126 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V17, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

antt00
post Oct 27 2011, 02:03 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Oct 27 2011, 01:48 PM)
Any idea why after i rooted, i could not get succwssfulll installation from market
already tried with clear market data but still no hope
current market version 3.1.2
kernel version: dxki2
baseband version: dxki1
Have you check your keyboard language like i ask.

Since your rooted maybe you can try downloading the latest official 3.1.5 version from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1272152
Drop the apk into /system/apps (do not install the apk) and restart.
leongkokloon
post Oct 27 2011, 02:04 PM

1,415 posts

uhh no unless battery really 0 de... den shutdown... mine also original firmware G ver
snigapoe
post Oct 27 2011, 02:05 PM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 27 2011, 02:03 PM)
Have you check your keyboard language like i ask.

Since your rooted maybe you can try downloading the latest official 3.1.5 version from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1272152
Drop the apk into /system/apps (do not install the apk) and restart.
key board language already change from eng uk to eng us but still not working
thanks for the link trying now
jamesl
post Oct 27 2011, 02:08 PM

192 posts

Brought up a post i posted at Page 73 .. Gonna understand and study about Rooting before i proceed on doing it as it is my first time ..

Currently using I9100G ..

This is the steps i currently understand ..
1) Backup IMEI with the link posted on Page 1
2) Download Odin , cf-root , 'desire' kernel and 'desire' ROM , Stock kernel and Stock ROM
3) Backup my Apps with Titanium Backup and Nandroid
4) Root kernel using the way from this link - http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2068824
5) Installing Lite'ning Rom v6.1 with Odin - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1095274

Some question im not clear ..
a) Is the steps correct ??
b)What is the difference between the Official i9100 Firmware i saw here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1075278 , and SiyahKernel v2.0 ??
c) am i able to backup my stock kernel and stock ROM , or i have to find and download it manually ??

P/S : It is my first smartphone ..
duckness
post Oct 27 2011, 02:11 PM

83 posts

interesting info about Dolphin Browser

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1319529
antt00
post Oct 27 2011, 02:13 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(jamesl @ Oct 27 2011, 02:08 PM)
Brought up a post i posted at Page 73 .. Gonna understand and study about Rooting before i proceed on doing it as it is my first time ..

Currently using I9100G ..

This is the steps i currently understand ..
1) Backup IMEI with the link posted on Page 1
2) Download Odin , cf-root , 'desire' kernel and 'desire' ROM , Stock kernel and Stock ROM
3) Backup my Apps with Titanium Backup and Nandroid
4) Root kernel using the way from this link - http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2068824
5) Installing Lite'ning Rom v6.1 with Odin - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1095274
Some question im not clear ..
a) Is the steps correct ??
b)What is the difference between the Official i9100 Firmware i saw here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1075278 , and SiyahKernel v2.0 ??
c) am i able to backup my stock kernel and stock ROM , or i have to find and download it manually ??

P/S : It is my first smartphone ..
Your using the G version.
1) You need root first to backup imei
2) CF root cannot be used for G version it will soft brick your device
3) Titanium need root
4) You may follow the guide in that thread to root G version
5) Lite'ning is not compatible with G version. It will soft brick your device. In fact there is no custom rom for G version but i think there are in some chinese forum somewhere.

a) Refer above
b) i9100 firmware is NOT compatible with G version and neither is siyah
c) You cannot backup without cwm. But the stock rom and kernel is available in xda. I think the link is in the first page.

This post has been edited by antt00: Oct 27 2011, 02:16 PM
Mgsrulz
post Oct 27 2011, 02:18 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

Kies Air constantly crashing.

I was using Kies Air just fine about an hour ago, then got a few calls on my phone and now it wont start up.

Everytime i click on the program, it appears and when i click on Start, it crashes to the menu.

Anyone encountered this before?

steps taken:
restart phone
restart kies air (exit app->open app, open app->force shut app)
on/off wifi
on/off bluetooth as well as wifi
plug in USB cable(i had it in when i was using Kies Air earlier)
Remove USB cable

any thoughts?
antt00
post Oct 27 2011, 02:20 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(duckness @ Oct 27 2011, 02:11 PM)
interesting info about Dolphin Browser

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1319529
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
nicregi
post Oct 27 2011, 02:22 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Oct 27 2011, 01:40 PM)
I tried download friendcaster. But if you want the chat, you gotta add on another app. And I didn't quite like the friendcaster layout and icons, look like fake fb. LOL. Just my point of view, so I uninstalled it.

One thing I usually practice is, I will go to chat, and close all active chat conversations.
Try go to your fb chat, I think there should be quite a number of active chats. But some of your friends may be offline.

and I'm now trying Green Power. Off my data when screen off. Hmm, just started using for 2 days. Still monitoring.

I have a routine check on batterbatterystats on the wakelocks. Check whether is my fb chat still draining my juice. If it does, then check out how to close it.

Not sure whether these helps, but, you can try.
You can try messenger app on market. It recently become available again....

Added on October 27, 2011, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 27 2011, 02:20 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Wow... Ex dolphin user here. Now stick back to stock ftw

This post has been edited by nicregi: Oct 27 2011, 02:26 PM
jitshiong
post Oct 27 2011, 02:26 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Oct 27 2011, 01:40 PM)
I tried download friendcaster. But if you want the chat, you gotta add on another app. And I didn't quite like the friendcaster layout and icons, look like fake fb. LOL. Just my point of view, so I uninstalled it.

