100-150 per mth.
11. If stay out side not stay with parent then have to standby another Rm500 smile.gif
12. If you saw the car accessories your friend have, then you also need and get additional Rm200.
13. If you have merokok keke additional again.
14. If you wanna eat additional good food with gf and standby another Rm200 smile.gif
15. Buy iPhone, iPad or new laptop & PC then the cost will be additional for you credit card installment smile.gif
16....To be continue....

If you have more commitment and better don't buy an very expansive car end up do not have pocket money and monthly saving.

If you can afford right now and just go ahead to your current afford car.

jy1905
post Oct 23 2011, 10:32 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 23 2011, 10:13 PM)
Ha ha I'm quite interested to know about 100k
Value of car loan.

Let said lah.

100k -10% DP = 90k and your monthly installment should at around Rm1000 for 9 years.

1. Car installment at Rm1k
2. Road tax Rm280/12 mths
3. 1st year car Insur. At Rm2.9k -NCB 20% or deduce from old car insur at 55% then the cost at around Rm1400/12 mths.
4. Petrol for 100k car should be more higher than small CC car at Around Rm450-500 pet mths.
5. Personal insurance Rm150-200.
6. Makan for breakfast + lunch time at Rm15 per day.
7. Plaza Toll at Rm50 per mth.
8. Every 3 mths servicing at Rm250-300.
9. Ticket Moving if you have gf already smile.gif
10. Bills etc at Rm100-150 per mth.
11. If stay out side not stay with parent then have to standby another Rm500 smile.gif
12. If you saw the car accessories your friend have, then you also need and get additional Rm200.
13. If you have merokok keke additional again.
14. If you wanna eat additional good food with gf and standby another Rm200 smile.gif
15. Buy iPhone, iPad or new laptop & PC then the cost will be additional for you credit card installment smile.gif
16....To be continue....

If you have more commitment and better don't buy an very expansive car end up do not have pocket money and monthly saving.

If you can afford right now and just go ahead to your current afford car.
u would faint when some ppl tell u y they need a big car.. the most ridiculous one i've got is 'to get a gf'.. i was speechless when i hear tat..
gunsnroses
post Oct 23 2011, 10:36 PM

77 posts

42 bankrupts under the age of 40 a day in Malaysia. That is the statistic.

Credit card debt being the main cause.

Good la, earn 3k buy 100k car some more. Then drive like you own the road. You guys deserve it.
lj0000
post Oct 24 2011, 12:03 AM

2,201 posts

need to discourage them.reason being, once they default the payment, the bank's non performing loan increase = cost of loan increase. the cost is spread to all of us who are taking loans.
TSrest
post Oct 24 2011, 12:23 AM

39 posts

My current university is full of nice car(by student)vios,city,mazda 3 all these is very common,yes,local cars is getting less at least in my school.

What I know is that some of my friends just graduate and father already give them nice car,and full cash settle,which they dont need to pay any installment for that.Yet,every month his father still give him pocket money because his salary can not cover his expenses."What a good son."

For my case,my father bought me a car,myvi,but the installment my father reduce from my monthly expenses,once I start working,I am the one continue the loan.

After read thro comments,I think I know what I should do and dont.
Money in pocket is much important than driving liability on road.

I believe they is a lot of people driving normal car but is a millionaire.

Thank you for the comments.
lj0000
post Oct 24 2011, 12:25 AM

2,201 posts

well said. money in pocket is better than money loaned.
its bad spending that murdered greece's economy.
TSrest
post Oct 24 2011, 12:59 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 24 2011, 12:25 AM)

well said. money in pocket is better than money loaned.
its bad spending that murdered greece's economy.
thanks guys for those critic,I appreciated it.
notworthy.gif
Aishinka
post Oct 24 2011, 01:25 AM

75 posts

The best survival method is, car price < annual salary. That way you should be safe. Assuming your car costs rm100k, your annual salary should be more than your car price. this formula should be safe if you have gf / pay rental / own food / own maintenance etc etc. Just my opinion.
TSrest
post Oct 24 2011, 01:34 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(Aishinka @ Oct 24 2011, 01:25 AM)
The best survival method is, car price < annual salary. That way you should be safe. Assuming your car costs rm100k, your annual salary should be more than your car price. this formula should be safe if you have gf / pay rental / own food / own maintenance etc etc. Just my opinion.
This is something that wow me.
If dirext divide which mean each month need to earn 8k something.

Thanks!
zamzama
post Oct 24 2011, 02:00 AM

think carefully, as this is a long time commitment...

for me, if i can arrive safely and comfortably, then it's just fine...
better save your salary for the future plans and emergencies, we don't know what will happen in the future

i just work as an engineer with 3k++ salary but i drove a secondhand waja which cost me around 28k....
monthly almost RM400 only.. but still can go up to 190kmh easily.... icon_rolleyes.gif
the good thing is i don't have to eat instant noodles and salted fish everyday....

just be grateful of what we have bro... rclxm9.gif

writeprotect
post Oct 24 2011, 02:03 AM

306 posts

Hah? So salary rm5k only can get myvi only la... If using ur formula. Hehehe

But I'm also want to know, what is the minimum salary to submit for loan to buy 100k car?

Is it many or not people that earn </= 5k buy 100k car in Malaysia?
Tq
Aishinka
post Oct 24 2011, 02:28 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 24 2011, 01:34 AM)
This is something that wow me.
If dirext divide which mean each month need to earn 8k something.

Thanks!
QUOTE(writeprotect @ Oct 24 2011, 02:03 AM)

But I'm also want to know, what is the minimum salary to submit for loan to buy 100k car?

Tq
just to be safe, with tons of money more to spend for your other commitments + savings. if you're buying a myvi with 7 years loan, monthly installment should be about 700~900 i think, you have about 4k to spend on your other expenses + savings, isn't that good?

well this applies to people who 'as long as got car drive, can already'... this is how i think though, so for me, property > cars. as someone said previously, cars = liability, not asset.
TSrest
post Oct 24 2011, 02:47 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(Aishinka @ Oct 24 2011, 02:28 AM)
just to be safe, with tons of money more to spend for your other commitments + savings. if you're buying a myvi with 7 years loan, monthly installment should be about 700~900 i think, you have about 4k to spend on your other expenses + savings, isn't that good?

well this applies to people who 'as long as got car drive, can already'... this is how i think though, so for me, property > cars. as someone said previously, cars = liability, not asset.
I want and wish to become those people that "have car,ok already"

Added on October 24, 2011, 2:49 am

Tq
Someone above mention rm3k something?minimum requirement.

This post has been edited by rest: Oct 24 2011, 02:49 AM
jy1905
post Oct 24 2011, 03:48 AM

1,411 posts

Tq
should be around 3k++.. banks don't consider your maintenance, ins, petrol and so on.. what they usually do is divide your salary by 3.. even if that is not enough, get a guarantor.. everything settled
SUSkimsim
post Oct 24 2011, 06:35 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 24 2011, 02:47 AM)
I want and wish to become those people that "have car,ok already"

Added on October 24, 2011, 2:49 am
Someone above mention rm3k something?minimum requirement.
Hi, rest

For who ppl own the car at 100k, they minimum income should have Rm6k per monthly income.

If your salary is ard 4-5k and got do something part time I don't think you cant afford the car.

For normal ppl who have the car 100k maybe is the 2nd unit of car at for normal days just drive the small CC car such as proton & perodua.

One more tips here for you to calculate the car monthly installment.

For 3k -11% of EPF = Nett Rm2670/3 = Rm890 this is the answer you can afford the car installment smile.gif

This post has been edited by kimsim: Oct 24 2011, 06:49 AM
skod
post Oct 24 2011, 06:56 AM

1,038 posts

4.5k minimum enough said.
5.5k to be safe
xxx2299
post Oct 24 2011, 08:39 AM

169 posts

rest,

if this is a sincere question that you have asked, then my sincere reply is:-

(pre-condition: you do not have rich parents who will pay for your car installment/maintenance/repair/fuel etc, should things go wrong)

"total amount of annual spending on the car (installment, fuel, road tax, insurance, repair, maintenance, upgrade, mod etc) must be less than 1/3 of your total annual earning. Failing which, you will not have a life for many years to come."

Life is NOT about CAR ONLY.
There is HOUSE, HOLIDAY, CHILDREN, RETIREMENT, INVESTMENT etc...

K3nnYkl82
post Oct 24 2011, 09:32 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ Oct 24 2011, 08:39 AM)
rest,

if this is a sincere question that you have asked, then my sincere reply is:-

(pre-condition: you do not have rich parents who will pay for your car installment/maintenance/repair/fuel etc, should things go wrong)

"total amount of annual spending on the car (installment, fuel, road tax, insurance, repair, maintenance, upgrade, mod etc) must be less than 1/3 of your total annual earning. Failing which, you will not have a life for many years to come."

