How much I need to earn so that ..., TQ

madcow1
post Oct 28 2011, 10:09 AM

281 posts

I earned more than RM5k also, but drive local car only, at least fully paid. Intend to change my car also and see alot of people use annual salary per annum to decide what car you can afford. I use a different formula, I choose the car I want (RM90k car), calculated the installment payment and then see whether for the next 6 months, I can SAVE that amount, meaning assuming that amount is paid out as car installment. In the end, I only managed to save half of that amount, meaning I can't afford that 90k car.

So, I just continue driving my old car, even the driver seat got tear off now, but never minds. Yes, occasionally you will have friend or colleagues asking you to change car because you are a manager or director, but those people just like to talk nonsense, you must train your mental brain not to be influence by someone else.
madcow1
post Nov 1 2011, 10:49 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Nov 1 2011, 08:00 AM)
When your life's is very hard and spend more earning less, the only choice go to works in S'pore to earning sin money and convert back to m'sia and you're consider very rich already.

Can buy car or house at a same time.
When deduct the income tax is a minimum 5-10% of your annual income.

If you're PR in s'pore ha ha have to deduct 20% of your CPF.

Over there right now for that Toyota vios with COE = $90k the only way stay in JB and works in s'pore to bring the money back to spend in M'sia that's good choice.
Go and see the jam everyday from SG to JB first, used to work in SG 2 year back and my fren last time from JB worked up at 5.30am and start journey at 6am, reach office at city before 9am only.

Added on November 1, 2011, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(dares @ Oct 31 2011, 12:00 PM)
Not just to pick up girls.

Actually alot of people that I know who buy new expensive rides work as sales agents especially in the insurance / finance field.

There are two reasons why a) They feel that they need an expensive car to impress their customers who also drive big conti cars and b) Peer pressure from fellow agents in their agency, who always park all their BMW or Porsche together and take picture then show it around to new recruits.

Incidentally, many of these agents don't actually earn that much and they also struggle to maintain their cars. One of the ones I know earn less than 10k a month but just bought a BMW 5 series (>RM300k)  doh.gif .
It is true, i have a fren working in insurance industry also, when he brought honda car, the manager scold him why he didn't buy BMW. They always talked about motivation, having pressure to pay the installment also made you work harder, i guess that their trade.

This post has been edited by madcow1: Nov 1 2011, 10:51 PM

0.0134sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:23 AM