20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

HONDA CIVIC Club V11, My VTEC goes BWAAAAAHH!!!!

sadako-chan
post Jul 31 2012, 03:46 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jul 30 2012, 11:29 PM)
Also to other sifus out there... any of u experience / heard other peopl experience engine knocking or pinging due to too restrictive exhaust ?
Restrictive exhaust cause knocking/pinging? No, never hear before, but I once got a metallic sound like pinging when accelerating, thought it was knocking/pinging.. turns out it was my exhaust touching a part of the body when vibrating due to poor fitment of exhaust.
sadako-chan
post Jul 31 2012, 10:57 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jul 31 2012, 10:18 AM)
Not anything definitive, lots of speculation mostly... Most info are from the US which have different version of the Civic.  blink.gif

I looking for info from more believable source, since dunwan waste money if it's not possible or need lots of modification to get it to fit. My own mechanic said only need to change the front ARB to DC5 if wanna use DC5 exhaust manifold, but several time already the case is he made some wrong assumption which cost me more $$$  cry.gif
hmmm...  hmm.gif  poor fitment, that's a new idea that was not considered, but dunno how to check when the car is running. Anyway the sound only can be heard at between 2500 -3000 RPM when cruising or when accelerating under heavier load (i.e uphill). Also intermittently, not all the time. Sometimes very faint, sometime slightly loud.

Did valve clearance check/adjust 3 times but problem still there, become worse when the valve tolerance is very tight (below spec limit).
Could be knock, since for older hondas, usually has built in knock sensor for its cars, so it will automatically retard when knocking or pinging, but not all models have it. Dunno if malaysian version have it or not.

As for checking. My one was easy, just rev it while parked, and if got the sound, it's likely the exhaust rattling. Then it is a matter of locating the sound.

If you want to test fit, better go to smaller shops where they have stock of dc5 exhaust, then you can test fit all you like. Of course, their price is sometimes also higher, but I find it's worth it if they let you test-install at their place.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Jul 31 2012, 11:03 AM
sadako-chan
post Aug 2 2012, 02:09 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 1 2012, 06:33 PM)
spoke to my mechanic... he said its a direct fit...only thing is u need to re-do the exhaust piping to accomodate the header....
anyway... changed my intake setup today... removed the HKS SPF mushroom filter and replaced it with this

3" BPI Velocity Stack + 6" UTR Stainless Steel Mesh filter.

cant tell of any difference since there were other changes to the engine during the repair work...tuning hopefully this saturday if mechanic aint busy
Nice I am still on the HKS mushroom. Thinking about buying the K&N with BPI velocity stack from chris as well, but I have other mods to do ATM.

My camber kit bush one spoilt due to the lower arms bush problem. sad.gif

Added on August 2, 2012, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(unitron @ Aug 2 2012, 09:16 AM)
vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

One #$&&*@#$ Kembara hit my rear bumper this morning on the way to work. Just got it re-painted less than one month ago.
Biasalah, I don't even bother with paint anymore lol.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 2 2012, 02:09 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 3 2012, 01:58 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 2 2012, 02:34 PM)
i asked for the stack alone and its 3xx doh.gif the BPI last time they sell RM180 only... shakehead.gif
Chris got second hand 3" one, but he selling along with filter since it's used. The old version. The new one he brought in is 3.5" all. Should be cheap I think for the second hand one.

Added on August 3, 2012, 2:29 am
QUOTE(unitron @ Aug 2 2012, 02:14 PM)
Actually, was just repaired from another accident way back >4 months ago. Didn't bother about it until just a couple of weeks back when at the same time doing some other repairs decided to get it done also.