Life is NOT about CAR ONLY.
There is HOUSE, HOLIDAY, CHILDREN, RETIREMENT, INVESTMENT etc...
to some ppl . life is about washing, waxing, fueling, showing, his/her car ma ... :-P

serious one - shd balance up and do ur own financial planing.. Car shd be the least piority .. get wat u can afford.. try to be independent.. parents are not ur ATM.. spending parents money wont make u look good

T630
post Oct 24 2011, 09:34 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 24 2011, 09:32 AM)
to some ppl . life is about washing, waxing, fueling, showing, his/her car ma ... :-P

serious one - shd balance up and do ur own financial planing.. Car shd be the least piority .. get wat u can afford.. try to be independent.. parents are not ur ATM.. spending parents money wont make u look good
some people are born that way... sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Oct 24 2011, 09:39 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Oct 23 2011, 10:32 PM)
u would faint when some ppl tell u y they need a big car.. the most ridiculous one i've got is 'to get a gf'.. i was speechless when i hear tat..
Maybe his gf is a pig, that's why need a "big" car...LOL.

Added on October 24, 2011, 9:42 am
QUOTE(zamzama @ Oct 24 2011, 02:00 AM)
think carefully, as this is a long time commitment...

for me, if i can arrive safely and comfortably, then it's just fine...
better save your salary for the future plans and emergencies, we don't know what will happen in the future

i just work as an engineer with 3k++ salary but i drove a secondhand waja which cost me around 28k....
monthly almost RM400 only.. but still can go up to 190kmh easily....  icon_rolleyes.gif
the good thing is i don't have to eat instant noodles and salted fish everyday....

just be grateful of what we have bro...  rclxm9.gif
Salted fish is very expensive nowadays....more expensive than chicken. LOL.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Oct 24 2011, 09:42 AM
SUSkimsim
post Oct 24 2011, 09:59 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

I think the loan table can be help you as much you can afford smile.gif

Since got ppl comment then I just improved the viewing solution smile.gif

This post has been edited by kimsim: Oct 24 2011, 05:05 PM
skyblas
post Oct 24 2011, 10:24 AM

around 4k should be adequate
TSrest
post Oct 24 2011, 01:07 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 24 2011, 09:59 AM)
You actually did the table??
Thank you so much.
SUSkimsim
post Oct 24 2011, 01:17 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 24 2011, 01:07 PM)
You actually did the table??
Thank you so much.
Ha ha you welcome
ultramaman
post Oct 24 2011, 02:13 PM

168 posts

buy 100k car for what, then u stress biler mau service. then u start telling the mechanic... that 'part' must change now ah ? cannot push another service mehhh ? then the mechanic also.. start sourcing for u... aftermarket parts,second hand parts as long as can put ur car on the road... then. when u park in the hot sun.. u sakit hati.. becoz its exposed to the sun and the rain... then when people bang your car or sign on ur car, u lagi sakit hatii... last last,, your bp goes up.. for what ????

baik u beli a car that you can afford to actually forget about how much the car costs... so that you x sakit hati when someone bangs your car.. the only part sakit hati is the inconvenience of it, not the cost of it... if you get what i mean ?

your're earning 3k+, lets round up to 4k. the car , u going to go for maximun 9 years.. so, out of 4k, you only got 2k left. ( 2k gone becoz of monthly+ petrol+toll+parking+service+emergency)
2 years down the road, u now earning 5k, and u suddenly realize u wanna buy a house... what house can u get on that ? bear in mind....2k gone. you got 3k left. out of this 3k, assume 2k is for your own monthly needs, ( food, rent and basic bills)
u got 1k left.... mau beli rumah mana ? rembau ke ?

Added on October 24, 2011, 2:14 pmbetter u buy a cheaper car, get a property, and ten years down the road. you buy a 200k car....

This post has been edited by ultramaman: Oct 24 2011, 02:14 PM
lucifah
post Oct 24 2011, 03:15 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 24 2011, 09:59 AM)
man.. don't u even know how to screen-cap? printscreen?

u have to actually take a photo of your computer screen?

and with 9 yr loan, everyone can pay the installment

the golden question is: can you AFFORD to have a 100k car.

not can you pay for 100k car monthly payment...

being able to service the loan and being able to afford a 100k car is two totally different thing...

oh, btw, most banks have their online Hire Purchase calculator that you can use easily...

SUSkimsim
post Oct 24 2011, 03:29 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 24 2011, 03:15 PM)
man.. don't u even know how to screen-cap? printscreen?

u have to actually take a photo of your computer screen?

and with 9 yr loan, everyone can pay the installment

the golden question is: can you AFFORD to have a 100k car.

not can you pay for 100k car monthly payment...
being able to service the loan and being able to afford a 100k car is two totally different thing...

oh, btw, most banks have their online Hire Purchase calculator that you can use easily...
Yap I knew how to printscreen capture, but my office PC do not have Internet access, at the time only can reply or using my iPhone to over the Internet ke ke when take a photo also as faster, what I can be transfer over to my iPhone smile.gif

This post has been edited by kimsim: Oct 24 2011, 03:31 PM
D902
post Oct 24 2011, 03:39 PM

49 posts

I earn ~8K per month (take home paid) and I'm only drive Proton Saga BLM (2009 model). Why?

Because I've an house loan to serve, a wife and two kids to feed.
alpha0201
post Oct 24 2011, 03:42 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

TS got enough to save every month after all those daily expenses, loan & maintenance?

No use also if everyday kais pagi makan pagi, kais petang makan petang everyday with RM0 in your bank account.
SUSkimsim
post Oct 24 2011, 03:48 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Ok lah I got one solution, just go for direct selling ha ha and working as normal and every months got more than 10k should be good enough to getting 100k car.
Ke ke
roger roger
post Oct 24 2011, 03:54 PM

560 posts

don forget those add on accessories, it will kill u too. quality sun tint, immobilizer, gps, sound system, dvd, pu skirt, toms sticker, bigger sport rims with tyres, and etc. ready to fork another rm20k for that? good luck yo. huhue
SUSkimsim
post Oct 24 2011, 04:03 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Don't scared our brother leh smile.gif

If you getting a full spec should not be everything accessories needed to added.

Such as Nissan latio hatchback + Impul body kit I think this is already shock and do not need modify and only change the DVD player as well smile.gif
obiey
post Oct 24 2011, 04:48 PM

74 posts

if you are planning to get RM100k car.. and if you live in Klang Valley.. please consider buying a house first.. therefore need salary >RM5k..

gkl83
post Oct 24 2011, 05:12 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(T630 @ Oct 24 2011, 09:34 AM)
some people are born that way...  sweat.gif

unless those ppl are single if dont have commitment such as family, child, property, investment, insurance, etc...

i got a colleague sold his city and bought civic, end up he have to pay RM1k for 7-9years... somemore he spent and planned for upgrading with some "cool" accessories such as multimedia + GPS system, side mirror signal LED, rear trunk release system, etc...

anyway, he complain that the civic fuel consumption higher than his city.... lol? doh.gif in addition, i asked him whether planned to change his rim and tires as his civis will look more "cool"... he answered me "never" as the new replacement for stock tires enough to kill his wallet... another lol? doh.gif
SUSkimsim
post Oct 24 2011, 05:17 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 24 2011, 05:12 PM)
unless those ppl are single if dont have commitment such as family, child, property, investment, insurance, etc...

i got a colleague sold his city and bought civic, end up he have to pay RM1k for 7-9years... somemore he spent and planned for upgrading with some "cool" accessories such as multimedia + GPS system, side mirror signal LED, rear trunk release system, etc...

anyway, he complain that the civic fuel consumption higher than his city.... lol?  doh.gif  in addition, i asked him whether planned to change his rim and tires as his civis will look more "cool"... he answered me "never" as the new replacement for stock tires enough to kill his wallet... another lol? doh.gif
Wah this very good experience from you friend and sharing here, well done!

post Oct 24 2011, 05:32 PM

1,447 posts

i think a car is only for the purpose of transporting.... i owned an Innova.... and the reason i purchase it is for outstation run with 6 person in the car and more spacious and better for long distance running compare to Avanza..... I travel like 10000km withing 3 months...

now my car 5 years + 3 months already reach 190000km considering to change car.... reason also is affraid my car cannot tahan any more longer, though i send my car to service on time and everytime will change all the parts according to the service book, but mechanical failure cannot be predicted.

