16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V02 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

KennyKB
post Oct 17 2011, 01:59 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Oct 17 2011, 12:06 PM)
After one week, my N9 WiFi is already OK. Last week browser will take 5 minutes just to open google. Now very fast already. Does it need to warm up first?  hmm.gif

Now I can even download videos and songs from rapidshare and oron straight into my phone  wub.gif
Could be your unifi or Streamyx was slow but now back to normal? But this problem will be solved with the next os upgrade so it's not a hardware issue.

Added on October 17, 2011, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Oct 17 2011, 11:25 AM)
Most of the videos I downloaded are non HD anyway. Streamyx is like slowyx sometimes, if want to wait to download 1GB+, can pengsan.
I did read in my Nokia Blog that certain 720p formats can play, someone tested.
Quite true. I normally avoid downloading HD movies as it's a pain with our so-called broadband speed. They can be 4-5GB. On a small phone screen it's an overkill anyway.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 17 2011, 02:05 PM
KennyKB
post Oct 17 2011, 04:39 PM

1,765 posts

You can bring bugs to Nokia's Meego development team working on the os upgrade here.
http://konttoristhoughts.blogspot.com/2011...r.html?spref=tw

Who knows, it may get the irritating bugs that affect you resolved faster.

Added on October 17, 2011, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(joshuawong @ Oct 17 2011, 03:54 PM)
Anyone got problem with GPS? 4squick failed to lock GPS even next to windows?
Get the app Gps meefo from ovi store and use it to get a lock first. Some apps are not very good at getting a lock. How long did you wait? If it is connected to wi-fi or 3G it should be very fast ~15 sec or less. Make sure you have enabled "Mobile data connection" in Settings/Device/GPS and Positioning.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 17 2011, 04:45 PM
KennyKB
post Oct 17 2011, 06:37 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Oct 17 2011, 06:10 PM)
Go to the file, right click, choose properties, then details. Can see, frame height, width,bit rate, frame per second.
If you are downloading from websites, they have the descriptions :
720p H264 avi, 720p X264 mkv,  720 p rmvb
divx is xvid

Nowadays, they have full description, with like 4 to 5 versions for same series/movie, easier for downloader to choose which is compatible :" CSI New York S08E04 HDTV 720p X264-DIMENSION
HD 720P | English | 42 Mins | h264 @ 3739 kb/s | 1280x720 23fps | AC3 448Kbps 48Khz | 1.09 Gb ohmy.gif
Genre: Action | Crime | Drama | Mystery | Thriller
"

Added on October 17, 2011, 6:13 pm
I downloading only like 5kb/sec  doh.gif .Downloading 350 MB file take 7 hours, I gave up. Maxis broadband, 130 kb/sec, same place & time,lol
But how do we know it is the baseline type which N9 plays?

Yeah, my unifi was also downloading at <10kBps last week.

Added on October 17, 2011, 6:42 pm
QUOTE(joshuawong @ Oct 17 2011, 05:32 PM)
I've enable both and the GPS seem can't connect. Tested the GPS Meefo, no luck. Searching for satellite for an hour now. :S
Make sure you aren't connected to USB because you can't get a lock when connected. Assuming you aren't it could be a problem with your GPS sensor. Try in the open for 5 mins and it fails it may mean a trip to Nokia Care.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 17 2011, 06:42 PM
KennyKB
post Oct 17 2011, 08:25 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(merajey @ Oct 17 2011, 08:12 PM)
does anyone know how to import google reader feeds into N9 feed application??
seem that no one know the answer???  icon_question.gif
What do you mean by N9 feed application? If you mean the notification screen why would you want to to do that? Or are you looking for a Google reader newsreader? Nobody answered because they can't understand you.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 17 2011, 08:33 PM
KennyKB
post Oct 18 2011, 12:08 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 18 2011, 11:52 AM)
http://n9-apps.com/