Then the jinx of newly painted bumpers come...  seem to always happen after u just repaired or re-paint it.  cry.gif
I know datfeel bro

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 3 2012, 02:29 AM
sadako-chan
post Aug 3 2012, 06:41 PM

226 posts

Almost there, but hood clearance issues abound. Apparently the newer hasport mount makes the engine sit higher, so got problem with closing the hood. @Madman, The hood have to cut cut cut la... you still think can put in your car? sweat.gif
sadako-chan
post Aug 3 2012, 10:16 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 3 2012, 06:48 PM)
cut cut cut??? cut which part?

have u tried emailing hasport about it?
Front hood la. P/steering area, and maybe throttle part when change to RBC intake

Brian@hasport said better engine higher. I guess this all mat salleh fault for gila lowering. Now sump sit same level with underchassis. For egk1 mount.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 3 2012, 10:17 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 4 2012, 02:37 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Aug 3 2012, 11:49 PM)
Ehh.. I thought lower center of gravity is better. Not higher. Funny those American.
Higher because the mat salleh will lower the car to get that low CG, so oil pan better sit higher, on the current EG, ground clearance of pan is more than 6 inches. (about 17cm or so, means 7 inches?) compared to the early hasport mounts at 4.5 inches from ground. This all with 195/55R15 set at two finger fap at fender.

Added on August 4, 2012, 2:43 am
QUOTE(ychwang @ Aug 2 2012, 02:52 AM)
I dun see any problem downgrade DOHC > SOHC, as Accord 2.0 also SOHC. For those wanna racing will get TypeR instead.
Btw, i see the new 2.0 Civic have the feature which is lack on old 2.0, that is push start button, power seat and curtain airbag? The LCD on the meter panel is really nice compare to normal display on the old civic.
There is a problem, it's called lowering costs without passing the cost savings to the consumer. Then again, malaysians are the type to pay inflated prices for cars, then lament high living costs.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 4 2012, 02:43 AM
sadako-chan
post Aug 4 2012, 05:29 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 4 2012, 03:01 AM)
the mat sallehs who lower the car for lower CG dont go that low oso actually... usually i see its just no gap between tire and fender...

but there are those that go crazy low for that hellaflush thingy...and those guys not only mod suspension n looks...they also mod engine sekali gus
No gap between tire and fender is pretty low if you run 195/55R15. I tried that, and my ground clearance is about 10cm. looks good, but I'm sure will stuck at speed bumps, have to minus another 1/2 inch now, using 2.7 exhaust, so nearly half inch sits lower than chassis and subframe. Only drove it around a few days, then revert to two finger gap back. lol.

If running 205/50R16, okay a bit I think.

Damn, why our accords here so CACAT one!?

Stumbled across an interesting article. It's quite old. Reading about it, I am sad. Honda doesn't represent quality like it used to.
http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/news/nb_det...D=RT.ATC.CAR.NW

I think NAP forcing honda to make super cheapo cars just to sell in malaysia.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 4 2012, 01:27 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 5 2012, 02:47 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 5 2012, 11:41 AM)
got for my baby girl a new pads for front and rear...
Ah, bendix metal king, I will forever remember these pads that killed my rotor. On road use, okay, but they can really eat your rotors with hard braking. I remember these pads only reaching 70% use, then I had to replace my rotor already. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 5 2012, 02:48 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 5 2012, 03:42 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 5 2012, 03:20 PM)
what seriously ahh bro doh.gif  doh.gif
Don't take it out to track or drive too ganas. Road use, still okay lah.. lol.
sadako-chan
post Aug 5 2012, 09:05 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 5 2012, 05:31 PM)
.....now i started to scare d
If they eat your rotor, can find excuse to run prelude BB rotors and calipers. icon_idea.gif
sadako-chan
post Aug 5 2012, 10:37 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 5 2012, 09:34 PM)
...... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Biasalah, wear and tear is always a good excuse to upgrade the car. tongue.gif
btw, the bendix metal king I used was for honda legend, the pads fit my EK9 calipers. (and yes, I am on EG)

Now I'm back on endless, but prices rising up like mad, so EBC will likely be my next choice.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 5 2012, 10:39 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 6 2012, 03:28 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 5 2012, 11:28 PM)
u didnt know meh? the bendix metal king are good, bang for buck pads...but they have a reputation for eating through ur rotors...

