5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.3, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

allycat
post Aug 2 2012, 09:13 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(vincentboleh @ Aug 1 2012, 05:02 PM)
[attachmentid=2977762]

Correction: All 5 years warranty by Panasonic.
3 days ago, Panasonic quoted me Rm 880 for +3 years warranty. If sign within 30 day of purchase, it includes lightning strike risk. Also entended warranty must be purchase within 365 days of purchase.

How can I get this special price?

This post has been edited by allycat: Aug 2 2012, 09:45 AM
allycat
post Aug 2 2012, 10:29 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(mat_min @ Aug 2 2012, 10:26 AM)
i just realized that HN never stamp my warranty card when i buy the tv..... is it ok or do i need the HN stamp to make my warranty valid?????
It's ok, just do the e-warranty at Panasonic's website. Then print it and keep it with the card and receipt.
allycat
post Aug 2 2012, 02:38 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(mat_min @ Aug 2 2012, 11:47 AM)
oooo, tq2.... want to ask more thing... i'm using active 3d glass and started to feel dizzy after 30 min... is it normal????? got tips or not to remove the dizziness... hehehhe
It's normal for some people, just like when going for 3D in cinema.

For me, it's not so much of dizziness but tearing up.

Is it because of some flicker? If so, maybe you can try to adjust the frequency of the TV's 3D settings.

Or two panadol tongue.gif
allycat
post Aug 4 2012, 11:50 AM

330 posts

Latest update on my 65ST problem.

Pana guy came last nite at 2230 hrs to change the video board. After change, there were tremendous improvement in the colours, contrast and sharpness. These can be seen in BD and Byond, but the most diff was seen in Byond. Byond is now sharp with very less distortions.

Also, 3D was very much improved. Before, the effects were not poping out, after the change, they were popping out just like in the cinema.

Even the Pana guy was surprised and commented that there was a min of 20% improvement after the change. So we agreed that my eyes were not wrong and my expectations were not excessive.

Much tks to him for solving my problem. rclxm9.gif

I'll also like to thank Bro Steadypana for spend nearly 4 hrs patiently in guiding me and helping with the smart features of the Smart Viera. He also helped me to update the firmware and it helps with improving the PQ. He is a very up-to-date guy with all sorts of techie stuff.

Tks Bro Steadypana.notworthy.gif

And yes, I'll be getting a 3D player soon. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by allycat: Aug 4 2012, 11:53 AM
allycat
post Aug 5 2012, 04:14 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 5 2012, 01:49 AM)
Hey bro, what was the reason pana guy chance the board for u? Im not quite satified with my 3d as well, and some distortion on screen when playing hd mkv file, altho it only visible when u look up close like arnd 3ft, Haven try any bluray or dvd yet as i dont have either.

And i encounter restart twice now with in this week.
You can't judge a TV's PQ by downladed content as it may not be of good quality originally. Test it with a BD, preferable ori, or Byond. For my set, the PQ was bad when tested with both sources. Just like Steadpana advised, update your firmware to see if it helps or not.

Added on August 5, 2012, 4:29 pmNow facing a 2nd problem. cry.gif
Motion handling is not smooth when viewing Byond or BD. The motion seems to be jerky or slow at times. And frequently, the motion is something like what you encounter with a LCD tv. I believe it should not be seen in a Plasma, and what's more with current models.

I tested with Dark Knight BD. In the opening scene, when the camera pans in, the window frames of the white building that is shown from the bottom right corner, were shaky and breaking up. It has never happen with my previous tv.

I've tried many combos of settings with IFC/24p etc and I'm still unble to solve this motion problem.

Has anyone encounter my problem? rclxub.gif

I've also reported this problem to the previous service guy and he'll be escalating it to his manager. He'll be calling me tomorrow to update me.

As a suggestion, for those of you who is planning to purchase this model, I'll suggest you bring along the Dark Knight BD for testing. If they have Byond, you can test it with your fav Byond channels.

BTW, I've checked with some Sifus and they tell me that the 65ST50K have good motion handling. So either I'm rather unlucky to receive buggy set or there are limitations to this model.

