Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V8, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

evolution120
post Dec 9 2012, 01:20 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Dec 9 2012, 01:00 PM)
If the game has an online code and the first user uses it then the buyer has to buy the code from psn. if the game doesn't have an online code then no issues for the buyer, buy and play
is there any way that the revoke the code and pass it 2 me so that i can use?

for new sealed unit, the game comes with the code right?
tekplyrX
post Dec 9 2012, 01:22 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Dec 9 2012, 01:20 PM)
is there any way that the revoke the code and pass it 2 me so that i can use?

for new sealed unit, the game comes with the code right?
No there isn't a way to revoke it, that would defeat the whole purpose of it from the sales point of view and yes all games that have an online code have them in the new copies.
evolution120
post Dec 9 2012, 01:26 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Dec 9 2012, 01:22 PM)
No there isn't a way to revoke it, that would defeat the whole purpose of it from the sales point of view and yes all games that have an online code have them in the new copies.
oh, thanks for the clarification notworthy.gif

usually how much does a PSN code cost?
tekplyrX
post Dec 9 2012, 06:34 PM

141 posts

Guys.... just found out the hard way that changing your ps3's gpu will force the ps3 to format your current hard disk, so if anyone encounters ylod issue pls backup your game saves before doing anything. i dunno how sony thought gpu has anything to do with piracy that the ps3 has to format the hdd after replacing gpu but lesson learned. i'm definitely not gonna buy sony consoles anymore.. cheers guys

EDIT: don't even bother backing up the data guys, according to this http://www.megabearsfan.net/post/2012/07/0...Story-Rant.aspx even backing up your data doesn't help as the data won't be recognised by the ps3 (as far as the ps3's concerned, its a "new"/"different" machine just by changing the gpu). Which means sony intended to make people fork out money to buy a new console anytime there's a problem.

This post has been edited by tekplyrX: Dec 9 2012, 06:40 PM
keith.hmc
post Dec 10 2012, 06:26 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Dec 9 2012, 06:34 PM)
Guys.... just found out the hard way that changing your ps3's gpu will force the ps3 to format your current hard disk, so if anyone encounters ylod issue pls backup your game saves before doing anything. i dunno how sony thought gpu has anything to do with piracy that the ps3 has to format the hdd after replacing gpu but lesson learned. i'm definitely not gonna buy sony consoles anymore.. cheers guys

EDIT: don't even bother backing up the data guys, according to this http://www.megabearsfan.net/post/2012/07/0...Story-Rant.aspx even backing up your data doesn't help as the data won't be recognised by the ps3 (as far as the ps3's concerned, its a "new"/"different" machine just by changing the gpu). Which means sony intended to make people fork out money to buy a new console anytime there's a problem.
There's a trick to this actually. You back it up into your usb then you copy into your PS3 then delete the files in your usb from your PS3 system then you copy the files back into the usb and then copy balik into the PS3 overwriting the existing files. That's what I did when I added in jerseys and emblems from my usb to the PS3 for PES2013. The tutorial I saw mentioned your problem so that was their solution and it worked for me. Not sure if it applies to other save game datas but anyone else ever facing this problem can try it out la. But you must activate your PS3 again first and then log in to your account before doing all this copying.

A tad bit troublesome but if it can rescue your save datas then why not.

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(evolution120 @ Dec 9 2012, 01:26 PM)
oh, thanks for the clarification  notworthy.gif

usually how much does a PSN code cost?
It varies depending on the game and its publishers but on average a new code from PSN ranges from RM30 to RM50 per code.

This post has been edited by keith.hmc: Dec 10 2012, 06:27 PM
tekplyrX
post Dec 10 2012, 09:09 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(keith.hmc @ Dec 10 2012, 06:26 PM)
There's a trick to this actually. You back it up into your usb then you copy into your PS3 then delete the files in your usb from your PS3 system then you copy the files back into the usb and then copy balik into the PS3 overwriting the existing files. That's what I did when I added in jerseys and emblems from my usb to the PS3 for PES2013. The tutorial I saw mentioned your problem so that was their solution and it worked for me. Not sure if it applies to other save game datas but anyone else ever facing this problem can try it out la. But you must activate your PS3 again first and then log in to your account before doing all this copying.

A tad bit troublesome but if it can rescue your save datas then why not.

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:27 pm

It varies depending on the game and its publishers but on average a new code from PSN ranges from RM30 to RM50 per code.
the whole point is that i cant even copy anything from my harddisk to the usb now since all my ps3 wants to do is to format it. and i dont have a ps+ account.. anyways i'm done with sony
Helz
post Dec 12 2012, 09:58 AM

26 posts

hi, recently i update my ps3 firmware to 4.31 sweat.gif after that my ps3 always freeze when i play games, any solutions to fix this problem? sad.gif icon_question.gif
Lord Red
post Dec 12 2012, 10:34 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Dec 10 2012, 09:09 PM)
the whole point is that i cant even copy anything from my harddisk to the usb now since all my ps3 wants to do is to format it. and i dont have a ps+ account.. anyways i'm done with sony
If you're done wanna sell your set? Looking for one if the price is right.
GamersFamilia
post Dec 12 2012, 11:35 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,756 posts

QUOTE(Helz @ Dec 12 2012, 09:58 AM)
hi, recently i update my ps3 firmware to 4.31 sweat.gif after that my ps3 always freeze when i play games, any solutions to fix this problem? sad.gif  icon_question.gif
did you try other games ? all of them freeze ?

