Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Poor soul here... any help? sad.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/644478
mypetridish
post Mar 6 2008, 12:40 AM

1,313 posts

Hey guys, I read about the NCQ and it says "Unfortunately, Windows XP requires the installation of a vendor-specific driver even if AHCI is present on the host bus adapter."

Does that mean if im using an XP with a Raptor, I need to download the AHCI driver specific to the Raptor?

Added on March 6, 2008, 12:40 amto utilize NCQ that is

This post has been edited by mypetridish: Mar 6 2008, 12:40 AM
vearn27
post Mar 6 2008, 02:05 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Mar 6 2008, 12:40 AM)
Hey guys, I read about the NCQ and it says "Unfortunately, Windows XP requires the installation of a vendor-specific driver even if AHCI is present on the host bus adapter."

Does that mean if im using an XP with a Raptor, I need to download the AHCI driver specific to the Raptor?

It mean that you need to install SATA drivers depending on the RAID controller in your motherboard smile.gif. In case which is before Windows Installation, press F6 to install SATA driver before installing Windows else it wouldn't be able to detect the HDD when you set to AHCI or RAID mode.
super macgyver
post Mar 6 2008, 06:14 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

vearn27, y dun u just use back IDE mode for the SATA HDD to solve it?
empire23
post Mar 6 2008, 07:26 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Mar 6 2008, 12:40 AM)

Save yourself the trouble. If you're using non random access pattern programs, NCQ isn't worth it.

Generally you need to install the driver for the disk controller when installing windows, but it's a waste of time in my view as NCQ in normal access pattern use generally degrades performance.
mypetridish
post Mar 6 2008, 08:01 AM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 5 2008, 01:05 PM)
It mean that you need to install SATA drivers depending on the RAID controller in your motherboard smile.gif. In case which is before Windows Installation, press F6 to install SATA driver before installing Windows else it wouldn't be able to detect the HDD when you set to AHCI or RAID mode.
i read in other forums and tried to look for downloads/support from Asus website - there was no mention of AHCI driver. And when I pressed F6 during windows installation it asked for a floppy disk drive for the 3rd party installation. i dont have any and thought it's not worth it.

QUOTE(empire23 @ Mar 5 2008, 06:26 PM)
Save yourself the trouble. If you're using non random access pattern programs, NCQ isn't worth it.

Generally you need to install the driver for the disk controller when installing windows, but it's a waste of time in my view as NCQ in normal access pattern use generally degrades performance.

yeah i read about that in other forums. some found that their normal disc usage performance was reduced. probably it's only good for heavy/unoptimized gaming (where the dev throws important data all over the place in the installation folder) and servers?

This post has been edited by mypetridish: Mar 6 2008, 08:02 AM
empire23
post Mar 6 2008, 10:31 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Mar 6 2008, 08:01 AM)
i read in other forums and tried to look for downloads/support from Asus website - there was no mention of AHCI driver. And when I pressed F6 during windows installation it asked for a floppy disk drive for the 3rd party installation. i dont have any and thought it's not worth it.
yeah i read about that in other forums. some found that their normal disc usage performance was reduced. probably it's only good for heavy/unoptimized gaming (where the dev throws important data all over the place in the installation folder) and servers?
Mostly only servers applications since games don't really write randomly even if they aren't optimized, they're generally still quite contiguous by all means and don't really require NCQ.
mypetridish
post Mar 6 2008, 11:16 AM

1,313 posts

pergh, so much for NCQ, i have 3 drives with it: the raptor and 2 samsung.
vearn27
post Mar 6 2008, 02:34 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Mar 6 2008, 06:14 AM)
vearn27, y dun u just use back IDE mode for the SATA HDD to solve it?
Initially everything was in IDE mode... when the OS or HDD keep crashed and I need to reinstall the OS... thus I just give AHCI mode a try tongue.gif

QUOTE(empire23 @ Mar 6 2008, 07:26 AM)

What empire23 mentioned is true smile.gif. I just give AHCI mode a try, but that doesn't mean AHCI mode will be better in term of performance than IDE wink.gif

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Mar 6 2008, 08:01 AM)