This post has been edited by allycat: Aug 5 2012, 04:31 PM
allycat
post Aug 5 2012, 04:59 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Aug 5 2012, 04:36 PM)
Get Panasonic to swap a new set for you or upgrade to 65VT50 with a "good negotiated" pricing.  brows.gif  brows.gif
If they give me a good offer, I can consider it. But that means I've to put off my Oppo cry.gif

Anyway, let's see what Pana comes up with tomorrow.
allycat
post Aug 5 2012, 08:00 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 5 2012, 05:53 PM)
Might be something to do with the video board that they changed?
Hard to say. I also noticed these problems with the earlier board. But I thought it was caused by wahtever was causing the earlier defintion problems. The new board solved the defintion problems. In fact, the Dark Knight problem was seen and discussed with the Pana guy right after he changed the board. He said it was the 24p settings.

As it was already near to 12mn, and the huge improvement in Byond, we called it a night. I only did further tests the next day. But after more testing the following day, I notice that these 2nd set of problems did not go away.

Tks

allycat
post Aug 6 2012, 11:26 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Aug 5 2012, 08:20 PM)
While watching the Olympic badminton final now......Dato' Lee....but I still can suggest something in multitasking mode  brows.gif  brows.gif

Try whether will produce the same problem in the same model with the same BD which Pana guy should be able to arrange it, if the escalation failed, just try to talk to the Technical Manager.  brows.gif

Then...try to swap your expensive BD Player with a cheaper BD Player (via Pana guy again).

The outcome may give you guys some clues on which part goes wrong.  rolleyes.gif
Tks for the suggestion. I'll try it out with the Pana guy.

Multi-tasking with Smart Viera ke.......I'm not so up-to-date lah blush.gif
No wonder DLCW lost.....you didn't give him full attention tongue.gif
allycat
post Aug 10 2012, 09:06 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 9 2012, 11:53 PM)
Actually when this problem happened, there is nobody in TV room and I just feel strange why suddenly become so quiet.  tongue.gif  So, I also not sure what happened.
"They're here." - Carol Anne
allycat
post Aug 11 2012, 09:59 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(nicholas1007 @ Aug 10 2012, 03:51 PM)
how do we know our Panasonic plasma tv got problem through looking @ the movie plays.
First I'm not an expert, and believe that you mean the PQ of the PTV.

Here I can only share some of my recent frustrating experiences when watching Byond and ori BDs on my current ST50. And also comparing with my previous V20.

I didn't get the smooth motion handling. When the character moves, there were skipping or jerkiness or slow-mo. It happemed with the moving characters in both foreground and background. And then the foreground may be okay but the background characters were moving jerkily or slow-mo. This was very evident when I was watching dance shows.

Also, I saw that the end credits were not rolling smoothly

There was dithering when the characters faces turn. This was solved after Pana changed the video board.

I'm still not that happy with the sharpness of the characters faces but I think this is the limitation of the ST50 and not a problem.

I hope you don't see my set's defects in yours. If you, then it's time to call Pana.

For really expert tips, I think real experts or longer users of PTV will be able to tell more of what to look out for.

Added on August 11, 2012, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Aug 10 2012, 06:57 PM)
May be Bro allycat can give you some tips...especially by looking @ the movie plays.  blush.gif
No lah bro, not expert enough to give tips. Only can voice my frustrations with my set. blush.gif

This post has been edited by allycat: Aug 11 2012, 10:14 PM
allycat
post Aug 11 2012, 10:48 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(nicholas1007 @ Aug 11 2012, 10:44 PM)
My current PTV also V20. how long u been using? will try to check wat u have explain.
My new ST50 is only abt 1 mth old.

My previous V20 is 2 years old. You should not see my problems with the V20. I was mostly very happy with it. In all, it performed much better than the ST50 except maybe in the colour area.

This post has been edited by allycat: Aug 11 2012, 10:57 PM
allycat
post Aug 12 2012, 04:13 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(ameenskywalker @ Aug 11 2012, 11:24 PM)
My current tv is V20 as well, and the real experience you had comparing ST50 and V20 make me think that i should save a little bit more and get GT50 instead.
I would have gone for the GT50 if they ahve the 65-inch size. The 65VT is too exhorbitant for my pocket.