but stock brand new rotors about 2xx per pair if u buy at LHS or Exceptional...thats what my friend did... then he pasang sendiri at home

or u can always opt for Brembo Max rotors brows.gif
not too sure about the current generation of metal kings...but my old ones on my ex-EF were pretty good... cant remember the version but it was the one right before the Gold (and no its not silver)

took it out to BT3 once and SIC 3-4 times with lotsa daily hard braking....and brake fade in SIC were minimal compared to my current RapidStop 550c pads which fades way too fast.

pads and rotors tahan nicely for almost 2 years...(though i only drive the car at night back then...but every night though)

i even sold the car with the pads and rotors to wan congo..who later turned that car into his "cari makan" game car.
2 years? I think mine also near that, not exactly two years, but almost. No choice because I was stuck in Terengganu, nobody selling performance pads, and Bendix was the closest I could get on a short notice. Brakes wore out, didn't notice, till I went to fill up the tyre air, saw pads only left 1-2mm after the backing plate part. lol

which EBC u looking at? and how much are they? ive always been interested in the EBC yellow... got a friend who uses it on his BB1 brakes on CRX and he loves them.
EBC yellows, since they're like in the RM500 region while Endless is also near RM500 already. (Shop said new stock price going up) Red and greens usable too, and cheaper.
My friend also swears by them, so I guess it's a good option.

They work fine cold, my friend using it on his daily drive EK. Modded with odyssey brakes. (huge brakes)
I'm still on Endless, just changed last year @ RM450ish.

anyway... got crome-d yesterday.... and errr...

Congrats, with B20v, 200whp is standard output. That's why finding it strange that you don't get 200whp with B20v before this. Now you know the meaning of "want power, tune that shit".

Anyway, what exhaust you are running? The cutoff also ah?

But good also retard slightly the ignition, or rich a bit at top for safety.

Oh btw, I need to ask this. How you feel about your car traction with B20v? What tires you running?

These few days rain, I noticed my traction is non existent, more than 50% throttle straight wheelspin. Usually not so bad, so it must mean that my RE002s are hitting the half wear mark.

Also, still haven't gotten around to putting on the Superpro bushes, apparently one of my LCA thread for the swaybar is gone case, so I am going to get a replacement tommorow. Also messed up while jacking the bushing. Accidentally jacked out the entire bushing and warped the arm. Luckily it was the arm with the stripped swaybar thread. Going to BURN IT WITH FAIYA now, see if it's more effective or not. And I'm going to modify the LCAs to always accept superpro bush so later on easy to replace.

Picture unrelated.. or is it? My other fave honda model, the Honda Beat.

Also, while regreasing my S2 rear camber kit, I've realized that the V2 bushes are quite lasting compared to the V1. The crush tubes are still a tight fit on the bushes. The V1 bushes only lasted me one year plus.

My s2 camber kit is so old, the camber kit is no longer adjustable, all seized up. Fortunately I already set the stance, so all I have to do is keep replacing the bushes when they wear. But while reinstalling it back, I've realized that the honda rear camber arm is not pivoting in a straight line, it needs to deflect a bit. My s2 camber kit bushes wore out at those places, but not by much. So looks like in the future, I will definitely get spherical adjustable camber kits.

Added on August 6, 2012, 3:56 am
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 6 2012, 12:19 AM)
can....but most people dont bother with the rear... even my rear oso stock B16A
Wut? Don't you get a lot of the nose dive when you brake hard?

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 6 2012, 03:56 AM
sadako-chan
post Aug 6 2012, 01:43 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 6 2012, 05:16 AM)
dunno la....last time one of my friends with a B20V with TX3 high comp pistons and haltech e6k also tuned properly got 185whp on dynojet...
Ouch, that is pretty low, Even my friend running 82x87.3 setup manages 200whp, but his one is mad high compression. around 12.5
Compared to my 85x87.3, I think maybe mine is due to the 11.8CR or type R head flow restriction. Mostly seems to be limited to 200whp unless if add more stroke, or ported from what I've seen. Nasty portflow I went to visit, not impressed though, because they hog out the port. I'm not a porter, but I do research enough to know how a good port should look like, because I worry kena tipu by rubbish porting.

