Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V8, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

keith.hmc
post Aug 16 2012, 04:51 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(sammesul81 @ Aug 12 2012, 10:24 PM)
Guys, I need help

My ps3 has started to auto shut down then blinking red signal and it happened frequently  sad.gif any solution?
Mine is MY set and do u think that they will fix the problem if I send it to service centre?
Thanks in advance
Is your PS3 the phat version? Because the phat versions have a tendency to have this malfunction. A friend of mine had this happen to his PS3 phat which basically caused him to have difficulties starting his PS3 and it was because the heat caused the motherboard to melt or something like that. It was RM400 to fix I think and if yours is the phat then I suggest getting the new slim one cause it would hardly have this problem.

Added on August 16, 2012, 4:54 pm
QUOTE(satiash04 @ Aug 14 2012, 11:54 AM)
hi guys,

planning to get a PS3 320GB. any recommendation where i could get the best price and package around klang valley
Try this store out. Pretty good store.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2212573&hl=

This post has been edited by keith.hmc: Aug 16 2012, 04:54 PM
keith.hmc
post Aug 28 2012, 04:04 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Aug 28 2012, 12:46 PM)
The PS3 media server/ streaming thingy need fast internet connection or not?
Relatively fast la. Not say you need super fast connection but because it is similar to streaming so you need a good connection. You'll be streaming from your hard disk or computer so Unifi 5mb or Maxis 6mb is more than sufficient.

Added on August 28, 2012, 4:05 pm
QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 28 2012, 12:31 PM)
hey, how to wipe my ps3 to factory setting? The procedure before selling it.
Check under your settings panel on the PS3 home screen. There should be an option that says restore factory settings.

This post has been edited by keith.hmc: Aug 28 2012, 04:05 PM
keith.hmc
post Dec 10 2012, 06:26 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Dec 9 2012, 06:34 PM)
Guys.... just found out the hard way that changing your ps3's gpu will force the ps3 to format your current hard disk, so if anyone encounters ylod issue pls backup your game saves before doing anything. i dunno how sony thought gpu has anything to do with piracy that the ps3 has to format the hdd after replacing gpu but lesson learned. i'm definitely not gonna buy sony consoles anymore.. cheers guys

EDIT: don't even bother backing up the data guys, according to this http://www.megabearsfan.net/post/2012/07/0...Story-Rant.aspx even backing up your data doesn't help as the data won't be recognised by the ps3 (as far as the ps3's concerned, its a "new"/"different" machine just by changing the gpu). Which means sony intended to make people fork out money to buy a new console anytime there's a problem.
There's a trick to this actually. You back it up into your usb then you copy into your PS3 then delete the files in your usb from your PS3 system then you copy the files back into the usb and then copy balik into the PS3 overwriting the existing files. That's what I did when I added in jerseys and emblems from my usb to the PS3 for PES2013. The tutorial I saw mentioned your problem so that was their solution and it worked for me. Not sure if it applies to other save game datas but anyone else ever facing this problem can try it out la. But you must activate your PS3 again first and then log in to your account before doing all this copying.

A tad bit troublesome but if it can rescue your save datas then why not.

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(evolution120 @ Dec 9 2012, 01:26 PM)
oh, thanks for the clarification  notworthy.gif

usually how much does a PSN code cost?
It varies depending on the game and its publishers but on average a new code from PSN ranges from RM30 to RM50 per code.

This post has been edited by keith.hmc: Dec 10 2012, 06:27 PM
keith.hmc
post Dec 13 2012, 10:53 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(faridsuarez @ Dec 12 2012, 11:53 PM)
hi all..just bought my ps3 yesterday...any suggestion MUST Play ps3 game?
currently only have fifa13 game..

and me cannot play online coz no internet connection..

huhuh plz suggest me the best game to play "alone"..dun care if strategy game...rpg game..fps game as long it intersting..tq
Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution, Crysis 2, Syndicate and Resident Evil 6. Just some off the top of my mind.
keith.hmc
post Dec 13 2012, 03:08 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(faridsuarez @ Dec 13 2012, 01:54 PM)
wow..so many hit game for ps3...thanks for give me an idea..but will start with gow3 and uncharted drake's fortune first...first thing first, looking to buy both game mentioned ..
No worries. Enjoy GOW and Uncharted. Really good game franchises. Till today I still love Uncharted.
keith.hmc
post Dec 14 2012, 09:55 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(faridsuarez @ Dec 13 2012, 01:54 PM)
wow..so many hit game for ps3...thanks for give me an idea..but will start with gow3 and uncharted drake's fortune first...first thing first, looking to buy both game mentioned ..
I forgot Dead Space 2. If you love scary games then this is a must play for you. I absolutely loved it and it's about 20+ hours of gameplay.

0.0409sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:09 AM