So my car is all about working and that is the reason i purchased it. Price wise i think it is reasonable if u make full used of it... not for fancy other ppl.
gkl83
post Oct 24 2011, 05:42 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 24 2011, 05:17 PM)
Wah this very good experience from you friend and sharing here, well done!

sharing is one issue... owners should understand the total maintenance cost of luxury car as it may cost a bomb after the warranty period...

i brainstormed in term of technical term with my colleague (the guys owned civic) too as he considered on honda insight, we think the maintenance cost for GB on hybird may a bomb as i think that have some sort of conversion system there (combine the horsepower from electric motor & petrol engine)... the battery replacement may cost a bomb too but the SA informed my colleague that the battery price will reduce in the future (lol? we never know that ANY heavy duty battery price dropped before) and we seriously doubt that the battery for hybird may cost a bomb in the next 5 years time...

so better do some homework 1st before purchase any cars... smile.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Oct 24 2011, 05:44 PM
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 24 2011, 05:56 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 24 2011, 05:42 PM)
sharing is one issue... owners should understand the total maintenance cost of luxury car as it may cost a bomb after the warranty period...

i brainstormed in term of technical term with my colleague (the guys owned civic) too as he considered on honda insight, we think the maintenance cost for GB on hybird may a bomb as i think that have some sort of conversion system there (combine the horsepower from electric motor & petrol engine)... the battery replacement may cost a bomb too but the SA informed my colleague that the battery price will reduce in the future (lol? we never know that ANY heavy duty battery price dropped before) and we seriously doubt that the battery for hybird may cost a bomb in the next 5 years time...

so better do some homework 1st before purchase any cars...  smile.gif
Possible hybrid does not exist anymore replaced by fuel cell .. Then it would really cost a bom
jy1905
post Oct 24 2011, 06:04 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Oct 24 2011, 02:13 PM)
buy 100k car  for what, then u stress biler mau service. then u start telling the mechanic... that 'part' must change now ah ? cannot push another service mehhh ? then the mechanic also.. start sourcing for u...  aftermarket parts,second hand parts as long as can put ur car on the road...  then. when u park in the hot sun.. u sakit hati.. becoz its exposed to the sun and the rain... then when people bang your car or sign on ur car, u lagi sakit hatii... last last,, your bp goes up.. for what ????
baik u beli a car that you can afford to actually forget about how much the car costs... so that you x sakit hati when someone bangs your car.. the only part sakit hati is the inconvenience of it, not the cost of it... if you get what i mean ?

your're earning 3k+, lets round up to 4k.  the car , u going to go for maximun 9 years.. so, out of 4k, you only got 2k left. ( 2k gone becoz of monthly+ petrol+toll+parking+service+emergency)
2 years down the road, u now earning 5k,  and u suddenly realize u wanna buy a house... what house can u get   on that ? bear in mind....2k gone. you got 3k left. out of this 3k, assume 2k is for your own monthly needs, ( food, rent and basic bills)
u got 1k left.... mau beli rumah mana ? rembau ke ?

Added on October 24, 2011, 2:14 pmbetter u buy a cheaper car, get a property, and  ten years down the road. you buy a 200k car....
that's what my fren earning 20k/month said to me.. proton saga < 30k .. ppl bang him he oso no care, no need repair and no need sakit hati.. as long as the car have 4 wheels can bring him around to get business ald good enough

Added on October 24, 2011, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 24 2011, 03:48 PM)
Ok lah I got one solution, just go for direct selling ha ha and working as normal and every months got more than 10k should be good enough to getting 100k car.
Ke ke
then you'll have more and more ppl opening new thread in lyn saying they have been conned by mlm.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by jy1905: Oct 24 2011, 06:06 PM
gkl83
post Oct 24 2011, 06:07 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 24 2011, 05:56 PM)
Possible hybrid does not exist anymore replaced by fuel cell .. Then it would really cost a bom

one of the reasons hybird car is to save petrol...
so i dont see the purpose by using fuel cell if the petrol price still going up... sweat.gif

unless there have the possibility to stabilize the Hydrogen if extract from water and use this technology on car instead...
ar188
post Oct 24 2011, 06:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 24 2011, 05:12 PM)

anyway, he complain that the civic fuel consumption higher than his city.... lol?  doh.gif  in addition, i asked him whether planned to change his rim and tires as his civis will look more "cool"... he answered me "never" as the new replacement for stock tires enough to kill his wallet... another lol? doh.gif
as long as he didn't borrow money from me, I wouldn't be worked up about how he can't afford his ride.. lol..
maybe next time when he kennot tahan liao, he can sell cheap cheap at used car dealer price. laugh.gif

Added on October 24, 2011, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 24 2011, 06:07 PM)
one of the reasons hybird car is to save petrol...
so i dont see the purpose by using fuel cell if the petrol price still going up... sweat.gif

unless there have the possibility to stabilize the Hydrogen if extract from water and use this technology on car instead...
fuel cell doesn't mean have to extract from water, can be fuel cell using petrol also to provide electricity..cos it's more efficient to drive vehicle using electric motor than internal combustion.

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 24 2011, 06:11 PM
gkl83
post Oct 24 2011, 06:32 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2011, 06:10 PM)
fuel cell doesn't mean have to extract from water, can be fuel cell using petrol also to provide electricity..cos it's more efficient to drive vehicle using electric motor than internal combustion.

yes... i means no point to use petrol to extract electric since the petrol price keep increase in the future...
hence as what u said the fuel cell technology doesnt cheap either as you claimed and i doesn't see the beneficial of car manufacturer to use this technology on his new products... i think car manufacturer rather go for water extraction for hydrogen if compare to fuel cell as we can get water easily from anywhere...
ar188
post Oct 24 2011, 06:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 24 2011, 06:32 PM)
yes... i means no point to use petrol to extract electric since the petrol price keep increase in the future...
hence as what u said the fuel cell technology doesnt cheap either as you claimed and i doesn't see the beneficial of car manufacturer to use this technology on his new products... i think car manufacturer rather go for water extraction for hydrogen if compare to fuel cell as we can get water easily from anywhere...
cheap or no cheap, we do not know.. no point speculating the cost now..

for example, 10years ago no one selling Li-Po batteries commercially, now found in every corner of the earth in mobile devices.. and start to use in Electric vehicles, so it's hard to say...

These batteries may also power the next generation of battery electric vehicles. The cost of an electric car of this type is prohibitive, but proponents argue that with increased production, the cost of Li-poly batteries will go down.

Hyundai Motor Company plans to use this battery type in its hybrid electric vehicles.[3] On October 26, 2010, a Li-poly powered Audi A2 covered the record distance of 600 km without rechargin

SUSkimsim
post Oct 24 2011, 06:54 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Wah hot topic now become to fuel saving technology he he smile.gif
TSrest
post Oct 24 2011, 07:33 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 24 2011, 06:54 PM)
Wah hot topic now become to fuel saving technology he he smile.gif
OK,come back to the topic.
Besides,if I buy a car with full cash is that ok?I heard that someone will check on you is that true?

turbocharged
post Oct 24 2011, 07:46 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 24 2011, 07:33 PM)
OK,come back to the topic.
Besides,if I buy a car with full cash is that ok?I heard that someone will check on you is that true?
as long as you can declare the source, its ok.

not those drug moeny, or bookie, or bapa ayam kind.

TSrest
post Oct 24 2011, 07:52 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 24 2011, 07:46 PM)
as long as you can declare the source, its ok.

not those drug moeny, or bookie, or bapa ayam kind.
If cant declare how?the shop wont sell to you even you have that much money?
turbocharged
post Oct 24 2011, 07:57 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 24 2011, 07:52 PM)
If cant declare how?the shop wont sell to you even you have that much money?
biggrin.gif u can buy, and ppl will get alerted, and the next thing you know, u're in jail! tongue.gif

there is a anti money laundry act, and so on.

but i'm sure those with dirty money knows how to get around with it.
jy1905
post Oct 24 2011, 08:15 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 24 2011, 07:57 PM)
biggrin.gif u can buy, and ppl will get alerted, and the next thing you know, u're in jail! tongue.gif

there is a anti money laundry act, and so on.

but i'm sure those with dirty money knows how to get around with it.
just tell them u earn the money from stock market speculation brows.gif
anyway, i think it is because of lhdn.. they will come after you if your income which you declared/paid tax does not commensurate with your spending.. unless your parents buy for you then no problem on your side

This post has been edited by jy1905: Oct 24 2011, 08:23 PM
turbocharged
post Oct 24 2011, 08:22 PM

250 posts

,er, lets talk back about buying cars.

saw in mazda 3 forum, a chap wanna buy mazda 3 mps, rm175k, kena rejected.

bank said can only buy rm125k mazda 3.

why? cos he only makes rm3k++, got credit card loan and housing loan and personal loan.

and the chap is so happy. i was like....wtf?
jy1905
post Oct 24 2011, 08:24 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 24 2011, 08:22 PM)

why? cos he only makes rm3k++, got credit card loan and housing loan and personal loan.

perhaps his family owns a gold mine?
ar188
post Oct 24 2011, 08:26 PM

9,206 posts

he's happy that the bank still offer him loan to buy up to 125k car kua.. means his credit line still a-ok.. laugh.gif
post Oct 24 2011, 08:28 PM

1,102 posts

Wao TS so rich, I have been working for 1++ year, plan to buy a car since beginning of this year but think and think and think again then no action simply because installment for 500-600 per month will make me no/less saving... 2.8k per month salary.
DM3
post Oct 24 2011, 08:42 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

so many youngsters like tht, spend beyond their means tongue.gif
twincharger07
post Oct 25 2011, 12:16 AM

4,788 posts

Herm.. financial talk in FnF again..? laugh.gif

Good advise... buying car based on your annual salary will be considered safe...

my car is lesser than my annual salary...