custom 4-1 header with 2.5" pipes with 1 bullet and cutout.
i dont floor or vtec on wet roads.
Nice, mine is bigger, but twin bullet, so maybe a bit of restriction there as well, and I also currently on 2.25 cat pipe. Got offer at ipoh for a 2.7" kakimoto center piping, so I'm going there sometime after raya and picking it up, going to chop2 it up and mod into a decat pipe.

running on T1R... as for traction....well my clutch cant really handle the power honestly... so i dont get much wheel spin..but quite abit of clutch slip during redline shifting...plus i no LSD, so i cant really tell that well.
Sure it's clutch slip? because the clamping load on organics and race clutch good for up to 250-300hp from what I know. But guess I'm not the only one with traction problems. With helical, still can one wheel spin, but perhaps it's due to tire, since helical not really great at truly locking up both wheels.

might consider the exedy 3 or 4 puck or trinity as replacement....not sure which is longer lasting though
Racing clutch will never tahan one, because they don't like half clutch releases.

burn it...thats what ive been reading on DIY bushing replacements
Yeah, pretty much. got the gap in the middle, and I found 30mm steel tube that fits perfectly, so going to mod it so it's a full steel tube so easier to press in the bushing.

sperical? where? what brand? what price? i no rear camber kit but have been thinking of getting the hardrace installed....but would really like them sphericals honestly
Hard race makes spericals, but have to special order, I have the Hardrace spherical RTA ones. Local dealer/distributor don't stock it. It's stiff, but surprisingly, not noisy, except if on rough road surfaces, if on smooth highway, feels like stock bush. Price should be close to s2 original camber kit. at 600-700ish. I'm on skunk2 now, but seized up, so if the bush goes, I'll probably go for hardrace camber kit later. Since I use the EK9 trailing arm for rear, my camber with stock camber arms are -2 each side. So have to use camber kit, if stock, just replace the bushings enough to restore camber.

u mean to tell me u have rear BB1 brakes as well?
i dont notice any nosediving during hard braking when in the car....dunno about outside the car though...
must be the TEIN Flex working very well hahahahaha
Heh, you should try monoflex, or any monotube, low speed sensitivity is really great if setup properly.

As for my brakes, I'm running 5 lug EK9s front and rear, so the rear disc is also slightly bigger. Can lock all four wheels even when I ran semi-slicks. thumbup.gif Friend runs full BB front and rears. Last time always say worry too heavy, now also convert, he say best mod is the brakes.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 6 2012, 01:50 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 6 2012, 11:53 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 6 2012, 09:25 PM)
rich lo you guys ....
You think I mod overnight kah? 8-9 years in the making lo my car.

Added on August 7, 2012, 12:11 am
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 6 2012, 03:12 PM)
wat management is he running and wat else does he have? coz im at estimated 12.5 too... but im 85*89
He's on PowerFC, using some cams (I forgot what, I think toda Cs), increase overlap a bit from stock, move the powerband higher, with small cc, this is the only way to get higher hp I think. A lot of people don't do cam tuning, then dyno tune only.

why are u still using a decat pipe?? get rid of the entire thing and just put a normal piping all out like everyone else...
yep....after the engine got re-assembled my mech took it out for a quick drive and he oso said that my clutch like cannot tahan the power.
Because one day, I will put in a magnaflow 2.5" cat, when I dunno, but I will put in so as to have a nicer smelling exhaust that doesn't kill my braincells lol. Maybe when I turbo my car down the road 2-5 years later. Cost getting more viable since super90 started making cheap sleeved blocks.

yeah i know that... but im just wondering which one lasts longER.
Hahaha.. good luck searching for answer.

bleh... one thing i menyampah is special order... i like getting things off the shelf...no stock = no getting my money hahahahah...unless of course i REALLY want it.... but that doesnt happen very often
True, but no choice because over here people rarely bother about handling, mostly go for power and looks. Chris got stock for sphericals, but the new one he brought in is open type, and although can buy seperately the dustboot, I prefer hardrace since they come sealed.

