Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

gotham11
post Jul 30 2012, 10:34 PM

171 posts

the SCB 4.5% FD offer appeared to be a bait, only part of it entitled for this FD rate, the rest need to be invested in unit trust or somekind of saving plan. I found this guy from SCB branch is very irresponsible. When he called me, kept on saying they encourage saver to change their step up saving plan (FD for 6 months) to this, I had also asked him, this is FD, he said yes... wasted my time and effort to rush to the branch. Very irresponsible..... I left in less than 5 minutes...

cherroy
post Jul 30 2012, 10:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Jul 30 2012, 10:34 PM)
the SCB 4.5% FD offer appeared to be a bait, only part of it entitled for this FD rate, the rest need to be invested in unit trust or somekind of saving plan. I found this guy from SCB branch is very irresponsible. When he called me, kept on saying they encourage saver to change their step up saving plan (FD for 6 months) to this, I had also asked him, this is FD, he said yes... wasted my time and effort to rush to the branch. Very irresponsible..... I left in less than 5 minutes...
You can always complain to the bank or even BNM, if bank personnel gives wrong info.

If any bank give better FD rate than normal without bundled buying product or other investment, I bet, you can find it here as well (in this topic), thanks to forumers around that always keep on thread updating. thumbup.gif
gotham11
post Jul 30 2012, 10:59 PM

171 posts

u r right.. I always get my info in this forum. Will need to for sufficient fund to qualify for the HSBC KD branch offer for 5% @ 3 months.
gsc
post Jul 31 2012, 12:56 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 28 2012, 03:37 PM)
Can't find the info for this one, mind please post the links or details?
item 3.4.1....

http://www.ocbc.com.my/docs/pdf/Q2%20T_C%2...201June2012.pdf
latte_flack
post Jul 31 2012, 02:10 AM

133 posts

may i know why no sifu in here promote Bank Rakyat although p.a. FD is 4.01%.... the amount looks attractive... just want to get some advice...

FYI, im small timer la, just grad and wana do some savings, lets say 1k per month or 2 months. so izit save for me to dump tat in BR?

thanks in advance.
wu ming
post Jul 31 2012, 02:34 AM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Jul 31 2012, 02:10 AM)
may i know why no sifu in here promote Bank Rakyat although p.a. FD is 4.01%.... the amount looks attractive... just want to get some advice...

FYI, im small timer la, just grad and wana do some savings, lets say 1k per month or 2 months. so izit save for me to dump tat in BR?

thanks in advance.
I suspect Bank Rakyat just lost RM75mil after it bought fake gold. hmm.gif
latte_flack
post Jul 31 2012, 02:35 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jul 31 2012, 02:34 AM)
true enough...
http://www.asianewsnet.net/home/news.php?id=33998&sec=2

thanks for the alert!

Added on July 31, 2012, 2:41 am
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 24 2012, 04:22 PM)
Bank Rakyat FD is not protected by PIDM, but is guaranteed by the Ministry of Finance. Min deposit is RM10k.
you're wrong... from the website...
Minimum RM500 untuk 2 bulan dan ke atas
Minimum RM5,000 untuk 1 bulan

I have done 1k... 4.01% for a yr..

This post has been edited by rajivshm: Jul 31 2012, 02:41 AM
magika
post Jul 31 2012, 07:34 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jul 31 2012, 02:34 AM)
Wat is 75 million to a bank. Read the paper today BR record profit. tongue.gif

Added on July 31, 2012, 7:43 am
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 30 2012, 10:32 PM)
Then you need to understand how bank operate.

For simple example.
A bank has 1 billion of own capital, so it can lend out 970 million (if it is a 3% SRR) as loan,
but on the other hand, bank can take in deposit of 10 billion and lend out 9.7 billion as well.

So if more than 10% of the depositors withdraw deposit suddenly (a bank run), means bank need to come out with 1 billion cash to pay back the depositor, 1 billion means entire bank own capital.
What if 20% of depositors suddenly want to withdraw in full?

