Wow V8 already! Keep it up!
Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V8, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
Sep 15 2011, 01:47 PM
514 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Wow V8 already! Keep it up!
Nov 9 2011, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(mohd_ikh1 @ Nov 9 2011, 03:52 PM) Hi again guys..newbie here wants to know more about ps3.. Suggest you read the 1st page. TS has done a good job in providing a PS3 Faq. Everything you need to know is there. |
Nov 29 2011, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(SilverCrimz @ Nov 29 2011, 05:39 PM) That is ok. It is backward compatible.Added on November 29, 2011, 7:04 pm QUOTE(SilverCrimz @ Nov 29 2011, 05:39 PM) That is ok. It is backward compatible.This post has been edited by terryfu: Nov 29 2011, 07:04 PM |
Nov 30 2011, 09:27 PM
Just want to ask, how we get the PS3 update files for Asia so fast when Asian Playstation sites still dont have it? (i check HK and Msia and they;re still on 3.73).
Added on November 30, 2011, 9:37 pmHey, even the US site doesn't have it yet. Anyone downloaded it already and installed it? This post has been edited by terryfu: Nov 30 2011, 09:37 PM |
Nov 30 2011, 11:38 PM
Just updated as well. Direct via PS3 though kudos to Ninja for giving us that site since the official sites didnt show it up yet.
Dec 6 2011, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(abc0716 @ Dec 6 2011, 07:28 AM) A little question about the trophy system. Trophy information is saved in the hard drive on ur ps3 tied to the ID which u are using. Once achieved it will save first then later when u go online it will sync with sony servers.If we're offline (without signing into PSN) during gaming session, and we 'triggered' some achievements (trophies) on the game. (example like 'killed 1000 enemies' or 'beaten the hardest level' or anything else, depand on the game's trophy list) Does the system automatically gives us the trophy when we online again, or we have to redo the 'stunts' again? U don't have to redo any stunts again. |
Dec 7 2011, 06:14 PM
Dec 8 2011, 03:54 PM
Dec 9 2011, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 8 2011, 10:52 PM) its crinch time, if given 2 set of ps3 the 2506(btol ke tdk not sure) amnd the new 3xxx series wch one will you buy??or its not that much of diff and depends on how you use/care for it? the 3006 model has smaller heatsink and no hard drive or wifi light indicators.Hence I prefer the earlier model. One thing I thought why sony put in a smaller heatsink is because modded ps3s that play of hard disk will generate heat much faster. with a smaller heatsink means chances are modded ps3s will also be either ylod faster or overheat more and cause internal damage. some more no indicator lights to show whether hard disk running or hnot. Thats just my theory anyway but its good as I hate the availability of this pirated stuff. |
Dec 20 2011, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(kento @ Dec 20 2011, 12:30 PM) im buying new PS3 console, actually whats the use of big hard disk space on PS3 system aaa? i dont see any use other than store some game install n store gamesaves lol... Depends on how many game you want to install, play and keep. I very kiasu, everything also I download (eg free trailers, themes, wallpaper, games, etc.) and I have couple of PS3 / PSN games. If you intend to download bear in mind each Blu Ray PS3 game is about 5 GB while PSN games range around 200 MB to 1 GB. If you're like me, buy, play later (sometimes much much later) and keep it on hard drive then maybe best you get 320 GB. I using 500 GB and already I used up 300 GB (or thereabouts).coz im not movie freak who store movies, mp3, or download psn games...i just like to play normal ps3 games oli... u think 160gb is enuff for person like me or better get 320 or whaat... arigato! |
Dec 21 2011, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 21 2011, 04:20 PM) oo but i presume these latest games in the past year or so should be all 1080p right??since the tech is already easily available compared to a few years back. If not mistaken there is are hardly (if any at all) games that support full 1080p. The difference is so minor that I don't think the developers want to add extra load in the system just to run games at 1080p. hmm even some new games doesnt support 1080 it seems.but out of curiosity how do we know wch games supports and wch doesnt besides going to the shop and seeing the back of the bd case?? QUOTE(PS3.Gamer @ Dec 21 2011, 06:21 PM) How much is a PS3 system now? I have a first-gen PS3 (as in, first release) and it's giving me so much problems... Current problem is that it works sometimes, and at other times when I try to on, it just beeps 3 times and switches off... occasionally i get a YLOD as well... Thinking of just getting a new PS3 instead of fixing the current one... Now around RM 900-1,000. Just go to the LYN Trade Zone Games. Plenty of sellers there. And yes its time for you to change to a new PS3 |
Dec 30 2011, 03:12 PM
I've been playing DVDs (watching several TV series seasons), Blu-Ray shows (Spartacus series - very good!!!), as well as playing Blu-Ray games. My PS3 just hit its two year marked, practically on almost 75% off the time (left it running for 72 hours straight before), and its still going on fine (touch wood nothing will happen).