Others will call ppl like us crazy and give lame excuse like "how the country gonna sustain if everyone lowering their debts or buying cheaper car"... Bolehland is one country where most ppl think it is normal to buy a car worth much more than our annual salary... placing too much debt on a liability..

I was amazed to see so many foreign cars are getting more and more in KL... cant even get a parking in Midvalley and Sunway, so many new foreign car models with new number plates...

Msian getting richer and richer? or I guess more like getting into more and more debts..

Anyway... Dealers and manufacturers are doing a great job in marketing and branding to create temptation enticing the public... Bolehland will be forever prosperous with so many youngsters contributing the government taxation and banking's interest so long they dont go into default... wink.gif

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Oct 25 2011, 12:26 AM
Aishinka
post Oct 25 2011, 02:53 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:16 AM)
Herm.. financial talk in FnF again..?  laugh.gif
Good advise... buying car based on your annual salary will be considered safe...

my car is lesser than my annual salary...

Others will call ppl like us crazy and give lame excuse like "how the country gonna sustain if everyone lowering their debts or buying cheaper car"... Bolehland is one country where most ppl think it is normal to buy a car worth much more than our annual salary... placing too much debt on a liability..

I was amazed to see so many foreign cars are getting more and more in KL... cant even get a parking in Midvalley and Sunway, so many new foreign car models with new number plates...

Msian getting richer and richer? or I guess more like getting into more and more debts..

Anyway... Dealers and manufacturers are doing a great job in marketing and branding to create temptation enticing the public... Bolehland will be forever prosperous with so many youngsters contributing the government taxation and banking's interest so long they dont go into default...  wink.gif
Buying a car lesser than your annual salary will definitely save you from the maintenance costs that WILL kill you. The thing about why people love buying luxury cars.. its mainly for satisfaction.

I know its crazy, earning rm10k a month, but only enough to afford a civic 2.0, but at the end of the year, savings itself also got more than rm10k. must look at everything in the long run, not the short run.
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 08:12 AM

9,206 posts

why you all like to lecture ppl on financial talk.. ? financial guru izzit? got write book like kiyosaki ar? earn alot ? other ppl's risk/loan their pasal la.. they just want to talk about their pasttime hobby which is automobile.
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 25 2011, 09:35 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:12 AM)
why you all like to lecture ppl on financial talk.. ? financial guru izzit? got write book like kiyosaki ar? earn alot ? other ppl's risk/loan their pasal la.. they just want to talk about their pasttime hobby which is automobile.
The thread is about "How much I need to earn to afford 100' car" ma.
It is not "How much monthly installment for 100k car"
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 10:01 AM

9,206 posts

oic. Ok then lecture away.
SUSMatrix
post Oct 25 2011, 10:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 24 2011, 06:32 PM)
I think hydrogen has it's own problem....otherwise, why do you think it's not mass market until today? Last time i read the main problem is, you need lots of energy to convert the water to H2 AND O.....you simply cannot get H2 like that...so in the end, H2 not really stable, needs a lot of energy to convert (battery power? not sure) and effects on engine also dunno...(like NGV can cause engine block to crack due to high temperature etc)......you cannot simply create something out of nothing....(Budhha taught this...haha...become religion thread liao...)....
SUSkimsim
post Oct 25 2011, 10:15 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

1st step you wanna own a 100k car price.

Must be do a small calculate on your living expenses and commitment.

Follow by own saving for down payment and follow by monthly installment on 5, 7 or 9 years and this is worth to buy???

Just telling yourself buy the car is for what purpose?
Fully use or weekend car?

After just decide want to get the expansive car or not?

If ok just go ahead if cannot just drop your budget to lower a bit such as <80k car value I think right now have alot choices.

K3nnYkl82
post Oct 25 2011, 10:20 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 25 2011, 10:15 AM)
1st step you wanna own a 100k car price.

Must be do a small calculate on your living expenses and commitment.

Follow by own saving for down payment and follow by monthly installment on 5, 7 or 9 years and this is worth to buy???

Just telling yourself buy the car is for what purpose?
Fully use or weekend car?

After just decide want to get the expansive car or not?

If ok just go ahead if cannot just drop your budget to lower a bit such as <80k car value I think right now have alot choices.
my 2 cents advice...

only buy that car if u can afford the loan tenure for MAX 5 years... pre calculation..

if you can afford a 5 years loan .. u can go for 7 years or 9 years so u can utilize the additional spare money maybe for ur house .. or what ever ... or savings...

Do not ever buy a car that u can only afford 9 years loan .. this will kill u ... smile.gif

no matter it is Toyota, Honda, BMW, Ferrari ... once it step into 5 years above ages.. there are many tear and wears waiting for u .. smile.gif
mrsafwan
post Oct 25 2011, 11:28 AM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:12 AM)
very 'like'
cute_boboi
post Oct 25 2011, 12:08 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Really ? hmm.gif Let's see, if I earn 10k/mth, it means I can buy 175 x 3 = 525k car (375k loan) shocking.gif
rolleyes.gif

K3nnYkl82
post Oct 25 2011, 12:11 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 12:08 PM)
Really ?  hmm.gif  Let's see, if I earn 10k/mth, it means I can buy 175 x 3 = 525k car (375k loan)  shocking.gif
rolleyes.gif
man .. u are good in accounting notworthy.gif
cute_boboi
post Oct 25 2011, 12:27 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:11 PM)
man .. u are good in accounting  notworthy.gif
No, I'm an idiot cause I just bought a much lower value car, as compared to all car enthusiasts here doh.gif
I can't believe 3k-5k/mth can buy 100k car, and pay the installments, fuel, toll, parking, repair, maintenance, incidental costs like scratch, police/JPJ summons, etc.

TSrest
post Oct 25 2011, 01:35 PM

39 posts

I just want to make clear something here.
I receive alot of advice and comments from you guys.i am not saying that i will buy car once i start working.i just want roughly know the range,not saying that will buy after i start work.
I am
Just planning my future,seeking as much info as possible.
Thanks ya
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 02:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 12:27 PM)
No, I'm an idiot cause I just bought a much lower value car, as compared to all car enthusiasts here  doh.gif
I can't believe 3k-5k/mth can buy 100k car, and pay the installments, fuel, toll, parking, repair, maintenance, incidental costs like scratch, police/JPJ summons, etc.
can.. maybe got parents to help 30-50% deposit leh?
just like going overseas to study, no income, finish pre U, can go Australia or UK for 2-3years study meh?
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 25 2011, 02:26 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 25 2011, 01:35 PM)
I receive alot of advice and comments from you guys.i am not saying that i will buy car once i start working.i just want roughly know the range,not saying that will buy after i start work.
I am
Thanks ya
we are not trying to lecture u too smile.gif

just trying to give our dua puluh cent worth of experience...

to let u judge by urself if u want to be the 42 person whom declare bankrupsy everyday due to debts ..
or want to live a better life smile.gif

its all about ur own choices..
TSrest
post Oct 25 2011, 02:36 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:26 PM)
we are not trying to lecture u too smile.gif

just trying to give our dua puluh cent worth of experience...

to let u judge by urself if u want to be the 42 person whom declare bankrupsy everyday due to debts ..
or want to live a better life smile.gif

its all about ur own choices..
thank you all senior.
I am still learning, experiences,expose more.I think when the right time come, automatically I will know whether I can afford to buy or not. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSbabyrabies
post Oct 25 2011, 02:44 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 12:27 PM)
No, I'm an idiot cause I just bought a much lower value car, as compared to all car enthusiasts here  doh.gif
u're smart for sure, People here are jaded by materialism. Car loan is so easily attainable it became an illusion of success to many young working adults. 5k per month, yes u're eligible for a 100k loan but who
are u kidding, rite? FYI, i run my own business, makes roughly 5 figure a month but i still drive a Myvi. Although i own a Navara pickup as well but that's really for the business.

