Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V8, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
tekplyrX
Jan 29 2012, 08:29 PM

Guys, One question can i use different username and password to sign into psn store using one 1 acct? example my psn account is tekplyrx, and i normally sign in using user123@mail.com, can i sign in using another username and password still under tekplyrx?
tekplyrX
Jan 29 2012, 09:25 PM

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Jan 29 2012, 08:45 PM) nope.u need to create new user. Damn... Thanks for the info.
tekplyrX
Feb 1 2012, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jan 31 2012, 10:39 PM) mine is the power button...  mine too... sometimes i have to use the controller to switch it off.
tekplyrX
Feb 6 2012, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(hewtwok @ Feb 6 2012, 06:50 PM) my USB detected allrite since i can see my previous gt5 save backup in it  but i cant backup to USB anymore  try a few USB drive still same, only option is "copy" with a psn+ logo (ie online backup)  maybe sony try to milk $$$ from me by forcing me sign up psn+  try going offline (dont sign in to psn) and saving maybe that'll work This post has been edited by tekplyrX: Feb 6 2012, 11:03 PM
tekplyrX
Feb 21 2012, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(Vickyle @ Feb 21 2012, 10:59 AM) So, does that mean we can create R1, R2, R3 and R4 account and download accordingly? Or is it that we are only able to create R3 account since we are from Asia? You can create accounts for any and all regions.. just make sure that the dlc region matches the game's region and you're good to go.
tekplyrX
Feb 22 2012, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(mnsnazri @ Feb 22 2012, 09:27 AM) Unit 13 Demo..can download from UK psn store can play on ps3? Thought it was only for vita?
tekplyrX
Feb 23 2012, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(Subconcious @ Feb 23 2012, 12:32 PM) i think out of 298G, my available space for my HDD now left 160+G? that is like around 130G i have used. Maybe 2 hours time? Quick question.. I want to backup my ps3 hdd.. Will my downloaded games from psn (even the ones i got/bought from other guys on different profiles) be backed up as well?
tekplyrX
Feb 23 2012, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(Subconcious @ Feb 23 2012, 01:11 PM) i think all profiles and games will be backup Sure? Please can anyone give me a definite yes or no? QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Feb 23 2012, 02:18 PM) for audio output is no no thru usb (unless its sony wireless 7.1 ones) True, my USB headset+mic only gives me mic (audio input) functionality, ps3 output still comes out from TV This post has been edited by tekplyrX: Feb 23 2012, 03:26 PM
tekplyrX
Feb 23 2012, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(nwk @ Feb 23 2012, 03:39 PM) psn games will only be saved on your psn download list if you bought those games yourself. those cheapskates who like to share games will not have the psn games on their profiles and will have to beg the owner of those shared games to let them download it again. Thanks for the info and no need to call people names here.. Sony provided the feature and not everyone has the money to be spending recklessly on every game released.
tekplyrX
Mar 15 2012, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(ekudz @ Mar 15 2012, 05:11 PM) guys, im new here and just bought PS3 MY Set .. currently just played WE12 and SF4 ... got a question for online playing .. sorry if this question already answered because i check at 1st page and cant find the answer. How to know whether we can play online with others or not before purchasing the games? Exp: WE12 can play online no problem even if we buy 2nd hand WE12 but if FIFA 12 cant is it? We need to use code to play online. So how to know? im planning to buy 2nd hand WWE12, FFXIII-2, FIFA12 and SFXTEKKEN but 2nd hand .. (no money to buy new  ) Maybe someone can guide me how? Sorry for the inconvenience. You'll have to check the game's casing (the body/ manual / other pages in the casing) for an "ONLINE PASS CODE" or better yet ask the person you're buying the game from if they have redeemed the online pass. If the game doesn't support it, they'll just tell you it doesn't, if they have and they are honest, they'll tell you that they have redeemed it.
tekplyrX
Apr 15 2012, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(Jasie @ Apr 15 2012, 05:06 AM) Was just wondering, can we DMZ two different IP on the UNIFI default router? Cause me and my brother both have PS3. I did port forwarding but somehow, I can't port forward the 443 port. I get the error "Port in used" or something like that. I already placed both PS3 on static IP and already DMZ-ed my brother static IP and it seems fine but I still get frequent disconnection from PSN. Help please?  Sorry to ask but why are you trying to port forward/DMZ? Why not just connect both ps3s normally to the router?
tekplyrX
Apr 28 2012, 09:15 PM

