Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

cherroy
post Nov 10 2011, 12:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Nov 9 2011, 12:10 AM)
Despite being the worst form of investment. Many people still park their money in FD. biggrin.gif
Who said it must be a worst investment?

or you rather wish you had bought some banks share during 2007? instead of putting in FD. whistling.gif
cherroy
post Dec 6 2011, 10:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 6 2011, 10:17 AM)
Citibank, a mega foreign bank and also one of the largest banks in the world nearly goes bankrupt. Just saying   biggrin.gif

Seriously, if you are looking into depositing say RM1M or RM2M, then i guess even a super small bank like Bank Rakyat is fine actually.
Just to clarify,

Citibank Malaysia is incorporated in Malaysia.
Although Citigroup is parent company for Citibank Malaysia, Citibank Malaysia entity is independence to Citigroup US.

While in Malaysia there is no Citigroup US operating here, nor accepting deposit in Malaysia.

All banks here be it so called foreign banks, are incorporated here.

Added on December 6, 2011, 10:35 pmI don't mean which bank is good but most of the time, service of the so called foreign banks are way much better than local one.
The local one needs to learn a lot from them.

Their service is much comprehensive, customer service is more professional, and less waiting time for ordinary transaction etc.
At least above is just my experience in comparison.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 6 2011, 10:35 PM
cherroy
post Jan 3 2012, 03:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jan 3 2012, 02:57 PM)
can reopen citigold account again?
Cannot.
Only once,
4.1. new-to-bank Citigold clients will exclude those Citigold clients who had previously closed their Citigold account for not more than 6 months prior to the date that you would like to open the CA to enjoy this Promotion but will include any Citibank customer who is not a primary account holder; and 

4.2. this Promotion is limited only to new-to-bank Citigold clients who place fresh funds with Citibank. Fresh funds refer to funds that do not originate from any existing account(s) with the Bank (“Fresh Funds”). 
cherroy
post Jan 3 2012, 03:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 3 2012, 03:34 PM)
Yala....1:1 ration of our Citigold fund must be in Trust Funds (excluding money market funds, AmBond Fund and AmBond Islam Fund), Retail Bonds, 3-month Australian/New Zealand Dollar Currency Time Deposit and Dual Currency Account.  doh.gif
Some more open for new to citibank customer only.
I always hate those only open to new customer promotion.

Treat better to non-existing/new customer, while loyal and long term customer get none.

cherroy
post Jan 3 2012, 04:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 04:01 PM)
Actually there is another promo for opening 2 account only and if not mistaken the interest rate was 4%.
I guess Citi deal not so good after all, at least for my case.
I was told that there will be a cooling off period before one can reopen a Citi Gold account, that's why I closed mine immediately after thier promo interest rate ended last year.

Having said the above, reopening a Citi Gold account may be different from being classified as a New Customer.

For example, I was required to deposit more than the stated amount in October to qualify for SCB Free Gifts because my name appeared in their system ( I used to have a current and savings account with SCB which have been closed for years).
6 months cooling off, as stated in the T&C.
cherroy
post Jan 3 2012, 05:12 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 3 2012, 04:53 PM)
My limited banking knowledge can not brain CIMB T&C for the 5% bonus. Any one ?
.........incremental average daily balance (“ADB”) what_lau_eh..!!!

http://www.cimbbank.com.my/promo/bonus_int...nterest_ENG.pdf
start with 200k, tomorrow you top up 50k, become 250k, up 50K (50K enjoy 5%, something like that loh), while the 200k did not get 5%.

cherroy
post Jan 3 2012, 06:06 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 3 2012, 05:47 PM)
Gee....!! now the computerized deposit system really canggih, can even compute and track this kind of interest payment to enable banks to put up a nice looking decor. Those days when I was in the banking line, the big main frame cabinet typed system can only compute simple half yearly savings interest and simple conventional FD interest. The bank can't have complicated and rigid T&C and the advertised rate is always the true rates you are going to get.
Nowadays, people are creative in marketing, try to put higher number.
Like step up rate, 3.0, 3.3, 4.0, but advertise it as 4%.

Then top up increment get 4.0% etc, while existing fund do not etc.

cherroy
post Jan 4 2012, 03:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 4 2012, 03:17 PM)
Incompetent indeed but can't blame them because promos keep changing, I think it is pretty hard to memorise all the rigid terms and conditions of every banking product. Normally, 1st day always confusing and a lot of mistakes incur then only they start taking a second look at the TnC thoroughly.
But incompetency also has its positive side, like we witnessed 2 of our forumers here getting full 5% FD due to incompetent staff.  thumbup.gif
This is not an excuse, the banks should brief their staff thoroughly before start the promo.
It involved hundreds of million deposit.

If confusing occurred, it just show unprofessional only.