This post has been edited by babyrabies: Oct 25 2011, 02:46 PM
sleepy
post Oct 25 2011, 04:07 PM

1,139 posts

My salary is near 5 figure, but yet im driving an old vios 06. I also have another myvi 06. Finished the installment for both now. 2 years back my salary was around 3k+, and I only have the myvi that time. Paying 550 per month for a 7 year installment plan, there's not saving much left after deducting your petrol, expenses, epf, tax, food, drinks etc etc.

So for those that say 3k is the minimum to afford a 100k car, think again. Unless your car runs on water, and you eat sunlight for breakfast, moonlight for dinner, then yeah 3k salary can afford you a 100k car. You'll also be begging your friends to pay for your meal during yam char sessions laugh.gif

But then there are such ppl out there. I knew a guy who owns a 318i. He'll call friends out for yam char sessions and stuff. Then half-way, he'll pickup his phone and act like there's emergency and run-off by saying "sorry gtg emergency leh". The rest gotta pay for his meal laugh.gif
FlamingFox
post Oct 25 2011, 04:42 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Last year when i started working, I committed myself to a 9 year loan by taking a new Savvy. Thank goodness I didnt buy a more expensive car else i'll be half dead by now lol
cute_boboi
post Oct 25 2011, 05:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Oct 25 2011, 04:07 PM)
My salary is near 5 figure, but yet im driving an old vios 06. I also have another myvi 06. Finished the installment for both now. 2 years back my salary was around 3k+, and I only have the myvi that time. Paying 550 per month for a 7 year installment plan, there's not saving much left after deducting your petrol, expenses, epf, tax, food, drinks etc etc.

So for those that say 3k is the minimum to afford a 100k car, think again. Unless your car runs on water, and you eat sunlight for breakfast, moonlight for dinner, then yeah 3k salary can afford you a 100k car. You'll also be begging your friends to pay for your meal during yam char sessions laugh.gif

But then there are such ppl out there. I knew a guy who owns a 318i. He'll call friends out for yam char sessions and stuff. Then half-way, he'll pickup his phone and act like there's emergency and run-off by saying "sorry gtg emergency leh". The rest gotta pay for his meal laugh.gif
Assume if you earning 10k/month, legal money, declare income tax (PCB) and deduct EPF, socso, your balance every month should be 6.5k+ only.
max 26% tax
11% employee EPF
balance 63% only blink.gif

SUSkimsim
post Oct 25 2011, 05:14 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 05:02 PM)
Assume if you earning 10k/month, legal money, declare income tax (PCB) and deduct EPF, socso, your balance every month should be 6.5k+ only.
max 26% tax
11% employee EPF
balance 63% only  blink.gif
The balance still have Rm4095/3 = 1365 still can afford Rm130k car he he smile.gif
turbocharged
post Oct 25 2011, 05:15 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 05:02 PM)
max 26% tax
11% employee EPF
balance 63% only  blink.gif
no la, only 25k ++ will kena max income tax percentage.

cute_boboi
post Oct 25 2011, 05:50 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 25 2011, 05:15 PM)
no la, only 25k ++ will kena max income tax percentage.
10k/mth
Annual = 120k
Less relief, etc. let's say 18k?
Taxable income = 102k

>100k taxable income = 26%

Edit: Added tax rate source

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Oct 25 2011, 05:53 PM
lucifah
post Oct 25 2011, 05:55 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 05:50 PM)
10k/mth
Annual = 120k
Taxable income = 102k

man, it's tiered tax rate

the first bla bla bla thousand is bla bal bla % and so on

it's not direct x 26%...
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 06:30 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Oct 25 2011, 04:42 PM)
Last year when i started working, I committed myself to a 9 year loan by taking a new Savvy. Thank goodness I didnt buy a more expensive car else i'll be half dead by now lol
Savvy?? 9year loan? why no buy BLM saga?

Added on October 25, 2011, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 05:50 PM)
10k/mth
Annual = 120k
Taxable income = 102k

as per your link
Lebih 100,000 = 100,000 pertama RM14,325
Setiap ringgit berikutnya 26 %
so 102K = RM14325+RM520 = RM14845 not 102k x 26%

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 25 2011, 06:35 PM
SUSkimsim
post Oct 25 2011, 06:36 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 06:30 PM)

as per your link
Lebih 100,000  = 100,000 pertama RM14,325
Setiap ringgit berikutnya  26 %

you got experience before in paying over 100k taxable income wan or not?
No reason he like hatchback

This post has been edited by kimsim: Oct 25 2011, 06:42 PM
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 06:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 25 2011, 06:36 PM)
No reason he like hatchback smile.gif

oh ok, but savvy depreciation higher than saga mah.. hence why i asked no consider saga, in terms of not loosing so much money point of view,.
SUSkimsim
post Oct 25 2011, 06:47 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 06:39 PM)
oh ok, but savvy depreciation higher than saga mah.. hence why i asked no consider saga, in terms of not loosing so much money point of view,.
Maybe due to fuel saving on Savvy over than BLM auto then he can't afford the full tank only runing 200KM.

But savvy service one every 10k the cost will be more than Rm300-400 per service.
Even the water tank must be use battery water smile.gif
cute_boboi
post Oct 25 2011, 06:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 25 2011, 05:55 PM)
man, it's tiered tax rate

the first bla bla bla thousand is bla bal bla % and so on

it's not direct x 26%...
QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 06:30 PM)

as per your link
Lebih 100,000  = 100,000 pertama RM14,325
Setiap ringgit berikutnya  26 %
so 102K = RM14325+RM520 = RM14845 not 102k x 26%
Adoi, my mistake sweat.gif overlooked it doh.gif

ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 06:53 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 06:49 PM)
Adoi, my mistake  sweat.gif  overlooked it  doh.gif
mistake here nevermind, dun fill in wrong amount lor when submit form. incometax say thankyou.. laugh.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 6:55 pm
QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 25 2011, 06:47 PM)
Maybe due to fuel saving on Savvy over than BLM auto then he can't afford the full tank only runing 200KM.

But savvy service one every 10k the cost will be more than Rm300-400 per service.
wah so teruk meh this BLM AT 200km tankful??? taxi like to use it wor.. maybe that's 1.6 LPG? hmm.gif

water tank need distilled water? so VIP???

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 25 2011, 06:55 PM
SUSkimsim
post Oct 25 2011, 07:01 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 06:53 PM)
mistake here nevermind, dun fill in wrong amount lor when submit form. incometax say thankyou..  laugh.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 6:55 pm
wah so teruk meh this BLM AT 200km tankful??? taxi like to use it wor.. maybe that's 1.6 LPG? hmm.gif

water tank need distilled water? so VIP???
Good car Malaysia boreh smile.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 25 2011, 07:13 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 06:53 PM)
mistake here nevermind, dun fill in wrong amount lor when submit form. incometax say thankyou..  laugh.gif
Lucky income tax calculate correct wink.gif

Sata_Cable
post Oct 25 2011, 07:22 PM

114 posts

My salary 3100/Month. I just use 2nd Iswara cost RM280 Monthly for 5 years Installment. Now left 1 years plus. Paying house for 800/Month.Very simple living. No so headache. Just pop up few $$ for car maintenance and house maintenance. Whats left for my food, wife, kids and savings. Just my 2 cent.
turbocharged
post Oct 25 2011, 07:44 PM

250 posts

yea, i check properly before i start working, just in case, lol.

