8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V12, 1Darkside ! 1Nikon ! D800 rumor !

ikki9394
post Oct 25 2011, 01:58 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 25 2011, 01:53 PM)
aside the shutter, i think no worry gua, my D70s still looks good aside the top lcd sot sot not display proper due to something inside disconnect the ribbon... sensor not clear then other wise still good  tongue.gif

summore i leave battery inside DSLR for long time still good can use  sweat.gif
Hmm how many years already? Probably caused by impact damage? Oh well maybe just luck as well ><
When comes to this type of question alot people will suggest that what kind of photographer I am, whether I am a indoor photographer which mean I don't need such coverage while if im a traveler, active in hiking and sports then I would probably need one. Thing is I just don't know as I just got started and have no idea bout what are the general and common problems of a DSLR.
ikki9394
post Oct 25 2011, 02:53 PM

NexT
582 posts

Celciuz sifu what do u think about the mack warranty? is it necessary?
ikki9394
post Oct 25 2011, 04:00 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 25 2011, 03:55 PM)
If it covers the shutter failure, then you can consider. If not, no point.
Oo... I was worry that something like below would happen hmm.gif

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Oct 25 2011, 03:56 PM)
damn, Nikon Malaysia would want to repair my camera for RM1971 doh.gif

I need to talk to the technician, they just want to simply replace the parts doh.gif
ikki9394
post Oct 25 2011, 04:03 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Oct 25 2011, 04:01 PM)
even it will happen, your camera is no longer in warranty as well after 5-6 years! LOL
Yours already 5-6 years u mean?
ikki9394
post Oct 25 2011, 11:25 PM

NexT
582 posts

I should study in the day time... Im like a night owl now sad.gif

DSC_0545 by neF.c, on Flickr
ikki9394
post Oct 25 2011, 11:42 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Oct 25 2011, 11:34 PM)

one of my russian classmate but dont know what name,
few people say she is pretty. what u think ?
Looks more like an asian... But yea... I call this natural beauty - Minimum make up

ikki9394
post Oct 26 2011, 10:46 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 25 2011, 05:17 PM)
I think it will cover shutter failure, no?

Looks good though. Especially the part about it covering all types of accidental damage. It's like insurance for your camera ! To think about it, 3 years cover for AUD 126 is very reasonable. That's less than RM 0.40 per day !

Just got a reply from Mack.

Dear Nef,
Yes, all of that is covered under the international diamond warranty. Customers may go to any authorized repair centers in their area. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.
Thank you,
Desiree

On 10/22/2011 3:19 PM, NeF wrote:

I've recently purchase a dslr and would like to inquire if:

-the warranty is applicable in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (we do have an authorised Nikon service centre there but will there recognize mack warranty and repair it for me in your behalf?).
-Does the warranty cover sensor cleaning?
-Does the warranty cover damage from impact/water damage/software malfunction?
-Does the warranty cover dead/hot pixel repair?
-Does the warranty cover buttons/shutter/dials malfunction?
-Does the warranty cover lcd screen malfunction?

I look forward into your reply.
Cheers,

Nef

Should get it? hmm.gif
ikki9394
post Oct 27 2011, 12:01 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Oct 26 2011, 11:18 PM)
It actually doesn't matter which shop you're buying from, as ultimately if something goes wrong with the camera you'll have to go back to Nikon. It pays to look around more and maybe if you're not in a hurry why not wait til the new models come out, then the D5100 price will drop alittle more.....as we all wish....haha

But it also good to get it from a reputatble shop and maybe somewhere nearer to you and maybe if you get all your stuff from 1 shop you may get good price in a long run, that's speaking from experience coz i know many shops would love to have repeat customers  smile.gif

good luck !
I reckon replacement for D5100 will not come so soon as it has been updated on April 2011. People who asked this question should check it out with "hidden830726" as he has been using D5100 for quite some times and knowing some pros and cons of it technically and experience. He've also mention some downside of it compared to more advance D7000 in regard to price issue as well so he will be a really good source.

2ndly, I reckon buying from a same shop gives a peace of mind as u know who to look for straight away if something went wrong with the gear. But cost efficient-wise is not a good as prices for camera gears fluctuates time to time and different shop gets them at different price all the time. Best is to do research, ask around and import might even be a cheaper and better alternatives as well.

Edit: Oo, just notice u're d5100 user as well LOL!

Added on October 27, 2011, 12:14 amThis is another reply from mack warranty lol. Reply kinda different from the first one.

Sifus, please advise if I should still go ahead with the warranty purchase? AUD 123 = +- RM388.68 for 3 years.

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Oct 27 2011, 12:15 AM
ikki9394
post Oct 28 2011, 01:04 AM

NexT
582 posts

Has any purchase from tech garage before?
Is the after sales service good?
www.techgarage.my/

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Oct 28 2011, 01:04 AM
ikki9394
post Oct 28 2011, 01:02 PM

NexT
582 posts

Usually how much would it cost to repair shutter if died?
ikki9394
post Nov 4 2011, 01:18 PM

NexT
582 posts

I've shoot with D7000 with 17-55 under the rain before. No prob so far.

I reckon its best to use D7000 with weather seal lens to make sure that no water can actually enter the camera as i came across an article saying even D7000 is weather sealed but when not used with a weather sealing lens might have a chance of water entering the body.
ikki9394
post Nov 4 2011, 10:03 PM

NexT
582 posts

Spam spam xP

DSC_0561 by neF.c, on Flickr
ikki9394
post Nov 4 2011, 10:48 PM

NexT
582 posts

Is the samyang 85mm F1.4 any near nikon's?
ikki9394
post Nov 5 2011, 03:43 AM

NexT
582 posts

Spam~ My iPhone Sleeping beside Kave wub.gif
DSC_0969 by neF.c, on Flickr

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Nov 5 2011, 03:44 AM
ikki9394
post Nov 6 2011, 12:54 AM

NexT
582 posts

Hey CY, I remember u got a TT UD35 right? Just wanna ask if it can fit in a DSLR with grip+lens and a 13" macbook air at the same time?