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Apr 28 2012, 08:53 PM) Sometimes Im having a hard time to login to PSN account.Anyone having this problem? Additional question.If I buy Playstation Plus using my US account and download the free game and DLC there,can I use it on my MY account(both game and DLC)? Question 1: maybe its a psn network problem. Can you browse the internet on the ps3 using the browser? if you can then its a psn issue, if you can't then it may be your internet connection. Question 2: So far the game was downloaded/installed on the ps3 it doesn't matter which account you use to login on the ps3, you can still enjoy the game.
tekplyrX
May 16 2012, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(tanseehua @ May 16 2012, 11:43 AM) To all PS3 Sifu here, My friend PS3 (GT5 blue 160) about 1 year old. Is experience a problem now. His DS3 cant be sync with the PS3 after detect the cable, and the WiFi cannot found network anymore (Lan port still can online). Is that the BT and wifi is together 1??? issit the BT and wifi module spoil??? Can the ps3 see other wifi networks? Did your friend change the ps3 wifi settings? has he tried another ds3 controller and it didn't connect? has he tried connecting the ds3 controller to another ps3? He should make sure he does all possible tests before taking it to some repair shop and spending unnecessary money
tekplyrX
May 16 2012, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(tanseehua @ May 16 2012, 04:19 PM) yes, already test search for all network, stop at "searching" all the way. and the controller can be sync on my PS3, my controller use on his set, with cable okay, after unplugged the cable also cant detect, keep on flashing 4 light......... Damn.. it most probably is a hardware issue then. Like Nawar mentioned if still under warranty just send to sony sg, otherwise search for repairers. Hard luck for your friend.
tekplyrX
Jun 13 2012, 07:50 PM

Guys i I know for games/dlc if i delete the psn account used to purchase/them then the games/dlc become non-functional but what about demos? (i want to download a demo from the jp psn store and then delete the jp account)
tekplyrX
Jun 13 2012, 09:39 PM

i just created a jpn psn account, downloaded anarchy reigns demo, deleted the account BEFORE installing the demo.. i signed back into my MY account, installed the demo and it works.. i guess deleting a psn account doesn't affect demos
tekplyrX
Jun 18 2012, 07:19 PM

QUOTE(parachutas @ Jun 18 2012, 06:50 PM) just bought a ps3 from sony ^^ what is all about the game redeem code? where is the code? if buy directly from psn how? redemption codes apply to only games themselves not to the ps3 itself.. When u buy some games that have redemption codes you'll see the codes on the paper that comes with the games.. not all games need redemption codes.. if you buy a second hand game that the code has been used (redeemed) already then you need to buy the redemption code from psn. Most of the time redemption codes are needed only to access multiplayer so if you are not a multiplayer kind of gamer u wont need to be redeeming codes.
tekplyrX
Jun 22 2012, 12:13 PM

Hello all, I upgraded my ps3's 40gb to 320gb years ago. now it's getting filled up and i want to upgrade again (maybe to 500/750gb). my question is this, is there a way of "cloning" my existing 320gb onto the new larger disk and still get the ps3 to see the new hard disk's size? Because if i'm not mistaken if i clone the 320gb to a 500gb the ps3 will still see the 500gb hard disk as 320gb so the extra 200gb will be wasted.
tekplyrX
Jun 22 2012, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Jun 22 2012, 01:01 PM) why not just do normal procedure of hdd upgrading? as for cloning, yeah it would waste the exta hdd space the game will still be in the hdd, yet unplayable due to previous owner account deleted which one u prefer? i bought many games using game sharing and i'm quite sure the owners of those accounts have changed their passwords or even forgotten them. if i had them i wouldn't mind re-downloading them all over again. So no tools to expand existing ps3 hdd i guess.. oh well
tekplyrX
Aug 8 2012, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(blue_decamax @ Aug 8 2012, 11:01 AM) guys, got question. my ps3 is us set. my psn is msia account. the game is r2 disc. if wanna buy dlc, is it according to the disc, or the psn account? if according to disc region (r2), does that mean i cant download dlc? It depends on the game, some games have "universal" dlc so it won't matter which region the original game is, others make their dlcs region specific so you'll have to look out for that (usually at the download screen of the dlc some games would mention whether or not the dlc is region specific)