Enjoy your electronicss. Live Long Play. |
Jan 3 2012, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(abc0716 @ Jan 2 2012, 02:04 AM) Most R2 games are more expensive than R1's. I watched it at least once. Then I'd skipped it coz want to start the game fast. Not to prolong lives (never heard that b4).By the way, since most games has opening videos, whenever we play those games, is this better to skip those videos (if you don't want to waste some time) or letting it play instead? To extend the 'lives' of the game discs and the console... |
Jan 3 2012, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(abc0716 @ Jan 3 2012, 09:26 PM) Hmm, I think I should clarify my actual meaning. Well, if we skip the openings of the game too often, will the disc being damaged because of this? Again never heard of this before, never got damaged (even though play countless times - eg FF13 is one), no scratch marks, no problems.In summary its safe unless you intend to play it put in and out over 10,000 times |
Jan 23 2012, 04:47 AM
QUOTE(da drummer @ Jan 23 2012, 12:22 AM) hye all.. 1. If you can afford it go for the 320 GB. Only extra RM 50. Twice as much space as 160 GB.wanna get a ps3 this week~ can i have advice or tips.. 1.what storage should i get? 2.what should i check before n after buy? 3.what are the packge n price?different shop i go got different price n packge 4.if seremban area...got suggested shop? thnx 2. Check you got all the cables, and the necessary items in the box. You will need to buy a HDMI cable if you want to get the HD output on your HD TV. It is not included in the PS3 package. 3. Again look around at the LYN Games section of Garage sales. Plenty of resellers selling PS3 there. Some bundle with free HDMI cable because they know customers need them. Prices are very competitive and not much difference between shops. 4. None that I know of. You can try GamersFamilia who's based at Bangi I believe. Or any resellers from LYN. Understand they do shipping too. |
Jan 23 2012, 02:02 PM
Jan 25 2012, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(BobThe Builder @ Jan 25 2012, 01:29 PM) There's one option for this. Download games from PSN, then you don't need disc to play the game. But not all games are available in PSN and the price is higher too. Some are higher on PSN not all. This games are cheaper (eg Prince of Persia, Assassin's Creed II GOTY, Split Second, etc.) especially when on sale though you most are either from PSN US or UK. |
Feb 17 2012, 06:23 PM
Just updated to 4.11 last night. Used online update with unifi 5 mbps. Around 15-20 mins kau tim.
No problems hanging whatsoever. Connected to Dark Souls all night and played online games no problem (even back with 4.10) and my PS3 is 2+ yrs old. My guess is for those surfing internet when Sony request you to patch 4.11 it will hang. Definitely u cannot go online because the minute u sign in, they will request you to upgrade. |
Feb 21 2012, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(rozaini_aimar @ Feb 21 2012, 03:53 PM) Hahaaha, all games can get platinum trophy *LOL*QUOTE(Ace98 @ Feb 21 2012, 03:58 PM) Black label means the original covers, without the "Platinum", "The Best" or "Greatest Hits" sign on the cover... Ace is right! Just to add on : Platinum signifies games from Europe (and if not mistaken Australia) The Best signifies games from Asia Greatest Hits signifies games from US |
May 1 2012, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(xortz @ May 1 2012, 10:30 PM) already, no luck at all, i think hdd drive failure. I feel u. Happened to me one time. Now I backup regularly. Very painful. Cause me a few plats.guys, i've taken out the hdd from ps3, now i connect to the pc via sata cable & sata power my windows xp didn't recognize the hard disk, any idea how to retrieve all data inside ps3 hard disk? |
| Change to: | 0.0501sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:00 AM |