One thing I usually practice is, I will go to chat, and close all active chat conversations.
Try go to your fb chat, I think there should be quite a number of active chats. But some of your friends may be offline.

and I'm now trying Green Power. Off my data when screen off. Hmm, just started using for 2 days. Still monitoring.

I have a routine check on batterbatterystats on the wakelocks. Check whether is my fb chat still draining my juice. If it does, then check out how to close it.

Not sure whether these helps, but, you can try.
Thanks a bunch!
Will try it out. Not sure if there's active chats
duckness
post Oct 27 2011, 02:26 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 27 2011, 02:20 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
doh.gif
jamesl
post Oct 27 2011, 02:27 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 27 2011, 02:13 PM)
Your using the G version.
1) You need root first to backup imei
2) CF root cannot be used for G version it will soft brick your device
3) Titanium need root
4) You may follow the guide in that thread to root G version
5) Lite'ning is not compatible with G version. It will soft brick your device. In fact there is no custom rom for G version but i think there are in some chinese forum somewhere.

a) Refer above
b) i9100 firmware is NOT compatible with G version and neither is siyah
c) You cannot backup without cwm. But the stock rom and kernel is available in xda. I think the link is in the first page.
Understood .. Which means the only thing i can do is :
1) Root kernel using the way from this link - http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2068824
2) Backup IMEi
3) Backup Apps with Titanium
4) And wait for available G version ROM or dig it somewhere from chinese forum ..
antt00
post Oct 27 2011, 02:27 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Oct 27 2011, 02:22 PM)

I'll probably go back to opera. My fav from WM days.

Added on October 27, 2011, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(jamesl @ Oct 27 2011, 02:27 PM)
Understood .. Which means the only thing i can do is :
1) Root kernel using the way from this link - http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2068824
2) Backup IMEi
3) Backup Apps with Titanium
4) And wait for available G version ROM or dig it somewhere from chinese forum ..
Yup. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by antt00: Oct 27 2011, 02:28 PM
jamesl
post Oct 27 2011, 02:30 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 27 2011, 02:27 PM)

Yup.  thumbup.gif
Thanks a lot ..
1) But after i done the steps on top , i can directly change my ROM to G-version ROM (If i found any right ??) ..
2) Am i able to install Chainfire 3D for Tegra 2 game like Sprinkle ??

antt00
post Oct 27 2011, 02:32 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(jamesl @ Oct 27 2011, 02:30 PM)
Thanks a lot ..
1) But after i done the steps on top , i can directly change my ROM to G-version ROM (If i found any right ??) ..
2) Am i able to install Chainfire 3D for Tegra 2 game like Sprinkle ??
1) You can change rom with odin with or without root
2) Yes
jamesl
post Oct 27 2011, 02:41 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 27 2011, 02:32 PM)
1) You can change rom with odin with or without root
2) Yes
Ok .. Thanks a lot ..
Means i have to finish the steps above and start digging for G-version ROM .. Haha ..
Btw , I think the latest batch of SGS2 available in Malaysia market mostly is G-version ..
I got 2 friends bought White SGS2 , its also G-Version ..
antt00
post Oct 27 2011, 02:45 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(jamesl @ Oct 27 2011, 02:41 PM)
Ok .. Thanks a lot ..
Means i have to finish the steps above and start digging for G-version ROM .. Haha ..
Btw , I think the latest batch of SGS2 available in Malaysia market mostly is G-version ..
I got 2 friends bought White SGS2 , its also G-Version ..
Good luck in searching for rom but just be careful of what your flashing especially if it is not from a reputable forum/source. White ori sgs2 are all G version. New ori stocks in malaysia are also G version now.
adrian0229
post Oct 27 2011, 02:46 PM

3,913 posts

till now i hvnt decide to get s2 or wait for ip 4s...

wt i worry is about adroid apps...some of my fd said wait for ip 4s cz got more apps to play, more fun games, got siri....but i m in quite rush condition to get a new phone...haih...i m in dilemma now
Mgsrulz
post Oct 27 2011, 02:53 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Oct 27 2011, 02:46 PM)
till now i hvnt decide to get s2 or wait for ip 4s...

wt i worry is about adroid apps...some of my fd said wait for ip 4s cz got more apps to play, more fun games, got siri....but i m in quite rush condition to get a new phone...haih...i m in dilemma now
ipod touch 4th gen
SGS2

best of both worlds
cheaper,too.

it's what i do blush.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Oct 27 2011, 02:53 PM
Mollai
post Oct 27 2011, 02:54 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Oct 27 2011, 02:22 PM)

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Oct 27 2011, 02:26 PM)
Thanks a bunch!
Will try it out. Not sure if there's active chats
You go to the chat there. There are 2 categories. 1. Active Conversations 2. Available.
I usually will click on the friends at active conversation > menu button > close conversation.

Not sure whether this will prevent the wake lock or not.

I'm still trying to monitor the fb chat.

Like for first 2 weeks, battery had been alright. Then out of a sudden I woke up one morning, that shit happened. Luckily the sifus here helped me. Reboot, and all is back to normal.

and just now when you told me your problem, I checked my batterystats, ohmy, realized it was awake too. Gosh, so now I'm wondering whether fb will have this issue to everyone at a same time. Hmm..

126 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:14 AM