Previously I opened a thread titled "AHCI vs IDE" in Technical Support forum. You can read more about it and why NCQ wouldn't benefit unless you are running a file server with more than 100+ queries per second: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/630605

Else if you still insist wanted to give AHCI mode a try like I did, try this method which I used because I doesn't have FDD with me liao. It kaputed tongue.gif. You can Slipsteam the SATA drivers to your Windows Bootdisc smile.gif http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/501772
wei_hao89
post Mar 6 2008, 10:57 PM

17 posts

hey guys..can help me wif tis...i need a hdd so i tot of getting wd 1TB essential edition..do u noe the price of it in lowyat..and which does it use?? 7200.10 or 7200.11...i really noe nothing about hdd...help me..thx...hope i get a reply asap..

Added on March 6, 2008, 10:58 pmwats esata??how does it work...wats firewire??omg i suck at tis

This post has been edited by wei_hao89: Mar 6 2008, 10:58 PM
mypetridish
post Mar 7 2008, 02:42 AM

1,313 posts

check the prices section in lyn, and google for the drive info
wei_hao89
post Mar 7 2008, 06:21 AM

17 posts

where is lyn??

mypetridish
post Mar 7 2008, 06:29 AM

1,313 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/Price&DealersGuide
wei_hao89
post Mar 7 2008, 06:30 AM

17 posts

i cant find the drive info...can u help..
do u advise to buy wd 1tb??
neo_sharky
post Mar 7 2008, 10:22 PM

1,725 posts

hey guys, just want to ask 1 noob question here. hehehe. if i dropped my hdd, is there any possible it can be totally damaged?? at what height that will totally damaged the hdd??
vearn27
post Mar 7 2008, 10:36 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Mar 7 2008, 10:22 PM)
hey guys, just want to ask 1 noob question here. hehehe. if i dropped my hdd, is there any possible it can be totally damaged?? at what height that will totally damaged the hdd??
Any vibration have possibility of causing damage to your harddisk... do a ScanDisk to check on your drive for error. If error detected, backup all your important data before the worst happening.
neo_sharky
post Mar 7 2008, 11:43 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 7 2008, 11:36 PM)
Any vibration have possibility of causing damage to your harddisk... do a ScanDisk to check on your drive for error. If error detected, backup all your important data before the worst happening.
when i plug in the external hdd, does it shows an error message??
vearn27
post Mar 7 2008, 11:52 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Mar 7 2008, 11:43 PM)
when i plug in the external hdd, does it shows an error message??
You wouldn't know if the internal is damaged or not. I did drop once from the height of 1.5 metres from the ground and it is still working flawlessly without any error after ScanDisk. However, my unfortunate friend straight away need to send his unit back to factory when dropped at the same height. Still able to work and access doesn't mean the internal didn't receive any damage as well. Best if you can do a throughout disk diagnostic by downloading the utility from the HDD's manufacturer website.
neo_sharky
post Mar 7 2008, 11:54 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 8 2008, 12:52 AM)
You wouldn't know if the internal is damaged or not. I did drop once from the height of 1.5 metres from the ground and it is still working flawlessly without any error after ScanDisk. However, my unfortunate friend straight away need to send his unit back to factory when dropped at the same height. Still able to work and access doesn't mean the internal didn't receive any damage as well. Best if you can do a throughout disk diagnostic by downloading the utility from the HDD's manufacturer website.
okay..that's interesting...thanx for helping bro

Added on March 8, 2008, 12:00 ambro Vearn27, 1 more question. im using WD hdd..what is the diagnostic utility should i download from its official website??

This post has been edited by neo_sharky: Mar 8 2008, 12:00 AM
mypetridish
post Mar 8 2008, 01:35 AM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Mar 7 2008, 09:22 AM)
QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 7 2008, 10:52 AM)
do you think it also depends on the way it falls. like if it falls flat on its back or if the tip touches the ground first, etc2

p/s when i asked u about AHCI, i meant that for my raptor on my desktop. i thought that it was too much a hassle

now im reformatting my laptop and im using nlite to include the AHCI driver into the windows installation disc. will continue after my friday prayers

This post has been edited by mypetridish: Mar 8 2008, 01:37 AM

125 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:46 AM