20 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

HONDA CIVIC Club V11, My VTEC goes BWAAAAAHH!!!!

sadako-chan
post Dec 20 2012, 05:48 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Dec 20 2012, 05:14 PM)
hhhmm...since its durability like oem only might as well i just use back oem and go for full change. no need to spend the extra $$ for hardrace. hehe.

i dont plan to go poly. i believe will be too hard for my DD
Actually the hardrace is as good as honda oem, and they also have harder version, I don't like the taiwanese/china bushes since they don't fit well, I know hardrace is china made as well, but so far the quality is... acceptable.

OEM ori honda don't sell bushes separately for most part, they sell including the arm. I still remember the rear lower arms costing RM580 each.. >_>
So I don't understand why going OEM is cheaper than hardrace. AFAIK, ori honda OEM is more expensive than hard race.

You'd be surprised at how comfortable ipoly can be.. I wouldn't recommend it for normal people though. If you do poly for steering rack and front end, you won't have free play at steering. This means if you move the steering 5mm-10mm, the car starts turning already. Took me a while to get used having a sensitive steering.

I run 10k and 8k springs on front and rear, with rubber bushes, they are super stiff. But now on poly, even my mom doesn't complain of hard suspension. Poly bushes makes the arms rotate freely (like bearings) so even when using stiffer suspension, it doesn't feel stiff at all... That is... as long as she sits in the front seats. My rear spherical on the trailing arms is a different story. It gives great feedback in slippery condition, but when you drive slow on rough road, all vibration gets transmitted to the rear seat.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 20 2012, 06:45 PM
sadako-chan
post Dec 21 2012, 11:51 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 21 2012, 01:17 PM)
this pretty much cancels out my thoughts on installing rear sphericals....
well, the feedback is great, i tried throwing the rear end on corners, can easily recover because you can feel the grip.
alternatively the hardrace is harder as well., but not as sensitive as sphericals.

@siaunann
whole set should be 2k or so, our car has a lot of bushes. i think total about 16-20 not including steerick rack and shifter bushes,
so suspension only bushes counted.

to put in in perspective, honda oems costs more than 3k for everything.

Added on December 22, 2012, 2:18 am
QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Dec 21 2012, 06:03 PM)
Is second hand of Civic worth to buy ? how much is the second hand value now ?
Which civic model? There is too little info to go on. FD2R is a great buy now, but the price is not that low, not to mention that it's not comfortable for a family car TBH.

The latest civic on the market now is more comfortable, but anything above 50K is overpriced for me in terms of car, but that's just me.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 22 2012, 02:18 AM
sadako-chan
post Dec 22 2012, 09:07 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Dec 22 2012, 08:23 AM)
2k region is for the bushing only right? excluding the arms.
honda oem more than 3k is the complete set with arm? since u mention honda oem no bushing replacement?
does hardrace have any dealer in miri sarawak?
If you buy whole set, I think can get cheaper. Only the front compliance bush you should get ori honda because the fitment for it is bad, the bracket is just not that good.

No ideas on dealers in miri.
sadako-chan
post Dec 22 2012, 01:24 PM

226 posts

ah madman is probably right, over here slightly more expensive due to transport, and like I said, the complete set is cheaper as they sell individually is more expensive. but factor in the price to jack out the old bushes and install new ones, probably will be closer to 2K.

@Siauann, yes, the compliance bush is no 7, but the diagram you showed is for EK, not for EG, if you are driving EK, then can get the compliance bush, since it does not include brackets like the EG.
sadako-chan
post Dec 22 2012, 02:03 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 22 2012, 01:30 PM)
cabon fibre 1.8k is ok la... n considering its for FD2 its actually cheap.....for EG already 1.6k....where u bought urs?

protection sticker never heard before... but if in US... they put those blue tape for long drives if they going to car shows or car meets....

that blue tape is actually masking tape hahahahha
the local protection sticcker is regular vinyl. you can ask sticker shop to do, but make sure they are experienced in sticking large surfaces so you dont get air bubbles
sadako-chan
post Dec 25 2012, 01:21 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Dec 24 2012, 10:06 AM)
yeap. im driving EK4 SIR. i'll consider this hardrace set  smile.gif

@madman
can u check with ur friend the complete set bushing hardrace for EK4 SIR (4door) pricing and stocks. and postage to miri sarawak  tongue.gif

Added on December 24, 2012, 10:36 am

dont change. keep it stock jdm style  biggrin.gif
JDM style already outdated lah, now it's about function > form.