Those loan made cannot be recalled instantly. Housing loan take decade to be pay off once lend out. Same with car loan, and many other loan.
Worst still if those housing loan are underwatered, aka real estate value has plunged severely after the loan being made.
For eg. bank lend out 500k housing loan for a 500k property previously, now the property only worth 300k in the market.

So bank needs to access to the interbank market to borrow money from other bank to fund it, or central bank. If both channel is not accessible due to whatever reason (like global financial crisis  time, whereby inter-bank lending became stand-still due to fear counter-party bank collapse/default), then bank may have hard time to survive.

That's why regulators in most countries nowadays want banks to have strong tier 1 capital as required by Basel accord, aka means leverage level cannot be too high in the future.
Yup, totally agree. There is a few financial tools which are used quite often,,like interbank lending. However when there is a major run, the government has to step in maybe by capital injection. It would be better to ensure that banks are not over exposed to a certain sector only. I may be wrong but I do think that even PIDM reinsured our deposit internationally. Thats why I am extremely glad that our bankgovernor has taken proactive steps recently eventhough its not popular. Its very difficult to balance regulation as it may affect economic growrh. tongue.gif

Added on July 31, 2012, 8:06 am
QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 30 2012, 10:09 PM)
too bad, no data for 55-60 range. however with the assumption older age will pass away earlier, it is safe to assume that the mortality rate is even higher than 37% for 55-60 range. In that case government shouldn't raise the age limit to 60 yrs old for full withdrawal.

The mortality is strangely higher when the average life span of Malaysian is male 72 and female 76.

If your company mortality is v very high for those under 50, it sounds like a dangerous occupation?
I actual fact , it is group separately, just to make it easier I group it together. Just on Saturday, one of my friend died of heart attack while playing less strenous game,and just 50.

In my organisation, even general workers has to attend at least 5 meetings a month,if higher management ?. This is due to the top management wanting to comply with whatever certification that is available domestic n international.

FD rates in my opinion wont go down much nowadays maybe 25 basis point or up.

This post has been edited by magika: Jul 31 2012, 08:06 AM
TSGen-X
post Jul 31 2012, 08:47 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Jul 31 2012, 02:10 AM)
On the contrary, many here do highlight Bank Raykat "FD" rates over and over again like you but there's nothing much to discuss about it since it is straight forward.

Same goes for Affin's 12 month 3.6% which is much better than most commercial banks' promos, but there's nothing to discuss about it too.

On the other hand, other banks have limited time promotions, it is highlighted/discussed so that others are aware of options out there. And most of these promos have T&C attached to it so we discuss about them to work out the effective interest rates. And most "confusing" T&C is by SCB with their ADB requirements for savings account.

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 31 2012, 07:34 AM)
I actual fact , it is group separately, just to make it easier I group it together. Just on Saturday, one of my friend died of heart attack while playing less strenous game,and just 50.

In my organisation, even general workers has to attend at least 5 meetings a month,if higher management ?. This is due to the top management wanting to comply with whatever certification that is available domestic n international.
More stress and riskier job = Big Money tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 31 2012, 08:49 AM
cherroy
post Jul 31 2012, 10:49 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 31 2012, 12:56 AM)
Oic, CASA linked.

Personally I do not like CASA linked (which CASA amount need to be earmarked), as it complicated personal cash management issue.
Need to remember the amount being earmarked. Quite troublesome, if account got plenty of activity.

Why can't banks just make it straight forwards?
magika
post Jul 31 2012, 10:56 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 31 2012, 08:47 AM)
On the contrary, many here do highlight Bank Raykat "FD" rates over and over again like you but there's nothing much to discuss about it since it is straight forward.

Same goes for Affin's 12 month 3.6% which is much better than most commercial banks' promos, but there's nothing to discuss about it too.