Added on January 4, 2012, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 3 2012, 06:39 PM)
No la Bro, This morning I went to OCBC with the initial intention of placing fresh fund for the "Real Deals Premier 5% 3-month Fixed Deposit Promotion" But was turned down by OCBC because I'm already an exiting premier customer.  They want new premier or new upgrade to premier only. So no choice, settled for the 3.8% 9 months.
I hate this kind of offer.
Treat better on new customer, while existing loyal customer get nothing. mad.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 4 2012, 03:45 PM
cherroy
post Jan 13 2012, 11:29 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 12 2012, 10:06 PM)
I guess I only chance is to buy lottery in order to be a private banking customer. =(
Lottery also not enough.
Some private banking need USD1 million.
Lottery only 3 millions if without jackpot, RM 3 millions still a little bit shy from USD 1 million. tongue.gif
cherroy
post Mar 12 2012, 03:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 9 2012, 11:01 PM)
RM500K can get 6% 3 yrs tenure <--- Got it from a manyzer friend @ OCBC.

3.6% tell the bank fella to go fly kite la.
Please verify this statement. smile.gif
A lot of forumers are hugely interested, and willing to treat you a starbuck/coffee bean for this recommendation if the FD is without any condition, aka a normal FD placement.

Please don't tell us need to sign up structured product, Bancassurance stuff one, which is different story all together.
cherroy
post Mar 13 2012, 11:49 AM

25,802 posts

I just found the so called 6% only for 3 months FD.
Need to buy UT or product one, nothing to shout about. whistling.gif
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...pr2011.pdf'

Added on March 13, 2012, 11:50 am
QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 9 2012, 11:01 PM)
RM500K can get 6% 3 yrs tenure <--- Got it from a manyzer friend @ OCBC.

3.6% tell the bank fella to go fly kite la.
so who need to fly kite? laugh.gif

Opss now 2012, not 2011. My mistake. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 13 2012, 11:57 AM
cherroy
post Mar 16 2012, 12:25 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(alenac @ Mar 15 2012, 11:22 PM)
Guys, have u all heard of ING FD at 10% per annum. Is an insurance company and the sale rep says it's guarantee by BNM.
Insurance company doesn't have FD, please get your fact right.

Insurance is always an insurance, not a FD.

No insurance company can give a guaranteed return of 10% as well, be it endowment plan, ILP or whatever.
cherroy
post Mar 21 2012, 10:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lkcheng @ Mar 21 2012, 08:44 AM)
Foreign currency FD like AUD offers an attractive interest rate but if we place an AUD FD, it is actually an investment. It is just similar to buying a currency pair AUD/MYR. If AUD appreciates when you FD is mature, then you'll earn interest plus exchange gain but if AUD falls then, your interest might not enough to cover the exchange loss and end up a loss.

Right now AUD has reached 10 years highest against MYR according to the chart. It might continue to rise but it left a lot of space to fall. So, I think the risk of AUD FD is higher now. Some more, the local banks charge very high spread. The currency spread alone already wipe up 2% to 3% of your interest depending on which bank you deal with.

It is better to do carry trade in Forex market if you like to invest in foreign currency for interest. The spread is far lowest and every broker offers leverage.
Please do not include this into the FD discussion. It is totally different with FD issue. smile.gif
Mind that, forex trading and leverage is illegal in Malaysia apart from done BNM certified banks and finance institution/brokers.

AUD FD remains as FD, just like one needs some AUD for the future, and never consider to change back, the foreign currency exchange risk for AUD FD is out of window already.
Placing foreign currency FD means you wish to have the currency or wish to place the money in foreign currency, it is not solely to gain the interest spread alone.
cherroy
post Mar 21 2012, 11:38 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lkcheng @ Mar 21 2012, 11:08 AM)
Sure there are many people out there just like to place foreign currency FD for solely making more money. Using money to make more money, who doesn't love to do it. It is happy to see our money grows. You cannot assume everyone who place foreign FD just because they will need the currency for future use or for study purposes only.

I was trying to tell a little more about the foreign FD. Placing FD is really no different than buying the currency pair AUD/MYR. The spread alone will cost you to 2 to 3%. The currencies are highly volatile. Placing foreign FD in a wrong time could end up a loss and the bank might advise to renew your FD for another year. This simply tied up your money.

People work hard and save money and hope to get more from saving.

Yes, no local brokers offer forex trading and it is illegal to trade forex with any local hiding companies that offer the service. But do you know that we can open an account directly with the US legal and license forex broker using the Internet and fund with credit card right away. Who cares it is legal and not legal then since the broker is in US.
Yes, foreign currency FD subjected to currency exchange risk, no doubt,
but primary reason to place the foreign currency FD is about want to park the money in those currency, whether needed for it or diversification purpose. Solely want to earn extra 1-2% higher rate, my advise is always it may not suit.