SUSdantck
post Oct 25 2011, 08:37 PM

1,004 posts

not woth to think ,nobody knows too when suddenly income stops....
forter
post Oct 25 2011, 09:10 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Sata_Cable @ Oct 25 2011, 07:22 PM)
My salary 3100/Month. I just use 2nd Iswara cost RM280 Monthly for 5 years Installment. Now left 1 years plus. Paying house for 800/Month.Very simple living. No so headache. Just pop up few $$ for car maintenance and house maintenance. Whats left for my food, wife, kids and savings. Just my 2 cent.
Your wife dont have any income?
turbocharged
post Oct 25 2011, 09:13 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(dantck @ Oct 25 2011, 08:37 PM)
not woth to think ,nobody knows too when suddenly income stops....
you dont worry about that, there is insurance wink.gif
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 09:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 25 2011, 09:13 PM)
you dont worry about that, there is insurance wink.gif
not every one buy wan.. if you go k/ inside, some even say it's a mlm scam.. laugh.gif
turbocharged
post Oct 25 2011, 09:17 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 09:15 PM)
not every one buy wan.. if you go k/ inside, some even say it's a mlm scam..  laugh.gif
come on, when you make 25k a month, you need to have some insurance, not going to rely on socso right? tongue.gif
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 09:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 25 2011, 09:17 PM)
come on, when you make 25k a month, you need to have some insurance, not going to rely on socso right? tongue.gif
i dunno i buy just to claim max allowance in tax return form.. laugh.gif
V12Kompressor
post Oct 25 2011, 09:21 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 25 2011, 09:17 PM)
socso only cover employees with max RM1,500 monthly salary right?
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 09:23 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 25 2011, 09:21 PM)
socso only cover employees with max RM1,500 monthly salary right?
no, socso follows once member always member concept. even if earn 25k still need to pay if already registered member
V12Kompressor
post Oct 25 2011, 09:25 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

WTF, songlap. tongue.gif

I didn't pay EPF and Socso edi since March 2011. tongue.gif
turbocharged
post Oct 25 2011, 09:25 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 09:23 PM)
no, socso follows once member always member concept. even if earn 25k still need to pay if already registered member
rejoice, kaki patah on motorbike on the way to work can claim several thousand biggrin.gif
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 09:27 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 25 2011, 09:25 PM)
WTF, songlap. tongue.gif

I didn't pay EPF and Socso edi since March 2011. tongue.gif
you socso member? means 1st gaji was quite low.. brows.gif

(anyway the sentence in bold, means you changed to borang B tax return ar?) brows.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 9:28 pm
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 25 2011, 09:25 PM)
rejoice, kaki patah on motorbike on the way to work can claim several thousand biggrin.gif
if earn 25k , i would rather sit a full metal jacket i.e. a car to work lor.. must protect 25k/mth investment mah i.e. our body.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 25 2011, 09:28 PM
V12Kompressor
post Oct 25 2011, 09:29 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 09:27 PM)
you socso member? means 1st gaji was quite low..  brows.gif

(anyway the sentence in bold, means you changed to borang B tax return ar?)  brows.gif
ya, my first gaji only Rm1k/month. I poorfag.

Added on October 25, 2011, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 09:27 PM)
if earn 25k , i would rather sit a full metal jacket i.e. a car to work lor.. must protect 25k/mth  investment mah i.e. our body..  biggrin.gif
lol, buy one 28k Viva 660 also safer than motorbike. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Oct 25 2011, 09:30 PM
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 09:33 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 25 2011, 09:29 PM)
ya, my first gaji only Rm1k/month. I poorfag.

Added on October 25, 2011, 9:30 pm

lol, buy one 28k Viva 660 also safer than motorbike. laugh.gif
ok lor, mine was 2.7k as engineer a decade ago, but i accepted a 1.8k gaji 6mth later in sales of a different industry.. need to download all the customer database to start own business.. laugh.gif
V12Kompressor
post Oct 25 2011, 09:39 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 09:33 PM)
ok lor, mine was 2.7k as engineer a decade ago, but i accepted a 1.8k gaji 6mth later in sales of a different industry.. need to download all the customer database to start own business..  laugh.gif
goodla. Now the business is serving you well (based on the car collection you have now). rclxms.gif

ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 09:44 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 25 2011, 09:39 PM)
goodla. Now the business is serving you well (based on the car collection you have now).  rclxms.gif
okok lor.. in malaysia, still do sales/own biz is better.. unless climb the corporate ladder with big bucks in those salary.

would like one german car like new 5series, saw some 2010 520d or 523 hovering at 300-320k now.. but it kennot tahan 40k milage per year if i only use one main car.. sure kaput here n there wan with big repair bills.. sad.gif
so at least 2 D segment japs to share the traveling workload for the time being..
V12Kompressor
post Oct 25 2011, 09:44 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

me still young gotta learn more from guys like you
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 09:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 25 2011, 09:44 PM)
me still young gotta learn more from guys like you
which field you in? i think got potential if willing to put the smart long hours initially.
V12Kompressor
post Oct 25 2011, 09:46 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

sales also

got to earn some moolah before restart back my own business.
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 09:49 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 25 2011, 09:46 PM)
sales also

got to earn some moolah before restart back my own business.
yeah man.. thumbup.gif go for it when capital and customer base is strong enuf.

but why u said you no more epf socso? running own bizness usually is liddat wor.. u started own biz liao?
V12Kompressor
post Oct 25 2011, 09:51 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

ada register own company, but that company now defunct edi.

lucifah
post Oct 25 2011, 11:00 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

next time when you pay income tax at 26% then u sakit hati liao

i'm at the 24% bracket vmad.gif

even after soo much deduct here, deduct there

i think it's time for me to get a wife and some kids already. can help to increase deductibles...
XeonBox
post Oct 25 2011, 11:04 PM

721 posts

If have a GF shall go ahead smile.gif
victor87
post Oct 25 2011, 11:06 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 25 2011, 11:00 PM)

i'm at the 24% bracket  vmad.gif

i think it's time for me to get a wife and some kids already. can help to increase deductibles...
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 11:11 PM

9,206 posts

sure, they will help reduce your monthly salary also.. laugh.gif
SUSkimsim
post Oct 25 2011, 11:23 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Wah so serious ah you all now can be a 660cc or motorbike or income tax too smile.gif
I'm quite interesting of the hot toppic right now.

Ha ha ha
TSrest
post Oct 25 2011, 11:53 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 25 2011, 11:23 PM)
Wah so serious ah you all now can be a 660cc or motorbike or income tax too smile.gif
I'm quite interesting of the hot toppic right now.

Ha ha ha
Sigh,is a good place to discuss laugh.gif
twincharger07
post Oct 26 2011, 12:33 AM

4,788 posts

already 24% ... hitting 26% next year... sakit hati paying those morons who bought plasma TV at rm16k...

FlamingFox
post Oct 27 2011, 12:57 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 06:39 PM)
Chose Savvy coz got discount of RM7k. So it's RM40k - RM7k = RM33k. Not sure how much was BLM's price at that time but I prefer a smaller car coz easier to park and I heard BLM isn't fuel saving.

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 25 2011, 06:47 PM)

Yeah, Savvy's service is quite pricy. But I don't travel much (about 10k-15k per year), so it's still ok.

This post has been edited by FlamingFox: Oct 27 2011, 12:57 AM
cute_boboi
post Oct 27 2011, 10:56 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I'm already at the highest bracket cry.gif
I'm thinking to ask boss whether can issue my salary in HK/SG and include in the employer EPF into salary. But need to check the taxation there. SG is flat 15% IINM for foreigners not residing >190? days in SG.

If wife is also working and >36k p.a., no point do combine tax declaration. Better do separate.

lucifah
post Oct 27 2011, 10:07 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 27 2011, 10:56 AM)
I'm already at the highest bracket  cry.gif
I'm thinking to ask boss whether can issue my salary in HK/SG and include in the employer EPF into salary. But need to check the taxation there. SG is flat 15% IINM for foreigners not residing >190? days in SG.

If wife is also working and >36k p.a., no point do combine tax declaration. Better do separate.
the wife >36k, do a separate assessnments, but the kids put all under your assessment

you are bloody right - malaysia income tax structure needs revamp

the bracket should be higher - those who earn 100k+ are not even rich. they are just mid-class and they have to pay 20 - 26% taxes

we couldn't even afford a nice ferrari...
ar188
post Oct 28 2011, 07:29 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 27 2011, 10:07 PM)
the wife >36k, do a separate assessnments, but the kids put all under your assessment

the bracket should be higher - those who earn 100k+ are not even rich. they are just mid-class and they have to pay 20 - 26% taxes

just open a SB company lor, below 500k still flat 20% tax mah.. above that, open another..
madcow1
post Oct 28 2011, 10:09 AM

281 posts

I earned more than RM5k also, but drive local car only, at least fully paid. Intend to change my car also and see alot of people use annual salary per annum to decide what car you can afford. I use a different formula, I choose the car I want (RM90k car), calculated the installment payment and then see whether for the next 6 months, I can SAVE that amount, meaning assuming that amount is paid out as car installment. In the end, I only managed to save half of that amount, meaning I can't afford that 90k car.

So, I just continue driving my old car, even the driver seat got tear off now, but never minds. Yes, occasionally you will have friend or colleagues asking you to change car because you are a manager or director, but those people just like to talk nonsense, you must train your mental brain not to be influence by someone else.
cute_boboi
post Oct 28 2011, 10:59 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 27 2011, 10:07 PM)

OOT already, but another post on this.