Anyway, DRL is standard on USDM, they just make the signal lights into DRL. tongue.gif
That's why got the two tone signal lights for EG.

Added on December 25, 2012, 1:24 amWell, just tried out full throttle runs a few times. The ITB is loud, at full throttle past 6K rpm, all I can hear is the ITB whistling/sucking air, the Kakimoto 2.7" exhaust also cannot hear already.

Going to do a dyno run and tune the ignition for power hopefully by next week.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 25 2012, 01:26 AM
sadako-chan
post Dec 26 2012, 03:21 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(wak_james92 @ Dec 25 2012, 11:50 PM)
owh man im so worried about my eg
drive wth fear now hahaha
ayam cabut ecu whem parking now

Added on December 26, 2012, 3:22 pmmy car look stock, but four R888 on all four corners is a dead giveaway

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 26 2012, 03:22 PM
sadako-chan
post Dec 26 2012, 04:04 PM

226 posts

http://949racing.com/15x8-6ul-nickel.aspx

too bad 4 lugs only

Added on December 26, 2012, 4:07 pmi dunno how you will u turn with 8" wide wheels. even 25mm overfender can fit, full lock will scrape

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 26 2012, 04:07 PM
sadako-chan
post Dec 27 2012, 01:04 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 26 2012, 04:35 PM)
thought about that a looooooooooooooooooonnnggg time already.....but 949 have to order la... manyak leceh n manyak mahal @ RM3k+...closest is australia but they are also expensive there...

anyways...im dropping the idea of 949 for awhile due to THIS

id rather order some Rota Slipstreams in 15x8 +35 for cheaper ....or even Enkei PF01 15x8 for about the same price (guesstimate)

anyway.... 15x8 with a +36 offset like the 949 fits nicely in Hondas it seems... so im sure the +35 version fits too...

but... 15x8 is a dream for now.. the ones available locally are all with the stupid hellaflushthetoiletlepasciritbirit offset...

so ill just hunt for 15x7...top contenders (that ive managed to find, and in no particular order) are 5Zigen FN01R-C, Black Racing Pro N1, Sprint Hart CP-F, Rays Sebring Vesta Spring

.....dunno how these will clear 4pot bbk though....i just might end up with some taiwan TE37 or SSR Type C-RS
after all that typing... it boils down to... i need to hunt for tires first...after that will only look into rims... as mentioned.. might end up with taiwan wheels depending on the tires i get.
Wah 3K also complain rim mahal. Sial!
SW388 style eh?, I just visited a guy's house that day, letting go of his SW388 for 3K+. I never liked the design, so not buying, and with B20B, better go for 16" and 215 width on 16x7JJ. I'm pretty happy with R888 atm, corner like on rails, and with DC2 swaybars front and rear on the EG, SYIOK! It's been a while since I used semi slicks, and this just reminds me of why I liked them despite the heavy tire wear.

I am on 15x7JJ and 42+ offset, tires sit 5mm out of the fenders, now with R888 using -2 camber, so they're tucked back in nicely again since my last RE002.
5 lug offset a bit higher than 4 lugs, putting +38 with a 7" wide wheels on my car will look like old school datsun SSS. tongue.gif

Knuckle clearance is just over 1cm at closest point.
Tire prices now making me move to 16". 15" tires no longer cheap to justify staying under 16".

Anyway, cheap rims what do you expect? Me myselft on P1 Racing first gen, they're cheap and reliable. I've only bent them once, and went to fix it. Still using after 6+ years.
Strongest is still the stock EK9 wheels, I hit the drain wall once when the metal drain grill gave way, didn't even crack, even though the sound was #$%@ scary when it hit.