While there are way to get AUD/RM or currency pair at spot rate through DCI, not necessary 2-3% spread, also one get request for lower spread like 1% or so, if one invests substantial amount as well.

For Forex trading, it is illegal for anyone (without BNM approval) to do forex trading in Malaysia. End of story.
What I mentioned previously, please do not bring in this issue into FD thread, it is totally different story with FD all together. It is irresponsible to recommend forex trading (it is illegal in the first place) as we may have many uninformed forumer that may look into this advice. smile.gif
Who care?
Money being frozen, burned or being scammed time, nobody care. Ya, correct. smile.gif
cherroy
post Mar 26 2012, 03:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Mar 26 2012, 01:58 PM)
Yes, that is it. I think that's what she told me.

So, I searched in LYN for an existing thread but doesn't seems to have one about this plan, any pro and cons compared to say normal savings or FD?
That's why, I'm thinking to save but not sure should I go for FD or this Endowment plan. or unit trust.
FD - can in and out whenever you like

Endowment plan - fixed annual commitment, you cannot miss the premium annually, if not previous paid premium can be burned and left and little surrender cash.
Cannot withdraw at anytime until matured which could mean 10,15 or 18 years later on.
Even you are starving to death, and you have millions inside in endowment plan, you also cannot withdraw for emergency.
cherroy
post Apr 6 2012, 10:45 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 5 2012, 11:44 PM)
Like that ar. I must go check it out tomorrow.
Based on what [b]gsc mentioned, if have to convert back to RM and cannot renew in AUD, then no point lah I start new thread.[/B]

You are right, I see I see clearly that ICICI US FD rates die die also no one can match it.
For foreign currency FD, it can be renewed indefinitely or stay in foreign currency current account which can be remitted if one wish to, just cannot withdraw in hard cash form.

Added on April 6, 2012, 10:45 am
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 6 2012, 12:18 AM)
Eventually you intend to remit the money to Australia for your daughter to use right ? Then i believe you can open a foreign currency account in either Malaysia or Singapore, then debit the money directly from your AUD account and remit it to Australia. I know this is possible in Singapore. Not too sure about Malaysia but i read a while ago that you can do the same too in Malaysia. Once your foreign currency FD matures and you do not intend to renew it, you can transfer it to your foreign currency account (if you have any) in the same bank.
Yes.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 6 2012, 10:45 AM
cherroy
post Apr 13 2012, 09:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 13 2012, 01:23 PM)
Normally bank staff get extra 1%. If you say 4.15% for 12 months makes sense because OCBC Board rate for 12 months is 3.15%. But their 6 months board rate is 3%, so how you get 4.15% ?
Is it true?

Special and lower housing loan rate, yes,
but never heard got 1% extra in FD.
cherroy
post Apr 14 2012, 11:32 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 14 2012, 03:06 AM)
Are you calling me a liar  tongue.gif  You never heard does not mean it is not true.
I no mean that, just need clarification. smile.gif

So can joint name with relatives who is staff and get extra 1%? brows.gif

cherroy
post Apr 16 2012, 11:10 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(fdsiao @ Apr 16 2012, 11:02 AM)
Hi all, usually if we deposit a large amount (fresh fund) to FD, we can nego for a better rate.
just roughly how much is the minimum amount? (e.g 1M, 500K or 200K... etc) and what is the better
rate can nego? 0.05%, 0.1% above the normal ones?

understand that different banks may have different bench marks... but any of the sifu here came across this
with the RMs ?
You are better off with those FD promotion 3.3, 3.5, 3.6% etc kind of, or like new PB customer special offer etc, which much higher than board rate +0.1%.

The myth of large amount can get higher rate is not necessary must be true, it can be inverse (lower rate), instead higher, depended from time to time, financial market condition, aka liquidity tight or not.

Nowadays, too large sum >Rm1 mil, bank may/can classify customer into Tier 1 which rate may lower than board rate one.
cherroy
post Apr 16 2012, 03:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(fdsiao @ Apr 16 2012, 11:29 AM)
Hi cherroy, thx for the explanation. am i right to say that,
banks define customers into Tiers wrt their FD amount, and offer different rate for the diff Tiers.
Large amount might not get a better rate, instead, a lower rate can be the result.

if that is the case, an example... say i have RM200k wan to put in FD, it is best for me go around
the banks and ask for the best rate? as i am also not sure which Tier / Band the banks will classify me as
(with the 200k).

thx again for the help.
Only more than Rm1 mil, only tier issue apply.

For 200k, one can go through those as new PB customer, or "premier gold" or whatever name (different name used by different name), most offer good rate to new privilege customer one.

0.0215sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:14 PM