I'm sure Bro SteadyPana will not agree on this point tongue.gif

Added on August 12, 2012, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 12 2012, 09:05 AM)
allycat,

The ST50 out of box is +green in the greyscale and will not be as accurate as ur calibrated V20. I cannot explain why u r seeing motion issues on ur ST50, only after I look at it I can give some insight into it.

The V20 refreshes at 48Hz for a 24p signal, I am unsure what our ST50s refresh at, will confirm when I spend more time on it. However, dynamic false contouring will reduce when u get ur greyscale correct which will need to be done on the ST50 before we can compare.

I calibrated a VT20 yesterday and the black levels had already degraded to 0.007ft/L compared to what the ST50 can achieve (0.004ft/L). The V20/VT20 had better black levels than the VT30 series (and the VT30 had a capped white levels as well - the V20/VT20 does not have that). One thing is that the differences might be between ur older 50in vs the new 65in. The larger sets have a more aggressive ABL that could be something that needs to be managed.

Anyway, once I get the chance to spend more time with a local ST50 I will comment.

On the V20/VT20/VT30, things improved quite a bit after calibration but dynamic false contouring was still an issue. I believe it is much tamed on the sT50 but since u see it, it can only mean that the calibration is off.
Tks, Anfieldude, for your insightful comments.

I was really hoping you will be down here on Raya so that you can have look at my set. An expert's eyes and comments are really needed as it may be case of my preference vs reference.

I'll try to settle as much with Pana, and hopefully by then I'll have my Oppo and be ready for you to calibrate.

Added on August 12, 2012, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 12 2012, 12:23 PM)
Hi. Since you have both the V20 and the ST50, care to tell me is the ST50 as good or better than the V20 in picture quality and very importantly to me, the effectiveness of their respective Anti-Reflective Coating?
IMHO, the V20's PQ is sharper and more well-defined than the ST50. Motion is very much better in the V20. That is why I have so much complains when watching Byond and BDs on my ST50. You can really see the skipping and jerkiness. In fact you can see the skipping problems at the roadshow demos of the K-pop video.

As for ARC, I can see that SST50 loses to the V20. But this last point is very subjective as viewing conditions/enviro are different for each person.

But like I said, the colour of the ST50 is much better. The boldness and depth of the ST50's colour is so good that you can feel the solidness of the picture. Sorry for using layman's terms and lack of techie's terms, but that's the only way I can express it.

This post has been edited by allycat: Aug 12 2012, 04:34 PM
allycat
post Aug 15 2012, 11:00 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(redfly @ Aug 15 2012, 10:36 AM)
Incidentally, can I just ask whether you guys did the plasma break-in procedure before you kena the image retention problem?

http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/hdt...ma-display.html

I'm contemplating getting the 65 inch ST50 (upgrading from my VT20), was just wondering if the ST panel is still giving the image retention issue if you guys had done the break-in.

Thanks....
I did the break in and so far there's no IR.

Changing from VT20 to ST50? Better stick to the V series.
allycat
post Aug 16 2012, 10:48 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(CHSE @ Aug 15 2012, 06:28 PM)
Did'nt do the break in before hand (I am still an HDTV amateur...), maybe that's the reason of the IR.  Mind sharing the way to get the break in done? Thanks a lot
Download the slides from

http://www.highdefjunkies.com/showthread.php?t=12986

and follow the instructuons there.

But I believe if you have used your TV for more than 100 hrs, then it's too late to break it in. However you can still the slides as a screen washer.

This post has been edited by allycat: Aug 16 2012, 10:49 AM
allycat
post Aug 17 2012, 09:53 AM

330 posts

An update on my 65ST50K problem.

Pana senior engineer came to check my reported issues. As expected, he saw the motion and PQ issues on my set.

Then he did some adjustments on the IFC, 24p settings. He also brought along a Pana BDP to test. We also tested Batman DK and LOTR ROTK on both my Pioneer BDP and Pana's BDP with 1080p 60 Hz setting.

While all these fiddling moderately improved the motion, it increases dithering and countoring problesms.

He confirmed that the set's HW is okay. So now it boils down to design and performance issue. I informed him that a user should not be doing so much fiddling just to watch a HD content.

After 3 hours, we can see that the performance is not up to par with Pana's last genearation of PTVs. This of course prompted me to comment that HD is not a new technolgy and, except for very eagle-eye and fussy users, current PTV sets should handle most HD contents easily.