Now kumpul duit for TE37s 16 x 7.5JJ. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 27 2012, 01:12 AM
sadako-chan
post Dec 27 2012, 08:39 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 27 2012, 02:25 AM)
of course complain la... pokai wei! hahahha....im also considering running diff wheels front n rear... but ori wheels la... coz most of the time when people only sell 2 pieces... they sell them cheap biggrin.gif

i dun wanna go to 16" mainly coz tak nak jadi berat...love how the car is now... so wanna stick with it... i may consider 16s for dedicated track wheels though

initial thought was to run semi slicks as daily oso... was considering the R888 or achilles 123....but considering that my wife n baby boy sits in the car every now n then... the risk when its raining (n it rains alot nowadays) not worth it...that n the noise

i oso kinda sick of the SW388/regamaster design... see it every bloody where....but... it comes in 15x8 hence the consideration of the slipstreams

actually my main reason for changing wheels is to get some that can fit my planned 4pot upgrade....current ones i dont think itll fit.

definitely need to budget... coz i bought a house n moving into it soon... need finances to furnish the house sweat.gif moneyflies.gif
still on the hunt for KU36.... seriously hard to find man these tires... doh.gif

need to consider possible alternatives, just dunno wat to choose...
r888 have not that bad grip in the wet, heck i am using it in monsoon season lol. the noise is an issue though, it is worse on mine since i removed all sound proofing tar. now depend on carpet and the firewall insulation as sound proofing only. sound like pajero on all terrain tires lol.

try buddy club p1 15x7jj they're not too expensive and clears even a monoblock caliper with the right offset.

comparing to my previous falken rt215 back in 2005, i think r888 is even stickier. still cannot beat re01 and re11 because they are less noisy and less wearing than r888 with almost comparable grip.

or you can consider doing like seeker's eg6. 215 16" front 195 15" rear end lol

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 27 2012, 08:55 AM
sadako-chan
post Dec 27 2012, 05:20 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Dec 27 2012, 03:40 PM)
wah u all pakai tyre high end high end tongue.gif
i cannot afford le.... sad.gif
btw EK9 ori rim is what size? 15? 16? 17?

Added on December 27, 2012, 3:41 pmconsider michelin

http://www.michelin.com.my/Buying-Guides/P...potlight/2.html

got promo biggrin.gif
haha siauann, if you use semi slicks on standard suspension, it wont be nice. body roll is increased a lot.
anyway, tyre mahal better than some pakai brand new car but cannot afford new normal tires. standard tires now price is ridiculous. no semi like bridgestone re002 selling for rm 350-400? madness. better add extra a bit and get semi. toyo so far cheapest from the quotes i get. kumho naturally cheaper la, but not jepun nah

the tire prices now so crazy, i see even expensive mpv using china tires.

Added on December 27, 2012, 5:26 pmthat michelin tire 195/55r15 @rm300 is standard only, but the 85 load index 195/55r15 looks to be a good deal. harder sidewalls compared to 82, and only rm15 difference.

Added on December 28, 2012, 1:15 amfunny story of the day. just came back. i overtook a bmw in fifth gear at half throttle, comes an old scool turbo. i thought very fast so i took the left lane. to let him pass. bugger was at full throttle shifting into fifth i think still cannot overtake. fail turbo ka?

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 28 2012, 01:15 AM
sadako-chan
post Dec 28 2012, 08:55 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Dec 28 2012, 09:22 AM)
i use standard suspension only. so using normal tires is ok for me. previously using BS my01. not a very good tires. then change to falken ze912. a little better than the my01. now front is using GY D5. i love this tyre biggrin.gif . the rear still got bunga for my old ze912. will get it change soon to PS3 since got promo  tongue.gif  all this tires i use is not jepun la. thailand only  sweat.gif

bmw turbo kalah? hhhhmmmm...... hmm.gif
no no, bmw is standard, old school turbo. i think ke30 or something. so funny hearing the wastegate whistling ao loud but the car doesnt accelerate.
sadako-chan
post Jan 1 2013, 01:14 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Dec 31 2012, 09:53 AM)

do u guys thinks that my temperature is higher than normal? normally it falls below half right?  unsure.gif
the meter is kind of untrustworthy. I have a water temp digital gauge and middle can be 90 deg c to 140+c

first check water level in rad, (when it is cold obviously,) then try flush out contaminants from the radiator then check thermostat. i had a thermostat jammed closed on me once. temp climbed up like mad
sadako-chan
post Jan 2 2013, 01:13 AM