That is the link where you can register with your email and get latest update and apps in the future.
I seriously doubt they are going to launch. That page already there for months and their original intention was to launch when N9 starts shipping. Now send them twitter also no reply.
KennyKB
post Oct 18 2011, 12:13 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 18 2011, 11:56 AM)
ppl around me are very bias and most of them Nokia hater.if u didnt unveil the Nokia logo still ok.they sure this cool that very yeng.after u show/tell them its nokia.MEH,plastic,screen small,UI sucks...
sgs2 housing very strong meh?
Not Nokia hater, just that Nokia's image is a little staid, not for young and trendy now. It's like those who won't be caught driving a Volvo. This will actually work against Nokia's WP7 phones succeeding. Nokia is delusional if it thinks their brand name will give WP7 platform a boost.
KennyKB
post Oct 18 2011, 02:40 PM

1,765 posts

Nokia's image was dented because it failed to produce innovative phones which excite users. CPU, memory and display were behind the competition. The Symbian os was considered a dog. No wonder it lost market share. Then Nokia finally did something right with the N9. Hardware was in the ballpark. It was sleek and attractive, like a breath of fresh air in a world of round cornered phone. The Meego os with innovative swipe technology excited users and won accolades.

Nokia should have taken this success and run with it but unfortunately the CEO Elop decided to beat down the mass market appeal of the N9 by stiff pricing, omission of major markets and death pronouncement of the last Meego phone. Meanwhile he wound down Symbian and bet the farm on WP7.

If Nokia's WP7 phones doesn't take off with a bang Nokia will go down with it. All the eggs are now in one basket. But WP7's has never caught on. It's market share is a mere few percent. Last year it even managed to lose market share while Android and ios surged. Iphone 4S has been launched with rave customer response, a new version of Android will soon be released and Nokia is late to the party.

Nokia is shaping up to be a Greek tragedy. A tragedy is something you inflict on yourself. Maybe one day Elop will be a textbook case study in business school of how to bring down a corporation.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 18 2011, 02:48 PM
KennyKB
post Oct 18 2011, 07:40 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Oct 18 2011, 06:19 PM)
I was even prepared to get the 16GB cyan instead, but....that also no stock. Salesman said most probably Nov baru ada Cyan.
Friend, how far is Melaka from KL? Just make a trip and get the 64GB before it is all sold out and you have to wait till God knows when for next batch. Supply of 64GB is tight all over the world.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 18 2011, 08:18 PM
KennyKB
post Oct 19 2011, 10:47 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Oct 19 2011, 10:13 AM)
hi guys....did anyone of you experience internet problem when changing network type from wifi to mobile data without disconnecting the current connection first?

meaning you just go to internet connection > connect to internet > choose

without disconnecting the current/existing connection...
What kind of problem? Just tried it and no problem.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 19 2011, 11:40 AM
KennyKB
post Oct 19 2011, 11:38 AM

1,765 posts

It depends on your usage. Are you using on wi-fi or 3G? 3G will drain more power.

Btw, you can turn on your push email. It makes negligible difference from my experience. Turn off bluetooth if you don't need it.

KennyKB
post Oct 19 2011, 05:57 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(inugami @ Oct 19 2011, 05:54 PM)
hello,im newbi here.I just wanna ask something.I found a web selling new noka n9 at RM1000.It smells fishy.here are the url's http://globalasiashop.com/index.php?option...id=18&Itemid=79.
There's no way anybody can sell an N9 for RM1000. Malaysia already has the cheapest N9 price in the world. Maybe it is a cheap knock-off from China worth only about RM200.
KennyKB
post Oct 19 2011, 07:42 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Oct 19 2011, 06:58 PM)
the.connnection seems to.be "connected"..but when try to.surf or.sync email..it doesnt work..
I know this problem and it can be quite difficult to solve. You can try the easy way first. Remove the password from your wi-fi router, try to connect and surf, if successful put back the password. See if it solves the problem.
KennyKB
post Oct 19 2011, 09:56 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(drexar @ Oct 19 2011, 08:37 PM)
Found out something interesting here:

http://www.meegoexperts.com/2011/09/openmo...oid-apps-meego/

It is similar like the Alien Dalvik project but this time they tested it on MeeGo Tablet.. The project name - Open Mobile's ACL
If it needs to be integrated into the OS at the firmware level it will never happen because Nokia will never allow the N9 to be more attractive than their WP7 phones. But from the way things look I think the N9 app store will be well rounded in another few months. Most apps will come from the Meego community of enthusiasts but commercial developers are not ignoring N9 because Gameloft has released 2 HD games for N9.

http://my-meego.com/software/applications....dAuto=414&faq=3
http://my-meego.com/software/applications....dAuto=415&faq=3
KennyKB
post Oct 20 2011, 09:57 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(CoMMie @ Oct 20 2011, 09:04 AM)
lol just because one developer supporting the OS does not mean others will follow. Just look at palm webos, gameloft also publish a few games there but look at where they are now.
It doesn't mean others won't follow also. Neither does it mean Meego Harmattan will follow the same fate as WebOs. I'm keeping a positive outlook. I've reason to be hopeful because I know there is a lot of activity in the Meego developer community. Based on the N900 pattern, N9 will have many high quality apps which many other platforms don't even have.
KennyKB
post Oct 20 2011, 10:08 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Oct 19 2011, 10:48 PM)
Hi Kenny..thank you for the tips..I'll give it a try..

But what about if I'm changing from wifi network to mobile data? And still have the same problem? Any idea?

I found out that this thing will solve only by restarting the phone..
If restarting solves the problem you don't need to try changing the wi-fi password. I should have mentioned this is the first thing to try.

I think the problem should not happen under mobile data. If it does it may mean you need an internet profile from your operator but my N9 just configure itself without needing any profile.

If you want to disconnect wi-fi and change to mobile data you can do it manually in settings. You can also configure your mobile ISP as an automatically used network so it changes automatically to mobile when wi-fi is absent.

KennyKB
post Oct 20 2011, 12:59 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Oct 20 2011, 12:14 PM)
the new PR1.1 is released for N950 users, and it brings chinese language input and swype smile.gif
There's tons of bug fixes, connectivity improvements, performance enhancements and visual tuneups. Lock screen music controls have been added. I hope they have also improved the wi-fi receptivity. Nokia is now working on PR_1.2 which will have many feature enhancements.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 20 2011, 01:01 PM
KennyKB
post Oct 20 2011, 02:52 PM

1,765 posts

Does anybody know how to add a location to Favourites in Maps app? I've tried for more than 30 mins to unlock the secret, believe me.
KennyKB
post Oct 22 2011, 09:25 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ Oct 22 2011, 03:30 AM)
i email nokia regarding the microsim problem for take long time to detect network,they say is due to reloading time of the device.
So they mean it is normal? I on/off everyday and my N9 doesn't take much time to recognize my sim.
KennyKB
post Oct 22 2011, 05:03 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Oct 22 2011, 12:00 PM)
I'm tempted to pick up a N9, all the reviews of it seem positive, except the apparent lack of apps. I want to ask what are the apps available for N9? Is there any famous game such as Angry Birds and Fruit Ninja available for download?
There are already many apps for N9. Look in ovi store and set the phone to N9. You can also get more apps at http://my-meego.com/software/index.php. Angry Birds is bundled in. I haven't seen Fruit Ninja yet.
KennyKB
post Oct 22 2011, 07:55 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(merajey @ Oct 22 2011, 07:28 PM)
ouch!! i think my n9 already have problem in connecting with wifi..no connection at all.. sad.gif
Your wi-fi signal probably not strong enough. Move closer to the router and you should be able to connect. N9 needs higher signal than other phones to connect.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 22 2011, 07:56 PM

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0530sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:54 AM