On the other hand, other banks have limited time promotions, it is highlighted/discussed so that others are aware of options out there. And most of these promos have T&C attached to it so we discuss about them to work out the effective interest rates. And most "confusing" T&C is by SCB with their ADB requirements for savings account.
More stress and riskier job = Big Money  tongue.gif
Yup, thats why has to belanja Starbuck cofee virtually for some kind soul to simplify it.. tongue.gif

Not necesary riskier job= Big money.. Nowadays all sorts of compliance documents plus answering NC (non compliance) queries plus plus all sorts of audits (more than 6 per year) plus all sorts of certification plus plus all sorts of meetings plus all sorts of reports = no actual work done = hypertension + heart problem..

One of my staff (hpertension + diabetic) went for optional retirement. While finishing his accumulated leave (optional retirement already approved) , met him and announce his hpertension + diabetic reading has went back to normal..he..he.. Unfotunately before he finished his leave, received a letter stating LHDN will tax him hard for his gratuity n now he is back to work.. tongue.gif

Added on July 31, 2012, 10:58 am
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 31 2012, 10:49 AM)
Oic, CASA linked.

Personally I do not like CASA linked (which CASA amount need to be earmarked), as it complicated personal cash management issue.
Need to remember the amount being earmarked. Quite troublesome, if account got plenty of activity.

I am with you, complicated turn me off thats why unless some kind person simplified it, otherwise no..no..

Added on July 31, 2012, 11:24 am
QUOTE(rajivshm @ Jul 31 2012, 02:35 AM)
true enough...
http://www.asianewsnet.net/home/news.php?id=33998&sec=2

thanks for the alert!

Added on July 31, 2012, 2:41 am

just correct the figures enough maa no need negative comment .. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Jul 31 2012, 11:24 AM
Human Nature
post Jul 31 2012, 11:57 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Jul 31 2012, 02:35 AM)

Will be more specific next time. Mine is for Al-Mudharabah Warga Emas icon_rolleyes.gif
magika
post Jul 31 2012, 12:02 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 31 2012, 11:57 AM)
Will be more specific next time. Mine is for Al-Mudharabah Warga Emas  icon_rolleyes.gif
Congrats, pensioner ... tongue.gif
Human Nature
post Jul 31 2012, 12:05 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 31 2012, 12:02 PM)
Congrats, pensioner ... tongue.gif
haha it's a joint account with my mom. Warga emas used to get extra 0.5% rate last time, but no more. Nowadays,just for the extra insurance thingy biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jul 31 2012, 12:13 PM
magika
post Jul 31 2012, 12:10 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 31 2012, 12:05 PM)
haha it's a joint account with my mom. Warga emas used to get extra 0.5% rate last time, but no more. Nowadays,just for the extra life insurance thingy  biggrin.gif
can elaborate on the insurance..
thanks.
Human Nature
post Jul 31 2012, 12:12 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 31 2012, 12:10 PM)
can elaborate on the insurance..
thanks.
Unfortunately I did not go to find out more info. Just stated as follows from its website, accident coverage.

Benefit
•Complimentary Takaful Personal Accident Coverage for investments of 12 months and above

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jul 31 2012, 12:13 PM
magika
post Jul 31 2012, 12:13 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 31 2012, 12:12 PM)
Unfortunately I did not go to find out more info. Just stated as follows from its website:

Benefit
•Complimentary Takaful Personal Accident Coverage for investments of 12 months and above
ok, thanks..
TSGen-X
post Jul 31 2012, 12:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

deleted, did not read carefully doh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 31 2012, 03:19 PM
gsc
post Jul 31 2012, 02:13 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 31 2012, 10:49 AM)
Oic, CASA linked.

The saving combo at this moment does not state that you must keep the money in saving account
ascend
post Jul 31 2012, 02:20 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 31 2012, 12:56 AM)
This 12 month FD @3.8% promo, according to 1.2 in the pdf file, ends on 30 June.

This post has been edited by ascend: Jul 31 2012, 02:23 PM

123 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 >Top

0.0184sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:24 AM