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Dec 12 2012, 11:36 AM
Helz
post Dec 12 2012, 11:49 AM

26 posts

^
yup..before update no problem can play for hours..after update sometimes play only for 10-20minutes then freeze doh.gif
list of games that freeze especially when loading:
-WOTS3/4
-FNC
-WWE13

This post has been edited by Helz: Dec 12 2012, 11:49 AM
BobThe Builder
post Dec 12 2012, 01:44 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Helz @ Dec 12 2012, 09:58 AM)
hi, recently i update my ps3 firmware to 4.31 sweat.gif after that my ps3 always freeze when i play games, any solutions to fix this problem? sad.gif  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(Helz @ Dec 12 2012, 11:49 AM)
^
yup..before update no problem can play for hours..after update sometimes play only for 10-20minutes then freeze  doh.gif
list of games that freeze especially  when loading:
-WOTS3/4
-FNC
-WWE13
I had problems playing/loading games too. I'm on 4.31 also. But in my case I think the lens got dirty. Cleaned it, changed HDD to 500GB for good measure, and problem solved. smile.gif

Now playing MOH:Warfighter, Hitman Absolution, GT5 & White Knight Chronicles II. All running smoothly now.

faridsuarez
post Dec 12 2012, 11:53 PM

143 posts

hi all..just bought my ps3 yesterday...any suggestion MUST Play ps3 game?
currently only have fifa13 game..

and me cannot play online coz no internet connection..

huhuh plz suggest me the best game to play "alone"..dun care if strategy game...rpg game..fps game as long it intersting..tq

This post has been edited by faridsuarez: Dec 12 2012, 11:54 PM
terryfu
post Dec 13 2012, 09:48 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(faridsuarez @ Dec 12 2012, 11:53 PM)

huhuh plz suggest me the best game to play "alone"..dun care if strategy game...rpg game..fps game as long it intersting..tq
God of War 1, 2 & 3 plus Chains of Olympus & Ghost of Sparta
Uncharted 1, 2 & 3
Infamous 1 & 2
Final Fantasy XIII & XIII-2
Assassin's Creed 2, Brotherhood, Revelations & 3
Sleeping Dogs smile.gif
faridsuarez
post Dec 13 2012, 10:38 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Dec 13 2012, 09:48 AM)
God of War 1, 2 & 3 plus Chains of Olympus & Ghost of Sparta
Uncharted 1, 2 & 3
Infamous 1 & 2
Final Fantasy XIII & XIII-2
Assassin's Creed 2, Brotherhood, Revelations & 3
Sleeping Dogs smile.gif
thanks a lot mate..really appreciate..that game mentioned above still enjoyable although not playing online? tq
keith.hmc
post Dec 13 2012, 10:53 AM

116 posts

Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution, Crysis 2, Syndicate and Resident Evil 6. Just some off the top of my mind.
faridsuarez
post Dec 13 2012, 01:54 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(keith.hmc @ Dec 13 2012, 10:53 AM)
Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution, Crysis 2, Syndicate and Resident Evil 6. Just some off the top of my mind.
wow..so many hit game for ps3...thanks for give me an idea..but will start with gow3 and uncharted drake's fortune first...first thing first, looking to buy both game mentioned ..
terryfu
post Dec 13 2012, 03:03 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(faridsuarez @ Dec 13 2012, 10:38 AM)
thanks a lot mate..really appreciate..that game mentioned above still enjoyable although not playing online? tq
Yes all are dedicated single player games and will take some time to complete (unlike other games where single player is blatantly short).
BobThe Builder
post Dec 13 2012, 03:08 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(faridsuarez @ Dec 13 2012, 10:38 AM)
If you like rpg games, try White Knight Chronicles 2.
The disc comes with Chronicles 1 as well, so plenty of game time there.

If you like FF12 (PS2), then you'll probably like this one coz the gameplay is quite similar.

keith.hmc
post Dec 13 2012, 03:08 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(faridsuarez @ Dec 13 2012, 01:54 PM)
wow..so many hit game for ps3...thanks for give me an idea..but will start with gow3 and uncharted drake's fortune first...first thing first, looking to buy both game mentioned ..
No worries. Enjoy GOW and Uncharted. Really good game franchises. Till today I still love Uncharted.
tripoint
post Dec 13 2012, 08:00 PM

17 posts

if u like rpg,u can try tales of graces f also
1 of the best jrpg game (to my opinion)

or maybe ni no kuni(eng ver) once its released

125 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0291sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:20 AM