Monoflex no have for EK...only Type Flex....anyway...if i could get a buyer for my Type Flex for EK for 3.2k thereabouts... id get me a set of GAB SS with 10kg Front and 8kg rear springs.
aaaaaaaahhhh... 5 lugs...something i will NEVER do... susah mau cari cheap rims hahahhaha
They don't? I remember got one EK here with monoflex, maybe the old days got. My friend other friend got Tien HT, I want to trade my Omni's but he don't want. cry.gif Oh well.. guess I'll stick with my Omni's. If want to drag, just plonk in 12kg springs in the rear.. lol. Never did it before, but US fellas recommend to do that for drag cars. (since the Omni's are actually drag shocks, not really road race ones, but I reverse install them for road use Front to rear, vice versa, also by honda-tech peep'srecommendation.)

Coincidentally I run those same spring rates. 10kg F and 8kg R, I also got spare track/drag springs at 12kg and 10kg. Gab SS eh? I got quoted 2.4K for them a year back I think. Looks a bit low quality to me, but as long as is monotube.... I think can set it up properly or change the oil to increase rebound damping if not enough

5 lugs was something I did when I had Mugen MF10s, but someone offered too good a price and I let them go. Now on buddy club P1s, got them cheap, but I nicked them so many times cannot trade in or sell off already. LOL.

awaiting funds to plonk the silvia 4pot i have at home.
Damn, sounds sweet. But I don't think the brake balance would be that great though, but maybe you will get those brake bias valves to tune. Brake hard enough and the rear would probably become very light and swing around when trail braking.

am also considering changing the rear brakes to something else... but that can wait...coz dunno wat to put in and how much...money pretty tight lately coz in the process of buying a house.
Aren't we all tight for money.. haha. everything getting more expensive, even EG parts also crazy prices now.

Added on August 7, 2012, 12:13 amAlso, got the K-tuned shifter mounted today on the K20 EG, tight fit, tommorow have to open up the holes for the shifter mounting holes to put in the k tuned adjustable spacers to move it front a bit.

Everything progressing well, still waiting for some minor bits to arrive, like the IACV reroute spacer, water temp adapter and stuff.

Debating on the traction bar now, going to email ktuned to see if it clears the A/C.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 7 2012, 12:13 AM
sadako-chan
post Aug 7 2012, 12:38 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Aug 7 2012, 02:10 AM)
They reduce the cost DOHC>SOHC and without adding more cost compare to old civic
with the fature like

- power seat
- push start
- auto level headlight
- multi info display with color
- econ function

which will benefit more normal civic buyer instead of the racer wannabe,
Those who use civic for racing can buy TypeR or old civic to modify. There are not much impact by giving SOHC maybe just reduce 1hp (156hp > 155hp) but the additional feature is very very worth for it.
I dunno, I used to be a honda fan, but these kinds of features cost too low to even consider them to be able to offset the cost from an engine downgrade. I'm not talking about racer boys either, because some of my friends all also moving away from honda civic as a family car due to perceived value, not due to performance.

Most of them have been using CIVIC EK, ES, FD1, and guess what they're buying now? Korean cars or second hand contis! One guy even had enough bad experience with FD1 that he totally abandoned honda and upgraded to a BMW. He said he's giving up on Honda cars due to the lack of quality and value he'd come to expect.

push start? < the cost for this is so laughable because people have been doing it since before it was popular, and it costs only 2 relays and a SPST switch. And being manufacturers, obviously they have economies of scale working for them, custom design? would that even cost anything to the manufacturers?

Auto levelling headlight? two potentiometers, 2 servomotors and a controller. consider manufacturer costs, negligible. It's amazing how gimmicky this can get.

Power seats? switches and motors? it's just an additional motor and switches! costs neglilgible too. Seen power seats since the 90's, doesn't add much of a premium on a car.