I don't mind the high tax rate, but please implement GST as soon as possible.

A hawker/own-business under-declare their 50k income per month, down to 3k per month. The hawker is paying <1k tax or even zero tax p.a.. I'm paying 5-digit tax p.a.

Hawker buy cars/goods/etc. easily since saved a lot from not paying tax.
I have to think twice, after paying tax.

Added on October 28, 2011, 11:09 am
QUOTE(madcow1 @ Oct 28 2011, 10:09 AM)
I earned more than RM5k also, but drive local car only, at least fully paid. Intend to change my car also and see alot of people use annual salary per annum to decide what car you can afford. I use a different formula, I choose the car I want (RM90k car), calculated the installment payment and then see whether for the next 6 months, I can SAVE that amount, meaning assuming that amount is paid out as car installment. In the end, I only managed to save half of that amount, meaning I can't afford that 90k car.

So, I just continue driving my old car, even the driver seat got tear off now, but never minds. Yes, occasionally you will have friend or colleagues asking you to change car because you are a manager or director, but those people just like to talk nonsense, you must train your mental brain not to be influence by someone else.
I have the same mentality as what you are thinking. I don't give a hoot about other people view on my <50k local car. With this car, I still can pick up girls, tried and tested, so not a valid reason cannot pickup non-materialistic girls. I don't need fancy/expensive/non-local car, and I'm not that handsome also. Just average joe.
If every month I pay 1.5k loan, now every year I save 12x 1.5k = 18k whistling.gif
Imagine if my loan is settled >5 years ago. 18k x 5 = 90k
BTW, my car loan is settled >5 years already cool2.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Oct 28 2011, 11:09 AM
echoesian
post Oct 28 2011, 12:19 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Oct 23 2011, 04:55 PM)

1/3 of gross or net salary?
da drummer
post Oct 28 2011, 09:23 PM

:)
808 posts

greeting all...
i also in current situation as TS..
my salary is 3.5k...
minus rm700 for parent+groceries+other expenses...
so i still have about 2.8k..no need to pay loan+house rent or anything...bill also doesnt have...single...
can afford a car that range price about rm80k?

thnx for respond notworthy.gif
lucifah
post Oct 28 2011, 09:27 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Oct 28 2011, 09:23 PM)
greeting all...
my salary is 3.5k...
so i still have about 2.8k..no need to pay loan+house rent or anything...bill also doesnt have...single...

should be alrite if you don't have any plan to marry / settle down in 5 - 10 yrs time...

but stick to the 5-yr max hire purchase tenure

at least you can build a good credit rating (if you pay promptly) and will help you secure higher loan if you plan to buy house later...
turbocharged
post Oct 28 2011, 09:35 PM

250 posts

greeting all...
my salary is 3.5k...

better get a myvi kind of car. those below 50k. ( 7 years, 1 month about rm700)

but u can try vios J spec. ( 9 years, about rm700)

da drummer
post Oct 28 2011, 10:39 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 28 2011, 09:27 PM)
should be alrite if you don't have any plan to marry / settle down in 5 - 10 yrs time...

but stick to the 5-yr max hire purchase tenure

at least you can build a good credit rating (if you pay promptly) and will help you secure higher loan if you plan to buy house later...
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 28 2011, 09:35 PM)
better get a myvi kind of car. those below 50k. ( 7 years, 1 month about rm700)

but u can try vios J spec. ( 9 years, about rm700)
thnx for fast respond smile.gif

will it be different since i already have 12k as dwnpyment?
my aim is car that is below rm80k (my aim is civic fd) tongue.gif
thnx again
turbocharged
post Oct 28 2011, 10:43 PM

250 posts

fiesta lo, if you dont mind the size.

or inspira if you dont mind the badge( its lancer, go try, u'll know)

or forte, just for the sake of not driving a proton.

swift? no way, new swift is coming.
da drummer
post Oct 28 2011, 10:49 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 28 2011, 10:43 PM)
fiesta lo, if you dont mind the size.

or inspira if you dont mind the badge( its lancer, go try, u'll know)

or forte, just for the sake of not driving a proton.

swift? no way, new swift is coming.
yeap...fiesta nice also..my housemte used it..looks like dont have any major prob...yet... smile.gif
inspira n forte also in my mind.but i heard some of it have prob..(where got car without prob rite)..will try to test drive it soon..in the mean time...save money for higher dwnpyment..

very big thnx sir notworthy.gif
turbocharged
post Oct 28 2011, 11:25 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Oct 28 2011, 10:49 PM)
yeap...fiesta nice also..my housemte used it..looks like dont have any major prob...yet... smile.gif
inspira n forte also in my mind.but i heard some of it have prob..(where got car without prob rite)..will try to test drive it soon..in the mean time...save money for higher dwnpyment..
very big thnx sir  notworthy.gif
you're welcome, enjoy your weekend!
fillet
post Oct 30 2011, 06:09 PM

1,925 posts

don't make the mistake of buying an expensive car...

if u wanna impress girls, trust me.. they'll be more impress if you own a house.

I myself drive a Honda Civic 2.0S 2009.

Every month, I set aside RM3000 for the Car. RM1900 for installment, Another RM 500 for Petrol, And RM600 for Maintenance, Road Tax, Tyres.

Recently, i just changed four tyres, cost me RM2570, Paid Roadtax and Insurance RM379+RM1912. All in one month.

So in total, i paid RM 6799 for that particular month including the installment.

Owning a car is easy.. but keeping it and maintaining it is the tricky part.

Although The only debt i have is my car(i don't have credit card debt or any other personal loans) , But If i can choose again, I'd rather go for a MyVi and have more cash to do more things. you'll live a happier life!!

This post has been edited by fillet: Oct 30 2011, 06:22 PM
guanteik
post Oct 30 2011, 08:48 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Oct 30 2011, 06:09 PM)

if u wanna impress girls, trust me.. they'll be more impress if you own a house.

Every month, I set aside RM3000 for the Car.  RM1900 for installment, Another RM 500 for Petrol, And RM600 for Maintenance, Road Tax, Tyres.

Recently, i just changed four tyres, cost me RM2570, Paid Roadtax and Insurance RM379+RM1912. All in one month.

So in total, i paid RM 6799 for that particular month including the installment.

Although The only debt i have is my car(i don't have credit card debt or any other personal loans) , But If i can choose again, I'd rather go for a MyVi and have more cash to do more things. you'll live a happier life!!
I wanted to press a 'Like' on your post but well, you're well said.
BuFung
post Oct 30 2011, 10:00 PM

8,407 posts

If I earn RM3k/month.. I will go for a MyVi maybe...
cute_boboi
post Oct 31 2011, 11:31 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Every month, I set aside RM3000 for the Car.  RM1900 for installment, Another RM 500 for Petrol, And RM600 for Maintenance, Road Tax, Tyres.

Like thumbup.gif Well said.

Not to forget, the additional payments when go out like parking, toll, summons, etc.
Then go out sure need to spend on food/drinks, mamak/lepak.
Then itchy want to add/mod accessories.

dares
post Oct 31 2011, 12:00 PM

834 posts

Not just to pick up girls.

Actually alot of people that I know who buy new expensive rides work as sales agents especially in the insurance / finance field.

There are two reasons why a) They feel that they need an expensive car to impress their customers who also drive big conti cars and b) Peer pressure from fellow agents in their agency, who always park all their BMW or Porsche together and take picture then show it around to new recruits.

Incidentally, many of these agents don't actually earn that much and they also struggle to maintain their cars. One of the ones I know earn less than 10k a month but just bought a BMW 5 series (>RM300k) doh.gif .

This post has been edited by dares: Oct 31 2011, 12:01 PM
cute_boboi
post Oct 31 2011, 12:16 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

If a person is at sales/marketing, most (not all) have no choice but to get a nice car to impress potential clients.

FlamingFox
post Oct 31 2011, 11:06 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Looking at this post, I don't think I'll ever get an expensive car lol

Even owning one of the cheapest cars, I still had to do the following:

Minor service (5k km)= RM180
Major service (20k km) = RM500
Tyres = RM600 (changed to better tyres than stock)
Insurance = RM700

It hurts although I earn RM3k. So those people thinking of buying a Fiesta, Vios, City, etc. good luck!
SUSkimsim
post Nov 1 2011, 08:00 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

When your life's is very hard and spend more earning less, the only choice go to works in S'pore to earning sin money and convert back to m'sia and you're consider very rich already.

Can buy car or house at a same time.
When deduct the income tax is a minimum 5-10% of your annual income.

If you're PR in s'pore ha ha have to deduct 20% of your CPF.