The TT shoulder harness V.2 seems very useful for long walking journey. Im so tempted to get that bag after realising I wont be able to get the Ari Marcopoulos bag in time...
ikki9394
post Nov 6 2011, 11:50 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 6 2011, 11:33 AM)
Yes, I have a UD35 v1. It is able to fit in my 10" netbook. It might be able to fit 13"... not so sure about that. My 10" netbook goes in horizontally, maybe a 13" MBA can go in vertically. But if vertical it also accept until certain height because when storing a DSLR + grip, a portion will be folded.

My 2 cents, if you are buying the bag for travel I suggest don't attach your grip.
Sending in my SB900 to repair and also D90+MB-D80 to change the rubber grip >_< Hopefully by next week can get back my flash and D90.
Hmm... wide enough to fit in vertically mer? UD35 seems like backpack kinda shape instead of long like messenger. Have been looking at lots of bags, but couldn't decide on which. Thought of UD35 cause can use shoulder harness to carry as backpack if my shoulder got tired lol!

U still keeping your D90? as spare? Anyway, hope U'll get them back soon! icon_rolleyes.gif
ikki9394
post Nov 6 2011, 01:45 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 6 2011, 12:52 PM)
Yeah, my D90 still with me. At times I prefer the crop from DX for tele. 200mm on FX is just... short.

Yes can fit my 10" netbook and also my iPad in both orientation.
RM200 is kinda tight though for a backpack.
RM30 or RM50, asked this Q during the Hei Mian seminar previously... but they don't do it on weekends sad.gif
Well, guess that depends on your nego skill with the shop. But most shops don't do that since its all bundled. Even if give discount I guess maybe RM10~RM20 only?
How much u bought it for? U have any idea for the price of V2?
ikki9394
post Nov 7 2011, 04:00 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 6 2011, 03:50 PM)
I bought mine at RM380. The v2 if not mistaken goes for about RM480.
Hmm, which one? The front one for the external power pack? or the one at the side for signal?

Grip rubber RM75... probably changing that too.. my port door one also giving way -.- keeps dropping off. GG betul la those rubber piece.
Fair enough. It cost me about AUD 180 = RM540 here include postage.
I'll get it in Malaysia then

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Nov 7 2011, 04:00 AM
ikki9394
post Nov 7 2011, 11:49 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Nov 7 2011, 11:11 AM)
yeah, i used the natural light at that time,made it slightly warmer from the original, angle wise, i wanted to get the wine rack background as that's one of the signature of the establishment.  smile.gif
For that level of bokeh I can't even tell the background is a wine rack lol! Should have use lower aperture with higher iso?
ikki9394
post Nov 8 2011, 03:01 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 8 2011, 08:58 AM)
here you go:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond7000/

i copy the pro and cons for you in last page:

Conclusion - Pros
Good detail and dynamic range (even better in RAW)
Exceptionally low shadow noise in RAW files
Arguably the best high ISO performance of any current APS-C DSLR
Good build quality and handling
Maximum ISO of 25,600 st full resolution
1080p HD video mode with basic editing built-in
Efficient Active D-Lighting
Comprehensive customization options
Large, bright viewfinder with 100% coverage
Fast contrast detect Auto Focus in Live View
Useful electronic horizon
Comprehensive feature set
AE metering support for up to 9 'non-CPU' Ai lenses (in A, M modes)
Twin SD-card slots

Conclusion - Cons
Tendency to overexpose in bright sunshine/high contrast situations
ISO button is poorly positioned, and cannot be assigned to any other control point.
Ditto white balance: poorly positioned, cannot be re-assigned
Exposure mode dial slightly loose, and easily knocked
Shooting mode dial can be awkward to manipulate
AF can be hesitant in poor light
Auto ISO function is confusing and poorly implemented (but no worse than any other Nikon DSLR)
Aperture not adjustable in manual mode in live view (and won't stop up/down in any mode until exposure).
No live histogram or exposure indicator in live view/movie shooting.
As A D7k user my point of view to the P/C list are

Arguably the best high ISO performance of any current APS-C DSLR - Really?
Good build quality and handling - Yes agree for among Nikon DX range but not to other brands.
Efficient Active D-Lighting - yupp
Comprehensive customization options - They are
Fast contrast detect Auto Focus in Live View - yes
Useful electronic horizon - yup
Twin SD-card slots - rike this <3 put 2 16gb card in never need to carry additional card with me while being afraid of losing them at the same time will have enough capacity for 5500 JPEG pics and some raw

Conclusion - Cons
Tendency to overexpose in bright sunshine/high contrast situations - True
ISO button is poorly positioned, and cannot be assigned to any other control point - very very true (tip - can assign iso sensitivity button at the front "fn" button. Will work like a canon when u press it then adjust with thumb dial.
Ditto white balance: poorly positioned, cannot be re-assigned - think this is alright for me
Exposure mode dial slightly loose, and easily knocked - really?
Shooting mode dial can be awkward to manipulate - Not really...
AF can be hesitant in poor light - never had that issue but shooting whiite wall yes
Auto ISO function is confusing and poorly implemented (but no worse than any other Nikon DSLR)
Aperture not adjustable in manual mode in live view (and won't stop up/down in any mode until exposure).
No live histogram or exposure indicator in live view/movie shooting.

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Nov 8 2011, 03:03 PM

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0639sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:15 AM