Multi info display with colour < LCD so cheap now! and considering you can buy OBD2 monitors for below 1.5K with 'colour' displays as well. manufacturer can get even cheaper with their own custom design and mass production.

Econ function, it's just an extra mapping for ECU to run in fuel saving mode, along with using smaller secondary intake runners (if they are using that method) and also VTC (again, if they have that).
Using all existing technology they already implemented on EARLIER GENERATIONS.

Face it bro, "New" Honda Civic no longer the value for money car it once was... Honda better buck up or it's going to be left behind by a lot of previous Honda owners. It's bad news when they are trying to attract the new eco hippies and totally abandoning their loyal fanbase who have always admired Honda for their perceived value for money and also good performance while having moderate to excellent levels of fuel consumption.

If want to keep believing, go ahead, but don't come crying when you find your honda resale value isn't as good as you hoped 4-7 years (or more, if they even last that long) down the road.

Added on August 7, 2012, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(mykazza @ Aug 7 2012, 10:23 AM)
hi i just bought 98 civic eg8 with with everything stock.. with some goodies like cromax, rear disc, and the car is very clean with no sign of modification  , and maintainence record... but the speedo meter is not working so what could be the issue? the sensor or the meter itself? the meter does go up.. but stuck at 20km/h.. or is there any obd scanner like www.superscan.my that can be used with this computer box? i think its an d15b
No, OBD1 cars like yours use the modified seat belt socket or "Paperclip"™ SCANNER.

Speedo not working, change speedo/VSS sensor first, then only check meter. Reason being speedo sensor is 'cheaper' compared to replacing meter, and more likely to fail since it's exposed to the elements.

Added on August 7, 2012, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(stupid_piggy @ Aug 7 2012, 09:30 AM)
Thinkng to sell of my old saga and grab honda civic 1.7 2002 years. Any feedback regarding this car. Use for normal cruising and highway driving to muar or johor bahru every 3 or 4 month. Looking for comfortable, reliable, easy maintenance and reasonable fc car. Civic 1.7 was just suit my budget. Compare with city vtech, which more suitable to grab?
The civic 1.7 2nd hand parts not easy to get. I suggest better pick any other model/year that suits your budget. The 1.7 is a bit of a rarity in malaysia.

If you want and can afford new honda parts, then by all means.... thumbup.gif

Added on August 7, 2012, 1:03 pm
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 7 2012, 11:56 AM)
afaik they dont... tried searching for so long and thats wat i found out

2.4k? i can get cheaper...hahahah....so far all feedbacks about GAB SS has been pretty good... damping etc when i have the extra money can just get farouk from F-Tuned to do....
Heh, good for you then. Custom is definitely better.
I wouldn't go with 8kg rears if you don't have poly or sphericals though. It will be HARD.
With poly and sphericals, since they're freely rotating, 8kg actually feels like 6kg. Have to dial in the rebound.

and skip the K-Tuned traction bar... read here: http://honda-eg6.blogspot.com/2012/06/k-tu...bar-for-eg.html
amateurish welding and looks low quality.... i think ur better off getting the full race bars being sold in ZTH... got an EG6 at my mechanic's workshop with K-swap and the full race traction bar...looks real good.
Hmm. strange, because I had the opportunity to compare both at Samurai Racing (they put them side to side) and they look pretty similar in quality. I guess perhaps that guy got a bad set.

But K tuned parts to avoid is the headers. The swap header, the race header, and the ram style header. I don't care that they're dyno tested, the finishing is just SHITTY. I thought it was maybe the swap header, being a budget type and all, but after looking at their other headers with my own eyeballs, they're the.... same!

A) ports not of similar size (I traced a paper to make sure my eyes not tricking me)
B) welds are ugly.
C) can see protrusions in the exhaust pipe.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 7 2012, 01:16 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 7 2012, 08:13 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 7 2012, 07:45 PM)
8-9 years...??walao aa...looks like i gonna be the same as you d ...but not swap K20A la  sweat.gif
Actually swap k20a might be cheaper down the road at 5-6 years.
8-9 years la, I went from d16 to B16, then B18 then B20.
B16A still alive, but in pieces in my garage.B18C died due to accident, d16a I traded off. I replaced when they started wearing out, so it's slow slow lah. Why would you want to replace something if they're working fine?