He'll escalate this issue to his management for further resolution.

So, if you are an AV enthusiast, and also watch a lot of Byond, pls test very deeply.

allycat
post Aug 17 2012, 10:40 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 17 2012, 10:14 AM)
Will hv the chance to test one in depth next week (50in) and will report back on the issues u brought up.
Great. Looking forward to your evaluation.
allycat
post Aug 21 2012, 01:27 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 21 2012, 10:37 AM)
Sorry for the delay folks. ANSI contrast on 5X5 checkerboard (on a 50ST50) was 0.004ft/L (black) and 30ft/L (white). APL is definately better than a VT20 I believe. So it will look brighter compared to the same stuff on a calibrated VT20.

I did not see any issues with motion breakup during the 1st scene on Dark Knight especially on the buildings (post calibration). I did see some issues on the later scene where they jump out of the windows (but it was pretty minor and I would need to compare how they are on the Kuro before commenting further). The IMAX scenes do seem to give problems and I believe its the way is encoded. I did not have Lord of the Rings to confirm.

I did not see any excessive posterization on byond especially on the fast moving sports channels or the Olympic channels. Not sure why allycat is seeing what he is seeing. The motion was pretty good with no issues.

However, I did not spend enuf time to confirm as the set was fairly new. TrueCinema greyscale was very red. I had to bring down RedGain a lot to bring it in. I suspect this will bed in as the set puts more hours on it.

Near black was red tinted slightly and I will need to revisit this as I think this will improve after 50hrs or so.

Colour accuracy was the best I hv ever seen (ever) across all saturations.

There is definately more dither compared to the V20/VT20 series. But this also helps in reducing the 50Hz issues that plague those sets.

More in probably 3 weeks on the same set.
Thanks. Now I have an expert opinion on what to expect from the ST50. I have to explore more with Pana on why it's happening on my set as he also saw it in Byond.
allycat
post Aug 22 2012, 10:16 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Aug 21 2012, 02:12 PM)
Hi Bro allycat,

Suggest you have to spend some time to seriously look for the PQ on 55GT and 65VT while waiting for Panas@nic outcome.

Hardly can't wait right ? brows.gif
No mullah lah for the 65VT, Bro. And 55 inch got no WOW factor for 3D.

No choice but have to wait and see blush.gif

This post has been edited by allycat: Aug 22 2012, 10:17 AM
allycat
post Aug 24 2012, 08:51 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Aug 24 2012, 07:27 PM)
Hardware (Video Card) changing snap-shot at Bro allycat's 65ST50 set.....perhaps he can share with us more detailed findings on the built quality + first impression etc.....  nod.gif

[attachmentid=3014906]

Sorry for the late posting  sweat.gif  tongue.gif
Tks, Bro, and better late than never.

First off, except for the Malaysian timing, I was very impressed with the professionalism of Pana's tech guys. They brought all the tools, parts and necessary manpower to carry out the surgery on my ST50. They even brought cushion foams for the panel side to rest on the table. Some other tech guys may have just asked me to get some newspapers for the cushioning. The surgery was caried out so fast and neatly that you wouldn't know that it has been opened up at all. They even obliged in mounting the set back to my prefered position and angle. notworthy.gif

As to the ST50, it was very pleasant to find a very clean PCB assembly layout. They are even laid out in such a way that the wall mounting screws do not come anywhere near the electronics. Everything was solidly build and hooked up with no cabling mess. There were no rickety plastic parts or connections that are liable to come loose and mess up the set. thumbup.gif

As you can see in the photo, there are only about 4 PCBs. This is for home TV sets. For the professional or commercial sets, the number of PCBs may be twice that number ie. 8, to perform the same functions. I believe this is to obtained better stability and lessen electroinic interference. Pls correct me if I'm mistaken about this.

I think that's all I can remember from this near midnight open heart surgery. blink.gif
allycat
post Aug 27 2012, 11:31 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(ameenskywalker @ Aug 26 2012, 11:50 PM)
Besides VT, Is there 55 inch for this year set say GT or ST ? So far i only saw 50 and 65.
I thought I saw 55Gt in the Raya promotion brochure. You can call Pana to check.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1690sec    1.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:15 PM