How much I need to earn so that ..., TQ

lucifah
post Oct 23 2011, 09:14 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

why on earth do you need a car that cost > 100k?

you 2" ?

jokes aside, a car is a liability, not an asset

it costs money - not just monthly repayment, but repairs, parts, insurances and taxes

get a car that's within your capacity to pay. a good and tried formula is 1/4 of your monthly pay goes to the car repayment - with FIVE year loan

CODE

example:

100k loan + 3% int @ 5years = 115k
115k/60month = 1,900

1,900 x 4 = 7.600

u need at least RM 7,600 monthly pay to afford a 100k car, if you are sane

anything above that, means you can't afford it

and who use the same car >5 years?

again, i re-iterate, car is a LIABILITY. it depereciates the second it leaves the showroom

edit: just for the lulz, go and sit at a tyre shop and see how those young ppl drive nice civic, or vios or city can only afford to replace TWO tyres ONLY at one time? man... that's soo wrong. (doesn't matter the fact the car is 2wd and usually the front goes first)

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(GTR r-35 @ Oct 23 2011, 09:09 PM)
if u go look around those private university or college.... go look at their car park, u will be shocked to see what are the students driving...
they are driving their parents' (or their parent's company registered) cars...

nothing hardly to be shocked at... living with FAMA allowances. not impressed.

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:18 pm
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 23 2011, 08:49 PM)
tongue.gif i'm still 2x years old la tongue.gif

but then, when i was a fresh grad, an experienced engineer driving city/vios is already successful.

but now, a fresh grad needs to drive 100k car to impress ppl, vios/city already cannot.

it makes me wonder, who the hell drives a myvi or saga? makcik cleaner?

jalan sombong, poket kosong?
u got that one right. plus, lots of credit card debts, and 2 - 3 month did not pay car installment

This post has been edited by lucifah: Oct 23 2011, 09:22 PM
lucifah
post Oct 23 2011, 10:10 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nazri86a @ Oct 23 2011, 09:28 PM)
my fren just buy new vios with 10 years installment 2tier (pay 700 for several years.. 7years++ 1k+) but seldom see he going outside.. no money to put petrol kot..  hmm.gif
HA HA HA HA... 10 years?

my god

the only reason why i didn't get a car loan less than 5 years is the interest rate gets higher

i asked for a car loan a few months back

9 yr - 3.5%

7 yr - 3.2%

5 yr - 2.9%

3 yr - 3.5% <--- WTF?

bank says not making enough money....

true story.

i'd have paid in cash, but that would raise LHDN alarm bells.
lucifah
post Oct 24 2011, 03:15 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 24 2011, 09:59 AM)
I think the loan table can be help you as much you can afford smile.gif
man.. don't u even know how to screen-cap? printscreen?

u have to actually take a photo of your computer screen?

and with 9 yr loan, everyone can pay the installment

the golden question is: can you AFFORD to have a 100k car.

not can you pay for 100k car monthly payment...

being able to service the loan and being able to afford a 100k car is two totally different thing...

oh, btw, most banks have their online Hire Purchase calculator that you can use easily...

lucifah
post Oct 25 2011, 05:55 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 05:50 PM)
10k/mth
Annual = 120k
Less relief, etc. let's say 18k?
Taxable income = 102k

>100k taxable income = 26%

Edit: Added tax rate source
man, it's tiered tax rate

the first bla bla bla thousand is bla bal bla % and so on

it's not direct x 26%...
lucifah
post Oct 25 2011, 11:00 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 25 2011, 06:49 PM)
Adoi, my mistake  sweat.gif  overlooked it  doh.gif
next time when you pay income tax at 26% then u sakit hati liao

i'm at the 24% bracket vmad.gif

even after soo much deduct here, deduct there

i think it's time for me to get a wife and some kids already. can help to increase deductibles...
lucifah
post Oct 27 2011, 10:07 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 27 2011, 10:56 AM)
I'm already at the highest bracket  cry.gif
I'm thinking to ask boss whether can issue my salary in HK/SG and include in the employer EPF into salary. But need to check the taxation there. SG is flat 15% IINM for foreigners not residing >190? days in SG.

If wife is also working and >36k p.a., no point do combine tax declaration. Better do separate.
the wife >36k, do a separate assessnments, but the kids put all under your assessment

you are bloody right - malaysia income tax structure needs revamp

the bracket should be higher - those who earn 100k+ are not even rich. they are just mid-class and they have to pay 20 - 26% taxes

we couldn't even afford a nice ferrari...
lucifah
post Oct 28 2011, 09:27 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Oct 28 2011, 09:23 PM)
greeting all...
i also in current situation as TS..
my salary is 3.5k...
minus rm700 for parent+groceries+other expenses...
so i still have about 2.8k..no need to pay loan+house rent or anything...bill also doesnt have...single...
can afford a car that range price about rm80k?

thnx for respond notworthy.gif
should be alrite if you don't have any plan to marry / settle down in 5 - 10 yrs time...

but stick to the 5-yr max hire purchase tenure

at least you can build a good credit rating (if you pay promptly) and will help you secure higher loan if you plan to buy house later...

0.0932sec    1.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:38 PM