Like my B20b, still working fine, why I want to swap in a K20A? the K20A is my friend's one lah, the amount of years he used his b18c also worth his money spent already.

Like yours, now that you're on bendix, you can let them eat your rotors, and you can upgrade to bigger discs later on. Just make sure you got budget for it, if not, just get replacement rotors and drive it stock loh, even the old 20+ EG with b16A is faster at overtaking than any malaysian car in the market right now. (notice I said overtaking, the low end torque isn't that great, lol, can tune, but probably can make it comparable to wira 1.6 pickup only.

sadako-chan
post Aug 7 2012, 08:41 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 7 2012, 08:30 PM)
ya lo have to slowly build it d as now have to concentrate on housing d  cry.gif
Oh i see..looks like you're true Honda lover bro thumbup.gif not giving it up to purchase a new car

Not actually not giving it up for a new car, but more like I can't find a car that appeals to me.
I like plain cars with less electronics, and more of handling and power. But those kinds of cars usually out of my budget (to mod), and I missed out on a chance of owning a lotus exige that the owner wanted to sell relatively cheap. So it's back to honda and the B-series engine. If the car gets scraped/scratched, not much of sakit hati, unlike when you drive a 200K+ car and suddenly you find a scratch on the car.

About the video.

That just means the car is too lasting for him. He's the type who lets his car rusts.

Mine is 20 years old this year and still looks good. Rust spots starting to appear though.. at rear quarterpanel/fender shakehead.gif
MUUUSSSSTT FIIXXXXX!~

Currently saving up for either a new chassis/repair the eg, or moving up to DC2. The parts still carry over. so.. huehuehue

It's all in the matter of how much integra DC2 chassis can be had in 2 years time. If can get cheap, DC2, if not, I fix this EG up again till it's in the classic car category. LOL.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 7 2012, 08:47 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 7 2012, 08:51 PM

226 posts

Although some people (family and relatives) think that i spend way too much on my car, I can tell you the amount.
RM80K including buying the car at 30K. So I spent 50K on fixing and putting in 3 different engines.

Some people say

"But that can buy you a NEW CAR!!"
And to which I would reply "4 door sedan with 200+hp (since mine is 203whp)" Name one model with that kind of performance for 80K, use it for 10 years, and tell me after 10 years how much you spent."
"But new cars SAFER!"
"Without maintenance and prudent driving, people still DIE driving the latest cars no matter how safe it is."

The reality is, people want new car to show of their status symbol. If they want to, go ahead, I'll be enjoying the money I didn't spent on a new car elsewhere, like a house, or a second car.
Oh wait, I already have a second car and a house.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 7 2012, 09:03 PM
sadako-chan
post Aug 7 2012, 08:59 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 7 2012, 08:51 PM)
wow DC2 chassis can fitted too into EG....hmm thats sounds interesting  hmm.gif
Eh you got it reversed.
Parts from EG can fit into DC2 chassis and vice versa. like front subframe, engine and the accessories, suspension components. Body parts/main chassis is a no-no, although can mod, it's not legal. Since I modded mine, can carry over those parts instead of having to sell them off and buying again for the DC2 chassis.

Added on August 7, 2012, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 7 2012, 08:58 PM)
Agree with you if purchase a new car i rather use those money to buy a house better...more stable in market value as you know that car value drop very fast  nod.gif *depends on market and what car lo*
What market? All cars depreciate like a sinking rock, the more expensive it is, the higher the amount of value depreciate.

Take for example, if you buy a skyline R34, sure can say that since the mods, can sell for higher price, but if the guy is rich enough to buy it in cash, he'll probably be using that money to put downpayment for a new one. Rarely only can sell to an enthusiast that will buy it for what it's truly worth.

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Aug 7 2012, 09:04 PM

20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0544sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:21 AM