Over there right now for that Toyota vios with COE = $90k the only way stay in JB and works in s'pore to bring the money back to spend in M'sia that's good choice.
ElNino~11
post Nov 1 2011, 09:24 PM

21 posts

Mind to ask, why is it a lot of person prefer to pay a higher down payment? If it is because of the loan interest, how if ones company subsidy all the interest? Is it wont be matter if high down payment or low down payment in this case?

This post has been edited by ElNino~11: Nov 1 2011, 09:28 PM
FlamingFox
post Nov 1 2011, 10:17 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(ElNino~11 @ Nov 1 2011, 09:24 PM)
Mind to ask, why is it a lot of person prefer to pay a higher down payment? If it is because of the loan interest, how if ones company subsidy all the interest? Is it wont be matter if high down payment or low down payment in this case?
When you've paid a higher downpayment, if you want to sell your car early, you do not need to top up as much or maybe your resale value is higher than your loan amount. So you can sell off your car and still get cash.

Plus, if you take a long term loan and touch wood, the car totalled, you still owe the bank so much and your insured value is probably much lower than your loan amount. So again, you got to top up a lot more.

This post has been edited by FlamingFox: Nov 1 2011, 10:19 PM
madcow1
post Nov 1 2011, 10:49 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Nov 1 2011, 08:00 AM)
When your life's is very hard and spend more earning less, the only choice go to works in S'pore to earning sin money and convert back to m'sia and you're consider very rich already.

Can buy car or house at a same time.
When deduct the income tax is a minimum 5-10% of your annual income.

If you're PR in s'pore ha ha have to deduct 20% of your CPF.

Over there right now for that Toyota vios with COE = $90k the only way stay in JB and works in s'pore to bring the money back to spend in M'sia that's good choice.
Go and see the jam everyday from SG to JB first, used to work in SG 2 year back and my fren last time from JB worked up at 5.30am and start journey at 6am, reach office at city before 9am only.

Added on November 1, 2011, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(dares @ Oct 31 2011, 12:00 PM)
Not just to pick up girls.

Actually alot of people that I know who buy new expensive rides work as sales agents especially in the insurance / finance field.

There are two reasons why a) They feel that they need an expensive car to impress their customers who also drive big conti cars and b) Peer pressure from fellow agents in their agency, who always park all their BMW or Porsche together and take picture then show it around to new recruits.

Incidentally, many of these agents don't actually earn that much and they also struggle to maintain their cars. One of the ones I know earn less than 10k a month but just bought a BMW 5 series (>RM300k)  doh.gif .
It is true, i have a fren working in insurance industry also, when he brought honda car, the manager scold him why he didn't buy BMW. They always talked about motivation, having pressure to pay the installment also made you work harder, i guess that their trade.

This post has been edited by madcow1: Nov 1 2011, 10:51 PM
echoesian
post Nov 1 2011, 11:59 PM

3,294 posts

With 12k monthly income can buy a 250k car or not ar?
FlamingFox
post Nov 2 2011, 12:19 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Annual income = Price of car

RM12k x 12 = RM144k car but I don't think many follow that rule.
Bong78
post Nov 4 2011, 07:21 PM

QUOTE(rest @ Oct 25 2011, 01:35 PM)
I am
Thanks ya
Dont serve your life for a damn car, it is life that you need to live with. Not that damn car. Just get a normal car.

Added on November 4, 2011, 7:24 pm
greeting all...
my salary is 3.5k...

What about 10 years to come ?

This post has been edited by Bong78: Nov 4 2011, 07:24 PM
da drummer
post Nov 4 2011, 09:59 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Bong78 @ Nov 4 2011, 07:21 PM)
Dont serve your life for a damn car, it is life that you need to live with. Not that damn car. Just get a normal car.

Added on November 4, 2011, 7:24 pm

What about 10 years to come ?
that what im afraid of..ahaha..my money management is quite worse...plus i dont have any plan for future...i mean for the salary...just i dont touch it much... rclxub.gif
SUSkimsim
post Nov 5 2011, 06:22 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 1 2011, 11:59 PM)
With 12k monthly income can buy a 250k car or not ar?
I don't think so you earn 12k per month can afford 250k car price.
If you're not buy the car for business used.

12k salary in m'sia is consider manager or boss position.

If you still is a worker I don't think so you can managed the 12k and deduct all still can afford the
Car installment again.

I can said the car 250k only for business man's used. Or company car.
For normal ppl who will getting the recondition car and the price ealisy lower than 250k and still get the same specs.

Cause if you can earn on 12k per month but you life's style should be difference than poor ppl.
High salary paid and go for playing golf and joining the club, enjoy hotel foods, spend branded clothes and where got enough for 12k salary and only pay for 250k car?

The only where you buy the car is register as company car smile.gif

This post has been edited by kimsim: Nov 5 2011, 06:26 AM
FlamingFox
post Nov 5 2011, 10:25 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Buy a cheap car when young. Then when older, you'll know how expensive it is to maintain a more expensive car.
echoesian
post Nov 5 2011, 12:42 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Nov 5 2011, 06:22 AM)
I don't think so you earn 12k per month can afford 250k car price.
If you're not buy the car for business used.

12k salary in m'sia is consider manager or boss position.

If you still is a worker I don't think so you can managed the 12k and deduct all still can afford the
Car installment again.

I can said the car 250k only for business man's used. Or company car.
For normal ppl who will getting the recondition car and the price ealisy lower than 250k and still get the same specs.

Cause if you can earn on 12k per month but you life's style should be difference than poor ppl.
High salary paid and go for playing golf and joining the club, enjoy hotel foods, spend branded clothes and where got enough for 12k salary and only pay for 250k car?

The only where you buy the car is register as company car smile.gif
First of all, I think you should survey for more.. u know ppl says "katak di bawah tempurung" smile.gif. Earning 12k per month not necessary must be a boss or manager. 12k is quite common nowadays with 10+ years of working experience of course it's depending on which industry you are in.

How can you compare a new car vs recon car? Recon car is cheap but how about maintenance/repair?

Why is it only for business use, I can't really think what is it related to business owner vs salaried worker?

I agree, lifestyle is also one of the factor in affording an expensive car. But that's depend on one lifestyle/spending patterns.

What is the logic behind only to purchase a 250k car that is registered under company? Doesn't really make sense at all!
Quazacolt
post Nov 25 2011, 01:36 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

tbh is all about personal preference. so long you can understand how things work (cars = liability, loan repayments, etc. ) and most importantly able to accept it.

can also refer to pc, which i believe if you know me [or can just click my profile lol] you would know how much money i've wasted on a pc that depreciates [in ways] faster than a car, the only main difference is the scale of money

that said, my car is almost 12 years already if that mattered. i plan to buy an over 100k car, but thats once i manage to get a comfortable pay level first. and i do plan to drive the car over 7 or even 10 years, of course, things may change if i settle down with my own family and what not, however atm i'm single (inb4 2" jokes) and i have no tie downs/heavy commitments (eg: having a kid lol)

as for the tire bit, one should be changing all 4, and thats assuming they arent idiots who dont do proper tire rotations to even out tire wear (hence front/rear drive etc should not matter on wear)

and considering "youngsters" we're talking about, they usually are idiots who knows jack about proper maintenance and most importantly just feed off family wealth smile.gif
dvinez
post Nov 25 2011, 02:13 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

after i deduct bills, house loan, car loan, food, roughly i have at least 2k left per month.

current saga blm loan 420 per month..if top another 350 for loan to upgrade forte..will die or not? i own calculate should be ok lo..
me suka suka will buy gadget, treat makan makan style..

turbocharged
post Nov 25 2011, 02:30 PM

250 posts

seriously, its ok biggrin.gif

as long as your house loan+ car loan is less than 50% of your income, then bank is ok,.
kickurs2
post Nov 26 2011, 07:25 PM

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 25 2011, 07:47 PM)

I own a savvy for 5 years. service every 10 k cost me 200 plus. water tank use tap water. please don't mislead others.
kidmad
post Nov 26 2011, 07:43 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(kickurs2 @ Nov 26 2011, 07:25 PM)
I own a savvy for 5 years. service every 10 k cost me 200 plus. water tank use tap water. please don't mislead others.
Bro you put in fully sync each service ah? Normal Semi Sync should be around 100+ only leh every 7k though.

Every now and then there would be such thread up for debate and we will go round and round talking about it. Anyway to me whether you want to drive a 100k car or a 200k car, just make sure that whatever you bring home is sufficient enough to let you pay them, save them and live comfortably through out the entire month. No point buying a fairlady and just put it in your home parked in your yard (My neighbours case) and all you do everyday is to eat maggi and bread day and night.

0.0610sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:18 PM