226 posts

i ushered new year by washing my quad throttle. rainy season potong stim mau TT with the regulat chaps
sadako-chan
post Jan 4 2013, 02:46 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jan 3 2013, 11:17 AM)
icic. haha. maybe ill consider installing the water temp gauge also tongue.gif

water/coolant in both radiator and the overflow tank is on the level. the last i have flush the radiator is few months back i think.
how to check the thermostat condition?  unsure.gif

reasons im worried is becoz i suspect this slight temp increase might be the culprit of the auto gearbox damage previously  rclxub.gif
cooling system not related to gb. likely just wear and tear. thermostat inside the thermostat housing lah, if it is waxy, then the thermostat is gone case

Added on January 4, 2013, 2:48 am
QUOTE(Dennos @ Jan 3 2013, 09:02 PM)
sent to a factory, still unknown if can clear the ori coating on the rim.

Powder coating is only possible on clear surface. zzz
ori coating easily removed by media blasting. btw share the address and cost of powdercoating. i want to powdercoat my wheels too

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Jan 4 2013, 02:48 AM
sadako-chan
post Jan 5 2013, 09:28 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(alexkjl @ Jan 5 2013, 06:54 PM)
Hello

Added on January 5, 2013, 6:55 pmDo you please recommend me an absorber for honda civic 2.0 2007 ??
price range? purpose? if i recommend Ohlin DFV you sure don't want also right?

simply put, if want cheap, go for 2nd hand ori honda, or want to lower the car a bit, GAB SS which is cheap and suitable for the purppse. Top of the line is Ohlin, which costs a lot if for their flagship model. TEIN is somewhere in the middle, although their high end model will be near that of ohlins.
Koni and Eibach combo is also a good choice. It all boils down to HOW MUCH TO BUY?

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Jan 5 2013, 09:34 PM
sadako-chan
post Jan 6 2013, 02:15 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(alexkjl @ Jan 6 2013, 11:23 AM)

I just need a pair for front. My price range would be 300-400. How much is Tein selling? and where can I get second hand ori Honda absorber.

Any recommended workshop ?
At that price range, second hand ori honda would be fitting, or aftermarket standard shocks like APM/Kayaba/Local brand.

As for workshop recommendation?
Absorber replacement is too easy that the possibility to screw up is low, the only point to care is where the car is jacked up so you don't end up with bent subframe or nicked suspension parts. I used to do absorber swaps myself because it's so easy. A jackstand, a jack, and proper spanner or socket set (not china tools that will round off the nut/bolt ends), probably doable in about an hour.

I doubt you will need to drive around far to find a shop to install absorbers, unless of course, you're also swapping very hard springs that require a spring compressor to remove the top cap of the absorbers.

Added on January 6, 2013, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(Dennos @ Jan 6 2013, 01:12 PM)
would recommend to get oil type instead of gas type for handling.

Gas type too soft to be true but less bumpy.
Gas type is for comfy driving. So depending on purpose, can use either.

BTW how about the powdercoating info? Still interested here. my buddy club p1 first gen wheels are flaking off

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Jan 6 2013, 02:17 PM
sadako-chan
post Jan 6 2013, 11:57 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 6 2013, 08:39 PM)
yaya i wanna know the info on powdercoting the wheels too...if got info on available oclours oso cun....

will be leaving my house in 1.5 hours to my pick up muh new (but used) wheels....

5Zigen FN01R-C 15x7 +33 with 50% 185/60 tires heh
FUh 15x7 with 185 tires? stretched look. must be from a drift car lol

sadako-chan
post Jan 7 2013, 10:54 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jan 7 2013, 08:23 AM)
the gb got one line is going into the cooling system right? so i assume its related.  tongue.gif  unsure.gif
heh, not sure about auto gb, but manual GB confirm don't have coolant lines into the gearbox. I don't think auto also have, you sure?
The only way you can cool the transmission is with a transmission cooler, since there aren't any water jackets in the gearbox. AFAIK, and btw, coolant lines always have two, one inlet, and one outlet. water go in, but no way to go out, sure hot also.
sadako-chan
post Jan 7 2013, 10:55 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(jing_kohkoh @ Jan 7 2013, 10:47 AM)
WTA what's the waiting time to get CIVIC now ah? still need 3 months? How come I still don't see many Civic on the road.
have to ask the dealer that. I don't really trust the waiting list because I think it's just an excuse to make people pay undertable money to get their one faster.

20 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0631sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:35 AM